The book was transcribed for the Washington County Historical and Genealogical Society website by Beverly Munson.
Elmer Heitman, President; Lowell Meyerhoff, Vice-president; Donna Meyerhoff, Secretary and Retha Hornbostel, Treasurer.
Front Cover—Drawn by Bill Wilgers
Back Cover—1880 plat of Palmer
Researchers—Walter Ohlde, Marilyn Bargman, Donna Meyerhoff, Marie Peters, LaVera Olson, Sarah Ludvicek, Joseph Grover, Elmer Heitman, Ella Winter, Marlene Hornbostel Urban, Ruth Hubbard, Lorna Heitman, and Retha Hornbostel.
Typists—Elaine Christensen, Harlin Hornbostel and Retha Hornbostel
OUR THANKS—to all who helped in any way to make this book possible. It would be impossible to name everyone who gave us pictures, information, encouragement and their time.
Pioneers of the Bluestem Prairies 1976
Washington County Plat Book 1882
Portrait and biographical Album of Washington, Riley and Clay Counties 1890
The Washington County Register Volume 70
The Columbia Encyclopedia, 3rd Edition page 1987
Immanuel Lutheran Church 75th Anniversary Booklet
Palmer Weekly Globe 1884
The Palmer Pioneer 1888-1891
The Palmer Index 1894-1924
The Linn-Palmer Record 1924-1977
The Union Pacific Railway Emigrant Guide pages 23 and 24
In our writing of this book we are faced with the problem of a creek with many aliases. We had to choose between Peats, Petes, Peets, and Peach. In our research we find that the closer you come to the very beginning of our community the more you read abut Peach Creek. These people settled on Peach and for some reason we of later times have changed the name so that one hardly knows what to call it. So for the sake of the pioneers, the name of Peach Creek is written herein, but please feel free to insert your own favorite name.
The Way It Began ... 1859 - 1878
The Preemption Act passed in 1841 permitted settlers to locate a claim of 160 acres and, after about 14 months of residence, to purchase it from the government before public sale for as low as $1.25 an acre. With the thought of chap land out of Kansas, many people of the Eastern States left their homes and families to go out west and settle. But it was 1859 before white settlers came to our area. Just who the first settlers were we do not know. The 1882 Washington County Plat book states that there were pioneers who settled somewhere along the Peach Creek and then later abandoned their dwellings and supposedly moved farther west. Thanks to a few early families who came and stayed, then later told their stories of what pioneer life was like, we are able to write of their experiences.
Most of those early settlers came by covered wagons. Horses were not used as extensively to pull the wagons as the movies have led us to believe. Horses were expensive and used mostly for the carriage, stage coach, and riding. The settlers knew that they would need strong animals to beak up the prairie sod, so they more often spent their scarce, hard-earned money for the slower, but stronger, oxen. Oxen also subsisted better on prairie grass and water alone and did not require grain as horses did.
Since space was limited in the wagons, they carried only the barest necessities, with as much tied to the outside as possible. Some of the more fortunate ones had a milk cow and a crate of chickens. Food for these animals as well as food for the family, had to be taken along. Tools such as the ax, hoe, shovel, a hand saw, and a plow were taken if they were lucky enough to own them. Beds were made at night on the floor of the wagon, unless there were several children in the family: then usually the mother and the girls or smaller children slept in the wagon, with father and older boys under the wagon. Sometimes it was necessary for the father to sleep under the wagon to protect it from thieves who came stealthily in the night. For this reason many settlers had a dog along. Cooking was done over the campfire. A rainstorm brought with it much suffering for the early pioneer; it meant that a family would go without eating, at least anything hot. Usually the bedding and clothing would become damp and cold and many times extra miles would be driven because of swollen streams and rivers. There was always the risk of becoming mired down in the mud, causing great strain on both man and beast.
But the settlers also knew how to enjoy themselves. When they came to a settlement they would usually stay for awhile, especially if it was on a Saturday, for very few families would travel on Sunday. They would join in the fun and gaiety of the evening and the next day they would either attend church services or simply rest over the Lord’s Day. Monday morning would usually find them on their way once again.
Upon arriving at the location where they wanted to settle, which for the first settlers was along the rivers, creeks and steams, they began immediately to put up some kind of dwelling. Those who settled along a stream that had trees on it, built log cabins. They used a variety of materials for their roofs. Some used the bark of cotton wood trees, others used the long grasses; still others used clapboards, or simply the canvas off the wagon. Those who came later and settled on the prairie usually had either a sod house or a dugout.
Sod houses were made by turning up the sod held together by roots. The sod was lifted in strips and usually cut in three-foot lengths. These were laid horizontally in courses like bricks. The inside walls were hewed smooth with a spade and were often plastered with clay or ashes. Sometimes roofs were of frame construction. Usually, they were thatched or covered with sod, which had to be replaced after heavy rains. Sod walls were fire and wind proof and good insulators, but they permitted only small window openings, were seldom entirely rainproof, and made the house dirty.
Dugouts were made by digging into the side of a hill or ravine. Sometimes it was necessary to make a roof for it by fitting in lengths of young trees as cross beams and laying small branches over them and laying sod over all, leaving a hole for the chimney. The front was sometimes laid up with sod or native stones. Usually the floors were of dirt. The door might be a buffalo hide or a quilt or made of wood.
Often the furniture was made by the pioneer himself, using whatever was available to make a table and chairs or benches. We read of many using packing boxes and barrels. The beds were usually made up on the floor, although some used hammocks to get up off the cold drafty floor, as well as to get away from the varmits. These early pioneers were little disturbed by their lack of material wealth but had an unlimited faith and hope for the future in Almighty God.
The homes were often heated by a fireplace. Here, too, the food was cooked. A watchful eye had to be kept on the fire most of the time. Many a pioneer mother prided herself on her ability to lay a fire that would not spark. A spark from the chimney might set the roof on fire and if the prairie grass was dry, it too, could be set ablaze, causing the dreaded prairie fires in which many settlers lost everything they had. In the dry season an eye was always searching the horizon for the sight of smoke. If sighted, it immediately sent the family into a frenzy of activity. If they were near water the livestock was driven to it, while the father tried to plow a few furrows around their places. All available hands carried water to soak down the buildings and fight back the fire as much as possible. Later the settlers learned to plant hedge rows to help prevent the spread of prairie fires.
The next job of the pioneer, after the family and the animals had shelter, was to begin breaking up the sod. The first crops planted were usually corn and potatoes. One pioneer family tells of planting their corn by the father chopping a hole in the ground with an ax, and the mother dropping the precious kernels into the hole before pushing the sod back into place. The year 1860 was a drought year; the grass was not the ‘tall blue-stem’ that had been advertised but a growth of only about three inches high and so dry that it crumbled as they trod upon it.
Very little could be raised the first year from the soil, so it was necessary for the settlers to hunt as much as possible. Since few had horses this meant that much walking had to be done. It was reported that the buffalo and elk were still here in 1859 and that antelope, deer, and wild turkey were plentiful. Prairie chickens, quail, and game were hunted. Those who lived near creeks and rivers set up traps to catch beaver and otters. Squirrels and rabbits were shot for both food and pelts. The pelts could either be traded for food or used to make warm clothing. The meat was cured to preserve it.
The women and children picked the wild berries and herbs and made do as best they could with what they found. Wild gooseberries, elderberries, strawberries, plums, grapes, raspberries, blackberries, currants, and chokecherries were some of the fruit found in our area.
Sooner or later a trip into town had to be made. Each settler had to sign his preemption papers, as well as get the necessary supplies and food to last until the next trip, which might not be for three to six months, depending upon the distance. A trip to town was really a great undertaking. For, regardless of when the trip was made, with the distance that had to be traveled, it would usually take from one to two weeks or longer before the settler would reach home again. For some of the settlers it meant a trip to Fort riley for the mail, which was at least fifty miles away, and to Manhattan for the marketing. The land office was at Junction City. One early settler noted that he would walk to get his mail because he felt that could make better time than by taking the oxen.
Milling was done as Grasshopper Falls (now Valley Falls, Kansas), 125 mile away, where there was a water-powered grist mill owned by J.M. Piazzek. Some settlers in the northern part of the township would travel to Marysville or Table Rock, Nebraska, which was from 20 to 40 miles away. To get their corn to market, though, they would have to go to For Kearney, 150 miles away. It sold from $1.50 to $3.00 a bushel.
When the father would make the trip into town the mother and the children would remain at home to take care of the livestock. One pioneer mother who was afraid of Indians spent the nights her husband was away under an over-turned wagon with her children. There were many other dangers that no doubt preyed upon the minds of these brave women while their husbands were away. What a joyful and happy time it was when father returned home safely. Many a heartfelt prayer of thanksgiving was offered to Almighty God for His protection.
In the early years the settlers were few and far between. One family did not see another white woman for 18 months, and she was only passing through. Because of the distance between the settlers, it was easy for a man to become lost on the prairie, especially if a winter storm came up suddenly. Some were known to have become confused and dropped exhausted and frozen to death in sight of their homes, to be found later by the neighbors and buried. The weather was unpredictable; sudden summer storms with tornadoes, as well as drought, floods, and severe cold and blizzards, took their toll among the settlers and their livestock. There was also the menace of coyotes and the big grey wolves which killed pigs, calves, and chickens.
With the exception of a deep snow and zero weather early in December, the winter of 1860 and 1861, was fine and the spring came early. But some winters the children would waken in the morning to find the snow had sifted through the cracks of the cabin and covered their beds. Then there were times when they had burned all their wood and were unable to get to the timber to get more, so the child would have to go out on the prairie and pick up buffalo or cow chips to burn.
The rigorous requirement of pioneer life and the lack of medical care also took many lives, especially among infants and children, as epidemics of measles and diphtheria swept through the land. One only needs to walk through the old cemeteries and note the inscriptions on the tombstones to confirm this fact. Because of scarcity of doctors, home remedies were used. Mustard plasters, onion syrups and poultices, whiskey, turpentine and lard, and many other remedies were used to cure all sorts of illnesses.
Some of the early settlers that we now of who settled in our area between 1859 and 1862 were: H.J. Anderson, John Myers, John Mildfelt, Peter Gieber, and Peter Dull, George Funnel Sr., Joseph Bowmaker Jr., Mr. Fox, Mr. J. Kinsley, and L. Myers. Here are some of the stories that they told.
H.J. Anderson came in 1859 at the age of 26 and homesteaded west of what is now Palmer.
George Funnel Sr. came in 1860, taking squatters claim where he lived. In 1862 the land was offered for sale and he preempted 160 acres. His first house was a log cabin with a cottonwood bark roof. He lived in this until 1869.
Joseph Bowmaker Jr. came with his parents in 1860 when he was 14 years old. Kansas was still a territory. There were no schools. The farm he lived on was taken by him under the Homestead Act. He built a log cabin on the claim, and there kept ‘batch’ for over 4 years. During that time he broke some of the prairie and otherwise improved the place.
Peter Gieber in his homestead files states:
“On the last day of April or the first day of May, 1861, I made settlement on the northwest quarter of section 18, township 4, south of range 2 east. I, with my two sons, commenced making rails for fences and plowing some ground. We then put up a log cabin, 10 by 11 feet, a clapboard roof, two doors. I moved my family in it in August and then commenced building a new house which I got finished that fall and moved into it with my family and all my household furniture in September. It is a 16 foot square, shingle roof, one and one-half stories high, plank floor, 2 doors and two windows, stone chimney and fireplace. The house is built of logs, chinked and dubed, and is a comfortable house to live in. I have on the place a good blacksmith shop, 2 stables, a chicken house and a smoke house.
“I have about 40 acres broken and under cultivation about 25 or 30 acres in corn and about 9 or 10 acres of wheat. I have about 50 acres enclosed with a good rail fence, 4 rails high, stake and rider and a good well 26 feet deep walled up with stone.”
Peter Dull was a blacksmith and a farmer. He was Catholic and his education was limited to the third grade. His first home was a log cabin near Strawberry, Washington County. He settled in 1861.
The Homestead Act of 1862 provided for the transfer of a quarter section (160 acres) of unoccupied public land to each homesteader on payment of a nominal fee after 5 years of residence. This and the close of the Civil War brought on the second influx of settlers. Foreigners also were attracted by the Homestead Act. Many had nothing to look forward to in their own country and some sought refuge from military conscription. So, with the promise of cheap land and the railroad advertising ridiculously low rates, plus transportation, many Europeans crossed the ocean to take advantage of the opportunities in America. Many of these brave men from Europe came to America to be free of Europe’s tyrants, only to go to war for their newly adopted country. Many gave their lives for her.
Soon covered wagons again came hurtling across unmeasured miles of unsettled lands, fording streams often at great risk of life and property. Life on the prairie was difficult to say the least. Many settlers had little or no money. The first crops from the sod were meager compared to the time and toil it took to put them in.
When the settlers first came to this area they found the Indians generally friendly. One family told of how they understood the Indian’s sign language and of preparing and eating many meals with them. The meals were usually of buffalo meat, which was plentiful, potatoes cooked in the jackets in the wash boiler, corn bread, and huge kettles of coffee. The pioneers ground their own cornmeal with two large stones hallowed out for grinding.
However, in 1862 the Indians began making trouble. With the constant flow of white settlers and the decrease of buffalo and other wild life that had been food for the Indians, they no doubt felt that they were being pushed out and fought back the only way they knew how. At times of Indian uprisings the settlers would leave their homes and go to the nearest safe place. In the early days this meant a trip to Fort riley or Marysville. One early settler recalled such an alarm when was fourteen years old. “There was no serious depredations in this area, although on the way home from the Fort, scenes of destruction were visible.”
In the fall of 1863 the Indians began making trouble among the settlers of east of Clifton. Scouting parties were formed by the men to protect their homes and families. But even with their vigilance, the Indians slipped through the scout lines unnoticed and down upon the home of S.C. Chester about noon. The Chester home was a bark-roofed log cabin near Peach Creek, just under the bluff. The Indians entered the cabin where Mrs. Chester was hiding and forcibly kidnapped her. She was taken a short distance north along the creek and across the road to the George funnel Sr. farm. There she struggled desperately to free herself from her captors, but to no avail. The Indians tortured her frightfully until she became unconscious. Then, thinking her dead, the Indians went away and left her. When she regained consciousness she managed by sheer grit to make her way back to the cabin. Soon after she reached home, her husband and a few other men came in for water and the noon meal. When the scouts heard what had happened they grabbed their muskets and set out to track down the Indians. They followed the Indians’ trail and soon came upon them. A battle ensued, but the bow and arrow were no match for the musket: five Indians were killed, and the rest were routed. Four of the five neighbors, including Mr. Chester, took off to follow the rest of the Indians and if possible, to finish off the whole band. They trailed them as far as their reservation in Nebraska, then returned home, having failed in their mission. In the meantime, the other scouts returned and told how and where they had buried the five Indians. It was in a slough at the foot of the bluff near the east bank of Peach Creek on the Funnel farm.
Late in the summer of 1864, Indian troubles again frightened the settlers. It was described like this:
“In August of 1864 the Indians made a raid on the settlers living on the Little Blue in Washington and Marshall Counties. The settlers from the southern part of Washington County and northern Clay County fled from their homes and gathered at the Huntress Cabin (in Clay Center) where about 200 of them camped for a month…During the month the mail went no farther than the encampment, the postmaster took their respective mails and distributed them there.”
Many of the women, who figured so conspicuously as wives and mothers in these crude and trying conditions, were women of education and refinement. Though surrounded on every side with all the comforts of a pleasant home, they bravely sundered the ties that bound them to parents, home, and youth’s happy scenes to follow their husbands into the “wilds of Kansas.” There they endured hardships and suffered privations, the end of which secured a home for themselves in their old age and a brighter future for their children. In establishing these homes, they were never lax in their attention to their less fortunate neighbors. Their latch string was ever out to the wayfarer; the word “welcome” smiled from every log and chink in their cabins. A vacant chair by their fireside or table was ever ready for their neighbor, and the word “stranger” was synonymous with “friend.” They were ever watchful for the interest of their adopted State and Country in the development of which they played so important a part.
