70th Anniversary Edition
The Washington County Register
Friday, Sept. 16, 1938
Part 3 of 3
Contents of Part 3
Haddam -- Palmer -- Mahaska -- Clifton -- Linn -- Morrowville -- Washington
Haddam Founded In 1869
About twelve miles west of Washington lies Haddam. The town was founded in the fall of 1869 when J. W. Taylor built and stocked a small store upon land donated by George Canfil. It was named by him after the town of Haddam, Connecticut.
Near this same time A. Whitney opened a store on his claim a short distance west and started a rival town which he also called Haddam. When Mr. Canfil resigned as postmaster, Mr. Whitney was appointed postmaster and the post office was moved to West Haddam. Neither town prospered or grew for the first five years. A change came in 1874, however, when Mr. Whitney sold his stock of goods to H. H. Cheney who moved it to the present Haddam and Mr. Cheney became postmaster. Soon a hotel was built by W. H. Taylor followed by other enterprises -- several stores, a lumber yard, two blacksmith shops and a wagon shop.
School district No.5 was organized in 1865. A log school house was built at the time, Miss Julia Blake being the first teacher. In 1869 this old log school house was moved to Haddam and remodeled and was used until 1876 when bonds for $1000 were issued and a new one built. William Lancaster taught the first term in this building.
In 1882 Haddam had made a marked growth. It had two hotels, three general stores, one drug store, one boot and shoe store, one real estate office, one lumber yard, two blacksmith shops and one wagon shop. At that time Reuben Vincent was postmaster.
Of the merchants of that time J. J. Muth is still active, having continuously operated the lumber yard throughout the past 58 years.
C. A. Rhine is the Mayor of Haddam which according to the 1938 census, has a population of 390. Members of the City Council are J. H. Fencl, Russell Hoffman, C. H. Meckenstock and W. T. Rooney.
Mrs. Fern Fencl, editor of the Haddam Clipper-Leader is City Clerk, F. J. Multer is City Treasurer.
Mr. Glen Parrett came to Haddam three years ago from Leavenworth County and took over the management of the cafe now known as Parrett’s Cafe one year ago. Soft drinks, sandwiches, tobacco and short orders are handled.
Mr. Parrett is a member of the Woodman and Odd Fellow lodges. He and Mrs. Parrett, their three children, all live in Haddam. Their children are Olive Mae, Dorothy Marie and Frank Clinton.
S. R. Folkner Market and Cafe (Mabel & Dolph's)
Mr. and Mrs. S. R. Folkner, owner and manager of the S. R. Folkner Market and Cafe in Haddam, located on the north side of main street, just east of the drug store.
Mr. Folkner was born in Richardson County, Nebr., spent some time in Los Angeles, Calif., and has lived in Washington county for 35 years. He built the Motor Inn filling station and garage in Haddam and operated it until 1924 when he sold it to L. M. Bobbitt. He was then employed at the Rooney Motor company for 12 years. After being employed at Rooney’s he again operated the Motor Inn filling station for five years. In February, 1938 he purchased the cafe.
Mrs. Folkner was born in Washington County and was associated in a meat and grocery business in Haddam with her former husband, E. W. Kenney, for 25 years. Mrs. Folkner has one son, Clell W. McKenney of Los Angeles, Calif., and Mr. Folkner has one daughter, Mrs. Roy Dart of Haddam.
Besides serving meals, lunches and cold drinks, the Folkners also sell fresh and cured meats.
Mr. Joseph H. Fencl is the manager and owner of the IGA grocery store in Haddam. This store deals in groceries, general merchandise, meats, and farm produce.
Mr. and Mrs. Fencl, the former Miss Lula Smith came to Washington county 28 years ago, moved to Haddam in 1922 when they organized the IGA store. They have one daughter, Miss Leota Fencl, who is a student at Kansas State College at Manhattan. Mr. Fencl’s parents were Mr. and Mrs. Frank Fencl.
The fact that Mr. Fencl is very interested in civic affairs is shown by the different positions he has held in Haddam. He has been on the city council for fifteen years. He is now clerk of the rural high school board. He has served on the township board. He is a member of the Odd Fellow lodge and the Commercial Club of Haddam.
The Haddam branch of the King Produce is under the capable management of Mr. Fred King. This firm was organized in Haddam five years ago.
Mr. King has lived in Washington county for 58 years and in Haddam for 30 years. He is a member of the Odd Fellow lodge and has served on the school board. The daughter of Mr. and Mrs. King is Mrs. Ella Novak who lives west of Haddam. Their son, Mr. Howard King, lives in New York.
King’s complete line of produce is found in Haddam. Seeds, feeds, cream, poultry, flour, eggs, and other products for farmers are bought and sold by this concern.
The Blackbird Store, one of the largest grocery stores in Haddam, is owned and managed by R. W. McKenzie. They handle a complete line of groceries and meats.
Mr. and Mrs. McKenzie have lived in Washington county for the past 25 years except for a four year period from 1928 to 1932 when they lived in Fairbury, Nebr. In 1932 they moved back to Haddam and organized the Blackbird Store.
They have one son and one daughter, Miss Maxine McKenzie and Mr. Robert McKenzie, both of whom help in the store. Mr. McKenzie’s parents are Mr. and Mrs. William McKenzie of Narka, Ks. They formerly lived in Haddam where at different times they operated a restaurant, a hotel and farmed.
Mr. R. W. McKenzie is a member of the Masonic, Odd Fellow, Eastern Star, and Rebekah lodges.
Hoffman & Sons
R. C. Hoffman, manager of the A. R. Hoffman & Sons Furniture and Hardware store in Haddam is unmarried and has lived in Haddam all his life. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., the commercial club, and is on the city council at the present time. He is also a licensed embalmer.
His father, A. R. Hoffman, and mother, a daughter of Charley Carlson, came here as pioneers about 1876. After farming for several years Mr. Hoffman went into partnership with Frank Pierce and together they organized the Hoffman & Pierce store in 1901.
A. R. Hoffman has been prominent in civic affairs, having served as mayor, councilman, and as a member of the school board.
In 1926, the firm’s name was changed to A. R. Hoffman & Sons and during these past twelve years has served the surrounding community with its several different branches of business -- hardware, implements, paint, furniture, and undertaking. Among other well-known brands of merchandise, they handle Minneapolis-Moline implements and Speed-Queen washers.
W. E. Potter Grocery
The W. E. Potter Grocery in Haddam is owned and managed by W. E. Potter. Mrs. Potter assists him in their grocery which is home-owned.
He was formerly manager of the Potter Bros. Mercantile Company. Mr. and Mrs. Potter have lived in Haddam 33 years. Mr. Potter was born in Palmer over 60 years ago and has always lived in Washington county. He is a member of the Odd Fellow and Masonic lodges. Mrs. Potter was formerly Miss Christine Whittet. They have one son, Newell Potter, who is in the Geodetic Survey in New York.
Chas. D. Potter, deceased, father of W. E. Potter, came to Washington county in 1869. He fought in the Civil War and was in Sherman’s March to the Sea. For many years he was a merchant and then in the grain business in Palmer.
Haddam Lumber Company
One of the best known men in Haddam is J. J . Muth who has lived in Haddam since 1880 and in Washington county since 1879. He is manager of the Haddam Lumber Company which is owned by the Midwest Lumber Company in Manhattan. This company sells lumber, cement and all kinds of building materials.
Mr. Muth came to Washington county from Jonestown, Pa. Since living in Haddam he has served on the scllool board, the township board and the city council. He is a member of the Masonic lodge.
He is a widower and the father of five children: Will Muth of Belleville, O. T. Muth of Washington, and Mrs. Flora M. Brick, Miss Mabel R. Muth and Mrs. Lottie A. Peabody, all of Haddam.
C. A. Rhine, the Mayor of Haddam, is owner of the Rhine Service Station and Garage in Haddam. The firm was organized in 1911.
Mr. Rhine has lived in Haddam for 30 years and in Washington county 47 years. He is a member of the Masonic lodge. He is married and has four children.
Since Mr. Rhine has been Mayor of Haddam several improvement have been brought about. An elaborate water works system has been built and the Haddam cemetery has been made into one of the most beautiful in the country.
Harry Multer Station
One of the large filling stations in Haddam is the Harry Multer Station owned and managed by Harry Multer. It is located on the south side of the street near the west end of town on US36.
Mr. Multer has lived in Haddam 27 years and in Washington county all of his life. His wife is the former Miss Lois F. Skipton and they have two sons, Richard and Ray.
Mr. Multer’s father, Carl Multer, sr., has always lived in Washington county. His grandfather, Mr. Forrest Multer is one of the pioneers of the county.
Besides selling Standard products, Polarine and Iso-Vis "D" motor oil, and Goodrich tires, the station also handles International farm machinery and auto parts.
Cross Lunch Room
The lunch room across from the bank in Haddam has been owned for the last six years by L. N. Cross. Mr. and Mrs. Cross came to Haddam from Marysville in 1932.
Mr. Cross is a member of the Odd Fellow Lodge. With his son, Fred, he manages the Cross Lunch Room. Lunches, soft drinks, cigarettes, tobacco and candy are sold here.
The Citizens State Bank
On the 31st day of August 1889 a meeting was held in Haddam City, Kansas, for the purpose of organizing a state bank, and to be known as "Citizens State Bank, of Haddam City, Kansas" and the following named persons were present at that meeting: D. M. Steele, John M. Steele, E. Janeway, O. Canfil, F. N. Vedder, G. E. Ellinger and Wm. L. Wilson.
John M. Steele was chosen president and W. L. Wilson as secretary of the meeting.
The following named persons subscribed for the capital stock of the new bank: D. M. Steele, S. A. Walker, G. W. Clawson, C. H. Darby, W. ‘D. B. Motter, L. J. Dunn, M. M. Riggs, E. McNeil, Winslow Judson, F. C. Wornall, John M. Steele, I. Bonham, Ernest Davis, W. L. Wilson, E. Janeway and A. G. Mitchum.
From the above named stock holders the following were elected as Directors: D. M. Steele, Ernest Davis, W. L. Wilson, I. Bonham, John M. Steele and E. Janeway.
From the Board of Directors the following Qfficers were named: John M. Steele, President; I. Bonham, Vice-President; Will. L. Wilson, Cashier.
The bank continued under the management of Will. L. Wilson until April 1, 1898, when the capital stock of the bank was sold and transferred to the £ollowng named persons: Levi Lower; J . B. Lower; Mrs. L. A. Potter; F. G. Lower; and W. S. Lower, and each of the above stock holders were named as Directors of the bank.
The following officers were elected: Levi Lower, President; J. B. Lower, Cashier; W. S. Lower, Secretary and Ass’t Cashier.
Levi Lower served as President of the bank until his death in 1914, and was succeeded in that office by J. B. Lower, who remains as President of the bank at this time.
The following are the present officers and directors of the bank: J. B. Lower, President; C. L. Potter, Vice-President; J. A. Welch, Cashier; Edw. Kulp, Assistant Cashier; O. T. Muth.
Rooney Motor Company
W. T. Rooney owns the Rooney Motor Company of Haddam and has the Ford agency. The firm was organized by Mr. Rooney in 1898 and is the only garage in Haddam.
Mr. Rooney was born at Leavenworth, Kansas, moved with his parents when three years old to a farm near Fidelity. He attended the country school there and high school at Sabetha and finished his education at St. Benedict’s College. After college Mr. Rooney moved to a farm near Beattie where he lived for 9 years. He moved to Haddam in 1898. For the last ten years he has been on the City Council and on the School Board for the past 15 years. He is a member of the Commercial Club and the I. O. O. F. and M. W. A. lodges.
Mr. and Mrs. Rooney have nine children, all grown. Mrs. C. W. Crow lives in Chicago. Mrs. James J. Cahill lives in New York City, Miss Mae Rooney in Asbury Park, N. J.; Miss Helen Rooney in Dobbs Ferry, N. Y.; W. T. Rooney, jr., in Deerfield, Kansas; George Rooney, Harry Rooney and Miss Geraldine Rooney in Haddam. The other son, Paul C. Rooney is in the U. S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Md.
Dart Barber Shop
One of the best known barbers in the county is John Dart of Haddam. He has barbered in Haddam for many years and also formerly barbered in Washington city with Jim Owens and Willis Arnold. He has practiced his trade all over this section of the United States and on the Pacific coast and down by the Gulf of Mexico.
His residence has been in Haddam since 1889 although he has been absent a few months at a time. His wife died when their daughter, Hazel Dart, was very young, and he has put her through school. She is now teaching in the Haddam school system.
Mr. Dart came to Washington county from Rice county. He is a member of the Odd Fellow lodge. The Dart Barber Shop was organized 30 years ago. It is located just west of the Haddam bank.
The Sinclair Station in Haddam is managed by Frank Fencl, jr., and is known as the Fencl Sinclair Station.
The station was organized in 1933 and has been under its present ownership for five months. Sinclair gas, Opaline and Pennsylvania motor oil are sold.
Mr. Fencl has lived in Haddam for 20 years and graduated from the Haddam high school in 1934. He has one brother, William Fencl, who farms near Haddam and one sister, Miss Mabel Fencl, who works in Haddam. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Fencl, sr., live north of Haddam on a farm and have lived in the county for nearly 30 years.
Bobbitt Oil Co.
M. Bobbitt and his son, David Bobbitt, own and manage the Bobbitt Oil Company in the east part of Haddam. The station was built in 1917 and was purchased by Mr. Bobbitt in 1924.
Mrs. L. M. Bobbitt was formerly Miss Bess Merritt, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ira Merritt. They have three children, David Bobbitt, Jack Bobbitt, and Clyde Bobbitt. The Bobbitts have lived in Haddam 38 years and in Washington county for 50 years.
D. F. Bobbitt, father of L. M. Bobbitt, was one of the pioneers of the county and formerly carried mail from Marysville to Salt Marsh.
Mobilgas and Mobiloil are sold by the Bobbitt Oil Company. They also stock a complete line of tires.
Pete’s Creek Was First Name of Palmer
The town of Palmer is a pleasantly situated town in the northwest portion of Sherman Township, thirteen miles south and five miles west of Washington on the Missouri Pacific railway.
The first settlement in this part of Washington county, as near as can be learned, was in about 1866. T. C. Morril, Mr. Drake, J. Maland, J. Dibly and John R. Cooney were among the first settlers. In 1870 most of the homesteads were taken. H. C. Meyer, C. R. Lee, Joseph McQuillen, George Beswick, Thomas Rowland and John P. Serles are among those who homesteaded in this section.
The early settlers endured many hardships coincident to pioneer life. The Iron Horse had not penetrated this section of Kansas, and the provisions were therefore for a time hauled mostly from Brownville, Nebr.
In the spring of 1870 E. Wilson of Sherman Township met C. D. Potter near Clifton and persuaded him, as he was then looking for a desirable place to locate, to start a store on Pete’s Creek, about two miles south of the present town of Palmer. Mr. Potter returned East and brought his family and a large stock of goods, and started the first store in Pete’s Creek Village.
Dr. Randall came in soon after and built a store, and was appointed post master. G. F. Cober, R. W. Bowl and O. W. Cook started stores in 1871, and the town was in a flourishing condition, but when the Central Branch Union Pacific railroad, now the Missouri Pacific, reached a point two miles north, and showed no disposition to come nearer or assist Pete’s Creek any more than to build a depot for their accommodation, the town decided to move to the railroad which was done in the spring of 1879, E. A. Thomas laying out the town and naming it in honor of J. Palmer, one of the first Superintendents of Public Instruction in Washington County. G. F. Cober, C. D. Potter, W. R. Bowl and O. W. Cook moved their stores from Pete’s Creek as soon as the town was surveyed. Frank Nadeau built a store and was appointed the first postmaster.
A school house was built in the summer of 1879, the first one built in the district. Miss Cora Nadeau taught the first term in the winter of 1879.
W. J. Cook started the first hotel in 1879 and called it the Central House.
In 1882 the following enterprises were represented in Palmer: five general stores, one lumber yard and hardware store, one drug store, one furniture store, two butcher shops, one photograph gallery, two hotels, one harness shop, three blacksmith shops, one wagon shop, one grain buyer, one livery stable, one millinery store, three physicians, one dentist, one carpenter, and a large elevator.
Dageford Is Palmer’s Mayor
Mr. John Dageford is the Mayor of Palmer, a city of 168 persons according to the 1938 census. Members of the city council are Herman Reith, Henry Palmer, Henry C. Ohlde, Andrew Happ, and John Dammann. E. H. Hornbostel is the city clerk.
Herman T. Reith
Herman T. Reith became the owner of the Palmer Cafe this year, although he has lived in Palmer since 1926. Meals, short orders, tobacco, and soft drinks are served.
Before starting the cafe Mr. Reith had been a barber and ran a grocery store in Palmer. He has lived in and near Palmer for 34 years and was formerly a farmer. He is a membe of the Lutheran church and the Booster Club of Palmer. Mrs. Reith was formerly Miss Fredia Naegle, and they have one son.
Mr. and Mrs. Paul Reith are the parents of Herman T. Reith and have lived in and near Palmer all of their lives.
Walter H. Ohlde
Walter H. Ohlde is the owner of the Palmer Meat Market which he bought in 1936. Groceries and meats are sold.
Mr. Ohlde is a member of the Booster Club in Palmer. He married Miss Emma Rabe. Herman Ohlde of Palmer is his father and has lived in Washington county for 50 years.
Mr. Ohlde went to St. Johns Lutheran College at Winfield, Kansas, majoring in a commercial course. He comes to Palmer as a modern business man, able to follow and direct the trends of the day in commercial trade.
He was born in Palmer and has lived in and near Palmer all of his life.
Martin H. Meyer
Martin H. Meyer is manager of the Herman Meyer Lumber Company in Palmer. It is owned by his mother, Mrs. Anna Meyer who has lived in Palmer for 30 years.