We have names of some early settlers from the 1866 and on into the ‘70s. While the list is no doubt incomplete, they are the only names that we learned of. Charles Hammell is reported as being the first to settle on the high plains in 1870. His homestead was where Louis Bierbaum’s farm is on Highway 15. More settlers’ names are: T.G. Murril, M. Drake, J. Mallen, J. Dibley, John Cooney, D. Whaley, J. Marx, George Stegman, James Michel, F.K. Fish, T. Baker, T. Whirlow, T. White, O.W. Cook, E.A. Thomas, E. Wilson, F. Currier, M. Williams, M. Whetstine, G.M. Parks, J.D. Wilson, J.W. Bell, Silas McIntosh, A.F. Lambert, F. Bedker, J.S. Lueszler, Peter Lueszler, John Lueszler, G.A. Randell, Sam Roberts, Levi Woody, J.M. Landon, Sam Mobly, H. Fish, Mr. Prentiss, James McMurray, - McConnelly, Duncan Fraser, Levi Lower, Elwood Lower, William Totten, J.L. Robbins, S.H. Maunder, Charles D. Potter, A. Boynton, A.W. Belanger, Hy Chestnut, J.A. Newsom, Issac Nadeau, John Raven, Alex Spiers, Matthew Smith, Noah Lueszler, Martin Olson Sr., W.H. Riggs, George Beswick Sr., George R. Lee, F. Wharton, O.G. Rowland, Thomas Rowland, H.C. Meier, John P. Serles, Charles P. Rowland, E.J. McQuillen, Simon McIntosh, Daniel McIntosh, John Wharton, Walter and Thomas Lloyd, H.A.W. Meyers, T.F. Johnson, Oliver Beeson, John Baer, R. Taylor.
John G. Marx came to this area at the close of the Civil War. He took out a claim a mile and a half northeast of what is now Palmer. He later lived in Palmer for awhile. His son, Henry, was talented a making musical instruments. He invented the Marxoharp and sold them while they still lived here. Mr. John Marx died and was buried in the catholic Cemetery. The rest of the family eventually moved to Chicago; and in 1927 they moved to New Troy, Michigan. Here, with his son, Charley, Henry established the Marxochime Colony. Henry also invented the Marxochime, the Marxophone, and the Celestaphone. Charley invented the Marxolin, the Pianolin, and the Violinuke. After Henry’s death, Charley kept the business going; but now that Charley has passed away the business has been discontinued.
Lewis Pfile came from Germany in 1869. His family lived in a dugout for two years. President Hayes signed his homestead papers January 15, 1878.
Simon McIntosh came in 1869 by train, taking a claim out two and a half miles southeast of what is now Palmer, where Herb and Opal Ohlde now live. Simon and his brother, Daniel, took adjoining claims. In order to proved their claims they built a cabin over the dividing line so that each could eat and sleep on his own claim, het share the same fire and each other’s company. Simon was born in Prescott, Ontario, Canada, and worked as a seaman on the St. Lawrence River while a young man. Around 1865 he went to California where he worked in the plaza gold mines. He came to Kansas on the first scheduled passenger train to run after the famous gold spike was driven May 10, 1869. Simon received his land grant from Concordia in May, 1870, spending $14.75 on it. He proved his claim in 1875. In 1871 he married Nancy Jane Wharton. This was the first marriage in Sherman Township. After their marriage they lived in a log house until 1884, when a new house was built.
Ida Lambert came in 1869 with her parents. They homesteaded east of what is now Palmer.
Thomas Fayette Johnson was born near Prophetstown, Illinois. He enlisted in the 34th Illinois Infantry in 1863. He served in the Atlanta Campaign, and marched with Sherman to the sea, in the Carolina Campaign, and to the end of the war. Johnson was in the Grand Review at Washington, D.C. He was mustered out at Louisville, Kentucky, July, 1865. In 1869 he moved to Kansas and took a homestead north of where Palmer is now. Ida Martha Whaley became his bride in 1871. They had four children: Stella, H.W. Johnson, A.J. Johnson and Pearl. Thomas Johnson lived his last ten years in Palmer. He took special pride in being the flag bearer at Memorial Day services and for many years carried the flag he fought so valiantly for throughout the Civil War.
In 1870 Sherman Township came into being. It was named in honor of General Sherman, the hero of the “march to the sea”. It included more territory than it does presently. Beginning at the Washington Clay County line and one mile further west than the present line, north 14 miles, then nine mile east or one mile further east than the present lien, then back south to the Clay-Washington line. The first marriage was Simon McIntosh and Nancy Jane Wharton in 1871. The first birth is believed to be Kitty Fish, daughter of F.K. Fisk in December, 1870. The first township officers were: Trustee, E.A. Thomas; treasurer, A. Wyatt and clerk, E. Wilson.
J.P. Serles homesteaded in 1870 along the Parallel and labored to transform barren prairie into good agricultural land.
Thomas Brown was born at Caldbeck in the County of Cumberland, England. On October 19, 1856 he married Mary Holden and they came to New York in 1866 and moved to Kansas in 1870. They homesteaded n southern Washington County where his wife Mary, died in 1874. On the 3rd of March, 1887, he was married to Susan McIntosh. They lived on the farm until 1905, when they moved into Palmer. Mr. Brown was called the “Father of Palmer” because of the great interest he took in the development and building of Palmer, signified by the number of properties he owned. Mr. Brown was a man of temperate habits and his energy was a surprise to his many friends. He was always up and doing, first here and then there, he was always jolly and had a pleasant word for everyone, rich and poor alike. Hotel Brown, erected in his honor in 1908, and a double brick store building built by him in 1914, stand as monuments to his enterprise for the welfare of the city of Palmer. His wife Susan died November 15, 1914, and Thomas passed away in May, 1915. He was buried at the Parallel Cemetery. His children were Mrs. Jane Kretz of Clay Center; William of Paterson, New Jersey; Mose of Palmer; Albert of Nardin Oklahoma; Thomas of Kansas City, Missouri; Mrs. Maggie Cox and John of Clifton; and a step-daughter, Mrs. J.R. Cooney of Nardin, Oklahoma.
George Beswick Sr., came to Waterville by train in 1870. Yankee John Wilson brought the family to this area, where they took out a claim. George Jr. was a baby of five months when they arrived. His daughter, Aletha, now Mrs. Fred Lohmeyer, relates the following incident: Mrs. Beswick became quite ill and it was deemed unwise to feed the baby the mother’s milk. A stray cow quite providentially solved the problem. It seems the father saw the cow, shut her up for a few days, and used the milk to feed the baby. When the mother recovered the cow was turned loose. Ownership of the cow was never learned, but the baby thrived on the borrowed milk. Mr. Beswick would walk to Waterville or Hanover where he worked on the railroad. He would return at the end of the week carrying a sack of flour. (Flour and sugar were bought in 40 or 100 pound sacks.) Incidentally, this is one of the few remaining original homesteads in our area. However, the big beautiful home the Beswicks built was on land they purchased from the Balstons. Arnold Beswick now farms the land his grandfather homesteaded.
Martin Olson Sr. filed a claim in 1870. He, like so many others, had no money. He went back to the Missouri River to work to earn money. This he did for three or four winters. He and his family lived in a sod house, part of which is still in existence on the old homestead northwest of what is now Palmer, where his son, Martin Jr. lives.
In 1872 three German families came into the Strawberry township area. There were Henry Herrs, Henry Kohlmeyer and J. Schroeder. They had come from Germany a few years earlier and made their homes in Crete, Illinois. Because the land was too high priced in Illinois for people with very little money, they moved westward where land was cheap.
Henry Herrs found a homesteader who sold his claim for $20, which was all the money Herrs had. He now had land and a dugout to live in, but none of the land was broken and he had no oxen. He did have a neighbor by the name of Levant, and Methodist preacher, who owned a yoke of oxen. Herrs made a deal with Mr. Levant to work two days for him in return for one day of work with the oxen. In this way he was able to plow a patch of ground on his homestead. Wile Mr. Herrs worked for the neighbor, Mrs. Herrs used a hoe to plant corn in the plowed ground. As they could not afford to buy shoes, Herrs made footwear for the children: he would whittle soles out of wood and tack to this toe caps made from used leather tops of worn out boots.
Schroeder and Kohlmeyer had several hundred dollars, which was sufficient to buy a farm on which some of the land had already been broken. But after buying their land, they too, were penniless. When Kohlmeyer wanted to dig his well he had his brother-in-law, Henry Herrs, come over in the morning before starting to work to let him down into the well by means of a windlass. Then while Herrs worked his field during the forenoon, Mr. Kohlmeyer worked down in the well digging and Mrs. Kohlmeyer drew the filled bucket up to the surface. At noon Herrs would come and draw Kohlmeyer up out of the well. After the noon meal the same routine was repeated.
William and Dorathea Hornbostel arrived in 1873. He traded a span of oxen and a wagon for an 80 acre homestead east of the Peach Creek Village. He also traded shaves and haircuts to the storekeeper for salt.
Mr. Bennett I. H. House came in 1873 and settled in Sherman Township. He proved up 160 acres under the Homestead Act. Later he engaged in stock dealing in Palmer.
Reuben Taylor, born November 26, 1834, left Yorkshire, England as a young boy with his parents and three other children. The father and two children were buried at sea. Rueben, his mother and a sister arrived in New York and after a short stay in New York State, settled in Howell, Livingston County, Michigan. Here he grew to manhood, learned the blacksmith trade, married Jane Strailes and had three children born to them. Their names were John Rhodes, Martha Elizabeth and Elmer M.
In 1872 they came to Washington County, Kansas in a covered wagon, bringing with them their furniture and tools of his trade. As they came over the hill north of the place they were to settle, they noticed a light and stopped for the night, saying they had come far enough. The bought out the squatter and proved up their claim.
Reuben farmed and worked at this trade, doing blacksmith work in exchange for farm labor and the building of a rock fence around the livestock lot with rock from the hill east of the lot. A sled made from the fork of a tree was used to move the rocks. (This fence is still there). Mrs. Taylor fed these helpers and would bake twelve pies twice a week as an addition to their meals.
Mr. Taylor became a prosperous man and owned quite a bit of land. He bought and sold real estate in his area.
Three more children came to bless their Strawberry township home, they were; Bell, Bert A. and L.T.
Part of this farm has stayed in the family name with Bufred and Eva Taylor now living there.
At a meeting of the County Board on July 2, 1872, a petition was presented by a group of citizens of the northern half of Clifton township, asking that a new township be formed from the north half of Clifton township. They called this township Strawberry because of a large bed of strawberries located near the center of it.
Peach Creek Village was the result of the conversation between E. Wilson of Sherman Township and Charles D. Potter who had come from Vermont searching for a place to locate. This was in the spring of 1870 near Clifton. Mr. Wilson persuaded him to settler near Peach Creek on the stagecoach road between Waterville and Concordia. Mr. Potter returned to the East and brought his family and a large stock of goods back to Kansas. Upon arriving he put up a build. Since the Post Office from Mount Clifton, where Dr. Alphonzo G. Randall had been Postmaster, was moved to Peach Creek, Mr. Potter was appointed Postmaster.
G.F. Kober came and helped build up the town, as well as Dr. W.R. Boal and O.W. Cook, who were in business together. Dr. Randall also settled here, and the town was flourishing. In 1872 the town consisted of two general stores, a blacksmith shop, a hotel, a doctor’s office, a grain house, and several homes.
John Turner of Irving, Kansas, wrote in his diary that on May 27, 1871, he hired to C.E. Gaylord to drive the stage between Waterville and Concordia. On May 29, he took a lot of horses to Waterville for C.E. Gaylord’s stage. He left them at two stations: Smith’s on Coon Creek and Cook’s on Peach Creek.
School was first held I the E. Wilson home (E. Wilson homesteaded the farm that Paul Ohlde owns sought of Palmer) in the winter of 1869. A class of Christian people was organized by J. Shyles and S.C. Chester in 1871. Services were held in a log house in Peach Creek Village. Dr. George Wigg was the first pastor.
Peach Creek School District Number 90, Washington County, was organized in 1872. A building site of one acre of land was deeded by the landowner, M.C. Glover, to the school board members, Louis Lath, Simon McIntosh, and Silas McIntosh. The deed was recorded September 2, 1872. The lumber for the schoolhouse had to be hauled from Waterville by team and wagon, a distance of 30 miles. Several area settlers volunteered to haul the lumber in their wagons. The building was erected to the west of the town site. It served as a community gathering place where, no doubt, the spelling bees, debates, and the box and pie socials were held. Here, too, funeral services were conducted. School was held annually in the building until 1939, the last term being taught by Miss Marcine A Morsch for the school year 1938-39.
On a hot Sunday afternoon in August, 1874, a sudden dark cloud appeared in an otherwise cloudless sky. As it came closer and sun shone on it the air appeared to be full of bright particles closely resembling snowflakes. Only when they began coming to the ground did the settlers realize that they were grasshoppers. As soon as the pests dropped they began devouring everything in sight. The vegetable gardens disappeared – even the onions were eaten, leaving a hole in the ground where they had been. The trees were stripped completely bare. Handles of farm tools made of green apple sapling were eaten. Very little escaped their voracious appetites. That winter was very hard on the settlers. They looked forward to spring and the new crops, only to discover that the grasshoppers had laid eggs in the soil: as the sun warmed the earth the eggs hatched and the tiny grasshoppers once more ate everything.
In 1876 the Lyle Brothers established a lumber and coal yard in Peach Creek Village. This business was moved to the new village of Palmer and was the forerunner of the present Herman Meyer Lumber Company.
The Way It Was ... 1878 - 1977
The beginning of the end of this young prairie town began with the coming of the “iron horse.” The C.B.U.P.R.R. was building a line from Waterville to Concordia, and in the fall of 1877 the line was built through this area. However, because of the terrain, or because they didn’t want to cross the Creek again, the railroad would not go to the village of Peach Creek. They refused to help the town except to build a depot one and a half miles north, which they did in the spring of 1878. Because of the importance that the railroad played in those early days, the merchants of Peach Creek Village decided to mover their businesses up to the depot.
The new town was laid out by E.A. Thomas on a broad strip ob bottom land, lying between the Creek, and the bluff. The town was named Palmer after J. Palmer, one of the first Washington County Superintendents of public instruction. So, in the spring of 1878 the first building to be moved was a grain house, by A. C. Potter and Smouse. The first business house that was “landed” here was by George F. Kober on May 16, 1878. The first building that was built here was a small office building by George E. Smith. One of the early houses that was moved from Peach Creek and still remained in 1888 was the residence of George F. Kober. Mr. Walt Ohlde told us his mother had told him that when they moved the buildings and houses from Peach Creek the movers did not trust the bridge. Consequently, the buildings were taken through the Creek with oxen pulling them.
The rest of the town of Peach Creek that still remained was scattered throughout the surrounding country. The Post Office was moved to the Henry Lange farm east of Palmer and was added onto the house. Elsie Hornbostel remembers as a girl, when her parents, the William Krenzels, lived there, that the room had a swinging door and she and her sisters spent many happy hours running through it.
The house that the Ernest Lange family has lived in for many years was one of the original homes in Peach Creek Village. They have added onto it through the years, of course.
The old hotel was moved to the William Meyerhoff farm and is still being used as a chicken house to this day. We received a letter from Emil Hiesterman about the old hotel which reads, in part, as follows:
When I was a kid of 8 or 9 years old, Dad and I were in Concordia one day. Dad asked an old timer on the street for something. That feller asked where we were from, and when Dad said “Palmer” he got all excited…Then he told us that in his younger days he carried the mail on horseback from Waterville to Concordia and used to stay overnight in the hotel at Peach Creek. When Dad told him where the building was and still in existence he said he would like to come back and see it again.
The old school building is still where it was built. It was sold in 1947 or 1948 to Lawrence Ohlde. It now serves as a hay barn. By terms of the deed, the land reverted back to the owner of the farm when the school was no longer held in it. Where the rest of the buildings went, if there were more, we do not know. But for many years, it is said all that remained of Peach Creek Village, besides the cemetery, the school, and the old hotel, were a lot of unfilled cellars.
Francis W. Nadeau came to Palmer and built a store. His business included stationery and confectionaries. He was appointed Postmaster on June 13, 1878. Mr. Nadeau was also a Notary Public and a Land Agent.
I.T. Miller was a druggist and apothecary who also sold groceries. The Lyle Brothers had a lumberyard. Dr. W.R. Boal and Mr. O.W. Cook had a general merchandise store which included dry goods, notions, hats and caps, boots and shoes, groceries, and Queenswear, plus all kinds of farming implements. An ad stated that they had “The Lowest Living Prices.”
Mr. George F. Kober, the owner of the “Old Reliable” hardware store had his business west of the depot, across the street on Nadeau Avenue. The Central House was the first hotel built in Palmer. It was built by W.J. Cook in 1879. Palmer also had a blacksmith and wagon shop, but we don’t know who owned it.
A school house was built in the summer of 1879, the first in District No. 87, Miss Cora Nadeau taught the first term in the winter of 1879. The French Catholic Church of Palmer was established in 1879 by Louis Ray and others. That same year a church was erected.
In an effort to settle the land along the new roads it was opening, the Union Pacific Railway in 1878-79 published an emigrant Guild or Handbook in which “great inducements (were) offered in thrifty towns to the homeseekers and choice lands at low prices to the farmer and emigrant on this new road.” Following is an excerpt from the book:
Palmer is located on the Central Branch of the Union Pacific railroad, about twelve miles northwest of Greenleaf, on the bottom lands of Peach Creek, 122 miles from Atchison. West and north of and adjoining the town may be found beautiful rolling prairie containing the very best of soil. On the east and south is the broad river bottom, which if very rich and productive.
The atmosphere of the town is clear, and in summer the breeze blows almost continually. The evenings and nights may be said to be always pleasant. Those sultry and sweltering nights so common and so dangerous to health as well as disagreeable, are unknown in this locality. When the sun sets in the summertime, an extra garment is pleasant, and there is not an average of one night in a year so warm as to interfere with sleep.
From the preceding statements it will be seen that Palmer is destined to be a place of importance, and now offers great inducements by way of material advantages and otherwise, for the investment of capital.
In an around Palmer it is fast being settled by old experience farmers from all parts of the world. They can get the highest price for all their produce. The surface is undulating; the soil rich and deep. The prairie slopes are peculiarly adapted to the raising of the cereals; while the valleys yield immense crops of corn. In their natural state, a luxuriant growth of nutritious wild grass covers the whole prairie. This county undoubtedly possesses within her borders the requisites to insure future prosperity and greatness, and with her abundance of cheap lands, she offers tempting opportunities to settlers.
The staple products of the soil in the county are cereals and vegetable, wheat, corn, oats, flax, barley, and all kinds of root crops being grown with the most wonderful success.
The raising of fruit is fast arresting the attention of farmers, and is a pleasant and paying occupation.
The country is well watered and has plenty of timer for lumber and fuel; wood is worth from $2 to $3 per cord;; coal exists to some extent in this locality; brown sandstone, a very excellent article for building, is found here and is worth $1 per perch delivered.
This is the first point where the C.B.U.P.R.R. enters into the great Republican Valley. The Junction City and Ft. Kearney R.R. is surveyed to a point near this place where it is expected it will make a junction with the C.B.U.P.R.R., in which case, here will be a good point for all branches of trade, which is only represented now by tow general stores, on hardware store, one lumber yard, two grain houses, one blacksmith and wagon shop, one hotel, one confectionery and stationery store, and post office.
Among the enterprising and energetic businessmen of Palmer we take pleasure in mentioning the postmaster, F.W. Nadeau, who is a young man of energy, stability and integrity, and commands the respect of all who know him. Boal & Cook, general merchants, are gentlemen in the true sense of the word; as businessmen they are thorough-going, reliable and successful, carrying a large, well-selected stock and doing the most of the business in their line. Their store building is a large, two-story brown front, and presents a rich appearance. Lyle Brothers, dealers in lumber, paints, hardware, etc., are young men of the right stamp, possessing the genuine qualifications that insure success in business and social circles; they keep a full stock in their different lines of trade, are obliging to their customers, and wide-awake to the interest of Palmer and the surrounding country. I.T. Miller, druggist and grocer, caries a well-selected stock and is ever ready to oblige his numerous customers; is a careful, shrewd businessman, and is fully prepared to supply all demands in his line.
All of the above gentlemen are kind and obliging and ever ready to extend the hand of friendship to the emigrant and home-seeker.
One of the best evidences of prosperity in reference to this town is that the businessmen own, as a general thing their residences and store buildings and are ready at all times to discount their bills.
If you want a good location for business go to Palmer; or it you want a choice farm, don’t buy until you see the lands of Washington County.
Washington County embraces about 400,000 acres of good lands – valleys lands and gently rolling uplands, well adapted for cultivation and of rich soil – as rich as productive wheat lands as any in the western country, and equally good for corn, oats, rye, barley, etc. The prairie grazing is nowhere better than here. Cattle here are fattened on free range in summer, and in winter, also, mainly subsist on the prairie range.
Those of us that have lived in Palmer for a few years know that some of the claims in this article are a little outlandish. But there must have been quite a few people who read it and came to find out if it was such an Utopia, for in 1880 the population was between 300 and 400.
Fred Arndt came in April of 1880 and engaged in the mercantile business and invested his share in the improvement of Palmer in the way of buildings. H.D. Austin also came in 1880 and was the painter of many businesses and homes in this vicinity.
On the 5th day of April, 1880, Messrs. William and Clark established a newspaper at Palmer called the Palmer Register. It was published at this place until sometime in July of the same year, when it was moved to Washington City. Its circulation while at Palmer was about 500.
The G.A.R. (Grand Army of the Republic) Post received its charter in February 1884. Members will be mustered in at the next regular meeting.
Palmer is in need of many more sidewalks.
Mr. Pitts, Palmer’s oldest citizen celebrated his 72nd birthday.
The Palmer Store has material, 25 yards for $1.00. Boal and Cook Store has material, 15 yards for $1.00, 13 pounds of sugar for $1.00 and 10 pounds of raisins for $1.00.
The Palmer Public School united with the Peach Creek School and had a grand picnic last Friday in the grove on Peach River. Miss Hackney is the teacher at the Peach Creek School.
Ladies, who want the latest in dress styles, can order Demorest Patterns from the Post Office.
Measles are very bad and quite a few youngsters have died from them.
Palmer is to have another elevator. Mars, Miller, Douglas and Co. have begun erecting a good commodious, convenient and substantial elevator. This gives Palmer two of the best elevators in the state.
The Bank of Palmer has received its charter. The Bank first opened its doors on July 4, 1887.
The Bank of Palmer has purchased the corner lot on the west side of the railroad tracks, just south of Kobers and F. Nadeau and will at once erect their Bank thereon.
The Ice crop of Palmer this year is unusually good. It averaged 14 inches thick before the Thursday evening cold spell. An addition is being built onto the ice house.
The teacher at Peach Creek this year is J.J. Dowd. Teachers at Palmer are: Miss Bella Boyngton with 23 pupils in the upper grades and Miss Lucy McAtee teaching 33 in the primary grades.
Palmer’s Secret Lodges:
K. of P. (Knights of Pythias) St. Elmo No. 16
I.O.G.T. Occidental Lodge No. 164
A.O.U.W. Palmer Lodge No. 16
S.K. of O.U.W. Sherman Legion No. 61
I.O.O.F. Lone Star Lodge No. 284
These meetings are all held in the Woodman Hall.
A new bell ahs been installed in the Catholic Church and it sounds splendid.
The Indian herb doctor has 400 invalids under his care and still they flock to him.
The Catholic Church has purchased a new organ from the Kober Store. Lottie Kober is the Church organist.
Palmer has a band called the Palmerites, and a Henry Benoit Orchestra. (We could not learn who were the members of these groups).
The last homestead to be taken was taken by William F. Haney.
Hogs -- $3.00 per hundred weight Oats -- .20 cents a bushel Eggs -- .07 cents a dozen Flour -- $1.20 per sack Butter -- .05 cents a pound Chickens -- $1.00 to $1.50 per dozen
The County was organized in 1860. It has an area of 900 square miles with a population of 20,267. It ranks 28 in population with the counties of the state. The assessed valuation is $4,304,010. Has 106 miles of railroad tracks. Washington, the county seat, has a population of 1,566. It is conservatively estimated that there are 13,000 horses, 1,200 mules, 13,000 milk cows, 44,000 hogs. There are over 3,000 dogs and Palmer probably enjoys the distinction of having more per square inch than any other town in the county. The principal towns in the county and their populations, besides Washington, are: Hanover 1,055, Greenleaf 735, Barnes 387, Haddam 355, Clifton 326, Palmer 300, and Linn 202.
Palmer’s population is 188; the total for the county is 20,408.
J.F.Thompson, editor of the Palmer Index, mentions that the Index is published every Saturday for the true, the good and the beautiful, at the best town, in the best county, in the best State, in the best Country. The subscription price which is stated below is invariably in advance but may be paid in vegetable, farm products, cord wood or promises. In fact, in anything a Christian printer can eat or use. Subscription…$1.00 for one year.
St. Louis Catholic Church - Preaching every Sunday (except second) in the month. 10:30 a.m. Rev. Father A. Grothares
M.E. Church – Preaching every Sabbath, alternately mornings and evenings. Prayer meeting every Thursday evening. Young people’s meetings every Sunday evening at 6:30 p.m. W.R. Leigh, Pastor
St. John German Lutheran Church – Services every Sunday 10:30 a.m. Parochial School Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday. J.G.B. Keller, Past.
Palmer Market in March 1894:
Hogs -- $3.70 per hundred weight Butter -- .10 cents per pound Cattle -- $2.00 per hundred weight Eggs -- .07 cents per dozen Wheat -- .38 cents per bushel Hay -- $3.00 per ton Corn -- .26 cents per bushel Oats -- .24 cents per bushel Potatoes -- $1.00 per bushel
Isaac Lewis (Lute) Morgan was born in Dayton, Ohio on February 12, 1854 and died April 27, 1934. He spent his childhood near Findley, Ohio and upon the death of his father was forced to leave school and make his own living. At age fifteen he learned the trade of stone mason and in this manner helped support his mother. In 1873 he married Sara Ann Newell of Finley, Ohio. To this union four children were born: Mrs. Stella Fleener, Mr. Frank Morgan, Mrs. Effie Stigge, Mrs. Myrtle Taylor. In 1885 they left Ohio and came to Greenleaf, Kansas. Later they lived two years in Salt Lake City, Utah, where Lute worked on the Mormon Temple. The family returned to Palmer, Kansas in 1897 and ran a saloon for a time and pursued his mason work. (Mr. Morgan’s work is still visible in Palmer as he worked on the Bank and also made ornamental balls and vases.) He built several rock-arch bridges around the neighborhood and moved to Clifton, Kansas after about five years. He continued at his trade in Clifton, also ran a Restaurant for a time.
The Palmer Millinery Shop is located in the west end of the old Bank building. Miss Amanda Tate and Miss Bond, the trimmer, are prepared to show you the finest line of millinery goods on the market, also the latest styles and the best quality for the least money.
Palmer has a very good city football team this year. Some of the members are: Lew McCall, Fred Booth, Shorty Pierce, Chas. McCall, Chad. Smith, Oscar Austin, Leslie Austin, Arthur Austin, Lew Jones and Earl Hahn. These games are played on Carl Lange’s field.
W.H. Groom sold his blacksmith shop to E.H. Hornbostel, who took charge immediately. Mr. Grooms will stay around the shop until Mr. Hornbostel gets accustomed to the business.
A special meeting of the Palmer Cemetery Association will be held at the office of L.P. Wilson for the purpose of transacting such business as may come before the association. The president, J.S. Wilson, requests all interested persons to be present.
C.R. Fuller announces that the Palmer Creamery will be ready for business on February 29, 1904. The price paid for butter fat will be 1 cent below Kansas City’s highest quotation. Your skim milk back free of charge.
If you are interested in the telephone proposition for Palmer speak out and let it be known. All that is needed to start the thing going is a little work.
Confectionary, Candies and Cigars. I also have a feed store in connection with my confectionary business, am located in the same old place where I will treat you right. H. Struber.
Dealers in General Merchandise, hardware, farm implements, wagons, twine, oil and coal. Get our prices on farm machinery. We can save you money. Robert and Classen, Day, Kansas.
Assistant cashier A.H. Tegeler of the Bank of Palmer received word Thursday morning of his appointment to the position of chief clerk to Senator J.B. Lower, who is chairman of the Legislative Apportionment committee. He will probably leave the first of the week for Topeka to take up the duties of his position and during his absence Henry Schroeder will be assistant at the Bank.
J.M. Anderson has opened up a blacksmith shop on is farm west of Palmer. (This was on Alvin Killman’s farm, north of town.)
The Livery barn changed hand Saturday and Charles Brown of the Parallel is the new owner. We understand he will move to town at once and occupy the Thos. Brown Hotel property. We have no doubt but that Mr. Brown will run a first class livery and we are especially glad to welcome him and his family to Palmer.
An Earthquake in Kansas – Severe earthquake shocks were felt in Kansas on Sunday evening about six twenty-five. Nearly everybody in and around Palmer was more or less shaken up.
Town Meeting was held at P. Meier and Son’s store Tuesday evening for the purpose of taking steps to see that the streets of Palmer are put in a little better shape before spring rains set in. The old swimming hole on Main Street must be filled up. A committee consisting of W.O. Pierce, C.E. Meter and J.B. Johnston was appointed to take the necessary steps toward bettering conditions there.
Officers of the Woodmen Lodge were:
Roy Knox -- Counsel Earl Wyatt -- Escort Clarence Thomas -- W. A. Lee Knox -- Watchman Charles Young -- Banker S. S. Hurley -- Sentry P. J. Slipsager -- Clerk
George F. Hahn, W.A. Farnsworth, W.C. Brown -- Board of Managers.
E. Eaton of day Station was called to Kansas City Saturday to serve in the U.S. Grand Jury.
The brick building known as the Millinery Store will be closed March 1st. (Old brick building on corner north of Otto Wilgers residence.)
Palmer seems to be the trading point for eggs, as the price has hovered around 14 cents for some time.
A new crossing has been put in between George Hahn’s Hardware and L/P. Wilson’s, a much needed improvement.
Rafield and Sons are having a new front porch put on their store building, a new eave spout, and a brand new coat of paint applied by John Jording.
Thomas Brown is having a cement walk poured in front of the Heim building. The cement fever is catching and seems to be gaining force.
W. O. Pierce has put in billiard and pool tables in the Heim building and will run a strictly first class billiard hall. It is pleasing to note the neatness of the room. He will handle cigars and soft drinks, and will move his real estate office there.
John Wilson and Thomas Brown tore up the old pig pens and boards back of the Heim building last week and with John’s dogs, got rid of 107 rats in about 25 minutes.
At the Catholic Church last Monday occurred the wedding of Marion Reid to Miss Ella Menard, daughter of Frank Menard, Father McAuliffe officiating.
Ed. Chase has purchased the two lots between Dr. Attwood and Dr. Grover and will erect a new livery barn.
E.W. Henry moved to the hotel and the building has been thoroughly overhauled and refitted throughout. It presents a very neat appearance. The Hotel is now open for business.
The firm of Cook and Fowler disposed of a car each of cabbage and potatoes the first of the week.
Dr. Grover did the artistic work on the front of Ed. Chase’s new barn blending with white and blue. We wonder of Doc. Left that little corner for his trade mark? He did a good job.
The skating rink is still in progress; if you are inclined to a hearty laugh, you should see some of the acrobatic feats performed by some of the new skaters.
Work on the cement sidewalks to the German church this week has been handicapped by the bad weather, but Tuesday a force of men put down an amazing lot of it, and would have finished next morning had it not been for the blizzard.