Mr. Meyer has lived in Palmer since 1918. He is a member of the Lutheran church.
Building materials, paints, coal, and a complete line of lumber for all uses are to be found in the Herman Meyer Lumber Company.
Louis H. Reith
Hardware, harness and tinware store was organized in 1900. Mr. Reith has owned it since March 1, 1937. He has lived in the county all of his life, was born 7 miles north of Palmer and has lived in Palmer since June 1, 1928. He is a member of the Lutheran church.
Herman Reith, his father, lives 1-3/4 miles north of Palmer and 4 miles west. Has lived in Washington county since 1900 and is a farmer.
Louis Reith is married to the former Meta Conrad of Junction City. He belongs to the Hardware Association.
Miss Marguerite Thompson
Miss Marguerite Thompson is owner and manager of Marguerite’s Place, a restaurant and recreation parlor in Palmer.
She has lived in Palmer since 1915 and has owned the restaurant since 1934. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and her parents are Mr. and Mrs. C. E. Thompson of Palmer.
Mrs. E. H. Damman
The Palmer Produce Company is managed by Mrs. E. H. Damman. She buys poultry, cream and eggs and sells feeds.
Mrs. Damman is a member of the Lutheran church. Her parents are Mr. and Mrs. L. E. Boerger of Linn who have lived in this county all of their lives. Mrs. Damman is a widow and has two daughters, Viola and Shirley Ann.
Mr. Marion Slipsager is the owner and manager of the Slipsager Service Station in Palmer.
Mr. Slipsager is a member of the Methodist church and the Odd Fellow and Woodman lodges. He married Miss Jennie C. Van Winkle and they have two children. His mother is Mrs. Pateria Slipsager of Clifton.
The Sliplsager Service Station sells Conoco gasoline, oil, tires and accessories.
A. H. Tegeler
The Palmer Mercantile Company is managed by Mr. A. H. Tegeler. General merchandise and the Red & White brand of groceries are sold.
Mr. Tegeler has lived in Palmer for 53 years.
He is a member of the Lutheran church and of the Palmer Booster club. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Tegeler who have lived in Palmer for 53 years also. Mr. Tegeler’s mother passed away on July 17, 1938.
The Bank of Palmer
The Bank of Palmer was organized in 1887 and now has capital stock of $15,000, surplus of $7,500 and undivided profits of $5,500.
Officers of the bank are as follows: president, Mr. H. E. Ohlde; vice-president, Mr. Walter W. Meyer; cashier, Mr. Herman G. Meyer; directors, Mr. Henry Palmer and R. M. McIntosh.
Mr. Herman G. Meyer has been in the bank for the most of the last 10 years and his brother, Mr. Walter W. Meyer, vice-president, has been with the bank for the most of the last 12 years.
They both attended the St. John’s College at Winfield, Kansas.
The Hornbostel Service Station has served the Palmer community for six years. Melvin Hornbostel was born in Palmer and has lived in Palmer continuously since that time. He married the former Cherlotta Lohmeyer of Linn. They have one child, a boy 2 years old, Jerry Kent.
Melvin attended high school in Palmer, graduating in 1931. He is a member of St. John’s Lutheran church.
He sells Phillips 66 gasoline and oil, commercial feeds and Firestone tires.
Ed Chase is manager of the White Eagle Station and the Farmers Supply Store in Palmer. White Eagle gasoline, Mobiloil oil and greases, repairs, and International Harvester implements are sold.
Mr. Chase has lived in Washington county for 52 years and moved to Palmer from Linn this year when he became manager of the station. He is a member of the Methodist church. His wife was Miss Cora Baer. They have five children.
The Palmer Garage has been owned by Harold Hornbostel for seven years. Besides doing general repair work, he also handles a complete line of Case farm implements.
Mr. Hornbostel has lived in Palmer for 10 years and in Washington county for 33 years. Before buying the garage he was a farmer near Palmer. He is a member of the Lutheran church and the Palmer Booster Club.
Mr. Harold Hornbostel’s father is William Hornbostel of Linn who has lived in Washington county since 1873.
Mr. Harold Hornbostel is married and has two children, Evelyn 6 and Marvin 3.
E. H. Hornbostel
E. H. Hornbostel is manager of the Palmer Rural Telephone Company. The telephone company has been organized for 33 years and under the present ownership since 1930.
The officers and directors are: H. C. Ohlde, president; W. H. Rose, vice-president; Herman G. Meyer, secretary and treasurer; and directors, W. H. Rose, Ernest Rodehorst, Walter Hammel and Herman Hiesterman.
E. H. Hornbostel has lived in Palmer for 35 years and in Washington county for 57 years. His wife was Miss Alwina Meyer and they have one daughter, Miss Dora Hornbostel who works in the telephone office. Mr. Hornbostel is a member of the St. John’s Lutheran church.
"The vision bright of the pioneer
Conceived the state of Kansas
The hopes and fears he planted here,
Are in the breath of Kansas
The sturdy strength of manhood's might
The faith that pierced the deepest night
The courage to uphold the right
Are in the soul of Kansas."
Mahaska, Then and Now
The City of Mahaska, located in Union township in the northwest part of the county, has a population of 220 according to the 1938 census. Mr. Harry Livingstone is Mayor. The council includes Dr. V. J. Wall, Charles Dragoo, Charles Rose, W. G. Hackbarth, and V. W. Coonrod. The City Clerk is L. E. Buckheister, W. G. Arnold is City Treasurer and A. E. Finch is Police Judge.
Following is a history of Mahaska written by C. W. Miller, president of the Mahaska State Bank.
The town and the post office were first named Bonham after I. Bonham on whose land it was located. However the post office department refused the name because there was another Bonham in the state at that time. Lanham of similar name was in the same county. The post office department asked that another name be stibmitted. Several men including Mr. Cook, Mr. Woodman and Mr. Bonham met in Mr. Speers store to agree upon a new name for the much wished for post office. Mr. Woodman’s eye fell upon the stock of "Mahaska" coffee on the shelves of Mr. Speer’s store and he said, "Why not call our post office Mahaska? We had a Mahaska county in Iowa where I came from." It was soon decided and the new name of Mahaska was accepted by the post office department. So the village of Mahaska, Kansas as well as Mahaska county, Iowa was named after Chief Mahaska of the Iowa Indians. He was remembered as a good chief and was loved by his people. His picture appears on all checks used by our Mahaska State Bank. The word Mahaska in the language of the Iowa’s means "White Swan."
For a time the post office was named Mahaska while the town was still Bonham. The name of the town was later officially changed to Mahaska to avoid confusion.
In spite of many fires the village made some growth during its first few years. Enormous crops of corn were grown in 1889 and 1891. During those years three grain elevators were built on the railroad siding and another grain buyer or two were operating by loading from the wagons directly into the cars.
Most of the now vacant space south of the railroad from one side of town to the other was then occupied by cribs filled with corn. At no time since then has there been so much corn stored in Mahaska. Wheat was not grown so extensively then as now.
The first alfalfa was introduced here in 1890. The Presbyterian church was built in 1892.
Rev. Rose was the first pastor. This church was organized March 13, 1897. The building was remodeled in 1930.
The Methodist church was built in 1894 and remodeled in 1924. Rev. Adams was the first to fill the pulpit.
Mr. E. A. Woodman experimented with private telephone wire from his home in town to the house on his farm in 1898.
The Mahaska Mutual Telephone Association was organized in 1904. A switchboard was installed, lines built and service begun soon thereafter.
The Mahaska State Bank was organized by Len Goodrich, L. Bonham, O. W, Miller, E. A. woodman and A. Upton in February, 1902, and the bank was opened for business in the old "Goose," C. H. Coonrod’s north storehouse, March 10, 1902. The safe was blown and robbed December 10, 1904, but business was resumed next morning.
The Mahaska Leader was first published September 1905 and continued about ten years.
The first rural free delivery mail route was inaugurated August 1, 1904 with Geo. C. Piper in charge.
Roy Ashford assumed his duties on the route No. 2, February 1, 1907 and retired January 1, 1933, when the two routes were united and Robert Henderson took charge.
O. W. Miller entered the mercantile business in Mahaska in 1891 and continued until his death in 1934. From January 1,1911 he served as cashier of the Mahaska State Bank.
E. A. Woodman organized the lumber and coal business in Mahaska in 1887 and also operated the West Grain Elevator for 16 years. In 1905 he sold the lumber business to F. G. Upton and H. G. L. Peake. In the spring of 1924 it was transferred by W. A. Livingstone and O. W. Miller to the Howell Lumber Co. Mr. Woodman continued his farming interests until his death.
C. H. Coonrod has given the longest continuous service on Main Street, of the Mahaska business men. He opened his hardware store on the corner he now occupies on March 6,1893.
W. G. Arnold established his drug business in 1900 and has stood continuously at his post for 36 years. He has also served as post master since 1919.
M. A. Hatch purchased his stock of merchandise of O. W. Miller January 1, 1905. He and Mrs. Hatch have continued their service to the public since that time. Mrs. Hatch spent several years teaching in the Mahaska schools before her marriage.
A. M. Alldredge was identified with the mercantile business in Mahaska from 1894 until his death in November 1932.
Chas. Knauff has served on the street since 1913.
Frank McAtee opened his blacksmith shop and began work in 1906 on the corner now occupied by his restaurant building and continued until1924. He spent a number of years in the restaurant business since.
W. W. Love joined E. A. Woodman in the lumber and grain business in 1887 and entered the mercantile business in 1897, retiring from the store in 1922.
Dr. V. J. Wall bought the medical practice of Dr. L. A. Carter June 1, 1912 and he has faithfully cared for the ailing and made himself most useful to the community in many ways since his coming.
George C. Cook, I. Bonham, A. C. Wheeler and George C. Bonham were among the most able and successful business men whose lives were spent in service to the Mahaska community.
The City of Mahaska was incorporated July 8, 1909. The first election was held July 21, 1909 resulting in the election of John Deegan as the first mayor, P. F. Christison, Police Judge and F. C. Upton, C. H. Coonrod, M. A. Hatch, A. M. Alldredge and W. G. Arnold as councilmen.
The first sidewalks and street crossings were laid in the spring of 1910 and the young city was completely equipped to enforce both law and ordinance upon completion of the city jail in 1913.
A fire engine and hose were purchased and two cisterns for a water supply were completed on Main street in 1914. A fire company was organized and drilled to use the new equipment, but none of it was ever used to fight a fire.
The City Park was purchased in 1917 and the trees planted in 1919-20 and ‘22.
A contract was made with the Electric Development Company of Omaha for electric service July 27, 1922.
The street lamps were installed in 1925. This year also saw the city well drilled on Main Street the town’s present best water supply.
The Rural High School bonds were voted in April, 1926 and the new building was completed in January, 1927. The high school was immediately moved into its new home.
The first two years of high school work were introduced into the Mahaska Schools in 1908 and 1909, the third and fourth year’s work 1916 and 1917.
The first eighth grade commencement was held in the Presbyterian church in the spring of 1897. Six students were graduated, Wilbur D. Vincent was principal of the schools at that time.
The Sinclair oil pipe line was built near Mahaska in 1924 running from Casper, Wyoming to Freeman, Missouri.
Gas pipe lines were built through Washington county from the Kansas and Oklahoma fields in 1930 and 1931.
In the fall of 1931 the Kansas Pipe Line and Gas Company leased and rebuilt the then idle Sinclair line equipping it for the transportation of natural gas. They installed a distributing system in Mahaska, connected it with this main line and turned in the gas to serve Mahaska consumers, October 26,1931.
This company’s lease expired in the fall of 19355 and a new feeder line was laid to the main pipe line near Munden through Narka and the transfer made without interruption of service. The Standolind Company expects to resume the transportation of oil through the Sinclair pipe line.
The Mahaska cemetery was organized November 27, 1894. The first burial was that of Orestas Sampson. The Mahaska Cemetery was reorganized and financed by taxation of a cemetery district in 1934. New fence and pillars were built during the summer of 1935.
The highway through Mahaska was graveled to K15 9-1/2 miles east of the city in the spring of 1934, giving Mahaska its first all weather outlet to the Kansas highway system. The standard grade was built between Mahaska and highway No. 36 the same year.
Mahaska State Bank
On February 13, 1902, the Mahaska State Bank, Mahaska, Kansas, was organized with the following directors: I. Bonham; E. A. Woodman; E. E. Goodrich; and A. Upton. A. Upton was the first cashier and he served until 1904.
F. C. Upton succeeded A. Upton as cashier in 1904 and served until 1911 at which time O. W. Miller was elected and served until his death in 1934.
Clyde W. Miller, who is president of the board at present has served on the board of directors since 1909 and has been president of the board since 1911. Nellie P. Wall, who is vice-president, has served on the board since 1911.
At present the Mahaska State Bank has a capital of $10,000, surplus of $8,000, and undivided profits amounting to $2,500. V. W. Coonrod is cashier and H. W. Emrick is the assistant cashier.
The present board of directors consists of Clyde W. Miller, Nellie P. Wall, George H. Miller, Mabel G. Miller, and V. W. Coonrod.
The postmaster of Mahaska is also the druggist, W. G. Arnold. He started the Arnold Pharmacy in 1900 and became postmaster in 1919. The post office is fourth class.
Before coming to Mahaska Mr. Arnold lived at Haddam and at Narka where his parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Arnold, formerly operated drug stores. Since coming to Mahaska W. G. Arnold has been mayor of the city, on the city council and clerk of the township but since he became postmaster, laws of the post office department would not allow him to serve the city in any official capacity. He is a member of the A. F. -- A. M. and M. W. A. lodges.
Mr. Arnold has two sons, both of whom are dentists. Dr. Paul Arnold practices in Mahaska and Dr. Von Arnold practices in Sterling, Nebr.
The Arnold Pharmacy has a complete general drug line and has built up a reputation for dependability during the 38 years it has been a part of Mahaska.
Howell Lumber Co.
L. E. Buckheister is manager of the Howell Lumber Co. in Mahaska. He has lived in Mahaska for 11 years and has been manager of the lumber yard during all of that time. For the past 6 years he has been City Clerk of Mahaska which shows his interest in civic affairs.
Mr. Buckheister is married and has two children, Max and Joe. He is affiliated with the Presbyterian church and a member of the A. F. & A. M. lodge. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. H. Buckheister of Plainville, Kansas, where L. E. lived before coming to Mahaska in 1927.
The Howell Lumber Company is one of the oldest businesses in Mahaska and was organized in 1898. It was under a different name, however, until 1924 when the Howell Lumber Company of Fairbury, Nebr., purchased the business. The firm handles lumber, coal, building materials, and hardware.
The garage in Mahaska is owned by Harry Livingstone. He has owned this garage for 11 years.
Mr. Livingstone came to Mahaska 11 years ago but he has lived in Washington county for 37 years. He is a member of the Methodist church, is married and has four children. He has been township trustee for several terms.
His parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Livingstone, live five miles southeast of Mahaska. They homesteaded near Mahaska many years ago and have lived in that neighborhood ever since.
Mrs. Harry Livingstone was Miss Mable Foth before their marriage. Their children are Dona Mae, Lorna Lee, Arleta Jean, and Joan Lonee.
The firm Lindahl & Son has an elevator in Mahaska as one of its chain of four in this section of the state. The other three are at Agenda, Wayne and Talmo with the largest one at Agenda. Clair G. Lindahl is head of the firm and lives in Agenda. The Mahaska elevator was purchased in November, 1935.
L. A. Lindahl is manager of the Mahaska elevator. He has lived in Mahaska and Washington county for one year but the rest of his life was spent in Republic county juyst one mile from the Washington county line and he is well known in this county. He is married and has a one-year-old son, Conrad Ruell.
Besides the regular elevator service of storing grain, buying and selling grain and grinding, the Mahaska elevator also sells feed and coal. They use "Just-Right" chick mash formulas, and the Mahaska branch mixed and sold 35 tons of this mash this year.
Slough's Barber Shop
Mr. Roy Slough has been the barber in Mahaska for the past year although he has lived in Washington county all of his life. Before becoming a barber he farmed.
Mr. and Mrs. Slough have three children, Leila, Jean and Don, all of whom live at home. The parents of Mr. Slough are Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Slough who live on a farm near Haddam.
The barber shop was located one door north of its present location on the west side of main street in Mahaska. It was moved so that there would be room for a pool hall which he has added to the barber shop.
Charles Dragoo is the owner and manager of the Dragoo Produce located on the west side of the main street in Mahaska. He has lived in Mahaska for 14 years and in Washington county for 25 years. Before that time he lived in Jefferson County, Nebr.
Mr. Dragoo is now a member of the Mahaska City council and was a member of the school board at the time the Rural High School building was built. He is married and they have five children: Wilda Dragoo; Mrs, Leora Hubka, Crete, Nebr.; Edwin Dragoo, Dayle Dragoo, and Gayle Dragoo.
The Dragoo Produce buys cream, poultry, eggs, and other farmers’ produce, and sells feed, seeds, etc. Mr. Dragoo also buys hogs for market.
Mahaska Telephone Association
The Mahaska Telephone Association, a corporation with local Mahaska townspeople as stockholders was organized in 1904. Besides handling local calls they are connected with the United Telephone which enables them to handle long distance calls.
The board of directors of the Telephone Association is made up of civic leaders in Mahaska. Chas. Knauff, proprietor of Knauff’s Grocery, is president of the Association. The vice-president is L. E. Buckheister, manager of the Howell Lumber Co. and city clerk. Clyde Miller, president of the bank is treasurer, V. W. Coonrod, cashier of the bank is secretary and George Piper is manager.