Home Talent Play – The young folks home talent play (Thompkins Hired Man) given last Friday night at Chase’s opera house was a success and the proceeds amounted to about $50, the play being a benefit to apply on the piano for the M.E. Church.
Palmer’s first Election: For Mayor – Herman Meyer 51, Thomas Brown 44. For Police Judge – H.P. Schroeder 35, Theo. Schuette 32, John Wilson 1. For Councilmen Citizens – Henry palmer 53, Ed. Meyer 59, C.F. Atwood 69, Mose Brown 74, Wm. McCall 58.
A public ball will be given at the home of Peter Schumaker on Saturday evening May 27. The Clay Center Colored Orchestra will furnish music. A large new granary will accommodate the dancers and other preliminaries made to handle a large crowd.
Henry Damman has a force of men at work putting up ice. It is from 9 to 10 inches thick and of good quality.
The firm of Palmer and Thompson has dissolved partnership by mutual consent. Mr. Palmer bought out Thompson.
Henry Damman has his ice house north of town and the one back of his shop filled with nice clean ice. He may settle down in comfort for the balance of the winter, playing a game of pitch or cutting meat whichever the case may be.
A.H. Tegeler has been a Notary Public since he was 21 years old (he’s pretty nigh and old batch now).
The St. Paul’s church received a new high grade organ for their Church use. If you take the liberty to listen you will find they have some fine singer there.
Frank Lockas, who has been farming near Day station, has purchased the hotel fixtures and will take charge of the Hotel Brown.
The German country boys have stated they will half of the costs of the Lange ball ground this year, if the town people will stand the rest.
Mayor – Herman Meyer
Police Judge – H.P. Schroeder
Council – Henry Palmer, F. C. McNitt, Wm. McCall, Mose Brown, Ernest Hornbostel.
The streets were put in good shape the first of the week by Wm. Henry and Roy Young using the road drag.
A lot of cement walks are being put in.
McNitt has added Pianos to his business.
The violin class, composed of Chas. Booth, W.F. Cawood, Herman Fajen, Cecil Wilson and Paul Thiele under the direction of Rev. Wassel, is assisting with the music as the revivals at the M.E. Church.
Population of Sherman Township is 813 and Palmer is 219.
Henry Damman the butcher and the Creamery Company put up ice.
The City Council met and decided to purchase two Coleman street lights.
Will Pfile traded for an auto and has been scaring horses and all kinds of animals along the road this week in learning the intricacies of the “devil wagon”.
On Wednesday night, February 4, 1914, Palmer met with the most disastrous fire in its history, when the F.C. McNitt & Co. General Merchandise Store, the Bank of Palmer, the Telephone Exchange and the Palmer Index Office were totally destroyed by fire. It only took an hour for the fire to accomplish its fiendish work, and all available help was occupied in saving the Post Office, which was on fire three times, and the Rafield and Son’s Furniture Store, as nothing could be done in retarding the flames of the afore-mentioned structures.
Explosion after explosion was heard in the McNitt store, and as the fire reached the area where the kerosene tank was located there was terrific roar, resembling the sound and shape of a tornado, which could be seen for miles. What a sight! Men and boys tumbled over each other in their anxiety to get out of the way and the comical side was there with the expression, “Boys, we are gone,” as the flames and smoke passed up into the air and disappeared.
All buildings were insured, as was the stock, and the adjusters at once were notified. They have been here and all claims have been settled. Mr. Cook, we are informed, went to Washington and purchased a book store and Mr. McNitt purchased a farm. The Bank located their office in the building occupied by Dr. Grover as a Veterinary Office and will build a brick building. The Telephone Co. went to work and ordered new equipment and purchased the Mrs. P. Meier property and have it in good working order. The next day after the fire the editor of the Index was notified that there was a printing shop for sale in Clay Center and in short time had everything installed in his home two doors south of Hornbostel’s Garage. Thomas Brown purchased the lots from O.W. Cook where the fire occurred and will exchange the east corner to the Bank for their location and the Bank will erect a brick building. Mr. Brown is now circulating a paper to get shareholders for a general merchandise store, which he will build where the bank had been. When this is all completed Palmer will be a better city than ever and no doubt will regain all her lost prestige from the effects of that dread fire fiend.
Mr. J.M. Decker, manager of the Baker, Crowell Grain Co., was here Wednesday looking after their interests.
Thomas Brown had the creamery building, occupied by August Jansenius, moved back from the lot on which it stood to make room for the new bank building. Fred Killman did the work.
A band of Gypsies, fortune tellers and Papooses were here lying their trade.
I.L. Morgan will finish the concrete work for the new bank building this week by putting in a concrete floor in the basement. The work was finished in jig time.
C.E. Murphy of Clay Center was here Monday making window sills for the new building. They will begin the brick work next Monday.
Forty-five friends and neighbors gathered at the home of Mrs. Nellie Balston in the Parallel area to celebrate Grandma Balston’s 83rd birthday, April 28, 1914.
Miss Caroline Beeson closed a successful term of school at Pleasant Valley Friday. A large crowd came with well filled baskets and all had a fine time.
The Kansas “White Way” Good Roads Associate will hold a meeting at Frankfort Friday, May 15. The purpose of the meeting is to log a road between Concordia and Atchison. As Palmer can be put on the route it would be well to have a responsible representative at this meeting. It could mean more business and better roads for us. The painting of the telephone poles with white bands indicated the direction taken by this route. Wednesday, R.H. Grooms, E.H. Hornbostel, John Affleck and A.H. Tegeler autoed to within three miles of Clifton where they met the route coming this way. They painted poles until they ran out of paint, but resumed the task the next day and will take it as far as the Elliott School house, where the Linn people will pick it up and go on with it as far as they are supposed to.
A meeting was held at the drug store and a ball team was organized. A.H. Tegeler was made manager and Elmer Thompson was elected captain of the team. They decided to fix up the grounds and George Thompson volunteered his services with two teams of horses providing others would offer their assistance, which they did. A road scraper and a drag will be used and the diamond will be fixed up in general.
They have secured a new outfit of bats, gloves and other paraphernalia. The following players signed up for the team: Ira Austin, Marsh Anderson, Chris Anderson, Virgil Coy, Art Hammel, Lew McCall, Tom Slipsager, Clarence Thompson and Elmer Thompson, all home boys and should have your support.
The new bank building is finished and is now open for business.
Mr. Harry Lee and his wife will give the people of Palmer and vicinity the satisfaction of attending a picture show three nights a week – Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday nights as Chase’s Opera House.
Tom Thumb Wedding at the M.E. Church
Mr. & Mrs. Tom Thumb – Meredith Edgerton and Marjorie Casper
Tom’s best friend – Faye Albright
Minister and Wife – Virgil Albright and Zelda Wilson
Grandparents – Fay Beeson and Ruth McIntosh
Bridesmaids – Virgil Warner, Edith McIntosh, Loretta Chandler and Alice Lee
Maid of Honor – Maudie Grover
Bachelor Friends – Emmet Schroeder and Harlan Brown
Old Maid Friends – Ella Warner and Ruth Black
Ushers – Willie Chandler and John Fairchild
Negro Servants – John Nauman and Merle Black
Special selections rendered: Minette Fairchild, Vera Wilson, Hazel Young, Della Chase, Faye Beeson, Ruth McIntosh, Rita Nauman and Harold Schroeder.
A flat car load of harvest hands passed through here on the train going west. Crops are reported heavier further west.
Mrs. Cawood entertained her Sunday School class by taking them to the big rock north of town.
Thomas Brown contracted E.W. Henry to build a double room brick store building on the corner where the bank formerly stood. Work will begin soon.
The new brick building is just about completed. A.H. Meyer will occupy the east department with his hardware. Together with the new Bank building and the new Drug Store on that block, it presents a very inviting and fascinating street. (This is now Louis Reith Hardware.)
Herman Meyer – Mayor
R.M. Dean – Treasurer
E.H. Hornbostel – Clerk
H.B. Nye – Police Judge
E.W. Henry – Marshal
Councilmen: R.H. Grooms, J.A. Casper, H.H. Braynard, John Damman, W.F. Cawood.
The Concordia Electric Light Company is bringing electricity to Palmer. Palmer is to have one street light dusk to dawn and nine street lights dusk to midnight. These lights will be eighty candle power tungsten lamps. The Light Company will furnish electric current for lighting stores, shops, business offices, and residences. A crew has been here this week setting the poles and wiring to furnish lights for the city and residents. To make matters more interesting, John Wilson conceived the idea to install alight on the school house hill, thus a 400 watt light which can be seen for miles around. Everyone is calling it the “John Wilson Sparker”.
32 tickets were sold by Depot Agent Cawood and twenty persons boarded the early morning passenger for the Ringling Bros. Show at Concordia. About 15 to 16 thousand people waded through mud to see it as it rained all day.
O.G. Rowland got a few men to assist him in cleaning the Peach Creek Cemetery. It was a big job for so few but they did a great job.
Lucky Bill’s Big Wagon Show was in Palmer on April 26 with a variety of animal and vaudeville acts. Admission for adults was 35 cents and for children 25 cents.
The ball game on Sunday at Woody between their team and Palmer resulted in a score of 5 to 4 for Palmer in seven innings, Elmer Thompson and Marsh Anderson doing the heaving.
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Lockas have traded their hotel fixtures and furnishings to Mr. and Mrs. Ed Chase for their property and a cash consideration.
The sidewalks are being completed, a credit to the City of Palmer.
The Electric Light company sent a man to put a switch at the corner by the restaurant for an all night service light. Hel also placed a wire at the Chase’s Opera house for the use of a picture show that is coming.
“Sheenee” Wilson received a post card from Mr. Hostutler of Custer City, Oklahoma, in which he states he can see Palmer’s light on the hill from there.
John Wilson has erected 2 ornamental cement balls at the entrance of his front sidewalk to his residence, and 2 large round cement vases on each side of the front porch, in which he will grow moss.
While Frank Vance and Earl Wilson were taking a flashlight picture of A.F. Paronto’s hardware Wednesday, Amiel Rafield rushed over and wanted to know what caused the explosion.
Miss Sophia McQuillen began her work as teacher in one of the grades of the Clay Center School.
The schools around here have started on their year’s work. Bunker Hill, Myrtle Hammel, teacher; Mt. Hope, Bethel Morris, teacher; Parallel, Ethel Baker, teacher. Each of these schools had the same teacher last year.
The Methodist Church is holding revival meetings. Evangelist Alfred Sturgeon is the speaker.
The teacher and pupils of Dales Peak attended the Stock Show in Washington. They were taken in two Ford cars, driven by Mr. Lambert and Mr. Carmichael, two livery-men from Clifton. It is needless to say they enjoyed themselves. There were 16 occupants in two cars.
The German Lutheran School began with an enrollment of 18 pupils.
A.J. Anderson, that good natured and prosperous Dane living west of town, has four men at work lifting the shucks from 180 acres of corn, some of which is making 60 bushels per acre. It is estimated he will get around 10,000 bushels.
A couple of cars on the passenger train derailed at the bend north of town and it was detained here about 4 hours. Another engine was sent for at once by Conductor Fletcher. After arriving, they helped the other engine to the siding. After pulling the train up to the depot, it was discovered that the mail car was on fire. After chopping a hole in the roof, with the assistance of the Palmer bucket brigade it was soon extinguished.
Miss Della Chase has been hired as central to replace Miss Marie Potter who was married recently.
John Wilson’s beagle houn’ dog was killed by cars Tuesday. The rabbits are mourning his demise, but the coons are laughing up their sleeves.
The Palmer Index is moving to the house first door north of the Telephone office.
The Palmer school this year includes the first year of high school. Those who are enrolled are Evan Palmer, Minnette Fairchild and Della Chase.
Dr. Grover has built him a “horspital” and is now prepared to nurse the dumb animal at home. He has it fixed up handy with a stanchion and medicine chest. It is a good improvement for his business.
Palmer has the population of 300.
Baseball player for 1915:
A.H. Tegeler – manager
E. Thompson – Captain
Wm. Meyer – 3rd Base
R. Oelschlager – Pitcher and 2nd Base
Cecil Wilson – Center Field and Right Field
E. Thompson – 2nd Base and Pitcher
Russel Serles – Center Field
C. Thompson – Catcher
Phallas Knox – Left Field
Clint Knox – Short Stop
John Laird – Left Field
Henry Meyer, Jr. – First Base
“Maidens All Forlorn”, a local talent 3 act comedy at the chase Opera House. The cast was O.M. Potter, H. Young, B.A. Lockas, M.C. Jansenius, B. Chase, and F. Vance.
E. W. Henry and Fred Booth put the bell on the school house.
R.H. Grooms is assisting E.H. Hornbostel at the automobile garage and demonstrating the Allan, the latest model cars. They have 37 horsepower and cost $795.
Henry Prusser, Fred Langrehr and Herman Lindhorst shipped three cars of cattle to K.C. last week. Fred Langrehr got the magnificent price of $56 a head for yearling steers and the other gentlemen received prices accordingly for their cattle. They were well pleased and fortunate.
A round trip to Kansas City was made in 22 hours, bringing back two new Jackson 4 touring cars for D.C. Meyer and H.C. Meyer.
$1.00 is being offered by Mr. R.R. Jarrett, teacher, to any school boy who can vault 7½ feet before the close of the school years. Lester Paronto, Andrew Jackson, John Nauman, Merle Thompson and Evan Palmer are the contestants.
Mrs. Anna Dageforde has 350 little chicks and 18 hens are setting.
Henry Palmer installed desk or table phones at the Bank.
Every tree planted on the Missouri Pacific right-of-way, by Ed Chase, is growing fine.
A Mr. Parsons and two other gentlemen came up from Oklahoma to doctor with Indian John. Mr. Parsons had sent Indian John a handkerchief and he had diagnosed Mr. Parson’s ailment, describing his symptoms accurately.
Participating in the Children’s Day program at the M.E. Church were Dorothy Sheets, Gladys King, Marie Grover, Virgil Albright, Edith McIntosh, Fay Nye, Carl Anderson, Ellen Chase, Margaret Affleck, Max Wilson, Greeta Sangster, Cecil Taylor and Reverend Christensen.
Henry Palmer is installing oscillating fans in the Bank, Mercantile Co. and the phone office.
At the end of the school year, Lester Paronto vaulted 7 feet. Merle Thompson was second with 6 ft. 11 in. Arthur Black, a third grader, vaulted 6 ft. 1½ inches.
Dr. Grover purchased a new Ford Runabout from W.M. Denman of Clifton. Doc. will make his calls from now on at a much faster schedule. He plans to add a jump seat to accommodate his family.
Fred Rogge and his crew are putting cement walks in front of J.A. Casper’s Implement Store.
W.A. Stunkel is opening a general merchandise store in the new brick building on the corner next to A.H. Meyer’s hardware. He will be handling dry goods, groceries, shoes, Kabo line Mode Corsets, McCall Dress Patterns and magazines.
5,000 people attended the biggest Fourth of July Barbecue ever held in Palmer. The celebration was held in the Killman’s Grove. The festivities began at 9:30, when a parade formed at the Opera House and marched to the celebration grounds. Casper and Voss, Officers of the day, headed the parade followed by the Frankfort Band. They were followed by: J.A. Casper’s floats, one in the shape of a boat and the other a decorated wagon; a number of boys dressed as Soldiers; Doc Grover dressed as Uncle Sam (he represented the original to a T and did his part splendidly); 24 girls, dressed in white with red and blue sashes, occupied another wagon, two wagons pulled by an 8-16 Mogul Tractor gas engine; the firm of A.H. Meyer was represented by 2 clowns; automobiles followed, ending the parade. A drill and recitations performed by the 24 girls and a Goddess of Liberty was enjoyed next. An exciting ballgame was witnessed between Clifton and Linn. The score was Clifton 1 – Linn 4. Rev. Christensen addressed the people in the p.m. Another ballgame in the park placed Linn winners over Palmer boys 8-3. The young folks were entertained with dancing at the Chase platform. Chase served the meals, both the dinner and supper. Dr. McCracken’s ability to barbeque an ox is outstanding as it was cooked in fine style and luscious to the taste.
Through the untiring efforts of John Wilson, local merchant, W.F. Cawood, station Agent, received written instructions for the installment of seven electric lights at the Missouri Pacific Depot.
Hazel Young, Reka Stunkel, John Nauman and Evan Palmer ride the passenger train to Linn each day, to attend high school, returning home each evening.
Palmer School is again I session. Miss Frost has 31 students and Mr. Jarrett has 20. Those attending his classes are: Jeanette Casper, Willie Rogge, Ruth McIntosh, Marie Grover, Willie Voss, Rita Nauman, Lester Paronto, Vera Wilson, Ellen Chase, Lorence Weeke, Edwin Lange, Frances Rowland, Jessie Sheets, Georgene Affleck, Greeta Sangster, Joseph Grover, Howard McIntosh, William Stunkel, Paul Stunkel, Merle Thompson, Katie Wilgers, and Andrew Anderson.
Chris Anderson shipped a car load of lambs to Kansas City. It was the first shipment out of the Palmer yards of this kind of stock.
The local train on the side track near Nye’s Elevator was the cause of a runaway. The sound of the exhaust steam caused the horse Willie and Walter Winter were driving home from school, to become frightened. Willie hung on to the lines like a veteran and the buggy was being pulled by the bit. The animal dashed down the street where a group of men anticipated its approach near the lumberyard. As a result the horse went out of the shafts, leaving the tug and a broken single tree, ending up in Lange’s corn and alfalfa field where it stopped to graze. The boys stuck to the buggy until thrown out, stayed cool and rode home with Sam Stine. It is believed Conrad feeds his horses too well, since they are so frisky. We suggest Conrad get the boys and Allan.
Mr. Casper is enlarging his implement building, adding on 22 feet to the east, the length of the building. A cement floor will cover the interior, allowing more space for the display of his buggies and implements. Fred Rogge and his crew are doing the work.
Witches were at work on Halloween night. Four fences were wired together in a square on Stuenkels corner and contained a cow, 3 ducks, 3 chickens, a watering trough and a hogshead, presumably containing feed. A hayrack stood near by with hay for the stock…a very practical job.
The area coon hunters were rewarded with a 23 pound coon on Parsons Creek. They also captured opossums and skunks, varmints which no doubt had been getting the farmer’s chickens. Junk dealer Boyer climbed the tree, too.
Mr. Robert McIntosh was surprised by the members of his Church when he was honored as the Sunday School Superintendent. He was presented a fine robe and a handsome rocking chair.
Mayor Herman Meyer is building a hollow tile garage that will be 40 by 100 feet on the lot north of Ben Albright Hardware. E.H. Hornbostel will lease the building using it as a garage, handling a large line of repairs and automobiles. It will be accessible both on the east and west and handy for tourists coming in on the White Way for either repairs or oil. The plate glass front will have room for 20 cars. The east end will be a well lighted work shop. Mr. Groom, agents for the garage, is selling a goodly number of Jackson and Allan cars, and this will give them a better display.
The coon hunters club in 16 hunts has captured 54 opossums, 41 skunks, and 3 coons. They seldom carry firearms but depend upon their dogs. Elmer Boyer of Linn is buying the furs, giving out as much as $111.00 in one day. The star hunters are Fred Killman, Fred Booth and John Wilson.
A younger boy’s club has been organized and is called the Palmer Beavers. There are eight members and Mr. McIntosh is the leader. It is under the auspices of the Y.M.C.A.
Sad Christmas – F.M. Snell lost his little dog, Jimby, to sickness. He was of great assistance in catching chickens at the poultry house. A decent burial was made by his master. Another dog will be trained in this art.
The ladies of the St. Louis Catholic Church are getting out a home cookbook. Mrs. Henry Schumaker has solicited a nice lot of advertising for it. The ladies will use the proceeds to paint and otherwise put new improvement on their church.
The Linn-Palmer Creamery Co., has taken their old steam engine and furnace out and replaced it with a 5-horse powered electric motor. They also have put in a small upright steam boiler for sterilization of the cream and have disposed of the old boiler and engine. Victor Anderson is the creamery operator.
Mr. H.B. Nye is having the foundation and cellar of his elevator cemented and repaired to keep the rats from undermining it. He will also put in a cement floor in the engine room and install a 10-horsepower electric motor to run the elevator, disposing of the old gasoline engine.
Charles Anderson, who has been working at Day Station as storekeeper and station agent, assumed a new position as manager of the Palmer Cash Hardware, taking the place of John Affleck.
The Hornbostel Garage has installed a large gasoline tank and Sinclair electric pump in front of their new building this week. Frank Stine is working in the garage and E.W. Henry is rebuilding and making batteries.
Oscar McAtee, the butcher, had a crew at work putting up ice for him. They filled the ice house north of town and the one behind his shop with 12 inch ice. Fred Killman, Henry Palmer and a crew also filled the Linn-Palmer Creamery ice house Wednesday.
Everyone is busy sewing, knitting and donating for the Soldiers of the War. The Ladies Aid of the Methodist Church and the St. Paul Lutheran Church held and Ice Cream Social on John Wilson’s lawn. Proceeds are to go to the Red Cross.
The German Ev. Lutheran Churches of Linn, Strawberry, Chepstow and Palmer held a very successful loyalty meeting at Killman’s Grove, July 4 for the benefit of the Red Cross.
Palmer held a Chautauqua on august 6, 7, and 8.
There is much suffering and deaths from the influenza.
1918 was a year of unusual temperature variation. January 18, the temperature was twenty below zero and June 14 it was 105 degrees in the shade.
The Fairmont Creamery Co. opens a cream station in Palmer. It will be located in the building north of the Palmer Mercantile Co. Mr. Wm. Hood will be employed as buyer. At present Palmer has 3 cream stations. Mr. Snell has been buying cream for 29 years, as agent for Concordia Creamery and Mr. Weeke buys for the Linn-Palmer Creamery Co.
There is a new dance called the “Flu-Flitter”. To dance it, take one step forward, sneeze twice, pivot and swallow two quinine capsules, swing our partner, cough in unison, take two steps back and blow your nose, then waltz home and consult a Doctor.
Cast off winter clothing is being collected for the Red Cross Clothing Drive. Palmer’s quota this year is 600 pounds.
City council is: Mayor, John Damman; Police Judge, H.B. Nye; Councilmen, Mose Brown, Ed Chase, Dr. Hawthorne, Albert Higgins, and H.H. Braynard.
At the school meeting Dr. Hawthorne was elected to the office of Trustee. A motion carried to have the first year of High School taught next year. $2,500 was set aside for school purposes for the coming year. A large crowd came out for the meeting.
There will be an English sermon at the German Lutheran Church here every other Sunday evening. Since there is no preacher at the M.E. Church now, there will be several more persons attending the Lutheran Church on those evenings.
More of the boys are coming home from the War. Our hearts go out to the families of : Ira Austin, Peter Slipsager, Wm. Happ, Charles Graves, George Kohlmeier and others who gave their lives for their country.
The opening date of the new Drug Store is May 21. It will be known as Purity Drug Co. There are several such stores over the country, thereby, merchandise can be sold at a cheaper rate. Mr. Frank Ditters, a Registered Pharmacist, will be the manager. The store undoubtedly will draw a large business as there is no other within many miles of here.
Genuine Goodyear Welt Soled work shoes…$2.75 to $5.50 a pair.
Oscar McAtee sold his Meat Market to John Knoop
Alfred H. Meyer had a demonstrator from Concordia demonstrate the Case Tractor on the Carl Lange farm. Quite a number of people watched the tractor pull four plows set well into the oat stubble.
The Baker-Crowell Grain Co. lost the Elevator and the Office building by fire. Three freight cars, waiting on the side track to be loaded, were also burned. Approximately 500 bushels of wheat and oats were in the elevator. Mr. Braynard, the manager, and his wife were in the office, scarcely one hundred feet away, and had just weighed a load of grain. The fire appears to have started in the engine room. Mr. Braynard thought turning in a bin of grain might smother the fire but it had too much of a start. The building was old, built of white pine lumber and burned like kindling. (It took three weeks and three days to burn out). The Chase Opera House, across the street, caught fire also but the heroic work of the bucket brigade won out and the building was saved.
As a result of the fire, damaged wheat was offered for sale at 2 cents a pound and oats 1¼ cents a pound.
An airplane dropped in and after filling up with gas, continued on to Concordia.
John Damman, Mayor, called a meeting to thoroughly discuss the water works question. The fire two weeks ago has agitated the water works subject and a petition has been signed.
Mrs. Hawthorne gave a “taffy pull” party as her home in honor of her sister, Agnes Williamson. About 24 young people were present.
The road two miles north of town needs working so badly, it would make an alligator’s back look like a skating rink. Mayor John Damman asked all stores to close and businessmen to bring their picks and shovels. The ground is to be loosened with dynamite. The work detail will leave at 8:00.
Thirty men were stiff, sore and tired after a hard days work, blasting and digging through a hill two miles north of town. What had been a mere trail and solid rock, is now a real road, twenty feet wide and cut down four and a half feet deep. All loose rock was removed and two ditches dug. The entire grade is covered with black dirt and free of rocks.
The first basketball game to be held in Palmer will be when the Morganville High School boys play against the Palmer boys. Admission is free…children half price.
H.B. Nye sells his Elevator to Mr. Braynard for the Baker-Cowell Grain Co. Mr. Nye has been the owner of the north elevator for the past 6 or 7 years.
St. John Lutheran School opened with an enrollment of 87. Mr. J. Marogick has charge of the primary room. The boys are enjoying the basketball goals that have been put up.
Ben Albright and Henry Palmer treated the townspeople to a watermelon feed in Mr. Palmer’s back yard.
At the Water Works meeting it was decided to send to Kansas City for an Architect to draw up plans for a water works. He is expected in a few days.
City water to be installed – J.B. Rollins and Co. of Kansas City investigated and drew up plans for the city. A large group of citizens attended the special meeting. The proposition to vote bonds for installing the water system in Palmer passed on December 22, those in favor were 38 and those against were 28. Next step is to have the plan approved by the State Department. A standpipe, ten feet in diameter and sixty feet high, will be built on the hill in the west part of town. From the standpipe down main street to the bank corner six inch pipe will be laid. From there to the east end of town and all north and south streets, including the street running out to the Catholic Church will be four inch pipes. First and Third Streets will have two inch pipes for home use and circulation. Every building can easily be reached by fire hoses. It is thought the spring can be developed to supply the best water in this area. The estimate includes two centrifugal pumps with motors either of which will pump seventy-five gallons a minute, twelve fire hydrants placed in town, four hundred feet of hose is estimated. Cost of the entire system is twenty one thousand dollars. Assessed value of the city is three hundred forty-two thousand dollars, set up to pay in twenty years.
The electric power is hut off during the day because of a fuel shortage. Presses for the paper are run at night. The coal strike has ended, but it will be three weeks before the suffering in the cities is relieved.
A fifty-eight ton car of coal arrived for the city this week.
Electricity is running a twenty-sour hour schedule again.
Disheartening news – A representative of W.B. Rollins engineering Co. states that the spring in the Henry Ohlde pasture was tested out and found too weak to supply the water demand. The Council met and decided a well will be sunk in the blind street between the Grover and Braynard properties. If a well proves too weak, a tile will be laid connecting the spring to the well, permitting use of both. The well will be dug by a local contractor. Here is an opportunity for employment locally.
Palmer has four grocery stores, three dry goods stores, one drug store, one hardware store, a lumberyard, implement shop, meat market, a new restaurant, a garage, a bank, a print shop, a harness shop, a hotel, grain elevator, pool hall, barber shop, blacksmith shop and two produce houses.
New Years Eve Parade – A number of people got together and started making calls on several families in town. At each house a few more joined the merry makers until the crowd was considerable size. The hour was growing late and some of the visited were ready for bed, but this did not dampen the spirits of the guests but rather seemed to raise them. Mrs. Irving was Captain, and after nearly every house in town had been visited. The party disbanded.
Poles are being shipped for long distance telephone lines. The line will start at Concordia and be built along the Missouri Pacific track, through here and on to Greenleaf.
In about sixty days piping for the water works is expected to be completed. About sixty eight tons of pipe were brought in.
The enterprising little city of Palmer is receiving quite a lot of notoriety over the fact that they voted bonds for electric lights and waterworks. This is a wide stroke of progress for a town with a population of three hundred people.
A real blizzard hit this part of the country. By evening the electric light wires were down and businesses were in darkness except for candles and coal oil lamps. Some rural telephone lines were down. The thermometer hung around zero with a strong north wind and snow.
One of the worst storms ever known of in Kansas occurred Saturday and Sunday. The air was so full of dust that it was almost impossible to go on the road.
The play entitled “The Arizona Cowboy,” was given at the Excelsor School. Miss Dora Becott received the most votes as the most popular lady, Sam Doty for the most popular man, Miss Hutchin received a cash prize for bringing a box the greatest distance and Miss Lillian Bachtel, for having the box bringing the highest price.
The worst Easter storm that has visited this district in the last forty three years, occurred here April 3. Snow accompanied by a strong northwest wind began falling Friday evening and continued all Saturday until the snow was six to eight inches deep on the level and piled up drifts ten to fifteen feet high. Transportation was impossible. Mr. Snell was in a hurry to get down town Sunday morning, so started out through the drifts. When he came to an extra large one he got stuck and had to call for help. Snell is the first one up in the morning in Palmer. He was the first one down, too, that morning. Farmers are coming to town on horse, foot and in wagons, but the tin lizzies remain in the sheds. Three trains stalled between here and downs. The four o’clock train Saturday was a little late on account of the storm; it arrived Monday evening about nine.
The Palmer Index, August 20, 1920 Albert Higgins, Editor
Fire Hits Palmer Hard – By far the worst fire that ever occurred in Palmer started abut eight o’clock Monday morning when an entire business block consisting of eight store buildings and tow storehouses were completely destroyed together with practically al their contents. The fire started in the Fairmont Cream station when an oil stove exploded. The building was little more than a shack and burned like kindling wood. The exploding acid helped to spread the flames. The Palmer Mercantile Company was the next to suffer and in ten minutes its $25,000 stock was a mass of flames. Practically nothing was saved in this building. From this building the flames enveloped the Palmer Café. Here however the men who arrived had more chances to carry out the stock and a large part of it was saved. Wilson’s general store was blazing at the same time. Considerable amount of the merchandise in this store was saved by hard work. The pool and barber shop burned next. But the barber chairs, mirror and two pool tables were rescued just in time to save them from going up in smoke. The building occupied by the meat market burned next. Then the McAtee and Albright grocery caught fire, also a store in the rear and Snell’s produce house. A large part of the stock of McAtee and Albright was saved but the reserve stock in the cellar was lost. In the Snell produce house very little was lost, as Mr. Snell had shipped his eggs, chickens and cream a little earlier in the morning. To say that it was a big blaze is expressing it mildly. There was a large crowd present and eager to help but there was no way of putting out the flames and the fire simply burned itself out. It has been less than a year since the city tried to install the water works but there were too many who thought that water works were not needed. They changed their mind somewhat Monday.
While the fire seriously crippled Palmer as the $75,000 or $80,000 loss was only partially covered with $40,000 insurance, the town will be much improved in appearance when the frame buildings are rebuilt with brick or cement. We understand that plans are already under way to rebuild some of the buildings. Palmer looks forlorn today but it is believed that in a short time she will be in a better condition than before the fire.
Lark Register moved his barber chairs and pool tables into the Rafield building now occupied by the furniture store. Mr. Rafield is going to dispose of his furniture business.
The big glass windows in front of the garage, bank, Index office and Voss Grocery and A.H. Meyer brick building were shattered by intense heat.
John Wilson (Sheenee) is trying to get the devastated area for a millet patch.