Two telephone operators handle the calls in Mahaska. Mrs. Alice Hackbarth has lived in Mahaska since 1925 and in the county for about 50 years. She has one daughter, Mrs. Virgil Morey of Dewitt. The other operator is Miss Nellie McAtee, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Roy McAtee. She has been an operator for three years. Harry Coonrod is the lineman.
William Lott is the owner and manager of Lott’s Grocery, a large grocery store in Mahaska. He came to Mahaska in 1923 from a farm in Nebraska. He is married and they have three children, Billie Rae, Sally Ann and Gene R.
In 1932 the Lott Grocery was started and has been built up during the past six years into a substantial business. Groceries, meats, and feeds are sold.
Mr. Lott has always been interested in the civic affairs of Mahaska and has served on the City council.
Ideal Service Station
The Ideal Service Station in Mahaska is owned and operated by O. R. Coonrod. Mr. Coonrod came to Mahaska from Nebraska in 1923, and married the former Miss Nellie Eversole in 1928.
Mr. Coonrod attended school in Mahaska for several years and farmed for two years northeast of Mahaska. He has also been a member of the Mahaska City council. Mr. Coonrod's parents are Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Coonrod of Mahaska. The O. R. Coonrods have three children, Dick, Dale and Peggy Ann.
Skelly gasoline and products are sold in the Ideal Service Station, as are U. S. tires, Independent oil and Willard batteries. The station was built in 1929 and Mr. Coonrod purchased it in 1933.
Coonrod & Son Hardware
One of the oldest businesses in Mahaska and in Washington county is the C. H. Coonrod and Son Hardware in Mahaska. C. H. Coonrod started the hardware shop in 1893, coming from Illinois with a $500 stock of goods. In 1910 his son, H. H. Coonrod joined him in the hardware business.
C. H. Coonrod was a member of the City Council when Mahaska was incorporated and has also served on the school board. He is the father of four children, V. W. Coonrod, cashier of the Mahaska bank, Harley Coonrod in the store, Mrs. G. L. Summers and Mrs. Chester Loew, all living in Mahaska.
H. H. Coonrod, his son, has been mayor of Mahaska two different terms and for the last fifteen years has been light and water commissioner for the city and on the city countil for about ten years. He has also served as clerk of the township board.
McCormick-Deering implements, Crosley radios, Horton washers, Farmall tractors and a complete line of hardware are stocked by the Coonrod & Son Hardware Company.
Sprague’s Cafe is located in the south end of the main street in Mahaska on the east side. F . E. Sprague, owner and manager has been proprietor of this cafe for the past three years.
Mr. and Mrs. Sprague are well known around Haddam, also, as Mrs. Sprague kept house several years for her father, J. W. Andrews, who passed away last spring. Mrs. Clyde Williams is a daughter of Mr. Sprague.
The Sprague Cafe sells ice cream, candy, cigars, tobacco, meals, short orders, and soft drinks. Mr. and Mrs. Sprague both work in the cafe.
Jack’s Cafe in Mahaska is owned and operated by J. A. McAtee and his wife Claire J. McAtee. Food, pop, ice cream, tobacco and short orders are sold in this restaurant which was started in 1932. The present owners have been in the restaurant for one year.
Mr. McAtee was born and raised in Mahaska which Mrs. McAtee has lived in Mahaska for 10 years and in Washington county for 18 years. They have two children, Vaughn and Bonnie, both of whom live at home.
The Cafe is located on the corner on the west side of the main street in Mahaska.
Mr. Charles Knauff is the proprietor of Knauff’s Grocery, one of the large grocery stores of Mahaska. Mr. and Mrs. Knauff moved to Mahaska 25 years ago and they have managed the store since 1927.
Mr. Knauff came to Washington county in 1894. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. lodge, and has served on the Mahaska city council and the school board. Mr. and Mrs. Knauff have one son, Harry Knauff, who will be a junior in the School of Medicine of the University of Nebraska this fall.
Besides selling a complete line of groceries, Knauff’s Grocery also sells milk, meat, shoes, dry goods, feed, flour and gasoline.
Early Clifton Had Many Locations
In the year 1859, a company from Manhattan and St. George laid out a town on the northwest quarter of Section 1, Town 6, Range 1, in Clay County, just over the Washington County line. The name of the surveyor was Clifton, and with a view of perpetuating his name, he so named the town. This company built one log cabin, and then left the town in care of James Fox, who, in 1860, abandoned the town site and started a town just across the line, in Washington County, on the east side of Parson’s Creek. He started a store and a blacksmith shop. Soon after, quite a number of log houses were erected by the people in the surrounding country, who retired to their shelter during the Indian troubles.
George Seabury taught a small school, supported by subscription, in one of these cabins in 1861-62. A post office was established at this point in 1860, Fox being post master, carrying the mail himself from Irving.
Some time in 1863, Fox sold his interest in the town to J. Haines, who moved it back across the line into Clay County on the west side of Parson’s Creek, its former location being on school land. Mr. Haines continued the post office and kept a small stock of groceries and dry goods. E. M. Howard built a store and sold goods a short time and moved away.
In 1869 William Funnell purchased the town of Mr. Haines, and moved it back into Washington County, and located it on the spot where it is now known as Old Clifton. George Green built the old Clifton House at this time. The name is all that is left and it was perpetuated through the post office which had passed into the hands of William Funnell.
The present town of Clifton was laid out, in 1870, by Rufus Berry, in anticipation of making a town on the Central Branch Union Pacific Railroad. Mr. Funnell moved his store on the new town site in 1871, and continued the post office. A. Green built a hotel. George Miller and Tom Dolan built on the north side and opened out a general stock. The town did not flourish to any remarkable extent until the arrival of the railroad, which was completed to this point December 17, 1877.
Hoenan & Barlow started the first hardware store in 1878; C. Bruenger, the first drug store the same year; C. C. Funnell started a lumber yard in 1878; Mr. Miller built a hotel in the fall of 1878; Clifton school house, in Joint District No.2, was built in 1878, at a cost of $4,000.
Clifton Today Has 433 People
In 1938 the assessor’s reports show that Clifton has a population of 433, an increase of 17 over 1937. W. E. Voiles is mayor. The council includes C. E. Wyman, Wm. Van Scoyoe, Frank Mowry, E. J. McQuillen, jr., L. H. Grote. D. A. Bray is City Clerk.
Clifton is so situated that it is in 2 precincts, 2 townships, 2 counties, 2 state representative districts, 2 state senator districts, 2 Judicial districts and 2 Congressional districts.
The Clifton News
J. M. Foster is editor of the Clifton News, the only newspaper in Clifton. The plant is located on the north side of the main street in Washington County.
The News was started in 1874. Former editors include L. A. Palmer, A. Q. Miller, P. M. Hartman, Best and Murdock, John Best, Mrs. E. J. Rossman, and J. M. Crane.
Foster was editor from 1914 to 1926 and purchased the paper again in 1938.
C. C. Malcolm, who graduated from the University of Kansas in 1900 and became a registered pharmacist in 1902, is the owner of the Clifton Pharmacy.
Mr. Malcolm came to Clifton in 1929 from Seldon, Kansas. He is a member of the Masonic lodge. He has three sons, all of whom are college graduates. Mr. Bernard Malcolm lives in Omaha. Dr. D. C. Malcolm lives in Indianapolis, Ind., and Mr. Norman Malcolm is now attending college in Cambridge, England on a scholarship received from Harvard University.
First National Bank of Clifton
The First National Bank of Clifton was founded on March 1, 1904. L. Pfister is president and W. B. McCall is cashier.
Mr. Pfister has lived in Clifton for 45 years. He is a member of the Presbyterian church and the Masonic lodge. He is married and has two children.
When he was 19 years of age Mr. Pfister came to America from Switzerland. He started to work for C. W. Snyder, former president of the bank, as assistant cashier. Later he became cashier and then president of the bank.
Frank Pfister is the assistant cashier. He married the former Marian Smith of Emporia. He is a member of the Presbyterian church, also of the Masonic lodge, attended school at Emporia taking three years of business administration. Chalmers Pfister, his brother, is bookkeeper.
W. E. Jenkins
W. E. Jenkins of Clifton, active in the ministry in the county throughout these many years, expresses his love of Kansas:
"Begotten in Kansas, born in Ohio, reared in Kansas, I love Kansas and Kansas history. I hope to go to heaven from Kansas. If I am permitted a grave, my wish is that it may be covered by a sod of the good old bluestem grass which I found covering the prairie of Kansas when I first saw them."
Agnes Knox is the owner and H. E. Knox is the manager of the Knox Cafe in Clifton. Meals, lunches and soft drinks are served.
Mr. Knox came to Washington County 40 years ago from Iowa and has lived in Clifton since 1921. In 1925 they built the cafe which they still own. They are both members of the Methodist church and Mr. Knox is a member of the Clifton Commercial Club. Their two sons are Phalas and Clinton and their daughters are Mrs. Fern Laird and Mrs. Tressa Bowmaker. All live in or near Clifton.
The Osborn Hardware
The Osborn Hardware, one of the oldest businesses in Clifton is owned and managed by J. M. Osborn. Besides a complete line of hardware he sells Quick Meal and Round Oak stoves.
Mr. Osborn came to Clifton from Mitchell, Kan., in 1886. He ran a harness shop in Clifton until 1908 when he started the Osborn Hardware.
The Riggs Produce has been in Linn for 20 years. Mr. Guy Riggs is the manager.
Mr. Riggs was born in Linn. He married Mandy Kappelman and they have three sons, Elmer and Walter of Salina and Edward of Pampa, Texas. His father, W. H. Riggs, was a carpenter and came to Washington county in 1875.
Mayer Service Station
Lee Mayer is the owner of the Mayer Service Station in Clifton. Barnsdall gas and oil, tires, tubes and batteries are sold.
Mr. Mayer was born in Clifton. He started working in the station in 1929 and purchased it in 1937. He is a member of the Catholic church. Mrs. Lee Mayer was Miss Mae Morrissette before her marriage. They have four children, Lea Mae, Helene, Lyle and Wilma.
Clifton Recreation Parlor
Hobart Short is the proprietor of the Clifton Recreation Parlor. He has tables for pool, snooker, and billiards and also serves soft drinks.
Mr. Short is the son of Mr. and Mrs. John Short who have lived near Clifton for many years. He was born in Clifton and spent his boyhood there. Except for a time when he worked in Topeka and Belleville he has always lived in Clifton. The Recreation Parlor was purchased by him in 1937.
J. H. Knoettgen owns the grocery store in Clifton, Washington county. Both groceries and meats are sold. He has owned this store for two years and has lived in Clifton for 25 years. He and Mrs. Knoettgen came to Clifton from Clay County.
The Roche Produce in Clifton is owned and managed by Mr. David Roche. He buys cream, poultry and eggs for the Farmers Union and sells the Hogan line of feeds.
Mr. Roche was born near Linn, the son of Mr. and Mrs. D. H. Roche who now live near Greenleaf and who have lived in Washington county 65 years. From 1923 to 1933 he worked in the Linn creamery and then moved to Clifton where he was butter maker in the Clifton Creamery for three years. In April, 1938, he purchased the Roche Produce. He is a member of the Methodist church. Mrs. Roche was formerly Miss Marie Voss.
White Eagle Station
John Morgan is the lessee of the White Eagle Super Service Station in Clifton. He sells White Eagle and Socony-Vacuum products, Goodrich tires and makes a specialty of lubrication jobs.
In 1908 Mr. Morgan moved to Clifton from Greenleaf and has lived there since except for three years that he traveled in Colorado.
Mrs. John Morgan, sr., Mr. Morgan’s mother, is a resident of Clifton. She and her husband were long-time residents of Washington County, formerly living near Greenleaf.
Red & White Lunch
R. K. Bachtell owns the Red and White Lunch in Clifton. He purchased it in July, 1938, and has installed a dance hall in the back which is quite a drawing card.
Mr. Bachtell has lived in Clifton all of his life except for two years which he spent in California. He is a member of the Methodist church and of the Masonic lodge. His wife was Miss Beulah Willis before their marriage, and they have two children, Sanders and Michael. Mr. Bachtell’s parents are Mr. and Mrs. Charles Bachtell who are long-time residents of Clifton. Mr. Bachtell owns a garage there.
Linn Was Formerly Called Summit
Linn is located on the Missouri Pacific railroad, about seven miles southwest of Greenleaf. It received its name from Linn Post Office, which was established in 1877, but, when the railroad reached this point, it was found to be the highest point west of Atchison and was called Summit. Wm. Cummings built a store there in January, 1881. Mahone Brothers started a lumber yard soon after in connection with a hardware store. The name of the town was later changed back to Linn.
In September of 1870, the Rev. Jacob LeVan his wife and four children came to Washington from Guthrie Center, Iowa, having been sent to Kansas by the Home Methodist Church. The family came in a covered wagon, drawn by a team, and they, like many other pioneers, brought with them their family milk cow. The first winter the Rev. LeVan and his family spent in Washington. In the spring of ‘71 a homestead was staked six miles directly west of where Linn is located. On this homestead a one-room house was built of native-sawed lumber, which had to be hauled from Washington. The team which brought them to Kansas was traded for a team of oxen and a pony which the Rev. LeVan rode from meeting place to meeting place.
The newspaper of Linn, the Linn-Palmer Record is owned by A. Higgins and edited by A. E. Strang.
Dr. F. E. Rogers Is Mayor of Linn
Dr. Fred E. Rogers is mayor of the City of Linn at the present time. The population of Linn is 385. F. W. Hayes, Del Leiszler, Otto Peters, J. J. Erhard and W. A. Buch are members of the City Council. The City Clerk is R. B. Scott.
The Washington County Co-operative Creamery,
the largest creamery in this section of the state, was organized in 1921. George Wilkens is president of the corporation, C. G. Steele is vice-president and B. W. Roepke is secretary-treasurer and general manager.
Mr. Roepke came to Linn three years ago from Riley county and took over the management of the creamery. He has five children, Ross, Arlyss, Keith, Evelyn and Joyce, who live on his farm in Riley County.
The creamery is governed by a group of directors chosen from different parts of the county by the stockholders, each stockholder having one vote. The directors in turn choose the officers. At present the directors are: J. F. Dague, J. W. Uffman, Howard Yoder, A. J. Bollinger, Albert Tiemeyer, W. E. Kin, George Wilkens, Arnold Hoffman, W. W. Hayward, Walter Nelson, Wm. Woerman, Chas. Oeschlager, Siegfried Anderson, L. C. Dahm, C. G. Steele, John Hogan, Arthur Wohler and Henry Hatesohl.
Linn Rural Telephone Company,
was organized in 1903. Linn townspeople and farmers living near Linn own the stock.
F. C. Conklin is president of the telephone company and C. A. Johnson is manager. The directors are Henry Flomer, Arnold Prothe, Archie Van Petten, F. C. Conklin and C. A. Johnson. Misses Juanita Seon and Helen Erickson are the operators and Emil Schwerdtfeger is lineman.
Ed Poersch Auto Parts Store
Ed Poersch owns the Ed Poersch Auto Parts store in Linn. There is a lunch room in connection with the store and groceries are sold.
Mr. Poersch was born in Washington county and moved to Linn in 1921 when he started the store. He is a member of the Evangelical church. His wife was Ruth Grove and they have one daughter Ann.
Hoerman Packing Company
The largest packing company in Washington County is the Hoerman Packing Company in Linn. It was started in 1906 by H. C. Hoerman, who organized direct trucking from farm to the plant. In 1929 the ownership was changed from private to a corporation.
The present manager is F. C. Conklin, son of Mr. and Mrs. T. A. Conklin who lived near Washington. Before going to Linn in 1923 Mr. Conklin worked in several offices in the Court House. He attends the Christian church and is a member of the Masonic lodge. He married Mrs. Freda Mahoney and they have one daughter, Margaret.
Pronski Oil Company
Paul Pronske is owner of the Pronske Oil Company in Linn. He sells Dixie gas and oil, tires and batteries. The station was started in 1924.
Mr. Pronske came to Linn from Waterville in 1917. He is a member of the Lutheran church. He has two children, Nadine and Jornell. Mr. Pronske has served on the City Council, he is treasurer of the school board and is fire chief. His father, A. G. Pronske, lives in Linn.
E. C. Collins organized the Collins Hardware in Linn in 1896. He handles a complete line of hardware, stoves, paints and also has a tin shop. Before starting the hardware store he lived on a farm near Linn.
Mr. Collins was the first Mayor of Linn and has served on the City Council for nearly twenty years. He has one daughter, Mrs. Sherman Lull of Washington.
City Barber Shop
A. L. Foster is proprietor of the City Barber Shop in Linn. He also manages a cleaning shop in connection with the barber shop.
He came to Linn in 1923 from Frankfort and started the shop. He is a member of the Methodist church. Mr. and Mrs. Foster have two daughters, Thelma and Virginia.
The Rice-Johntz Company, which is one of a group of lumber yards owned by the Hardman Lumber Company with headquarters in Downs, Kansas, is managed by F. W. Hayes, and a complete line of building materials are sold. The firm was organized in 1914. Mr. Hayes came to Linn in 1920 from Bostwick, Nebr. He is affiliated with the Methodist church and is a member of the Woodmen, Odd Fellow, Masonic and Elk lodges. During the World War he was in the 57th Company stationed at Camp Funston. He married Mary Ethel Atwood and they have three children. Harriet is attending Washburn college, John jr. is in the Williams Embalming Institute in Kansas City, and Lewis A. is at home. Mr. Hayes is a member of the City Council.
in Linn is owned and managed by Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Lohmeyer. They sell meats, groceries and fresh fruits and vegetables. The firm was organized in 1931.
Mr. Lohmeyer was born in Washington county and moved to Linn 8 years ago. He is a member of the Lutheran Evangelical church. His wife was Viola Waterman before her marriage, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Waterman who have been here for 60 years and now live east of Washington. Mr. and Mrs. Lohmeyer have three children, Raymond, Forrest and Dale. Mr. Lohmeyer’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. H. D. Lohmeyer, have lived in the county for 50 years. Mrs. Lohmeyer now lives in Linn.
The City Cafe,
in Linn is owned by J. J. Erhard. He serves meals and short orders and sells ice cream, soft drinks, cigars and candy.
Mr. Erhard has lived in Linn for 51 years and started the cafe in 1919. Before starting the cafe he was a butcher in Linn, Palmer and Barnes. His mother is Mrs. Minnie Erhard who lives in Linn.
He married Louise Hay and they have seven children. They are Arthur, Minnie, Ruth, Viola who lives in Concordia, Kenneth of Salt Lake City and Mae and Jacqueline of Linn.
Peters General Store
Otto Peters is the manager of Peters General Store in Linn. Meats, groceries, dry goods and general merchandise are sold.
Mr. Peters has lived in Washington county for 46 years and moved to Linn 9 years ago when he bought the store. His wife was formerly Miss Margaret Wiemers and they have one daughter, Myrma, who is 3-1/2 years old. He is a member of the Zion Lutheran church and is on the City Council. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Nick Peters came to Linn about 70 years ago. Mrs. Nick Peters lives in Linn today.
Singular Funeral Home and Furniture Store
Charles M. Singular owns the Singular Funeral Home and Furniture Store in Linn. He is a licensed embalmer, having graduated from Williams Institute of Kansas City, Kansas.
Mr. Singular, son of Thomas Singular of Clifton, was born in Clifton and attended the Clifton high school graduating in 1923. He moved to Linn in 1927 and bought the furniture store in 1933. His mother, Mrs. Sylvia Welch, also lives in Clifton.
Clarence A. Johnson is owner of the Linn Pharmacy. He sells drugs, school supplies, and handles Gold Nugget ice cream.
Mr. Johnson’s father, Frank Johnson, came to Washington county in 1884. He and Mrs. Johnson now live in Linn and Frank Johnson helps his son in the drug store. C. A. Johnson married Olive Hustead and they have two children, Evelyn who lives in Wichita and Lowell at home. Mr. Johnson attended the Creighton School of Pharmacy in Omaha, graduating in 1909.
Linn Co-op Exchange,
stock of which is held by farmers in and around Linn, owns the elevator in Linn. Seeds, feeds, livestock and hay are bought and sold. Ed Fahsoltz is president, C. A. Johnson is secretary-treasurer and the directors are H. Flomer, Ernest Helms, Car1 Pauli and John Newton.
Fred Slipsager, the manager came to Linn in 1910 from Bloomington, Kansas. He formerly owned the elevator and sold it to the Co-Op Exchange in 1931. He has four children, Mona, Lucille, Norman and Noel.
Casper Implement Company
in Linn is owned by J. A. Casper of Clifton and managed by George Hall. Casper also has an implement business in Clifton and has been in business in this territory for 25 years. He sells McCormick-Deering implements, parts, hardware repair and service. The Linn branch has been organized 10 years.
Mr. Hall came to Linn nine months ago from Solomon, Dickinson County, Kansas. He is a member of the Presbyterian church and of the Masonic lodge. He has one son, James. Mr. Hall is the son-in-law of J. A. Casper.
Linn State Bank
The only new bank organized in the State of Kansas in 1934 was the Linn State Bank which was started July 29, 1934. It has a capital of $25,000.00 with a surplus and undivided profits of $7,500.00. C. A. Johnson is president, Ernest Helms is vice president, R. D. Oltjen cashier, Chas. F. Austin assistant cashier, and the other directors are F. C. Conklin and F. R. Lobaugh.
R. D. Oltjen, the cashier, came to Linn 4 years ago from Brown county. He is a member of the Lutheran church and of the Linn Booster Club. He has one daughter, Patricia Rae.
H. L. Ferris is Postmaster
in Linn. He was appointed June 6 of this year. The office is a third class office.
Mr. Ferris came to Washington county 40 years ago from Jewell county. He now lives six miles from Linn. He is a mason and at the present time is master of the Linn lodge. He is married, has one son John of Clay Center and one caughter, Mrs. Ed Doupnik. Mr. Ferris is well known over the county as he cried sales for a time.
Morrowville Was Formerly Called Morrow
In 1870 Emerson White, nephew of Mrs. Rufus Darby, homesteaded the land where the town of Morrowville now stands. It later was purchased by Cal Morrow and "Pap" Simpson who, with the prospects of the Burlington Railroad in the early eighties, conceived the idea of a town. This town was named Morrow for its promoter. As time passed, difficulties were encountered with the mails, there being a Kansas town of similar name (Morrill), so the post office was changed to Morrowville and gradually the town accepted the new name.
Hugh Garret was the proprietor of the first general store. Dr. French had the first drug store, William A. Nye the first hardware store, Alex McLaren a second general merchandise store and a short time later William Shaw built and became proprietor of the hotel.
Morrowville City Has Acting Mayor
Vern Lindsley was selected from the council as acting mayor of Morrowville, taking the place of George Gehring, deceased. Jay Hatter is City Clerk. The City Council includes Lloyd Bonar, Tom McWilliams, Ed Brant, and H. H. Diller. The population of Morrowville is 245.
In 1906 O. A. Stanton & Sons bought out Johnson & Flansburg Hardware and in 1906 it was turned over to R. J. Stanton and renamed the R. J. Stanton Hardware & Drug. This building is a brick building 50 by 70 feet and was built in 1925. J. T. Lewis is the pharmacist and has been a registered pharmacist since 1895.
Mr. Stanton has lived in Washington county all of his life and moved to Morrowville in 1906. He is a member of the Methodist church and the Masonic lodge. He has served on the school board and is one of the directors of the Morrowville State Bank. He has four children: Mr. Harold Stanton, who assists in the store; Verlin and Max Stanton who own a garage in Colorado Spring; and Miss Velma Stanton who is in Lincoln Nebr.
Hardware, harnes, paints, sundries and drugs are handled by the R. J. Stanton Hardware & Drug Store.
Many personalities have entered into the success of the Stanton store in the past 32 years, to whom the present management feels indebted. Among those are such names are E. C. Stanton, Ed Erps, J. C. Urban, J. B. Schwab, F. E. Day, H. H. Diller and present employees J. T. Lewis, Harold S. and Mrs. Flora Meyers. Each one has been employed five years or more with the exception of Mrs. Meyers.
Morrowville State Bank
H. H. Diller has been cashier of the Morrowville State Bank for 28 years and in this position has done a great deal to guide the business activities of the city of Morrowville and the farmers living near Morrowville.
Mr. Diller has lived in Morrowville for 54 years and is a member of the Methodist church and the Masonic and Woodman lodges. Before becoming cashier he taught school for 11 years in Washington county. Mr. and Mrs. Diller have six children, all of whom are married. They are Mrs. Vera Jones of Washington, Mrs. Wilma Bastow of Blue Island, Ill., Mrs. Helen Schnieberger, Madison, Wisc., Mrs. Dorotha Jensen of Wichita, Mrs. Marjorie Myers of Colorado Springs and Mr. Duane Diller of Wichita.
The Morrowvi!le State Bank was organized in 1904. It now has a capital stock of $20,000 with surplus and undivided profits of $7,000. L. H. Wilsey is president; C. H. Smith, vice president; H. H. Di!ler, cashier; Anna Mallery, assistant cashier. The directors are R. J. Stanton, J. K. Synovec, Earl Sawyer, L. H. Bonar, and the officers.
H. C. Prall owns Prall’s Cafe in Morrowvi!le. He has owned the Cafe for one year and before this it was known as the Rose Cafe.
H. C. Prall lived 5-1/2 miles northwest of Hanover for 59 years until he moved to Morrowvi!le one year ago. While living there he was on the school board of District No.88 for ten years. His parents were Mr. and Mrs. E. H. Prall of Hollenberg who came to Washington county in 1861.
H. C. Prall has six children. They are Mr. Forrest Prall of Bremen; Mr. Harry Prall, Hill City; Mrs. Goldie Vell of Council Grove; Miss Evelyn Prall of Hanover and Misses Ruth and Marjorie of the home.
Regular meals, cold drinks and short orders are served by this Café. Tobacco, pop and ice cream are also sold.
Howell Lumber Company
Mr. John Jandera is the manager of the Howell Lumber Company in Morrowville which is owned by the Howell Lumber Company of Fairbury, Neb.
Although he has lived in Washington county for 34 years Mr. Jandera has lived in Morrowville since 1926. Before that he was with the Howell Lumber Company at Washington and then at Mahaska. He is a member of the Masonic lodge.
Miss Nelda, Miss Velma and John Eldon Jandera are the children of Mr. and Mrs. Jandera and all live at home. Mrs. Jandera was formerly Miss Alta Robbins.
Lumber, wallpaper, Ideal cement, and a complete line of building materials are sold by the Howell Lumber Company which has been in Morrowville for 12 years.
Barnes Cash Store
Mr. Otho Barnes, who owns the Barnes Cash Store in Morrowville, has lived in and near Morrowville for the past thirty years. Before that he lived in Washington for five years.
Mr. Barnes is a member of the Methodist church and the Masonic lodge. He is married and has two girls, June who is 10 years old and Joan who is 3. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. G. T. Barnes of Morrowville who have lived in Washington county for 50 years.
The store was started by D. T. Moloney and bought by L. C. Wurtz in 1919. In 1929 Harry Pepple bought the store and in 1936 Mr. Barnes took charge. All kinds of groceries, meats and dry goods are handled.
Mrs. C. O. Throop and her son Hardy Throop have been the managers and owners of the Throop Hotel in Morrowville since the firm was organized in 1928, except for four years just following 1923.
The hotel is a modern brick building which was built two years after the old Blocker Hotel, a frame building, burned, leaving Morrowville without a hotel for two years. The Throop Hotel serves regular meals, and has fountain service, candy and tobacco in connection. Good beds are their specialty. For ten years the croquet court behind the hotel has been one of the town’s most popular amusement spots. The court has concrete sides and some real croquet is played there.
The Throop family were all born neal Morrowville and have lived around Morrowville most of their lives. Mr. Throop is not living.
P. S. Kozel, who lives 1-1/2 miles west and 1-1/2 miles north of Morrowville, has been postmaster since June 1, 1933 of the city of Morrowville.
Mr. Kozel has lived near Morrowville all of his life and served in the United States army during the World War. He has been treasurer of the Morrowville Rural High School for six years and was elected this year for another term of three years. On June 1, 1933, Mr. Kozel was appointed as Acting Postmaster to replace Mr. John Schwab who had become deputy county treasurer. He was reappointed as Postmaster on May 25, 1938.
The postoffice has been located on the west side of Main Street with the exception of one year since it was established until December 1, 1938. At this time it was moved to the west side of the street into the Kozel & Patterson building.
Mr. Harry A. Pepple is the owner of Pepple’s General Store & Barber Shop in Morrowville. O. A. Barnes manages the general store and Mr. Pepple runs the barber shop.
Mr. Pepple came to Morrowville in 1888 from Henry County, Iowa. He has barbered the greater part of his life except for two terms, from 1927 to 1931 as county sheriff and eight years that he traveled for a Kansas City grain firm. He is a member of the Masonic and Woodman lodges and of the Methodist church.
His wife was Miss Lizzie Mengers, daughter of A. R. and Christina Mengers who live in Hanover. They have one daughter, Mrs. Vera Barnes of Morrowville. Mrs. John Pepple who lives in Washington is H. A. Pepple’s mother.
One of the oldest residents of the county is J. D. Lewis who came to Washington county in 1879. Since 1921 he has been the owner of the Lewis Blacksmith and Machine Shop in Morrowville.
Mr. Lewis attended school in Washington when he first came to the county in the old stone school house. He then moved to a farm where he lived until 1921 when moved to Morrowville and began his Machine Shop. Welding, machine work, blacksmithing, and repairs of all kinds can be secured at the Lewis Shop. He is a member of the M. W. A. lodge and was elected police judge of Morrowville but refused the office.
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis (formerly Miss Mary Stolzer) have two sons, Mr. David A. Lewis of Belleville and Mr. Walter Lewis of northeast of Morrowville. Their daughter is Mrs. Edith Cozine of Belleville.
Morrowville Grain & Coal Co.
The west elevator in Morrowville known as the Morrowville Grain & Coal Company is a cooperative organization managed by J. T. Jandera.
Mr. Jandera was born in Washington county 58 years ago and has lived in the county all of his life. He has farmed neal Morrowville and near Hanover. For ten years he managed a grain business until June when he was secured to manage the Grain & Coal Company.
Brant Motor Co.
One of the large garages in Morrowville is the Brant Motor Company owned and managed by Edward T. Brant.
Mr. Brant has been in Morrowville for 40 years and has owned this garage since 1928. He has served on the City Council and is a member of the Methodist church. He and Mrs. Brant (Miss Delta Beitzel) have two children, Donna Ruth and Mary Lou. Mr. Brant’s mother, Mrs. Sophia Brant lives in Morrowville and has lived in Washington county for 50 years.
Dodge and Plymouth automobiles and trucks are sold by the Brant Motor Company which was organized in 1915 and bought by Edward Brant in 1928. They do general repair work and sell Corduroy tires and Grant batteries.
Swift & Co.
Mr. Fred Mathy is the manager of the Swift & Company produce company in Morrowville. He buys cream, poultry, eggs, feed and hides. He also has charge of the country route service for Swift & Company. The station is owned by O. A. Barnes.
Mr. Mathy has lived in Morrowville for four years and in Washington county since 1924. He is a member of the Catholic church. Mrs. Mathy was Miss Velma Barnes.
Mr. Mathy’s father is Joe Mathy of Morrowville.
Miss Bertha Lesher is one of the business women of Morrowville. She owns and manages the Lesher Variety Store.
She has lived in Washington county since 1885. For a while the Leshers lived near Haddam and then on a farm near Morrowville until 1927 when they moved to Morrowville. She is a member of the Methodist church and Royal Neighbors lodge. Her parents were Mr. and Mrs. D. S. Lesher. Mr. Lesher died in 1927 and Mrs. Lesher in 1932.
The large number and variety of flowers in the store and in her home attract many people. The Variety store was established in 1925.
Lindsley's Store has been managed by the Lindsley family since it was started in 1917. It was organized by J. C. Lindsley when it first started, then by his son R. H. Lindsley and in 1931 Vern Lindsley became the manager.
Mr. Vern Lindsley has lived in Morrowville for 22 years and in Washington county for 31 years. He takes an active interest in church work and in civic affairs. He is a member of the Christian church. For the last four years he has served on the city council and last year was acting mayor. He has also served three years on the district school board. He is married and has one daughter, Marilyn, aged 6.
Vern’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. R. H. Lindsley have lived in Washington county for over 50 years and in Morrowville since 1916.
Groceries, fresh fruits and vegetables and cured meats are sold by Lindsley’s Store.
Gassert & Bonar
One of the largest Implement Business in Morrowville is the Gassert & Bonar business owned and managed by F. H. Gassert and Bert Bonar.
Mr. Gassert has lived in Morrowville since 1919 and in the county for 38 years. He came to Morrowville from Johnson county, Mo. and attends the Christian church. He has two children, Mrs. Eugene Boston of Morrowville and Miss Irene Gassert of the home. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. Harry Gassert who lived on a farm near Washington.
Mr. Bonar, who has lived in the county all his life, has one son, Lloyd Bonar, and a daughter, Betty. International Harvester farm implements and repairs are handled by Gassert & Bonar
Coop Oil Co.
Mr. Melvin R. Gaston is manager of the Morrowville Independent Cooperative Oil Company. The firm was organized in 1931.
Mr. Gaston has lived in Morrowville for eight years and in Washington county for eighteen years. He is married and has four children.
The company is owned by a number of farmers around the vicinity of Morrowville and Haddam. Dividends of ten per cent are issued each year. The number of stockholders is increasing yearly. Cooperative and Skelly gas are handled.
J. L. Hatter Produce
J. L. Hatter, owner and manager of the J. L. Hatter Produce firm at Morrowville has successfully operated this business for 12 years, handling feeds and seeds and buying produce.
Mr. Hatter has lived in Washington county all his life, being born one mile east of the Scruby school just north of Washington. His grandparents were some of the first settlers in the county, coming here about 1859 and homesteading on the Little Blue near Hollenberg before the Civil War. Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Hatter, the grandparents, were hardy pioneers and were Prominent builders of our county.
Mr. Hatter is married and has two daughters, Ellen, 18 and Lorene 10. He is now City Clerk of the City of Morrowville, having held that office for four years. He has also served three years on the school board and four years as treasurer of Farmington township. He is a member of the Odd Fellow lodge. His parents were Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Hatter.
The Fairmont Creamery is the oldest creamery in Morrowville, being started in 1898 by Milo Osterhout, as a skimming plant. Mr. Osterhout is now manager of the Fairmont Creamery at Crete, Nebr.
Texaco -- Morrowville
Francis Koch has owned and managed the Texaco Service Station in Morrowville for the last two years.
He came to Washington county 20 years ago from Nebraska. He is a member of the Catholic church. Mr. Koch’s parents are Mr. and Mrs. Frank K. Koch of Gladstone, Nebr. They lived in Washington county for 35 years. Mr. and Mrs. Francis Koch have one child.
The Texaco Service Station features prompt, dependable service and sells Texaco gasoline, oil, grease and tires.
The Commercial House
one of the oldest hotels in Washington, originally stood on the southwest corner of the square where the First National Bank now stands. In the summer of 1872 J. B. Snider erected this commodious building which was 52 feet by 40 feet and two stories high, accommodating 60 guests. It was ready for business in September of that year, and became a popular resort for travelers. George W. Sharp, who came to Washington in 1868 became the proprietor when Ed and Tom were mere boys. It was to this hotel that the early mail was taken. The building was eventually sold to William Nims, who moved it to the location shown here which is 1-1/2 blocks north of where it formerly stood. The present Hotel Washington is the outgrowth.