Three buildings destroyed by fire will be rebuilt. The Snell produce house is already under construction; it is being built of tile. (The old fire house). D.C. Meyer said he will rebuild both his buildings. The one that was occupied by the Mercantile will be replaced by a 48x60 feet building. The other will be on the corner formerly occupied by the restaurant. It will be built of tile and will face south; it will be 24x46 feet.
Miss Fern McBride will teach the lower grades, Miss Eileen Davis of Morganville will teach the higher grades. Mr. and Mrs. Kappleman will teach three grades of High School.
The editor of the Index asked for the names of any old timer still alive who had voted for Lincoln. The names of T.F. Johnson and George Lee of Palmer were sent in.
Palmer’s ball team wins second place.
O.P. Smith Pastor of M.E. Church.
It was decided to have a third year of High School.
Herman Reith was elected Treasurer for the coming term at the annual school meeting at Sunflower School District 141. They are planning on building a new standard school house this summer.
There will be a pie social at the Pleasant Peak School at day, on April 28. A prize for the laziest and most popular young lady, Miss Anna Hutchins of Vining has been hired to teach Pleasant Pak School next year. Miss Grace Haines was most popular young lady. M.F. Funnel received prize for the laziest man. The highest price paid for a pie was $7.50.
A bunch of about thirty-five men and boys got together and gave all the newlyweds a good old fashioned charivari. They went first to Mr. and Mrs. Peter Schumaker Jr., then Mr. and Mrs. Peter Keiffer and then Mr. and Mrs. Floyd Van Campen. They were invited in at each place and certainly treated fine.
Fritz Rafield will open and Ice Cream and soft drink parlor in the brick building owned by Alfred Meyer.
Bill Harris comedians are giving shows nightly in the Opera House.
The Palmer baseball team received their new suits. They are grey with a green stripe and the stocking are red.
Alvin Fagen, Joe Grover, Wm. Voss and Professor Kappleman will leave for Hutchinson to attend the Y.M.C.A. meeting.
The new Mercantile building is completed. Mr. Tegeler will move his stock the latter part of the week. L.P. Wilson will move his groceries in the building vacated by Tegeler.
L. Register and Fat Thompson have opened a new barber shop and pool hall in the Rafield building.
Ben Albright and Ernest Meyer will wait on customers at the Palmer Mercantile Co. for Tegeler.
Palmer had a good Chautauqua; it lasted three days.
Trustee Christ Rabe George Wilkens E. H. Stunkel Clerk A. A. Hawke T. C. Dodd Jr. E. H. Hornbostel Treasurer George A. Funnel D. W. Lohrengal H. P. Meyer Justice of Peace John W. Colgrove A. W. Elliott J. H. Lindhorst Peter Happ Constables Charles Klas E. A. Elliott Henry Reith Jr. L. L. Whitney Precinct Committeemen T. C. Young Paul F. Reith R. H. Groom
Day store changes hands – A.K. Cobb has purchased the Day general store from Wm. White.
New Doctor – Dr. A. D. Field
Telephone meeting – following directors elected: Moses Brown, Ernest Rodehorst, Walter Hammel, H.C. Ohlde, Ernest Schaaf.
Creamery meeting – election of directors: Henry J. Rabe, Henry C. Ohlde, Owen Bell, Ed. H. Stunkel, Henry Hatesohl. It was attended by 80 stockholders.
Ameil Rafield has purchased the Palmer dray line. He has made his Overland touring car into a truck and will use it instead of a team and wagon.
Palmer had two different tickets for City election this year.
Mayor Herman Meyer H. H. Braynard Councilman H. C. Ohlde Ed Chase Moses Brown Oscar McAtee Alfred H. Meyer Andrew Happ R. H. Groom Albert Higgins John Voss W. F. Cawood Police Judge Petrer Happ Charles Young
The Citizens ticket won.
School Board Meeting – Dist. 87: The sum of $4,500 was voted to take care of the school expense and a four year High School was decided upon if needed.
July 15, 1921 – Bank of Palmer sold. Alvin H. Tegeler sold his interest in the Bank of Palmer to M.F. Southwick of Topeka and H.J. Meierkord of Linn. The change in ownership was made at once. Mr. Sutherland of Nebraska will arrive Tuesday and take charge. Mr. Tegeler would have been with the bank for 22 years in August. He was cashier for the past 16 years.
H.H. Braynard is on the sick list with a bad knee.
H.H. Braynard to hospital at Concordia, he has been confined to bed for two weeks with his bad knee.
It’s a boy – a big 11 pound boy arrived at the H.H. Braynard home August 4.
H.H. Braynard passed away last Saturday, August 6. He had charge of the elevator for the Baker-Crowell Grain Co. He leaves his wife, infant son and 2 stepchildren.
The Palmer High School Play – Chase Opera House
A Regiment of Two:
Arthur Sewell, a theoretical Warrior – Lester Paronto
Ira Wilton, his father-in-law – Melvin Smart
Harry Brentworth, Arthur’s friend – Gilbert Canfield
Reginald Dudley, an Englishman – Alvin Fagen
Jim Buckner, known as “the parson” – Joseph Grover
Conrad Melzer, a plumber – Howard McIntosh
Eliza Wilton, Ira’s “better half” – Vera Wilson
Grace Sewell, wife of Arthur – Matilda Debauche
Laura Wilton, daughter of Arthur – Rita Nauman
Lena, a German maid – Ellen Chase
August – John Voss sold his Grocery and Drug store to Harry King.
Notice is hereby given that the Cemetery near Palmer, known as the Palmer Cemetery, and owned by F.W. Rafield and Son will be turned over to the city of Palmer on Friday, November 18.
Mr. E.M. Boyer, better known as Spide, is putting up a new 24x60 foot building, having purchased the lot south of John Wilson’s. He informs us that he expects to make this his future headquarters for second hand goods, junk, hides, etc. Spide has worked up a big business in his line around Palmer and is now getting a building where he can more easily handle his business.
Dr. E.T. Black of Cookville, Ill. Arrived in Palmer the latter part of last week, looking for a location. After inspecting our little metropolis he decided to locate here. He obtained office rooms in the rear of the Wilson grocery, which he is having remodeled to present a very neat appearance. He had rented the Tegeler property first door north of the telephone office for his home.
The first graduating class of Palmer High School will receive their diplomas next Tuesday evening. Prof. L.M. Smith will speak. The boys glee club will sing.
Joseph Grover and Howard McIntosh were the graduates.
Day store sold – A deal was made June 24 whereby G.W. Hanna of Clay Center became the owner of the property and stock of goods. Mr. Robb has continued in charge of the work up to the present time. Mr. Hanna has employed Ben Mullarky to take charge of the business for him.
Spide Boyer won a used Maxwell car in a raffle at Clyde this week. It cost him 10 cents.
Spide Boyer has men working putting in a dam preparatory to filling the ice house this winter.
Palmer Mercantile Co. robbed again. Nearly $500 worth of merchandise taken. Blood hounds trialed to northwest part of town; there the scent was lost.
The primary students stood around and watched the removal of part of their old play ground, the clay hill, with interest. Although a road has been cut through, a large part of it remains the same.
Skating – Every Tuesday and Friday evening at the big platform. Marsh Anderson
It was decided to drop high school since only seven students would be attending. However it was voted to pay tuition and transportation by the district, so that the students could receive their education.
Commencement exercises were held at the M.E. Church Thursday evening. Honorable J.A. McNeal of Topeka was speaker. The members of the graduating class were, Lester Paronto, Melvin Smart, Ruth McIntosh, Vera Wilson, Rita Nauman, Matilda Debauche, Alvin Fagen, Ellen Chase, Marie Grover.
Approximately 10 inches of rain has fallen in the last week. Creeks and rivers are out of their banks and some damage done.
Fast and reckless driving in Palmer must be stopped. There is an ordinance prohibiting such and it will be fully enforced without further notice. – Earl Witham, Marshal.
The City dads of Palmer city purchased a hand drawn chemical fire engine. It consists of tow 45 gallon chemical tanks mounted on a two wheeled spring cart, which can be pulled by hand or hooked onto an auto or other conveyance. The tanks are so arranged that one can be recharged while the other is being used. Three and a half minutes is all the time that is required to recharge the tanks. A continuous chemical stream can therefore be thrown on the fire. The cart is also equipped with a hose basket containing 100 feet of hose attached to the tanks, an automatic gong, 10 fire buckets, 2 lanterns, rope reel with 30 feet of rope, axe, crowbar, monkey wrench, etc. The tanks have enough pressure to throw a stream 60 feet beyond the end of the nozzle.
The Palmer fire bell was put up Wednesday.
There will be a program box supper and pie social at Spring Creek School, two miles west of Palmer on December 19. Everyone invited. Ruth Morris Teacher.
Free turkeys – Palmer Business men will turn loose 6 turkeys from the roofs of business houses – Party catching one becomes the owner.
Howard McIntosh says that there are 1,164,327 railroad ties between Palmer and Linn. This statement may be taken for the truth for he counts them quite frequently.
The mystical psychic and healer, Indian John, whose real name was John Deringer, is still a mystery and a popular subject in the community in which he lived and is still remembered. There are several things about the strange medicine man that not everyone agrees on. Some say he was an Indian, some say he was half-Indian and others say he was not Indian at all.
“As a boy a man named Paul Anderson would spend several days at a time as the old man’s shack and he claims the old man told him he had been kidnapped from a reservation in Nebraska by a rival tribe after which he prayed to God for his powers to serve mankind.” Some say he was being punished in some way and escaped.
Indian John, born in 1832, first lived west of Fact, Kansas, a small town about twelve miles Southeast of Palmer, Kansas. In earlier days Fact consisted of a country store, blacksmith shop, a gas station, several homes, a Church, and a school which was one-half mile south of the town. Later he moved to a place one-fourth mile south of Fact where he owned two tracts of land of forty acres each, which he rented out to his neighbors.
Indian John was not fat but a big man with dark, long straight hair that turned white as he grew older. Some say he had the features of the Sioux tribe and was rather unkempt in his appearance, usually wearing dark dress clothes. He didn’t have any teeth as he was remembered here and had sharp piercing eyes. His piercing gaze made him an oddity in the community and added to the tales told about him. Folks say he could tell what you were thinking just by looking at you, and no one ever lied to Indian John. He was described as a kindly old man but who had a violent temper if provoked. The neighbors were not afraid of Indian John because he did nothing to harm them, but they also left him alone.
If you were his friend, always a friend and likewise if you were his enemy, always his enemy. Indian John could neither read nor write and signed his name with an X. Once when a neighbor tricked him into signing his name with an X on a paper he thought was something else, he signed away half of his land which made him very angry. But he did not harm them.
His home was not very clean or sanitary and consisted of a two room shack with a lean-to on the east side. He believed in sleeping on mother earth and would sleep on the ground in the back room. He had an old cast iron stove and used large iron kettles to cook his medicines and tonics. For water he used a well which was pumped by a windmill and the frame of the windmill is still standing.
He used a light spring wagon pulled by small ponies for his transportation. A lady in the community who as a small child walked by his home on the way to school remembers the name of one horse was “Dandy”. He also had other livestock, some goats, pigs and chickens.
He made his living by gathering herbs, plants, and weeds such as cockleburs, goldenrod, ragweed, sunflowers, hemp, etc., from nearby pastures, timbers, and creeks in the area. This wagon and team would often be seen several miles from home while gathering herbs and weeds. He would pack them into bags and take them home where he would cook them with water in his large iron kettles. Then he would drain off the liquid and pour this into quart and gallon jugs. He would sell this tonic for 25 to 50 cents a gallon. He would store the surplus jugs of medicine in the barn for winter and spring use. Some tell of seeing the old, dusty, and empty jugs lying around in the old fallen down barn years after Indian John died and remember playing with them as a child.
As the story goes, Indian John was given to taking in orphaned boys and raising them to manhood; some say he even did the same for a young girl. How he came about getting these children is not know. Often times he would put the youths through school, high school, and college on the money he made from his medicines and remedies. It is said Indian John put a former local doctor, Dr. Algae, through medical school despite his scorn for regular licensed doctors which he called “butchers”. Another small white boy he took in his care was Clarence Petry, to whom he gave a donkey as a pet. It is said this man, Petry, in later life joined a circus or carnival. At times the neighbors seemed to watch the old man’s place with a watchful eye as some of the people seen around his home or staying with him were termed as “undesirable characters”. Every summer and fall the young people who helped him gather his so called crops were treated to a big oyster stew prepared by neighbor ladies and concluded with a platform dance.
As old age crept up on Indian John, a neighbor, Les Baker, who lived across the road helped him make his medicine and after Indian John died, Baker continued to make the medicine and tired to keep up the business but failed because the healing powers of the strange and famous medicine were gone.
The medicine that helped and saved so many others could not help Indian John for when he died he was covered with large sores over his body. He lived to be 92 years old and died in 1924. he did not attend church and his funeral was held in the Fact school house one-fourth mile south of his home and he was buried in the Idlewild Cemetery southwest of Fact. Later a tombstone with his picture on the marker was placed on his grave. His reputation as a psychic and a healer brought thousands from around the country to his dirt floor shack. On Sundays the wagons and buggies would be lined half a mile down the road waiting their turn to see the Indian Doctor and buy his “blood and stomach” medicine and other remedies. In many instances ill persons would stay in his home days at a time while he treated them. Folks who lived a great distance away could send a recent picture of themselves and he would make a diagnosis from that photo. If a photo was not available the patient could hold a piece of cloth over the pained area and mail that cloth to the medicine man for diagnosis. Some of his medicines were then dried and punched into pill form and mailed to the patient.
My grandmother who is 93 years young tells of them taking their children to see Indian John for common childhood aliments. Also many older people recall going to him for medicines and cures. He did not always prescribe his medicine just to make money, but would be truthful and tell them if they were not sick. One man tells of the time he and two other young men made a trip to Indian John for some tonic and he sold some to the other two men but said he didn’t need any because he was just lovesick. There are still many stories told about this ability to read minds, predict the future and heal patients who other doctors said had terminal illnesses and only a short time to live. It seems like those people would have to be desperate to go to a man like that to save their lives. But many went to him and he saved many lives. The memories of Indian John are only fleeting glimpses of his reputed powers, but those who knew him and helped him gather herbs for his strange medicines are convinced of his almost supernatural abilities. Many people still exchange stories of this strange man. How many are really true is not known; in any case he left many memories to be remembered by. Many people also bought wood tables and other items from him which he made by braiding twigs and branches together. Some say that if he would have been paid for every good deed he accomplished he would have died a very rich man.
The Catholic Church building which has been idle for a number of years was sold at auction last Saturday. Albert Higgins purchased the building. Dick Damman purchased the land. The trustees realized over $350 for the sale.
Work will be started the first of the week to remove one of Palmer’s oldest landmarks, when the Post Office building and the home of the Postmaster and family will be town down to make room for a business building large enough to house both the Post Office and print shop. The old Post Office building house in connection has stood for many years, but has become too small and a change has become necessary.
The new building will be 24x40 and will be big enough to house both businesses. The Palmer Post Office is located in the community room at the Bank of Palmer for the next 10 days.
Last Sunday evening a fire was discovered at the Palmer Meat Market and Grocery owned by Leverette Dunkle. The fire alarm was immediately given and the department and others responded at once. Within 5 minutes the chemical engine was on the scene and in operation. Within another five minutes the fire was practically out.
Palmer to have first standard grade school in Washington County.
Dunkle Grocery has Parcel Post service. A family can have meat delivered to the mail box for a few cents extra.
Civil War Veteran dies – T.F. Johnson – He took special pride in being the flag bearer at Memorial Day services.
Workman have been busy the past week leveling the ground an putting it in condition for planting trees on the west side of the tracks n the center of Palmer. Three rows of trees will be planted and blue grass sowed. When trees become larger more plans to beautify the area will be made. The two rows of trees planted on the east side of the track a few years ago are fine shade now. But the shaded space is a little too narrow for park purposes.