To the left of the hotel in the picture is the Spiere Clothing Store. Down the street can be seen the Darby store, the old-time First National Bank, the Collins building and in the distance at the left of the picture is the steeple of the old Methodist church.
The Central House
located on the north side of the square just east of the alley, where the Anderson Implement now stands was a first class hotel—the $2 a day house where the commercial men were won’t to congregate. R. E. Foote who came from Wisconsin in 1876 was the proprietor, which occasioned the hotel being oftentimes spoken of as the Foote Hotel. The frame building herein shown was the original hotel. It was purchased from George Wilks and continued to be an annex after the brick building was constructed. The Central Hotel proper had thirty rooms and this brick building was 40 feet by 70 feet in diameter.
THE FAMILY CLOCK
The old clock sits in solemn state
Does he think of the secrets he could relate
If only he could chatter and talk
Instead of saying "Tic-toc, tic-toc."
Amazing things the clock must see
Would he tell something good of you, of me?
Or is it lucky for us, his lips are locked
And all he can say, is "Tic-toc, Tic-toc."
In musical rhythm, early and late
He ticks off the minutes of life, of fate
When we are gone will he weep or mock?
"A little of both," says that steady Tic-Toc.
For a wise old judge is the family clock,
And that is his sentence if he could talk
Instead of saying "Tic-toc."
--Addie C. Jones.
Town Company Organized County Seat In 1859
Washington, the county seat of Washington County, is situated in the valley of Mill Creek, one mile north of the geographical center. Three different towns were rivals for the county seat. The first was at the center, the second was on Mill Creek, close to James McNulty’s, and the third the present site. An election was held in April, 1860, the result being in favor of the present location. The town was organized September, 1859. The incorporators were Geo. G. Pierce, H. Lott, James W. Darby, R. C. Darby and David E. Ballard. In September 1869 Colonel Bowen acquired an interest by the assignment of R. C. Darby. D. E. Ballard played a prominent part in the history, development and progress of the county and city. He was the only commissioned officer who went out of Washington county during the war. His past efforts in our interests, as well as his last in aid of our railroad enterprises, should always be remembered in a spirit of just appreciation. The first house was built by Mr. Ballard and George Pierce. It was also the first school house, and second hotel. The second house built and occupied was by Thomas Bowen, at Mr. Melvin’s blacksmith shop, a log cabin 12 by 14 feet. Later it was the headquarters of McClimate, one of the New York colony that was driven back by the Indians from White Rock in 1870. In this cabin was also the first store; goods were sold out of a big box when needed, shelves being superfluous. Mr. Woolbert, sr., built the first hotel. It was made of logs, put up endwise, stockade fashion, and six inches thick. It was afterwards sold to the county for a temporary court house. Burning down in the spring of 1869, it was rebuilt by the county in 1871, burning again, December 15, 1872, rebuilt again by the Insurance Company July 1, 1873.
The first land broken on the site was on block twenty-nine, previous to proving up on the land. There were living on the townsite, at that time, Elgin Richards, who proved up on the east 1/2 of the northwest 14 of Section 1, and the north 1/2 of the northeast 1/4 of Section 2, also Christian Strohm who entered the east half of the northeast 1/4 of Section 11, and the south half of the northeast 1/4 of section 2, each one proving up separately, and then deeding their land to the above named company. The 80 acres of land lying south of East Washington was then part of the town site. D. E. Ballard afterward bought up the lots and sold them to S. F. Snider, who sold them to Mr. Sprengle.
James McNulty and D. E. Ballard built and kept the first regular dry goods stores. At that time they had mail once a week from Marysville. It was kept in a candle box with two partitions in it. As late as 1859, deer, elk and antelope were to be seen close to the city limits. When the war broke out Geo. G. Pierce and Thos. Bowen went into the U.S. Army, leaving the town in charge of D. E. Ballard, under the laws of the State governing the same. A partial drawing of lots was made on August 22, 1860, and others set aside to give away to them that would build. Other lots were given to the county in consideration of the county seat being located here.
The war arrested for a time the growth of the town, but in 1866 immigration commenced pouring in. Geo. W. Shriner and Dr. Chas. Williamson of Atchison county, Kansas, located in Washington in the summer of 1866, and two years later James F. Tallman and Charles Smith arrived. The stone school house was built in 1869, being the first school district in the county that voted bonds. In 1867 was started the first pioneer drug store by Mrs. S. A. Williamson. The streets were then lined with white topped immigrant wagons. We had but one main street, and Saturday was gala day. The Mill creek boys ran foot and horse races, and the rest, all being on an equality -- poor alike -- sat.around, braced up each other’s courage, talked politics, and felt better over the glorious future of the town and county.
The advent of Mark J. Kelley and his Observer a little 7 by 9 newspaper, was a turning point in our history that should be properly appreciated. It was full of locals week after week, and advertising the county in glowing colors. It found its way to the home of Chris Albright in Wisconsin and J. W. Barley in Ohio. The pen jottings of irrepressible Mark J. Kelley went everywhere into Eastern homes, and immigration poured in as a sequel. And no wonder; in the editor’s sanctum might be found the lawyer, the doctor, legislator and future judge, for Andrew S. Wilson had just moved in from Springfield, Ill. They wrote copy, corrected proof, distributed ink, forded papers, and as printers call it, played the "devil" generally.
The city in 1876 contained 600 inhabitants. It had three hotels -- the Washington House, by C. Albright, the Central House, by George H. Wilkes, and the American House, by Mrs. Stevens; five stores of general merchandise, kept by Barley & Young, Dr. Walden, Smith, Holcomb & Co., James S. Vedder & Co., and E. D. & A. W. Moore & Co.; one bank, loan and real estate agency, by Shriner Brothers; one furniture store, by J. C. McCew; two groceries, by Penwell & Tucker and John Bilsc; one restaurant for the sale of fancy groceries and confectionery, by John Crider; two billiard halls, by Peter Erb and Miller & Allen; two blacksmith shops, by W. F. Hackney and John Draper; two harness shops, by John R. Pruden and G. E. Ross; two drug stores, by John A. Brown and William Frank; two jewelers and watchmakers, William Frank and W. Road; two Boot and Shoe shops, by John W. Ayres and G. A. Caswell; two millinery establishments, by Miss E. F. Collins and Mrs. John A. Brown; three sewing machine agencies, by James H. Brown, A. J. Palmer and William Clark; one butcher shop; one barber shop; one stationery store and post office, by E. N. Emmons; two livery stables by Samuel Musser and Henry Stevens; one wagon shop, by Jacob Etter; three boarding houses; three physicians, E. H. Walden, Chas. Williamson and E. G. Whetstine; one photograph galery, by E. M. Lewis; one school house; one hall occupied by the Good Templars, and one by the Masons and Odd Fellows; one grain elevator and store; two paint shops by S. H. Maunder and Daniel Lashell; one Presbyterian church; a Methodist Episcopal parsonage. There were two flouring mills within a half mile of the city, on Mill creek.
Bus Schedule of 1875
Kansas and Nebraska Stage, going West arrives at 6 p. m. departs at 6 a. m., going East arrives at 6 p. m.; departs at 5 a.m.
Northwestern Stage between Waterville and this place arrives at 12 m. departs at 1 p. m.
Jenkins Mill via Joy Creek, departs Saturday morning arrives Saturday evening each week.
Mails for the east via Hanover close at 7:15 p. m.; for the south via Waterville at 12:15 p. m.; for the west at 8 p. m.
Office hours from 7 a. m. to 8 p. m. On Sunday all mails close at 12 m.
A. N. Holloway was elected Mayor of Washington in 1933 and re-elected in ‘35 and ‘37. L. T. Asche is City Clerk. Miss Della Hoerman is City Treasurer. Members of the council are E. A. Ward, A. G. Nims, C. D. Rosenkranz, John P. Barley, and Martin Kiger. The population is 1575.
Band In Washington For Fifty-Five Years
The Washington Band was organized in 1883 by George Hillabrant who directed for the next 20 years. Since that time, fifty-five years ago, Washington has never been without a band. Today the band has over sixty pieces and is uniformed in red and black military style uniforms.
One of the greatest honors the Washington band ever had was in 1904 when it led the Kansas Day parade at the World’s Fair in St. Louis, Mo. G. Glen Hillabrant, who is treasurer of the band at the present time, was a member of the band then. Walter G. Darby was the director.
Jim Hillabrant, the grandson, and G. Glen Hillabrant, the son, of George Hillabrant, the first director play in the band, as do Don Darby and Jean Darby, grandchildren and H. H. Darby, the son, of W. G. Darby another early director.
Others who have directed the band are H. H. Darby, Fred King, Leland Gobel, J. P. Kelley, E. Paul Fisher, William Edmonds, Bill Wells, Pearl Wells, and Martin Wohlner.
At present George Berentz is the director. He came to Washington in 1936 after graduating from Emporia Teachers College and is the director of the city band as well as the school bands.
There are now three bands in Washington, the city band, the high school band, and the grade school band. Each of the school organizations has nearly forty members. The high school band enters the state contest every year. The city band plays a concert every week during the summer at the City Park and also plays exchange concerts with nearby bands.
The pictures of the first band of 1883 and the band of 1938 are found on this page.
E. L. Granger owns the largest women’s ready-to-wear store in Washington county. He came to Washington in 1924 from Marshall County and purchased the store which is the third door north of the First National Bank.
Mr. and Mrs. Granger have two children, Kenneth, who is attending the University of Kansas, and Miss Jean who is a senior in high school this year. He is a member of the Presbyterian church, the Lions Club, the Chamber of Commerce, the Legion, and the Masonic lodge. This year he is master of the Washington Chapter of the lodge.
Mr. Granger has been in the store business since finishing school. Mrs. Granger is associated in the business here and assists in the store.
The Washington National Bank
One of the oldest financial institutions in Washington county as well as one of the soundest, is the Washington National Bank. Organized on March 29, 1881, as the Washington State Bank, it was headed by Edwin Knowles as president, Thomas Haak, vice-president and E. C. Knowles secretary and cashier. On April 24, 1884, the bank was reorganized and chartered as a national bank under the name of the Washington National Bank of Washington. The first directors under the new organization were Thomas Haak, president, J. S. Alsbaugh, vice president; Thomas Groody, cashier and secretary; E. C. Knowles, Alfred Knowles, A. W. Moore and John W. Cullimore.
In 1898, August Soller first purchased a few shares of stock and in 1900 he became a director. In October, 1909, August Soller purchased control with his associates J. A. Brown, George H. Thiele, E. A. Ward and E. H. Bordner and at that time was made president of the bank. In 1910 Albert W. Soller became associated with the bank.
In September 1914 A. J. Freeborn became attorney and counsel for the bank, becoming one of the directors in January 1917.
W. A. Soller became associated with the bank in 1919, L. E. Soller in 1921, Adoplh Hanni in 1913 and Don Snyder in 1923.
The present officers and directors are: A. W. Soller, president; W. A. Soller, vice president; L. E. Soller, cashier; Adolph Hanni and Don Snyder, assistant cashiers; and E. A. Ward, A. J. Freeborn and Ida Soller, directors.
Hadachek Produce Co.
Lewis Hadachek started the Hadachek Produce Company in Washington 20 years ago and moved it to its present location in 1921. He buys cream, eggs and poultry and sells feeds and flour.
Mr. and Mrs. Hadachek came to Washington from Concordia in 1917. Mr. Hadachek's father, Joseph Hadachek, came to Republic county 66 years ago from Wisconsin. He lives in Washington now.
The Washington County Farm Bureau
Was organized between the dates of December 11, 1916 and January 13, 1917 with 260 charter members.
First officers were: D. A. Kramer, president; F. C. McNitt, vice president; Roy Gwin, secretary-treasurer.
The township vice-presidents were: Cal Morrow, Union; F. E. Ertel, Lowe; N. L. Newcomb, Highland; Victor Diller, Franklin; Chas. F. Dusch, Independence; Chas. Stamm, Logan; D. L. Ostlund, Brantford; A. M. McCulley, Strawberry; E. C. Dustin, Little Blue; H. J. Meierkord, Linn; R. E. Fenton, Haddam township; Robert Frazier, Mill Creek; A. M. Dull, Farmington; Fay Branscome, Charleston; H. D. Schroeder, Hanover township; W. T. Bobbitt, Grant; R. D. Cozine, Coleman; H. D. Duston, Washington township; W. H. Webster, Greenleaf township, C. G. Steele, Barnes township; G. F. Pauli, Clifton township; M. T. Funnell, Sheriden township, Henry Palmer, Sherman; Ed Roberts, Kimeo, B. D. Sperry, Lincoln.
Raymond W. Schafer, the first County Agent was employed and started work February 12, 1917 resigned -- December 29, 1920. John V. Hepler, second County Agent served from January 3, 1921 until March 1930.
Leonard F. Neff, present County Agent, began work April 1, 1930. Willard Kershaw, present 4-H Club Agent, began work January 1, 1936. Vira Brown, present home demonstration agent began work January 15, 1936.
Knedlik Barber Shop
W. R. Knedlik organized the Knedlik Barber Shop in Washington in 1927. He offers complete barber shop service. He is a member of the chamber of Commerce.
He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Knedlik who came to Washington county about 50 years ago from Bohemia. He is married and has one son, Donald, who is five years old.
J. A. Maxwell, Abstracter
J. A. Maxwell, bonded abstracter, is the successor to the long established abstract firm of Geo. H. Thiele and Mary E. Thiele. This firm was organized January 1, 1880. Mr. Maxwell, who became the successor about one year ago, is an abstracter of titles, notary public and conveyancer.
Mr. Maxwell was born in Washington County and his resided here all of his life except for 15 years he was absent in Wichita, doing government work. He is a member of long standing in the Presbyterian church and the Odd Fellows lodge, and is a member of the Chamber of Commerce. Some years ago he served on the City Council two years, as County Clerk four years and was County Treasurer four years. Now he is collector for the City of Washington.
The Maxwells have a family of six children, James, Blanche, Paul, Margaret, Mary and Jean. Paul is the only one at home, he being associated with his father in business.
Mr. Maxwell's parents, Mr. and Mrs. James Maxwell, were pioneers in the county, homesteading in Kimeo township in 1870. They retired from the farm to Washington in 1901.
McLeod's Standard Service
A. C. McLeod is the owner and manager of McLeod's Standard Service station located on Highway 36, one-half block west of Main Street, and built in 1937.
Alva has lived in Washington county all of his life and was graduated from the Washington high school
"Mac" as he is known has always been interested in civic and political affairs. He was sheriff of Washington county for four years, from 1933 to 1936 inclusive. He is a member of the Masonic lodge, Chamber of Commerce and the American Legion. Mrs. McLeod is the former Miss Bess Cartwright.
Alva's parents, Mr. and Mrs. D. W. McLeod, came to Washington county in 1868. Dan McLeod also was sheriff of Washington county, holding that position for eight years. He passed away last April.
Alva has been a salesman for the Standard Oil Company for eight years. He has operated McLeod's Standard Service since last fall where he sells Red Crown gasoline, Iso-Vis Quaker State and Polarine oils, and Atlas tires and batteries.
The Hotel Washington, which is managed by Mr. and Mrs. S. L. Hess, J. F. Adams being the owner, is a first class modern 30-room hotel. The coffee shop in connection is a most popular cafe and banquet hall.
Hotel Washington’s history runs back some 60 years at which time Tom Sharp’s parents operated the Commercial House, which was moved from the location where Diedrich’s store now is to the present hotel site. At that time the name was changed to the St. James Hotel. Just 50 years ago Wm. E. Nims remodeled the structure and called it the Washington House.
Mr. and Mrs. Hess (coming here from Colorado) have successfully operated the hotel for four years. They are members of the Episcopal church. Mr. Hess is active in civic affairs, being on the board of directors of the Lions Club, vice president of the Chamber of Commerce in 1937 and was recently elected Democratic precinct committeeman. From 1906 to 1909 he was in the Cuban Army of Cuban Pacification, at Havana.
Beasley Repair Shop
Earl Thomas Beasley, one of the best mechanics in this part of the state, has owned a repair shop in Washington since 1932. He has been a mechanic for 25 years and came to Washington in 1923 from Blue Rapids.
Mr. and Mrs. Beasley have two sons, Verto who works at the Texaco Filling Station, and Bob who works in the Register office, and one daughter, Miss Caroline who works in the Court House.
J. R. Anderson Hardware
J. R. Anderson moved to Washington from Clifton in 1928 and started the Anderson Hardware. He moved to Clifton in 1918 from Axtell where his parents were pioneers. Mr. Anderson served on the school board at Axtell for 11 years.
Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have one son, Walton, who is a student at the University of Nebraska. Mr. Anderson is a member of the Presbyterian church and of the Chamber of Commerce, having served as treasurer of that organization for one year. He sells hardware, household appliances, farm supplies, fencing, windmills, pumps and tanks.
Meyer's Sinclair Service
The newest filling station in Washington is Meyer’s Sinclair Station located at the intersection of US36 highway and Main Street, opened just this summer. Elmer E. Meyer is the manager. Mr. Meyer is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Jake Meyer who homesteaded southwest of Washington in 1868. He is a member of the Episcopal church, the Masonic lodge and is past-commander of the local American Legion post. He and Mrs. Meyer live in Washington.
Snappy Service Lunch
Harry Bronson is owner and manager of the Snappy Service Lunch, which is located across the street from the Register Office in Washington. Meals, short orders, candy, cigars, tobacco, gum and ice cream are sold.
Mr. and Mrs. Bronson came to Washington six years ago from Pawnee City, Nebraska. He managed the Falls City Creamery station in Washington for five years and then purchased the Snappy Service from Francis Caw. Mr. Bronson has had 18 years previous experience as a restaurant manager.