Roy Knox locates water for Palmer City well on the Paulson property. The well was about 46 feet deep and delivered 15 gallons a minutes, or 22,000 gallons per day, the hole being 7 inches across. The City dads decided to put down a dug well on this spot to be 14 fee across, thus insuring an abundance of water. Two other wells were dug, one on the Henry Tiemeyer farm west of Palmer, one on the Carl Lange farm, but not sufficient water was found in either place.
Palmer business men organize Booster Club October 21, 1927. Fred Lunger was elected President and Albert Blanken was elected Secretary. By-laws were adopted and plans for improving the community were discussed.
Palmer now has a Bachelor Hall. Herman Reith, Louis Reith, Alfred Herrs, three young men are keeping house in the Braynard property south of the Peter Happ home.
The steel bridge over Peach creek one and one fourth mile south of Palmer is being torn out, and excavation is underway for a new concrete bridge of standard size. This was the first steel bridge to span Peach creek, being erected about 37 years ago.
Palmer is planning a picnic and old time celebration next month, the exact dates being July 19, 20 and 21; however a carnival company with four rides, seven shows and many concessions is scheduled to arrive the first part of the week and the celebration will really be in force from the 16th to 21st. palmer has not had a celebration for several years and is planning on making up for lost time by throwing a real party.
Change of Annual Picnic days July 12, 13 and 14. It was the largest and best picnic in northeastern Kansas. They had the J.L. Landes Shows, Free Acts twice daily and good ball games each afternoon. The Halsey’s flying Circus and a dance each evening.
Palmer School Float takes first prize. The float entered in the Washington County stock show from the Palmer school District 87 took first prize of $5.00 for school floats in the parade. The Robert Dobbins Reo truck was used and was decorated in a truly artistic style. Seats arranged lengthwise on the truck platform carried Miss Donigen and Miss Affleck, intermediate and primary teachers respectively, and their pupils together with some of the seventh and eighth graders. They sang Kansas songs during the parade.
The Palmer Boosters held an enthusiastic meeting at the Bank of Palmer. Order of business a plan to sand the streets of Palmer. Also plans for working for a Rural High School in Palmer.
Two cars of bridge steel arrived for the new Peach creek bridge.
Palmer baseball players win over Strawberry team 14 to 4 Sunday. Players were: Ted Rogge, John Dageforde, Walter Peters, Slim Rogge, Bill Wilgers, Herman Kohlmeier, Emil Heisterman, Ernest Meyerhoff, Elmer Copeman and Walter Winter.
St. John’s Lutheran School will celebrate its annual picnic at Meyerhoff grove, beginning at 10 o’clock a.m. There will be songs, drills, action songs, orchestra music, dialogues and racing.
Troop of Boy Scouts is organized. Palmer Booster Club sponsor F.V. Lunger chairman, A.F. Blanken business manager and publicity director, R.M. McIntosh advisory director.
New Filling Station being built by Killman and Booth, owned by Clarence Thompson. He purchased the building that housed the Meyer hardware some time ago. It has been leased to Skelly Oil Company.
The past week has brought many changes in Palmer businesses. Clarence Sheets bought the store owned by Harry King. Alvin Stelzer and wife purchased the Palmer Café. Mr. and Mrs. Omer Mounts have opened a lunch room in the building just north of the Palmer Mercantile.
Mounts Café is advertising 5 cent hamburgers.
Mr. And Mrs. Ziba Wilson purchased the cafe from Omer Mounts. It is called Spikes Café.
The hill from the school house to the Depot has been quite a busy place this week. The children young and old have enjoyed the snow for coasting.
Clarence Hoffman bought the Fact Blacksmith Shop from L.E. Baker.
Otto Dierking, manager of the Decker elevator at Day, has been transferred to Hollis, Kansas. George A. funnel will assume the duties at Day.
The Purity Drug Co. moved their store to the corner building now owned by Alfred Meyer, which is across the street from the restaurant. This is an ideal place for the store as it is a new building and the room is much larger.
Another business changed hands when John Reith traded his restaurant, dray line and other holdings to George Thompson for his quarter section of land east of Palmer.
A metal toy factory is being opened this week in Palmer in the building which houses the Palmer Garage. The new business will be known as the Kansas Metal Toy manufacturing Co. with Alfred Herrs as manager. Others associated with him in the enterprise are H.W. Kohlmeier, and W.D. Wilgers. A considerable quantity of toys was made and sold before Christmas and these young men feel that the favor shown this class of toys of their invention warrants the moving to adequate quarters. While they expect to run on a small scale at present, they hope to employee several workmen before fall.
A hot game – The Linn Printer’s Devils and the Palmer Wild Hares will clash on the Linn diamond at 4:30. Admission free – Ladies half-price.
A miniature golf course is being prepared by some of the business men on the lost just north of the restaurant. In a short time, the course of 18 holes will be completed for the enjoyment of the younger set of Palmer. Lights have been arranged so that evening playing may be indulged in.
Alfred Herrs assumed sole ownership of the garage known as the Herrs and Kohlmeier Garage in Palmer when he purchased the interest of his partner, Herman Kohlmeier.
Hail causes damage. One of the most severe hailstorms ever recorded in this section of the State fell Sunday evening at six o’clock. The stricken district was approximately three miles in width, making nearly a direct line between Belleville and Topeka. Palmer was in the direct path of the storm. Windows were broken, roofs badly damages, cherry trees were stripped of their fruit, gardens were demolished and the town presented a sorry spectacle after the storm. Some farmers report practically one hundred percent loss of wheat, and the alfalfa looked like a mower had passed over it.
During the past week the Bank of Palmer has added another modern invention to protect the money of its depositors from robbery, by installing a tear gas gun. It may be discharged by officials of the Bank from six buttons, located in different parts of the room.
Fifty years have gone by since the founding of the Immanuel Lutheran Church. To observe this occasion, arrangements were completed for a big jubilee which was celebrated at the Henry Bekemeyer grove.
The Fairy-Way miniature golf course opened for the summer at Palmer and fans are now making the rounds. W.A. Helm and Ivan Burton are in charge this season.
Basil Kimbrough is erecting a filling station on the Parallel where highway No. 9 meets No. 15.
A new scale was installed at the stockyards for use of the Palmer Shipping association and others. This will cost the Missouri Pacific railroad in the neighborhood of $2,000.
The first open air free picture show of the season took place at Palmer Monday evening. The location for the shows this season is on the vacant lots just north of the Palmer Mercantile. A large crowd was present.
Richard Lange, a student of Palmer Grade, tied for 1st place in history, Raymond Lange also of Palmer received recognition as being one of the first ten in the Country in general scholarship in the “A” division. These contests were conducted by Emporia State Teachers College.
Rufus Orwell assumed the management of the Armour Produce and Cream station, succeeding Webster Wilkins.
Orville Black, mail carrier on Palmer Route two, received official word Monday evening from the Postal Department as Washington D.C. that beginning March 1st his route will be consolidated with that of route one. As R.M. McIntoosh, carrier of route one, is oldest in point of service he automatically becomes carrier of the consolidated route.
Worst Dust Storm in years. This community was invaded Wednesday by the worst dust storm in years. Most of the dust received here was of foreign origin, coming from the dry lands of the northwest.
Serves Congregation 50 years. St. John’s Lutheran Church congregation honored the Reverend J.G.B. Keller with a jubilee celebration at the H.W. Meyerhoff grove in the vicinity of Palmer Sunday. Hundreds attended the Anniversary.
After fifty years of service as Pastor of the St. John’s Lutheran Church, his on and only charge, the veteran Rev. J.G. B. Keller recently offered his resignation to the church board.
The effort to locate enough water to take care of the municipal water system in Palmer is at last bearing fruit. The first well sunk on the Tiemeyer farm west of town has been tested for twenty four hours and stood up under a test of 24 gallons per minute. Another well has been sunk about 200 feet east of this well and the casing is now being put in.
The Bond election in Palmer Monday was to decided on the proposition of issuing $2,500 in City bonds to buy pipe to carry the water from the new city well. 75 voters registered. A vote of 75 to 0 in favor of the proposition is the first unanimous vote ever recorded in the state in a bond election, as near as the Record is able to learn.
Palmer experienced quite a little excitement Sunday afternoon about 4 o’clock when the air compressor tank in the Boyer building, adjoining the Slipsager filling station, exploded and shot completely through the roof, landing in a potato patch nearby.
The Palmer City Cemetery received a complete overhauling under the direction of Aubrey Cody, member of the Ed Cody Monument Co. of Clay Center. Mr. Cody attempted to establish a true line for the John Hanson lot and found that the lots never had been definitely marked out on the ground. The mayor and council were interviewed with the result the cemetery was surveyed and marked with iron pins. Mr. Cody presented the city of Palmer with two fine permanent drawings of the new survey.
The Palmer I.O.O.F. celebrates its Golden anniversary. J.W. Molyneaux was the only Odd Fellow present who was initiated into the order the evening the Lodge was organized. The members of the class of candidates on that opening night 50 years ago included: L.M. Tegeler, H.J. Creager, Dan Dowd, James Johnson, J.P. Serles, Thomas Lyle, J.H. Dowd, Wm. McDonald, James Molyneaux and J.S. Rowland.
Mrs. Opal Ohlde is the new owner of the Palmer Beauty Shop.
Everything is in readiness for the inauguration of night softball play in Palmer on the new lighted field recently constructed. Palmer merchants have spared no expense in an effort to make the new field one of the best lighted diamonds in this territory. Eight 1500 watt bulbs atop 40 foot poles have been placed at the proper intervals so as to insure the maximum illumination.
The Thompson Store in Palmer, operated by Mrs. C.E. Thompson, opened for business one door south of the Bank building. Mrs. Thompson will handle a line of ladies’ and men’s furnishing, shoes, novelties and notions.
The C.E. Thompson building in Palmer, just south of the Bank has been leased for one year to a locally organized broom factory. Operation will start within the next ten days.
Broom Factory starts Monday. A.H. Tegeler leads the new company as President. O.M. Harlow is manager, and J. Harlow is shop foreman. The Harlows are experienced broom makers and have been employed in this community in past years at the Otwell Factory and the Pronske factory. The company will be known as the Palmer Broom Company. Approximately 10 men will be employed immediately. Others will be added as work gets under way.
Gravel trucks have been busy the past few weeks dumping gravel on K-15 from the Nebraska line to the Clay County line. This week maintainers are on the job spreading the gravel over the highway. This highway has been badly in need of gravel for sometime, and with a new coating of gravel the highway may become passable again.
Biggest Rainfall in Forty Years. The variation in gauge reading ranged from 5½ to 11 inches. Undoubtedly Palmer received more rainfall than Linn in the tow hour deluge. Peach Creek went on a spree with nothing stronger than water and soon left its banks to spread over the surrounding countryside. It invaded Palmer, raising the high iron spans on the bridge nearby, took possession of Phillips Service Station to a foot in depth and nearly reached the Slipsager Station. Old timers were unanimous in their declaration that it was the biggest rain in so short a time they had ever seen in this community.
After weeks of delightful weather the temperature became decidedly colder Saturday with rain falling. It did not moderate Sunday and Sunday evening the low temperature of 11 degrees above zero was recorded here. It is reported that at least 100,000 turkeys died as a result of the freeze. Nebraska was hit harder than Kansas and thousands of sheep were numbered among the casualties.
After tolerating a half-mile mud hole for the past year just east of town, Palmer folks are at last getting relief. The spur connecting Palmer with Highways 9 and 15 is now being rocked. The rock will be covered with gravel.
The Palmer Broom Factory is a busy place these days with a full shift working to fill orders that have accumulated in past weeks. One of the largest orders includes thousands of small whisk brooms. This order is now being filled.
The Decker Elevator in Palmer will have additional storage space of 10,000 bushels when the new steel storage bin is completed. Work was started last week on the large steel bin just north of the elevator.
Work has been under way the past two weeks repairing and rebuilding the sidewalks in the business district in Palmer.
Plans are completed for a Fourth of July picnic in Palmer, to be held over on Saturday, making two days of fun and frolic for all. The popular Chick Boyes players with their big tent theatre will be on the grounds for three days, commencing July 3. Another headliner of the celebration will be the softball game between the Fleming Company team of Topeka and the Palmer Cardinals. There also will be band concerts, singing, and other entertainment both days. The kid races, pie eating and shoe lacing contests offer cash prizes to the winners.
The Fourth of July picnic in Palmer filled the streets to overflowing with picnickers out for a good time. It was a get together for the surrounding community and apparently almost everyone took advantage of the occasion to come to town.
The following was written by Ruth Hubbard:
World War II 1941-1945 – Again the United States was embroiled in a war following the surprise attack on our naval base at Honolulu, Hawaii on December 7, 1941. The day following the attack the United States declared war on Japan. Some of our ships had been sunk and many of our boys were sent to a watery grave in the Pacific. Soon every able-bodied man was either drafted or had enlisted in the services of their Country to fight against the Nazis. Germany and Italy were also at war with us as allies of the Nazis. The wartime song “They’re Either Too Young or Too Old” proved all too true when all the men of Palmer were in the Army or employed in defense plants aiding in the war effort. Mrs. Esther Rateuke, Washington County Superintendent of Schools, stated that only one male teacher was left in the elementary schools of the county.
The war years were days of conscription, sugar, tires and gas rationing, with ration books issued throughout the land. All efforts were made to maintain a semblance of order at home. Parents and others were concerned about the welfare of our boys as they went into battle. These were trying days, but at last came the news that victory had been won in Europe. With the European enemies conquered, the picture began to look a little brighter. In August, 1945 the Japanese surrendered after our bombing of Hiroshima. The war had ended. Everyone rejoiced yet could not forget that many of the boys from Palmer had paid the supreme price of war and would never return home. Others would come home with battle scars or with horrible memories which even time could not erase. Those who gave their lives in service of their Country included: Ollie (Bud) Olson, son of Mr. and Mrs. Ollie Olson, Sr.; Maurice Lee, son of Mr. and Mrs. Martin Olson, his body lies in the National Cemetery in the Philippines; Lawrence Heisterman, son of Mr. and Mrs. Herman Heisterman; Roy Rogge, son of Fred Rogge; Robert Heitman, (formerly of Palmer) son of Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Heitman; Vernon Oelschlager, son of Mr. and Mrs. Reuben Oelschlager; Harold Black, son of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Black who had grown up in Palmer, and Arthur Brown, son of Mr. and Mrs. Mose Brown.
Early Morning Fire Strikes in Palmer February 27. A disastrous fire of unknown origin swept through Palmer early Thursday morning destroying approximately one block of buildings and the contents. Victims of the fire include the Louis Reith Hardware, Palmer Produce, Gemmingen Café, Palmer Barber Shop, Slipsager Service Station and the Woodman Lodge Hall. Moses Brown of Clay Center owned the building housing the Palmer Produce and Mrs. LaVina Thompson owned the building housing the Gemmingen Café, and the lot as the north where Tony Debauche operated a car service department. All buildings ad contents were partially covered with Insurance except the Woodman Hall and the contents of the Slipsager Service Station.
At 3:20 a.m. Mrs. Florence Martin, the Palmer Postmaster, noticed a bright light coming through the window, called her husband’s attention to it, and they discovered the front of the Gemmingen Café was on fire. They immediately turned in the alarm, and the Palmer Volunteer fire department was soon on the job. The building was a frame structure, as was the entire block, and the fire had gained such headway it was soon realized the block was doomed. A call for help was sent out through the central office and it was quickly answered. Farmers from the surrounding community helped the Palmer citizens carry merchandise to safety from the threatened zone. A call came to Linn at 3:45 for the fire fighting equipment and a number of the Linn volunteer fire department accompanied the fire truck. The firemen devoted their efforts to restricting the fire to the buildings mentioned, keeping a stream of water playing on the lumberyard across the street south from the fire, and the Hornbostel Garage building only a few feet north of the burning structures. In addition to saving these buildings the fire fighters saved part of the Slipsager Service Station building and gas pumps.
This is the fourth big fire that Palmer has suffered in the present generation. Louie Reith moved into his present location. The Palmer Produce is in the LaVina Thompson building just south of the Bank of Palmer. Gemmingen’s have decided to leave Palmer for California.