Mr. Bronson is a member of the Baptist church and the Masonic and I.O.O.F. lodges. He has three sons, Harry, Jr., who is attending school at the University of Kansas, Royal, 11, and Franklin, 6.
C. W. Durham is manager of the Allis-Chalmers Implement Company in Washington. He sells all kinds of power farm machinery.
Mr. Durham was born near Greenleaf, lived in Kansas City for 13 years, and came to Washington a year and a half ago. He is married and is a member of the Methodist church. He has three children, Jack 12, Donna 8, and Charlene 4.
His mother, Mrs. A. M. Durham, is still living in Greenleaf. His father died in 1933.
Washington Monument Company
The Root Marble Works (as it was then called) was started by Mr. Lisander Root in the year 1876 in this same location, but only about one fourth of this plant was included in the first monument yard.
Mr. Root with his two sons, James and Ralph, conducted the business continuously until the elder Root’s death in 1902. Charles Root, another son, then came into the business as owner and conducted it for a short time, when it was sold to W. E. Wilson. The late James G. Groody had been acting-foreman under Charles Root’s ownership and was placed in full charge of the business as manager when Mr. Wilson acquired it.
Mr. Groody commenced at once buying an interest in the monument business, first a ninth interest and later a third -- and in 1906 bought the remaining interests, conducting successfully an extensive business until his death, which occurred in 1927.
The Washington Monument Company is now owned and operated by Mrs. J. G. Groody, assisted by an experienced group of employees, who have been connected with the firm since its organization.
Boyd Lumber Co.
Carl L. Tubbs is manager of the Boyd Lumber Company in Washington. He has a complete line of building materials, paint and coal. The firm was organized in 1917.
Mr. and Mrs. Tubbs came to Washington from Kay County, Okla., 25 years ago. They have two daughters, Miss Marcele who teaches in the Barnes schools, and Miss Helen who attends Emporia Teachers College.
Mr. Tubbs is a member of the Masonic lodge and of the Lions Club. He has been on the school board for several terms. He is president of the school board and of the Washington County Fair Board.
L. T. Asche, Abstractor
L. T. Asche, bonded abstractor, became an abstractor on April 8, 1925. He was born in Indiana and came to Washington county in 1886. He is a member of the Methodist church, and the Masonic, Woodmen, and the A.O.U.W. of Kansas lodges. From 1921 to 1925 Mr. Asche was County Clerk of Washington county. Before that he taught in Washington school for 12 years. In 1919 he became City Clerk and has been City Clerk continuously since that time. Mrs. Asche was Miss Lena Barley before their marriage and they have one daughter, Virginia May who is 6 years old.
Sinclair Refining Co.
J. E. Gillett has been the local agent for the Sinclair Refining Company since he erected a bulk plant here in 1925. From this plant he services three stations in Washington, two in Barnes, one each in Greenleaf, Linn, Morrowville, Haddam, Mahaska, Hollenberg, and the 7-mile corner station south of Washington.
Mr. Gillett was born in Washington and has lived here all his life. He served in the World War, belongs to the Methodist church, is a member of the Masonic lodge, and was on the city council for two years. He is married and has a three-year-old daughter, Shirley Marie. Mr. Gillett’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. P. V. Gillett came to Washington in the early seventies.
W. R. Roberts is owner and manager of the Modern Market in Washington. He sells a complete line of groceries, meats, fruits and vegetables. Mr. Roberts moved to Washington in January of this year and purchased the market. Previous to that he had lived near Washington.
He is a member of the Presbyterian church and of the Chamber of Commerce. The Roberts have two children, Donald 8 and Norma Joyce 5.
Washington Motor Co.
A. A. Welch is the manager of the Washington Motor Co., which was organized in 1935. The garage does general automobile repairing and refinishing, and specializes in the used car business.
Mr. Welch came to Washington as district manager of the Kansas Power Co. in 1918 from Portis, Kansas. Previously he had worked in the electrical business at Downs, and in Iowa. He is a member of the Masonic lodge and the Chamber of Commerce, and County Director of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association. Mr. and Mrs. Welch have a daughter, Nadine who is 16.
Mr. and Mrs. Robert A. Welch, A. A. Welch’s parents, came from Iowa in 1888 to Harlan, Kans., and lived in Washington from 1922 until their death.
The A. C. Houston Lbr. Co.
Edw. W. Hall is the manager of the Houston Lbr. Co. in Washington. The company is 55 years old and was organized here fifteen years ago. He handles a complete line of building materials, paint and coal.
Mr. and Mrs. Hall have three children, Dwight, Madelyn and Gordon. They belong to the Grace Episcopal church.
Mr. Hall is a member of the Lions Club and the Chamber of Commerce.
Mrs. Winnie Root is owner of Root’s Cafe which was started about 1920 by Ralph Root. Mrs. Root is the daughter of H. C. Hill and was born south of Barnes. She has one son, Harold, who is one of the city mail carriers.
Mueller Produce Company
E. A. Mueller is owner of Mueller Produce Company in Washington which he and Henry Kirchoff started in 1905. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Mueller who came to Hanover in 1871. Produce is bought and groceries, hardware and ice cream are sold at the store which is now located on the west side of Main Street.
Mr. and Mrs. Mueller attend the Presbyterian church. Mr. Mueller is a Mason and Woodman and has served on the City Council. They have two daughters, Mrs. Harry George and Miss Elizabeth who teaches in the local grade school.
United Telephone Company
The United Telephone Company which serves Washington people has connections with all parts of the world. The manager for this area which includes Marysville, Hollenberg and Washington is R. L. Heinsohn. The City Telephone Company was purchased by The United Telephone Company several years ago. Shortly after this purchase the United Telephone Company built a new building and installed a new switchboard, which now gives Washington a more modern telephone service than any city of similar size.
Mrs. Dorothy Houdek is chief operator and cashier. The switchboard operators are Misses Louise Nims, Gertrude Hein, and Miss Bessie Holden. Relief operators are Mrs. Mary Carver and Miss Beulah Coffin. Milton E. Hummell is combination man and Ralph Peters is plant department foreman.
In 1932 the local office received the Theodore N. Vail Medal for noteworthy human service during an emergency, the cyclone. The office received a bronze plaque and individual medals were given to Mary Thomas, Chief Operator, J. E. Perkins, Manager, and Miss Merle Meitler and Miss Frances Smith, operators.
Texaco Service Station
The Texaco Service Station, local agency for Texas Company products and specializing in automobile washing and greasing, was organized several years ago and is now under the management of R. C. Letourneau. Mr. Letourneau has been a Washington resident for the past two years -- coming here from Concordia. He has had seven years experience in service station work. Mr. Letourneau is married and is a member of the local chamber of Commerce.
Chidester Cleaners & Hatters
Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Chidester came to Washington from Casper, Wyoming, in 1922 and started a cleaning establishment. They do dry cleaning, hat work, and general alterations.
Mr. and Mrs. Chidester’s nephew, Wayne Smith, and niece, Miss Audrey Smith, live with them and both are attending college this fall. Mr. Chidester is a member of the Masonic lodge, the Chamber of Commerce and the American Legion.
The local agency for Chrysler and Plymouth automobiles is Higganbotham’s Garage, owned and supervised by George Higganbotham of this city. This is the oldest automobile firm in Washington, offers complete repair service for all motor cars, specializing in body, fender, and rafinishing work. The garage has been under the present management since 1930. Mr. Higganbotham came to Washington from Blue Rapids in 1923 as a mechanic for Van Valkenburgh. Later he worked for Imes Dague which shortly preceded his purchasing of the garage. Mr. Higganbotham has been in the garage business for nineteen years. He is a member of the Masonic lodge, the Woodman lodge, the Lions Club, and the Washington Chamber of Commerce. He is married and has one daughter, Shirley, 15.
Rateuke's Skelly Service Station
Rateuke’s Skelly Service Station has ben under the management of John Rateuke for nearly three years. It handles a full line of Skelly gasolines and lubricants, U. S. tires and Skelco batteries. This station was built many years ago, it being the oldest station in Washington.
Mr. Rateuke was born south of Hollenberg and has resided in Washington six years. He belongs to the Lutheran church and is a member of the Washington Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Rateuke is married and has an eight-year-old daughter, Florence. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Theo. Rateuke came to this county about fifty-four years ago. Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Steffens, his mother’s parents, were old settlers who lived eight miles northeast of Hanover.
Nims Beaute Service
In October, 1936, Miss Esther Nims organized the Nims Beaute Service in Washington. She was graduated from the Stewart Beauty Academy in Topeka. Her parents are Mr. and Mrs. A. G. Nims.
Miss Nims was born in Washington county and moved to Washington 16 years ago with her parents. She is a member of the Methodist church. Her grandfather, J. A. Nims was an early day resident of Washington county, coming here in 1871.
Dr. R. L. Morgan, Dentist
Dr. R. L. Morgan studied dental work at Kansas City Western Dental College and in July 1922 opened his office here in Washington. Born south of town, he attended the Linn high school. Mr. Morgan is married and is affiliated with the Methodist church, the Masonic lodge, the Woodman lodge, Lions Club, American Legion, Chamber of Commerce, the American Dental Assoc., and the State Dental Association. Mr. Morgan was a former president of the local Lions Club, and is at the present time finance officer of the American Legion.
Missouri Pacific Railroad Co.
R. R. Hansen is agent for the Missouri Pacific Rail Road Company in Washington. He came to Washington a year ago from Burr Oak, replacing E. C. Hut ton, who retired after serving as agent here for 28 years.
Mr. Hansen has been with the Missouri Pacific since 1903. He is a Methodist, a Mason, a member of the Eastern Star, the S. B. A., the Odd Fellows, the Lions Club and the Chamber of Commerce. He served six months in the Spanish American War and three years in the Phillipine Insurrection.
Mr. and Mrs. Hansen have two daughters, Mrs. Marie Beanblossom of Burr Oak and Mrs. Ruth Rusco of Logan.
Thompson Barber Shop
The oldest barber shop in Washington is the Thompson Barber shop which has been located in the First National building since it was built in 1895. R. M. Thompson purchased it 17 years ago when he came here from Smith Center.
The Thompsons have one daughter, Helen Jane who is two years old.
Resco Auto Salvage
For the last 14 years J. G. Resco has been a mechanic, working in Clay Center until 1930 and then coming to Washington. In 1934 he started the Resco Auto Salvage in Washington. He specialized in cylinder reboring and piston grinding.
Mr. and Mrs. Resco have one son, Eugene, who is 8 years old.
Tom's Goodyear Store
Tom Dawe came to Washington in March of this year from Abilene and started Tom’s Goodyear Store. He sells a full line of Goodyear tires and tubes, auto accessories and hardware.
Mr. and Mrs. Dawe are members of the Methodist church. The firm is a member of the Chamber of Commerce.
P. Z. and E. J. Gauvreau purchased the Home Bakery, the "Home of Blue Ribbon Bread," from Robert Jones in 1919. They came to Washington from Norfork, Nebr.
The Gauvreau brothers were born in Hastings, Nebr., and attended school there. They had a bakery in Clyde from 1909 until the World War. E. J. Gauvreau served in the World War and is a member of the American Legion. He is married and has one son, Maurice. They are both members of the Catholic church and the firm is in the Chamber of Commerce.
Allen Insurance Agency
N. A. Allen is the agent in Washington for the Farmers Mutual Life Insurance Co. of Marysville. The company was organized 45 years ago.
Mr. Allen came to Washington county in 1886 from Brown County and moved to Washington in 1903. Mr. and Mrs. Allen have one son, Ivan, who lives in Denver.
The Eschenberg Electric was organized by the owner, George G. Eschenberg, in 1936. This shop is the local dealer for Frigidaire and Electrolux refrigeration, Delco air conditioning and light systems, Sparton and Zenith radios, Perfection oil ranges, Detroit Star gas ranges, and wiring and electrical supplies.
Mr. Eschenberg came to Washington four years ago from Nebraska. He is associated with the Methodist church, is married, and has an eleven-year-old son, Robert.
George L. Caw built Caw’s Greenhouse in Washington in 1929, and has cut flowers, potted plants and nursery stock.
Mr. Caw was born in Washington county and moved to Washington in 1917. He has two sons, Francis of Greenleaf and Bob of the home and one daughter, Miss Helen of Washington. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. George L. Caw, Sr., came to Greenleaf in 1868.
Last fall Mr. Caw opened the Second-Hand Store in Washington.
Poersch Car & Implement Co.
Case implements, used cars, and wind-chargers are sold by the W. E. Poersch Car & Implement Company in Washington. Mr. Poersch has been in business in Washington for two years and owned a business in Linn 15 years preceding that.
Mr. and Mrs. Poersch are members of the St. Paul’s Lutheran church. Mr. Poersch’s father, J. E. Poersch, was born southeast of Greenleaf. His parents came to Washington county in 1865 and he still owns their original homestead.
Mrs. Helen Thompson owns and operates Jack’s Lunch, a cafe located on the southeast corner of the square. This business house was organized in May of 1934, and since then has become one of the popular lunch, ice cream, regular meal, short order, and cold drink businesses in Washington.
The Thompsons came here from Marysville in 1931. She is a member of the Chamber of Commerce and belongs to the Methodist church. She has two daughters, Betty Grace 13 and Peggy Lorene 8, both of which are in school.
Kansas Power & Light Company
Washington County’s gas for heating purposes is all supplied by the Kansas Power & Light Company which has offices in Washington, Greenleaf, Linn, Haddam, Morrowville, Barnes, Hanover, Mahaska and Clifton.
Ronald Coulson has been the manager of the Washington office since August 1, 1938. Miss Eva Whetstine is cashier, Jerry Strnad is service man, and Raymond Peters, Dan Biegert and Jerold Mundwiler are also employed.
A. J. Freeborn
Although retired from active law practice, A. J. Freeborn still retains an interest in the affairs of his community and country. He opened a law practice here in 1902 and conducted that practice until a short time ago.
Mr. Freeborn was born in Ontario, Canada, and came to Clay County in 1872 moving to Washington county in 1882. He attended Campbell University, taught school in the county for nine years, served four years as Superintendept of Public Instruction, graduated in law from Michigan University and was County Attorney for four years.
Bon Ton Beauty Shop
Elizabeth Forrest and Ruby Trout are the owners and operators of the Bon Ton Beauty Shop, on the south side of the square. They are graduates of the King Beauty Academy of Topeka and their shop is equipped for all beauty service.
Forrest and Trout came to Washington from Osborne in March of 1933. Both are members of the Methodist church.
Universal Auto Supply
A complete line of automobile parts and accessories, Federal tires, Monarch batteries, and Crosley auto radios are always in the stock room of the Universal Auto Supply. The owner, Floyd Heath, organized the store in May, 1936 when he came to Washington from Clay Center. He is married and is a member of the local Chamber of Commerce.
Moore Motor Co.
The Moore Motor Company, the local authorized Chevrolet sales and service agency, has been under the management of O. G. Moore for several years. This agency has one of the largest repair shops in the county, which is equipped with the only Bee Line frame straightener in this area. Repairs on all makes of cars are made here with specialization on body and fender work.
Mr. Moore came to Washington from Blue Rapids in 1924. He is married and has two sons, Robert 17, and Phillip 15. Organizations Mr. Moore is associated with are the Masonic lodge, the Lions Club, Chamber of Commerce, and the American Legion. He also held a position on the City Council for two years.
Dr. E. A. Condit, Dentist
Dr. E. A. Condit came to Washington from Wisconsin in 1919 and has been practicing dentistry in Washington since then except for a few years spent in California.
He is a member of the Masonic lodge and has served on the City Council. Dr. and Mrs. Condit have one daughter, Sally, who is nine years old.
One of the newest buildings in Washington is the Major Theatre which was built by C. A. Swiercinsky in 1936. It is air-conditioned and fully equipped with all the latest devices for motion pictures. The electrical and neon marquee and display are of the very latest type.
C. A. Swiercinsky came to Washington from Elgin, Kansas, in 1921 and bought the Majestic theatre, changing its name to the Major when he rebuilt. He and Mrs. Swiercinsky have three sons, Charles 18, Alden 16 and Lyle 14.
Mr. Swiercinsky was a charter member of the local Lions Club and was its president for two years. He has served as group chairman for the state, was district secretary last year, and this year is district deputy governor of the Lions Club. Charley is also a member of the American Legion and the Chamber of Commerce.
Dr. F. E. LeMaster, Osteopathic Surgeon
Dr. F. E. LeMaster, the only osteopathic physician and surgeon in Washington, came here from Clyde fifteen years ago. He graduated from the Kirksville School of Osteopathy and Surgery in 1917 and from the Kansas City College of Osteopathy and Surgery in 1920.
Dr. LeMaster is a member of the Masonic lodge, the Christian church, the Lions Club, the Chamber of Commerce, the American Legion and is treasurer of the school board. He has served two terms on the City Council. Dr. and Mrs. LeMaster have one son, Fred, who is seven.
Consumers Cooperative Oil Co.
The only cooperative oil station in town, the Consumers, was organized in 1929. John Windhorst is president, Mrs. Hazel Thompson is secretary-treasurer and Dan Stamm, A. G. Nims, Will. Rosenkranz, J. R. Anderson and Willis Mosteller are directors.
Russell Elwood and George Houdek, Jr., are co-managersof the station. Mr. Elwood has lived in Washington for 7 years. He and Mrs. Elwood belong to the Christian church and they have two children, Russell Jr., 13, and Donna Jean, 9.
Mr. Houdek has lived in Washington for 15 years. His mother and step-father, Mr. and Mrs. Everett Day, also live in Washington. His wife was Dorothy Canfield before their marriage and they belong to the Christian church.
Barley Dry Goods Store
John J. Barley and his mother, Mrs. Mary M. Barley own and operate the Barley Dry Goods Co. in Washington, a store selling ladies ready-to-wear and men’s furnishings; featuring Curlee suits, Lee work clothing, and Peters shoes. The store was started about 1870 by Rockefeller and Collins and through successive changes became Barley Dry Goods Company.
John Barley is a member of the Presbyterian church, the Lions Club, the Sons of American Revolution, and the Chamber of Commerce. For the last six years he has been on the City Council. He graduated from the University of Kansas in 1923. Mr. and Mrs. Barley have two children, John Richard who is 8 and Dorothy Marilynn who is 6.
Potter's Jewelry & Gifts
F. J. Potter is owner of Potter’s Jewelry & Gifts in Washington, one of the best equipped watch repair and jewelry shops in the state. He came to Washington in 1935 from St. Joe, Mo., and purchased the Jewelry Store from his brother.
During the World War Mr. Potter served in the American Army and he is now Commander of the local American Legion Post. He is secretary of the Chamber of Commerce. Mr. and Mrs. Potter attend the Presbyterian church. Mr. Potter graduated from the School of Horology in Kansas City in 1924 and worked as shop foreman for several jewelry firms before locating in Washington.
Short's Barber Shop
Mervin A. Throop is owner of Short's Barber Shop, came to Washington in 1932. He was born in Enosdale and then moved to Morrowville before coming here.
Mr. and Mrs. Throop are members of the Christian church. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Throop of Morrowville.
Since July 22, 1934, Harry F. Geistfeld has been postmaster of the Washington post office. He has always lived near Washington and is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Geistfeld who came to Washington County in 1894. Mr. Geistfeld is a Mason, and a member of the Chamber of commerce, the Lions Club, and the American Legion.
In 1937 he was elected president of Highway US36 Association, formed to attempt to get this highway improved.
The oldest grocery store in Washington is the Jones Grocery which was started in 1884 by Chas. T. Jones and Harry Jones and is now owned and managed by Fred C. Jones. Fred is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Harry Jones and he has been owner for seven years.
J. C. Mudd & Sons Ice Co.
J. C. Mudd is manager of the J. C. Mudd & Sons Ice Company in Washington, the only retail ice business in town. Mr. Mudd came to Washington from Kirksville, Mo., in 1928. He has been in the ice and electric business for 16 years.
Mr. and Mrs. Mudd have five sons: Basil and Dale of Kirksville, Mo., and Herbert, Clair and Phillip of Washington. The Ice Company was started in 1932.
Flury Blacksmith Shop
One of the oldest firms in Washington county is the Flury Blacksmith Shop which was started in 1875 by J. A. Flury. Clyde Flury became the blacksmith in 1929. He does all kinds of blacksmithing and welding.
Mr. Flury is a Mason and was in the World War. Mr. and Mrs. Flury have one daughter, Sally who is six years old. He also has two step-children, Dean and Miss Doris Welch.
Miss Elsie Throop is owner of the Throop Millinery in Washington. Her father, J. A. Throop, came to Washington in the early ‘70’s and owned the Throop store and was the first postmaster there. The town and post office was named after him.
Miss Throop moved to Washington 38 years ago. She was a dressmaker for a year or two and then started the Millinery.
M. M. Davis is owner of the Nifty Nook which was started in Washington in 1937. Ice cream and ice cream specialties, Purepac package goods, lunches, sandwiches, gift items, and magazines are sold.
Mr. and Mrs. Davis came to Washington in 1937. They have three children, Lois, 14, Beth 12, and Willa Dean 2. Mr. Davis is a member of the Chamber of Commerce. He has had 15 years experience as a retail druggist.
Washington County Maytag Company
J. P. Johnson, who has the exclusive Maytag agency in the county, started a store in Washington in November, 1935. He sells a complete line of Maytag washers and ironers and has parts for and services all makes of washers and sewing machines.
Mr. Johnson has been with the Maytag Company since 1928. Before coming to Washington he lived in Norfolk and Fairbury, Nebr. He has one son, Billie, who is six years old.
F. R. Lobaugh, Attorney
Farel R. Lobaugh started practicing law in Washington in 1920 after graduating from the University of Kansas. From 1923 to 1933 he was County Attorney and he is now City Attorney. For the past several years he has been county secretary of the Republican party.
His parents, Mr. and Mrs. O. G. Lobaugh, came to Washington county from Iowa in 1899. Mr. Logaugh is a member of the Methodist church, of the Odd Fellow, Masonic, Woodman lodges, the Chamber of Commerce and the American Legion. The Lobaughs have one daughter, Mary Alice who is 8 years old.
Quality Shoe Shop
William Kuhlman is owner of the Quality Shoe Shop in Washington. He bought the shop last year. He specializes in shoe rebuilding and orthopedic and shoe correcting services.
Mr. Kuhlman came to Barnes, Kansas, from Germany 9 years ago and is a naturalized citizen of the United States. His parents are both living in Osterlunde, Germany. He moved to Washington in 1937 and is a member of the Odd Fellow lodge and of the Chamber of Commerce. He has two sons, William Jr., and Werner Heinz.
J. C. Penney Company
Clinton L. Hooper is manager of the local store of the J. C. Penney Company. The local branch has been here since May, 1930, although Penney stores incorporated was organized in 1902. At present there are Penney stores in every state in the Union. They are department stores and handle a complete line of clothing for men, women and children.
Mr. Hooper came to Washington from Claremore, Okla., three years ago. He is a member of the Methodist church, the Masonic lodge, the Lions Club, and the Chamber of Commerce. He has two children, Miss Ruth Marie and Bill.
The First National Bank
The First National Bank was organized in March 1883 with F. A. Head, F. H. Head, J. G. Lowe and A. W. Moore subscribing the stock. It was authorized to do business by the comptroller of the currency April 2, 1883. J. G. Lowe was president and F. H. Head was cashier.
In 1870, Levi Lower, father of the president of the First National Bank, came to Kansas from Iowa, taking a homestead. Later in the same year his family followed him, coming by boat to Quincy, thence by rail to Nebraska City where the husband and father met them. J. B. Lower taught school for two years, then, with his father, helped organize the bank at Palmer where he was cashier, bookkeeper and janitor. In February 1898 the Lowers went to Haddam where they owned the Citizens State Bank. In December 1916 Mr. Lower bought the controlling interest in the First National Bank at Washington, succeeding E. B. Fox as president of that institution. G. E. Barley was cashier, and retained that office for some time after Mr. Lower’s advent, while William Morrow and William Lowe were assistant cashiers until they enlisted in the army. Ed Barley went into a business venture in Kansas City and later into the Federal Reserve Bank in Kansas City. Both Morrow and Lowe followed him as cashier but when they entered the army, I. C. Rush came to the bank and June 19, became cashier. In 1917 O. T. Muth became associated with the bank as assistant cashier and later as vice president, an office which he now holds.
In addition to Mr. Lower’s banking interests he has taken an active part in politics, being a Republican. He was elected to the State Senate from Washington county in 1904 and re-elected in 1908. From 1930 to 1938 he served as County Chairman of the party.
The present directors of the bank are: J. B. Lower, president; O. T. Muth, vice president; I. C. Rush, cashier, Mrs. M. P. Lower and Mrs. Ora L. Muth. The institution is a sound one and has an enviable record in the community which it has served for so many years.
Diedrich's Clothing Co.
William A. Anderson is the manager of Diedrichs Clothing Company in Washington, the largest exclusive men and boys clothing and furnishings store in the county. Fred A. Diedrichs, sheriff, is owner of the store.
The store was founded in 1875 by Julius Speier and later was sold to Ben Simon. Later it became the Simon & Diedrichs Clothing Company and then became Diedrichs Clothing Company.
Bill Anderson has lived in Washington for 10 years. He bought the Washington Tire & Battery company in 1928, selling it when he started working in Diedrichs. His wife was Miss Marie Diedrich, and they have one daughter, Gretchen, 8. Mr. Anderson is a member of the Masonic lodge and of the Chamber of Commerce. He and his family attend the Presbyterian church.
A. G. Nims, Contractor and Builder
A. G. Nims, who offers a complete building and contracting service, has been a builder since he was a boy. His father, J. A. Nims, came to Washington in 1871 from Pennsylvania and built many of the houses which are in Washington today.
A. G. Nims lived in Mahaska for 15 years, where he was Mayor, a member of the school board and of the City Council. He has been on the Washington City Council for three terms. He is a member of the Methodist church, the Odd Fellows lodge and the Chamber of Commerce. He and Mrs. Nims have one son, Bernard of Salina and two daughters, Miss Louise and Miss Esther.
Bon Ton Hotel
B. F. Dye is owner and manager of the Bon Ton Hotel located on the southwest corner of the square in Washington. From 1900 to 1922 he and Mrs. Belle Sloss, his mother, owned a mercantile business in Washington and in 1923 they started the hotel, and have continuously improved it since.
Mr. Dye is a member of the Knights of Pythias and of the Moose lodge. He and Mrs. Dye have one daughter, Belle, who is 15.
Central States Service Station
Guy Tabor is manager of the Central States Service Station in Washington, which was started about five years ago. Mr. Tabor came to Washington from Willow Springs, Mo., two years ago. He sells gasoline, oil, greases and kerosene.
C. H. Philbrook and M. F. Philbrook are the owners of the largest dairy in the county selling bottled milk, and were the first in Washington to bottle milk for retail sales. Their dairy herd is Guernsey cows. In 1913 the business was started and was organized in 1925.
Washington county has been C. H. Philbrook’s home practically all of his life and he has lived in Washington since 1911. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Philbrook homesteaded in Lincoln township 69 years ago. They were from Illinois. The children are M. F. Philbrook, Washington; Mrs. Ivan Sleigh, Fullerton, Nebr.; Mrs. Percy Townsend, Washington; Lowell Philbrook, Los Angeles; Mrs. Harry Justis, Cuba.
M. F. Philbrook was born in the county, and has also lived in Washington since 1911. He is a member of the Methodist church, American Legion and the Woodman lodge. The Philbrooks have three children, Dorothy 17, Phil 12, and Kenneth 4.
Washington Mutual Telephone Co.
The Washington Mutual Telephone Company, which serves Morrowville and the territory around Washington was organized in 1904. The first directors were John King, A. E. McGregor, D. A. Kramer, Ira Henry, O. G. Lobaugh, J. E. Barker, and G. Wertman. Anna Dyer was the first operator in Washington and Vina Chubbuck the first operator in Morrowville.
At the present time Mable Totten is the operator at Washington and Winnie Walters at Morrowville. The present directors are: Walter M. Stolzer, president; Robert J. Stanton, vice president; G. E. Nemitz, treasurer and manager; Geo. J. Patterson, secretary; and J. D. Sawyer, Lloyd Wilsey and Bert Stalter.
A. H. Kolterman, Dentist
Dr. A. H. Kolterman came to Washington in 1929 from Ridgeway, Mo. He was born in Onaga, Kansas, and attended high school there. He graduated from the Kansas City Western Dental College in 1926.
Always interested in civic affairs, Dr. Kolterman has been a member of the Chamber of Commerce since he has been in Washington and is a past president of that organization. He has played in the Washington band for several years. The two children of Dr. and Mrs. Kolterman ae named Duane and Irma Lou.
Kiger Produce Company
C. Roy Kiger and his son, Martin, own the Kiger Produce Company in Washington. The firm was organized in 1911 by C. Roy Kiger, who came to Washington from Burlington. He built the present building in 1914.
Mr. and Mrs. C. Roy Kiger are members of the Methodist church and have one daughter, Mrs. Marjory Crum of Westmoreland, and one son, Martin. Mr. and Mrs. Martin Kiger have one daughter, Nancy, 3.
C. Roy Kiger has been on the school board for two terms and on the City Council for three years. Martin is a member of the City Council at the present time.
Besides dealing in general produce, the Kiger Produce Company manufactures a complete line of poultry, cattle and hog feeds under the K. P. label.
Fred and Dean Wanamaker are the owners and managers of the Washington Hatchery which was started here in 1931. They have a large hatchery and sell feeds and poultry remedies and equipment.
Dickson & Spitsnogle, Auctioneers
J. T. Dickson and Ed Spitsnogle, auctioneers and real estate agents, have been crying sales for 15 years. Mr. Dickson came to Washington county in 1903 from Putnam Co., Mo. He and Mrs. Dickson have three children, Bonnie Lee, 13, Jimmie, 10, and Norma, 4. He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce.
Ed Spitsnogle was born near Odell and has been in Washington for 25 years. He and Mrs. Spitsnogle are members of the Methodist church and have one daughter, Mrs. Lillian Schmieding, and one son, Marvin, 14.
Chicago, Burlington & Quincy R. R. Co.
In 1882 the first railroad through Washington was built by the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company. Since that time there has been only three agents, R. H. Benn, D. B. Kinniburg, and the present agent, F. C. Bamer, who came in 1920.
Mr. Baner has been with the railroad for 36 years. He is a Mason, a member of the Chamber of Commerce, and was shocen as precinct committeeman for the Republican party this year. Mr. and Mrs. Bamer attend the Methodist church and they have one daughter, Mrs. L. C. Fiser of Atchison.
Hyland & Hyland
J. R. Hyland and H. N. Hyland formed a law partnership in Washington in 1935. They are lawyers and abstractors. J. R. Hyland began his 1aw practice in 1900. He came to Washington in 1908.
J. R. Hyland has lived in Washington county all of his life. He was born in Grant township, to which township his parents came in 1870. He is a member of the Methodist church, and the Masonic, Eastern Star, and Modern Woodmen lodges. From 1908 to 1912 he was County Attorney and from 1921 to 1923 he was State Senator.
The Hylands have two sons, Leslie D. of Omaha, and H. N. of Washington.
H. N. Hyland was born in Washington and graduated from the University of Kansas in 1935. He is president of the Chamber of Commerce, has been secretary of the Lions Club for two years and Scoutmaster for two years.
McKelvy Insurance Agency
One of the largest insurance agencies in this part of the state is the F. V. McKelvy Insurance Agency in Washington. It was organized in the 80’s by Harve Hill, then taken over by his son, C. W. Hill who was succeeded by McKelvy. General insurance is sold covering fire, life, casualty, and bonds. For the last 25 years the Agency has had U. S. Fire Insurance Company insurance.
Mr. McKelvy came to Washington County with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. James McKelvy, in 1884 and moved to Washington 29 years ago. For eight years he was County Clerk and he taught school seven years. He was manager of the Washington County Farmers Union for several years. Mr. and Mrs. McKelvy belong to the Presbyterian church.
D. A. Ward & Son
In March, 1884, D. A. Ward started a furniture and undertaking business in Washington, Kansas. The store was located in a small frame building on the north side of the square. The next year it was moved into a room on the east side of the square, built by G. M. Parks, on the site of the fine new opera house, which was destroyed by fire in the winter of 1883. In 1886 a new building was erected on the west side of the square on the location that the store now occupies. This has been enlarged and improved several times since.
E. A. Ward has been connected with the store continuously since 1884. He entered the firm as a partner in 1888 when the firm name changed to D. A. Ward & Son. Following the death of D. A. Ward in 1890, his wife, Ellen A. Ward, continued a partner in the business until her death in 1914.
W. W. Green, who has for several years been manager of the undertaking department, has been with the firm for years.
D. A. Ward was on the City Council when the old City Hall was built and E. A. Ward was on the City Council when the new City Hall was built 51 years later. He has three daughters, Mrs. F. R. Lobaugh and Mrs. Art George of Washington and Mrs. Glen Bowdish of Wichita.
Smith Drug Company
The Smith Drug Company was organized in 1885 by the Fox Drug Company and purchased by O. H. Smith in 1904. A complete line of drugs, wall paper, and sundries is stocked by Smith and he is a registered pharmacist, graduating from the University of Kansas. The fountain in the Drug Store is a very popular place in Washington.
O. H. Smith is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Natham M. Smith who came to Washington in 1875. He is a member of the Methodist church and the Masonic and Woodmen lodges. He is married and has two daughters, Miss Julienne and Miss Janette. In the last 34 years Mr. Smith has always been in duty in the Drug Store, being ill only two weeks in that time. For 12 years Mr. Smith served on the school board and two terms on the City Council.
Wm. Windhorst, Contractor
William Windhorst has lived in this community since 1878 and moved to Washington in 1920, when he began in his present business, that of contracting and building. He does all kinds of construction work and specializes in carpentry and house building.
His parents, Mr. and Mrs. John Windhorst lived 4-3/4 miles north of Washington. Mr. and Mrs. Windhorst are members of the Christian church. Mr. Windhorst is in the Chamber of Commerce and served two years on the City Council.
M. J. Holloway & Sons
In 1893 M. J. Holloway started the Holloway Hardware Store in Washington. It was situated at that time on the southeast corner of the square. A. N. Holloway, the son of M. J., is partner in the store and is also the manager. Mrs. Grace Young has an interest in the store, and assists as clerk.
A. N. Holloway is Mayor of Washington. He is a member of the Christian church and of the Chamber of Commerce.
Crystal Beauty Shop
Mrs. Laura L. Duston is the owner and manager of the Crystal Beauty Shop which was organized in 1929. The Dustons moved to this city in 1922. They are members of the Methodist church. Their two children are Arthur of Washington and Mrs. Laura B. Denning of Kansas City, Mo.
Both parents of Mr. and Mrs. Duston homesteaded in Washington county. They were Mr. and Mrs. Peter Peterson and Mr. and Mrs. Monroe Duston.
Green Lantern Cafe
The Green Lantern Cafe, owned and managed by Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Kuhlman, was organized several years ago. Sandwiches, tobaccos, cold drinks, and candy are sold. Mr. and Mrs. Kuhlman purchased the cafe in January, 1938, at which time they moved here from Linn. They belong to the Lutheran church and the firm is a member of the Chamber of Commerce.
Mrs. Kuhlman’s grandparents, Nick Peters, were old settlers southwest of Linn.
The Modern Cleaners establishment is owned and managed by W. C. Hill, who purchased the business in 1934. Dry Cleaning and tailoring are the chief services of the plant, together with dealing in Scotch Brand suits and topcoats.
Mr. Hill came to Washington from Barnes which community was his birthplace as it was that of his parents, Mr. and Mrs. H. R. Hill. W. C. Hill is affiliated with the Methodist church and is a member of the Washington Chamber of Commerce. He is married and has one son, Wayne, who is two years old.
Beeman Bros. Implement Co.
Everett Beeman is the manager of the Beeman Bros. Implement Co. in Washington. Ted Beeman is the office manager at Haddam. They sell McCormick-Deering farm implement, parts and service this make of implements, and have had this agency for four years in Haddam, buying the Washington agency in 1937.
Everett Beeman is the son of Mr. and Mrs. H. P. Beeman and lives on a farm west of Washington. Mr. Beeman is a member of the American Legion Auxiliary and has served on the school board in his district for two terms. Mr. and Mrs. Beeman have three children, Donald 12, Keith 8 and Elberta 6.
Mrs. Mina Doebele operates the E-Z Laundry in Washington which is located directly across the street from the Register Office. She purchased the laundry in 1934.
Mrs. Doebele is a member of the Catholic church and has two daughters, Betty who works in a hospital in Steele City and attends high school, and Dorothy who is a sophomore in the Washington high school. Mrs. Doebele was born in Washington county and formerly lived 9-1/22 miles northeast of Washington. Her parents, Mr. and Mrs. John Kersting, were both born here, and her grandfather, Andrew Oswald, was one of the county commissioners at a very early period in county history.
M. S. Kelley, Insurance
M. S. Kelley, who writes fire, accident and life insurance, began his insurance business 20 years ago. He came here in 1885 from Iowa with his parents, Mr. and T. J. Kelley. Mr. Kelley is a member of the Woodman lodge.
Mr. and Mrs. Kelley have two daughters, Mrs. Glen Thompson of this city and Mrs. Omar Thompson of Marysville.
Clover Farm Store
C. A. Sampson is owner and manager of the Clover Farm Store in Washington, a home-owned store. He sells groceries and meats, featuring the Clover Farm brands and products.
Mr. Sampson came to Washington from Beloit in 1934 and is a member of the Presbyterian church, the Chamber of Commerce, the Lions Club and the American Legion. Mrs. Sampson assists in the management of the store.
Washington Cooperative Elevator Association
In 1916 the Farmers Union purchased the south elevator in Washington and it continued under that management until December, 1937 when it was purchased by the Washington Cooperative Elevator Association.
F. C. McNitt is president of the Association, A. J. Ostlund is vice president, Adolph Hein is secretary-treasurer and C. E. Wilson and C. C. Jones are directors.
Francis Gripp, manager of the elevator, came to Washington from Hill City three years ago. He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce.
Washington Sales Pavilion
The Washington Sales Pavilion, although organized several years ago, is under the management of H. O. Loomis. Mr. Loomis bought the pavilion in April, 1937, when he moved here from Mankato. He has been a buyer of livestock for several years. Mr. Loomis holds a weekly livestock sale -- every Wednesday -- at his sales pavilion. He is a member of the Washington Chamber of Commerce.
The Throop Grocery was organized about 35 years ago and purchased in 1907 by B. A. Throop. It has been owned by Mrs. Lillian Throop since Mr. Throop's death in 1934. R. E. King is manager. They have a complete line of groceries, meats and fruits.
Mrs. Throop is a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Conklin who homesteaded in Washington county about 60 years ago. She is a member of the Christian church and of the Eastern Star. The grocery store is in the Chamber of Commerce. Mrs. Throop has one son. Dr. Gerald B. Throop of Wamego, and one daughter, Mrs. Helen King.
The manager of the Gamble Agency in Washington is T. J. McCloskey. He and Mrs. McCloskey came to Washington in 1936 from Fullerton, Neb. He is a member of the Methodist church, the Lions Club, and the Chamber of Commerce. Mr. McCloskey also served in the World War.
Dr. Ballard, M. D.
Dr. M. P. Ballard purchased the equipment of the late Dr. Burnaman in June, 1938, and moved to Washington immediately to begin his practice. He graduated from the University of Kansas School of Medicine in 1936.
Dr. Ballard practiced in the M.K.T. hospital in Parsons four years before coming to Washington. He and Mrs. Ballard have one son, Marshall Paul, Jr., who is seven months old.
E. G. Patrie started Ellra’s Market in 1932 and sells groceries and fruits. He was born in Washington and has lived here all of his life. His parents were Mr. and Mrs. George E. Patrie, early settlers here.
Mr. and Mrs. Patrie have one son, Donald, 8, and one daughter, Johan, 5. Mr. Patrie has another daughter, Mrs. Margaret Wright of Silinas, Calif.
Hill Oil Co.
The Hill Oil Company is owned by H. B. Hill, and under the supervision of W. P. Jones of this city. Hill’s Service Station handles Derby products, Gillette tires, and batteries.
Mr. Jones has been a resident of Washington for a year and a half, having moved here from Colorado. He is married and has a five-year-old son, Norman.
Dammann Welding & Radiator Shop
A. F. Dammann came to Washington in 1933 from Marysville and started the Dammann Welding and Radiator Shop. He does all types of welding and radiator service.
He and Mrs. Dammann have two children, Melba 15 and Fawn 11, and they belong to the Lutheran church. For the last 10 years Mr. Dammann has been a welder. He attended the Lincoln Welding school.
Miller’s Garage is the local agency for Pontiac sales and service, operated by Joe D. Miller. The garage has been under the present supervision since 1933, and does automobile repairing on all make cars.
Joe Miller was born here and has resided in this city since 1922. He is married and is a member of the Baptist church. His parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joe G. Miller, came to Washington in 1890.
Electric Shoe & Fixit Shop
J. W. Honeywell operates the Electric Shoe & Fixit Shop here in Washington, a shop which for a year and a half has handled both shoe and general repairing.
During the World War, Mr. Honeywell was associated with the signal corps. In 1925, he received his B. S. degree at Kansas State College, after which he taught practical agriculture, industrial arts, general science, and athletics in several high schools over the state. He came to Washington from Glasco, Kan., in 1932. Mr. Honeywell is married and has one son, J. Arthur.
Sawin Insurance Agency
All kinds of insurance, loans and real estate are handled by L. E. Sawin in Washington, who started his insurance agency in 1923. He was born in Marshall county and came to Washington in 1912.
The Sawins have one daughter, Marjory, 19, and one son, Dean, 15. They are members of the Presbyterian church.
L. E. Sawin has never been defeated for a political office. From 1915 to 1916 he was deputy County Clerk, from 1916 to 1920 he was County Clerk, in 1920-21 and 1924-25 he was Chairman of the County Republican Central Committee, was a member of the State Party Council 1920 and 1924; Presidential Elector on National Ticket with Hoover and Curtis; member City Council for four terms; State Representative 1931-32. He is a member of the Lions Club and the Chamber of Commerce, and is a 32nd degree Mason.
Simon Truck Line
Simon’s Truck Line offers Washington and community complete transfer service. Four well equipped motor trucks make regular runs to Omaha, St. Joe, and Kansas City, and shipments can be made to any state.
C. S. Simon, owner, was born in Haddam and moved to Washington ten years ago. He is a Woodman and he and Mrs. Simon belong to the Methodist church. They have one son, Wayne, who is associated with the firm.
Simon’s have a very good record for safety. In the millions of miles they have travelled since the organization in 1931 no one has been injured.
Miss Mattie Johnson has been in the Millinery business in Washington since 1908. She has a full line of millinery and her shop is located in the south part of Granger's.
Her parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Johnson homesteaded north of Clyde in 1868 and bought the mill in Washington a short time later. Miss Johnson is a member of the Episcopal church and has been treasurer of the Eastern Star since 1924.
The Cash Grocery was organized in 1928 and at the present time is operated by Mr. and Mrs. Virgil Dahl. The Cash Store carries a complete line of quality groceries and meats.
Mr. and Mrs. Dahl are Methodists and are members of the Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Dahl is affiliated with the Masonic lodge.
The Brown Drug Store
Soon after John A. Brown came to Washington in 1872, he founded the drug store which has since borne his name. In that early store he carried almost everything available, even fresh fruit. The first building to house this concern was on the present site of the Falls City Creamery and later he occupied the building next door. When the store outgrew that location Mr. Brown built on the present site and was the first merchant in Washington to put a board side walk in front of his store. John Nims built the fixtures and much of the furniture for the new store and the show cases were sent out from the city. The business was extensive and customers came overland once a month from as far west as Cuba and about once a year customers came from as far west as Stockton.
John Brown, Jr., became owner of the store on August 20, 1916. He and Mrs. Brown, the former Ruby Stetler, have two sons, John III who is attending the University of Nebraska School of Medicine and Joe who is attending the University of Kansas, and expects to major in law.
Mr. Brown is president of the Lions Club, a member of the Chamber of Commerce, a Mason and a Methodist.
The Brown residence was the first house in Washington with the foundation above the ground. J. A. Brown, sr., gave one of the lots for the Methodist church and was a member of the official board of the church until his death.
The drug store is now a Rexall store and handles a complete line of Rexall products. J. A. Brown, Jr., is a registered pharmacist graduating from the University of Kansas.
Stewart Blacksmith Shop
I. H. Stewart is the owner of the Stewart Blacksmith shop in Washington, and does general blacksmithing, welding and harness repairing.
In 1911 he bought the Rogers shop. In 1923 he bought the present location on the north side of the square.
Mr. and Mrs. Stewart are members of the Presbyterian church and he is a Woodman and Odd Fellow. He has one son, Willis of Pampa, Texas.
Modern Barber Shop
W. N. Northrup came to Washington in 1924 from Cuba, Kans., and started barbering in the Modern Barber Shop. He is a member of the Woodman lodge.
Mr. and Mrs. Northup are members of the Methodist church. They have one son, Roger, of Kermit, Texas, and two daughters, Mrs. Ruby Macy of Minneapolis, Minn., and Mrs. Helen Cheatham of Beloit. Mr. Northup’s father, L. D. Northup, came to Republic county in 1875.
John Deere Store
The John Deere Store, owned and managed by E. F. Schmieding, carries a complete line of John Deere Implements, used implements, parts and services. This, the largest John Deere store in the county, was organized in 1935.
Ed Schmieding has lived in Washington since 1935, at which time he came here from Nebraska. He is married and is associated with the Lutheran church and the local Chamber of Commerce.
Ampe Cheese & Implement Co.
The Ampe Cheese Company and the Ampe Implement Company were organized six years ago when Albert J. Ampe came to Washington from Hope, Kansas. These firms are dealers in Massey Harris implements, Goodrich tires, cheese, milk and cream.
Mr. Ampe is married and has five children, Neil Klein, Lila Jean, Betty Lee, Glen Albert, and Joyce Marie. He is associated with both the Lions Club and the Washington Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Ampe's father is Julius Ampe of Greenwood, Wisconsin.
Dr. Gomel, M. D.
Dr. and Mrs. R. G. Gomel came to Washington this year from Abilene. Dr. Gomel, who is a graduate of the University of Kansas Medical school, purchased the practice and equipment of the late Dr. Henry Smith.
Before coming to Washington, Dr. Gomel practiced for 10 years in Abilene.
Purdy's Super Food Market
Harry E. Purdy is owner of Purdy’s Super Food Market, the store with one of the most complete stocks of groceries and meats in north central Kansas. Joe Vlach is in charge of the meat department.
Mr. Purdy operated a Red & White store in Washington from 1935 to 1937 when he started the Super Food Market. He is married and has one son, Harry Jr., who is 9 years old.
The Independent Garage, operated by Ferd Pishney, was organized in 1933 and is equipped to repair all makes of cars as well as general welding work. Ferd has had 20 years experience as a mechanic.
Mr. Pishney, formerly of Marshal county, is married and has lived in Washington fifteen years. He is affiliated with the Presbyterian church and has one daughter, Lucille, 12 years old.
McConchie, Plumbing and Heating
J. E. McConchie has operated a plumbing and heating business in Washington since 1920. Besides these lines he also sells and installs windmills and pumps. Mr. McConchie came to Washington in 1912 from Frankfort. His father, J. B. McConchie, homesteaded in Marshall county.
Mr. and Mrs. McConchie attend the Methodist church. They have one son, Estil, who is attending the University of Kansas School of Medicine and one daughter, Edwina, who is teaching in Hastings, Neb. Mr. McConchie is a member of the Masonic lodge and of the Chamber of Commerce.
McCormack Music Co.
The McCormack Music Company, which was organized 25 years ago, is the only music store in Washington county. Besides selling pianos and music supplies, Mr. McCormack also handles General Electric refrigerators and radios.
Henry McCormack, owner, was born and raised in Farmington township. His father, W. H. McCormack, homesteaded in the county and his mother came to Washington county about 1866 from Illinois. Mrs. McCormick’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. T. W. Hemphill, were also early settlers, coming in 1858.
The Variety Store
C. D. Rosenkranz organized the Variety Store, a general 10 cent merchandise store, in April of 1933. He was born in Washington county and has lived in Washington for 25 years.
Mr. Rosenkranz is a member of the City Council and was president of the Chamber of Commerce for two years. His two grandfathers, Dave Simon and Carl Rosenkranz, were both early pioneers of Washington county.
Dr. Bitzer, M. D.
Donald A. Bitzer, M. D. physician and surgeon, came to Washington in 1930, buying the equipment of the late Dr. Wm. Earnest. He graduated from the University of Nebraska Medical School in 1926. His parents live in Fairbury.
Dr. Bitzer is a member of the Methodist church south, a Mason, and a member of the Lions Club and the Chamber of Commerce. He is also County Health Officer.
Washington Shoe Shop
Ben Sheckler bought the Washington Shoe Shop from Billie Stover in 1919. He repairs and rebuilds shoes.
His parents are Mr. and Mrs. John Sheckler who came to Washington county in 1883. John Sheckler was a gunsmith and a Civil War veteran. Mrs. John Sheckler is living in Washington and is 91 years old.
Ben Sheckler is a member of the American Legion. The Shecklers have one daughter, Betty, who is 15.
Bon Ton Cafe
The Bon Ton Café has been owned and managed by Mrs. Walter Young and Mrs. W. C. Hill for the past, two years. The cafe serves regular meals and short orders.
Mrs. Young lived near Morrowville several years and has resided in Washington for the past four years. She and Mr. Young have one son, Kieth, seven years old.
Mrs. Hill came to Washington with her husband in 1934. They have a two year old son, Wayne.
Pottorff’s Greenhouse is headquarters for all kinds of cut flowers, potted plants, and floral designs for all occasions. The owners, Mr. and Mrs. Pottorff, started their business in 1930. They have been Washington county residents thirty-four years, he having moved here from Hanover, Pa.
Ottman's Service Station
The Ottman Service Station has been doing business for over a year under the management of Lloyd Ottman. Ottman’s Station sells Phillips gasoline and oils, carries Lee tires and tubes in stock, and does automobile washing and greasing.
Lloyd Ottman was born and raised in the Enosdale community, and for two years has lived in Washington. Mrs. Ottman keeps the records at the station. Mr. Ottman’s grandfather, Andrew Ottman was one of the early settlers who homesteaded in the Enosdale neighborhood.
Mrs. Lola Meitler is manager of Joe’s Place in Washington, a restaurant which she leased from her son-in-law, Joe Eastwood two years ago. Mr. Frank Meitler is also associated with his wife in the restaurant.
Mrs. Meitler is a member of the Methodist church and has taught school in the county. She and Mr. Meitler have two daughters, Mrs. Joe Eastwood of California, and Miss Doris Meitler of Washington.
Leo Doherty Produce
Leo Doherty is the manager of the Doherty Produce which was organized in 1931. He buys cream, poultry and eggs.
Mr. Doherty has lived in Washington city since 1927. He was born in Farmington township and has lived in this county all of his life. He is a memberof the Catholic church and the Woodman lodge. He married Anna Baker of Atchison and they have one child, Constance Patricia, age 9.
Marinello Beauty Shop
Miss Ellen Heinen, who is owner and manager of the Marinello Beauty Shop, came to Washington in 1927 from Green, Kan. She is a graduate of the Denver School of Cosmeticians.
Miss Heinen is a member of the Eastern Star, the Rebekahs, and the Royal Neighbors, and attends the Methodist church. Her parents came to Kansas in 1873.
Gabbart Oil Station
The Gabbart Oil Station is under the management of B. W. Williamson who moved to this city from Blue Rapids in April, 1938 to take over his present position. Mrs. Williamson operates the grocery store in connection.
The service station was organized about three years ago and handles a complete line of greases, oils, gasoline, kerosene and accessories.
Washington Tire & Battery Shop
The Washington Tire & Battery Shop is the local agency for Firestone tires and tubes and Willard batteries. M. W. McHugh, the manager, was born in this county and has resided in Washington City 10 years. He is married and has a five months old son, John K. Mr. McHugh is a member of the Washington Chamber of Commerce.
L. W. Rosenkranz, Attorney
In January, 1932, L. W. Rosenkranz opened a law office in Washington after graduating from the University of Kansas. He has lived in Washington since 1913 coming here from south of Haddam where he was born.
Mr. Rosenkranz is now serving his third term as County Attorney and is the Republican nominee with no Democrat opposition for his fourth term. For two years he was first district chairman of the Young Republican Club and he was one of the organizers and the first president of the Washington County Young Republican Club.
Mr. Rosenkranz was married this year to Miss Bernice Clare.
(End of Part 3)