Leonard Marshall brought in first wheat to Decker Grain Elevator. It tested 60 and sold for $1.24 a bushel. The field of wheat made 20 bushels per acre.
Penicillin now in use.
Mrs. R.M. McIntosh, chairman of the Poppy sale in Palmer, reports 100 poppies were sold.
Palmer sold $23,431.25 of war bonds.
Robert McIntosh honored for 30 years of mail carrier service.
John Damman sold his blacksmith shop to Albert Hartman. John was in business for 40 years, starting in 1904.
A group of young folks gathered at the big hill in Palmer Tuesday evening to sleigh ride down the hill. Those present were Verna Young, Rhea Happ, Lorine Lange, Edna Debaucher, Dorothy Heisterman, Leslie Otwell, Morris Lee Olson, Loren Hornbostel, Robert Dankenbring, Leonard Oelschlager, Ruth and George Debauche and Jerome Slipsager.
R.M. McIntosh retires as mail carrier. He received his appointment on May 16, 1914. His first route was 28½ miles long which he made with his ponies and mail wagon. At times he could use his unreliable Maxwell-Terryton automobile. In 1935 he got his first Model A Ford. Between the years 1917 and 1925 Bob had several new model T’s to assist the 10 different ponies in convering the route. Since 1927 the route has been entirely motor powered. In 1934 the routes were consolidated, making one route of 55¾ miles in length.
C.H. Tegeler Dies at the age of 85 years. He came to Palmer in 1883 with his brother Lewis and purchased a general store from Fred Arndt. The store was located about ½ blocks north of the present Palmer Café. They later moved the stock to the present location of the Rite-way Market. The Tegeler Brothers sold their business to L.P. Wilson, but Charlie could not stay out of the Mercantile business and organized the Palmer Mercantile co., thus remaining in business for over half a century.
Roy Young, local manager of the Decker Grain Elevator, retires after 21 years on the job. Walter Ohlde will assume the manger’s job.
Melvin Hornbostel has started workmen on the construction of a tile bulding 40 x 80 feet, just north of the Rite-Way Market. He expects to open a skating rink in the building.
Tony Debauche has purchased the building just south of the Bank from Mrs. LaVina King. He expects to be ready for business in his new location in the near future.
Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Smith have leased the Palmer Café from Mr. and Mrs. Melvin Hornbostel.
Theodore Meyer is now Cashier of Bank. He replaces his brother, Herman. Elmer Heitman is Assistant Cashier.
Olaf Juergensen has sold is interest in the Rite-Way Market to Henry Ohlde. Mr. Juergensen came to Palmer 6 years ago. He established the Rite-Way Market, taking over the stock of the old Palmer Mercantile Co.
Herman Reith opens Palmer Barber Shop. Louis Reith had operated it for several months.
New Pool Hall for Palmer. Melvin Hornbostel will install a pool room and the Herman Reith Barber Shop, when his building is completed.
An announcement of a frozen food locker plant for Palmer will be found in the advertising columns of the Record this week. H.E. Ohlde of the rite-way Market states that construction will start in the near future on an addition to the present building. He hopes to have the locker plant in operation by June 1st.
Herman Reith and Alfred Kuhlman will open their new Cash Grocery in Palmer Saturday morning. They have been busy the past three weeks completely redecorating the interior of the building which formerly housed the Paler Café.
The new store presents every convenient and pleasing appearance with its modern shelving and display racks in harmonizing colors. The new business place is a credit to the business circle of Palmer.
The Palmer Booster Club has purchased the Alexander property in west Palmer and expects to develop a ball park and general recreation park on the site. The present softball diamond is located on the Carl Lange property which has been leased for the past thirty years or more. It is low and flat, and a much better drainage can be had in the new location.
A new Legion Post, the palmer American Legion has been granted a charter, and membership cards will be presented to the members at the next meeting on Tuesday, November 11. Eighteen veterans have already enrolled and a number more are expected. The officers are: Arnold Lohmeyer, Commander; Norris Olson, Vice commander; Raymond Smith, Adjutant; Kenneth Olson, Finance Officer; Theo. Meyer, Service Office.
The Governing body of the City of Palmer voted in the regular meeting Monday evening to curb and gravel certain streets in Palmer. This will be decided improvement for Palmer.
The second annual Booster Club banquet was given I the Palmer Café Sunday evening, when the members of the club entertained their wives. Fifty members and guests were present. A delicious quail and pheasant dinner was served by candlelight. Each place was marked with place cards, decorated with quail feathers. Large vases of winter flowers graced the center of the tables. The dinner was cooked and served by Mr. and Mrs. Melvin Hornbostel and Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Smith.
Ed Beikman, who returned to Palmer from Eugene, Oregon this past week, will take over the management of the Herman Meyer Lumber Co. in the near future. Ed Meyer who has managed the yard for the last few years will remain for a couple of months, but has not decided his future plans.
Emil Peters and his brother, Albert, who have operated the Palmer Garage and Service for the past year, closed the business Saturday night.
Because of health, Alfred Kuhlman, closed out the Palmer Cash Grocery.
Charles Rand and Bob Lovgren have reopened the garage and service station formerly known as the Peters Garage and Service. Charley and Bob have a large number of friends in the community who are pleased to hear of their new business venture.
Mr. and Mrs. Gene Gemmingen will open a new Café in the building formerly occupied by the Palmer Cash Store. The new business will be known as the Star Café.
Milburn Roetter has been appointed permanent letter carrier at the post office in Palmer and will begin his duties on May 17. He succeeds Russell Johnson who has been acting carrier since the resignation of R.M. McIntosh. At present he is taking a two week vacation and Kenneth Olson, substitute carrier, is delivering the mail to the rural patrons of Palmer.
Dedication of the newly installed Baldwin electric two-manual organ in the St. Paul Lutheran Church was held Sunday morning with Mrs. Rink as organist. In the evening Mr. Hartman of the St. John Lutheran Church gave a recital to a large crowd.
The new parsonage of the St. John Lutheran Church near Palmer is now completed and Rev. and Mrs. Lehenbaur hope to move into their new home within the next two weeks.
An ice jam on the Peach Creek on the east of Palmer wrecked the bridge causing the west end to drop into the water. Folks living on the east side of the bridge will have to use the detour a half mile north or south. These are dirt roads and should be graded immediately or a large part of the trade will be lost.
The old wooden elevator, belonging to the Decker Grain Company, is fast disappearing from the landscape as workmen are now tearing it down. It was built in 1888 by the Mars, Miller, Douglas and Company. A new elevator will be constructed in its place.
The Hall Bros. Construction Co. of Marysville arrived in Palmer last week and work has been started on the street improvement project voted in last year. The street from the hotel corner to the Slipsager Service and one block north and south from the Bank corner and the Reith Hardware are included in the project, about seven blocks in all. They will be graded, curbed and graveled, and be in condition for blacktopping at a future date if desired.
The Peach Creek Bridge on the east edge of Palmer collapsed Thursday when a house being moved across it proved to be too much for its structure and it and the house fell in the creek bed. The house belonging to William Voelker was being moved from the country seven miles southeast of Palmer to a new site in Palmer.
A number of Palmer boosters are busy this week putting a roof over the main section of the bleacher seats. All will be in readiness for the big game Sunday afternoon when the Linn ball club crosses bats with the Palmer club.
Otwell Truck Line – Early in 1930 Rufus Otwell and wife and small son moved to Palmer from a farm northwest of town and started the Otwell Truck Line. Rufus had a straight 1929 Chevrolet truck and did local hauling, mostly grain and livestock from farm to farm and to town for shipment to market on the railroad. Most farm products moved to city markets by railroad at that time. Soon much of the livestock began moving to market by truck and Rufus began making long distance hauls.
In 1935 it became necessary to have a permit for this type of hauling and the Otwell line received a Grandfather Permit. Later more and larger equipment was added and extensions to the original permit were granted.
In 1946, after his return from military service in World War II their son Leslie became a partner in the business and he and his father operated the Line together until the early 1960’s when Rufus started hauling U.S. Mail on a Star Route, helping as he could on the truck line for a while, gut in a short while turned the trucking business over to Leslie completely. Leslie carried on the business until February of 1972 when he sold out to Parker and Parker of Greenleaf. When the business was sold the Otwell family had served the community in the trucking business for 41 years.
The railroad stock yards at Linn and Palmer are giving way to the trend of the times. The stock yards at Palmer are being completely torn down this week. The yards have been in existence since the 1880’s. Thousands of cars of cattle, hogs, and sheep have passed through them on the way to market.
Fact Store closes after 60 years of service. Cass Kimbrough operated it 53 years after his grandfather, Curtis, decided to sell it. It also served as Post Office for early settlers. Mrs. Harold Riek bought the store from Cass and operated for 5 years. Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Dodd took possession in 1950 and operated it until the recent sale.
Palmer Legion meets in the new building they recently moved into Palmer.
Theo. Meyer accepts new post as cashier at Roeland Park State Bank near Kansas City. Elmer Heitman, cashier, will fill the vacancy. Daryl Gross is the new assistant.
Miss Eunice Schone and Mr. Theo. Hartman to teach St. John school for 1952-53 term.
Palmer 4-H Club organizes. There are 12 members. Mr. and Mrs. W.H. Borst, club leaders.
Big vote favors school bond issue. A $50,000 school bond issue received a fine endorsement. The vote was 127 for and 35 against.
The new Palmer Grade School opened Monday – 13 pupils.
Palmer is getting a new White Way – 13 additional lights are being placed in the business district.
Myrna Fajen wins County Spelling contest.
Palmer girl, Ann Winter, Salutatorian at Linn Rural High School.
Palmer’s horse show draws large crowd. 26 horses entered the register.
Palmer population 161
The Palmer Community Club met Tuesday evening. Those on the east side of tracks bring jello. Those on the west side bring cookies.
Henry Ohlde has sold the Rite-Way Market to Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Olson. Mr. Ohlde purchased the market 10 years ago. Kenneth has worked for Ohlde almost as long as he has owned it. The interior has been redecorated and has the appearance of a Super Market.
Melvin Hornbostel and Raymond Smith have purchased the West Side Motel in Marysville. E.V. Gemmingen has purchased the business building of Melvin Hornbostel. The fixtures have been moved and the new Star Café is open for business. The beer will be handled in what has formerly been the Recreation Room. A door has been cut between the two.
Ruth Tiemeyer won spelling contest in Washington. She was 13th at Sate Spelling Contest.
The Palmer School meeting reelected Louis Bierbaum as clerk and Leslie Otwell as treasurer.
The Palmer Governing Body voted to give any tornado warning on the fire whistle.
Mrs. Alwina Hornbostel retires as Palmer telephone operator. She would have completed 28 years in September. Her husband was lineman for 19 years. Her daughters Esther, Lulu, and Dora were operators before their marriages. Lulu Petch succeeds her.
Harlin Loren Hornbostel was installed as Postmaster in Palmer; Mrs. Veva Otwell is clerk.
Palmer population 147.
A horse pulling contest was held in Palmer. Clyde Chayer took first place.
Howard Happ, a student at Emporia State Teacher’s College, received a scholarship award from the Kansas Congress of Parents and Teachers for the spring term. Recipients of these awards indicate an intention to teach in the public schools of Kansas.
The Linn and Palmer Methodist Churches are in the process of consolidation with the members of Palmer going to Linn.
Jean Folkerts, daughter of Rev. and Mrs. Folkerts, won the County Spelling contest.
Palmer population 157.
Captain Frederick Grover, Fort Riley, has received an overseas assignment to Formosa. He expects to be stationed there 18 months.
Edwin Meyer, manager of the Herman Meyer Lumber Co., will fill the vacancy at the Bank when Daryl Gross leaves. Marvin Moorman is the new manager of the Meyer Lumber Co.
Merlin Reith to receive B.A. Degree.
The Parallel Bible School will close with the children being I charge of the morning worship service.
The St. John Lutheran Church dedicated a new pipe organ. Mr. Erick Haase of Morengo, Illinois, the designer and builder, presented a concert on the new organ. A large crowd attended.
Palmer to vote on gas installation.
End of Passenger train, November 12.
Palmer boy, Robert Voelker, is Valedictorian of his class.
Lyle Alan Moddelmog received his B.S. in educating.
Construction began on a new building at the Peters Phillips station. It will house wash and grease racks. This will provide convenient quarters for servicing cars in summer and winter.
The work of laying natural gas lines in Palmer has been completed. The gas has been turned on and a few homes are already enjoying gas heat.
Major Fred Grover retires from U.S. Army.
Miss Arlene Dahm, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lud Dahm of Fact, was Valedictorian of her graduating class at the Clay Center High School.
Evelyn Hornbostel Clark, who graduated Magna Cum Laude, received her Bachelor of Arts Degree from Fairmont College of Liberal Arts.
Elmer Heitman appointed by Governor Anderson as a member of the Board of Directors of Kansas Blue Shield.
Mr. and Mrs. John Anderson have purchased the Star Café from Mr. and Mrs. Dale Simonds. Will be known as the J & N Café.
A deal is being completed whereby Walter Peters of Peters Skelly Service is purchasing the business of the Happ Oil Co., from Andrew Happ. The change will be effective immediately.
First meeting on school unification, in compliance with the new State law requiring unification of school districts.
One of the oldest buildings in Palmer is being town down. It is now known as the old hotel building, but it was originally built to house the Bank of Palmer back in 1887, when the Bank of Palmer was established with the late J.B. Lower as Cashier. Mr. Lower later operated a Bank in Washington for many years. The brick portion of the old structure housed the Bank. One of the highlights of the Bank when it was located in the old building was in the night in 1891 or 1892 when it was burglarized and the safe was blown open. The door of the safe was blown to the east side of the railroad tracks, some 200 feet.
The late Thomas Brown built the frame structure now being torn down, for a hotel in 1907 or 1908 using the brick part for a lobby and office. Pete and Mabel Thompson operated the hotel for a few years, then Shorty Lockas became the Manager. About 1917 Mr. and Mrs. Ed Chase took over the management of the hotel and a few years later the operation was discontinued.
George Watson of the Clifton Grain Co. announces in this issue of the Record, the purchase of the Decker Grain Co. in Palmer from Mel Decker Jr. He took charge April 11. The firm name will be Palmer Grain Co. Lyle Bargman who has been employed at the elevator for the past several years will remain with the new organization. Walter Ohlde, manager of the local elevator for the past 19 years, will retire.
The Rev. John Miskowiec delivered his farewell sermon to the congregation of the St. Paul Lutheran Church at Palmer Sunday morning October 31, 1965. The congregation gave a farewell basket dinner in the church basement for Pastor and his family following the service.
Rev. George F. Dirks, who was recently installed as the new Pastor of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Palmer, came from a congregation in Hosmer, South Dakota, which he had served for nearly six years.
Mother Nature turned her violence loose on the Linn-Palmer area Wednesday afternoon May 11, 1966, when a tornado cloud dipped to the ground shortly after 1:00 p.m. Mrs. LeRoy Shaefer, who lives approximately five miles southwest of Linn, reported that she saw the tornado dip to the ground east of their home in a pasture. From this point the tornado apparently stayed on the ground traveling east and northeast until it raised shortly after passing through the north edge of Linn.
An explosion, reportedly heard for forty miles, occurred near Palmer this Thursday morning, September 22, 1966 at 9:57 a.m. A 26 inch natural gas line, belonging to the Northern Natural Gas Co., burst and caught fire on the Marvin Herrs farm located one half mile north and two and one half miles west of Palmer. No injuries were reported and at press time the only damage known was to the Herrs milo crop.
A change in ownership of the Rite-Way Market in Palmer will take place on September 5th. The new owners will be Dorothy and Elmer Duis, who have operated the Hy-Klas Market in Clifton for a numbers of years. Henry Ohlde purchased the Rite-Way Market 21 years ago and operated it for ten years when Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Olson became owners. Mr. Ohlde remained to assist them. Mrs. Bertha Winter has been employed in the store for the past several years and will remain with the new firm.
The Parallel Presbyterian Church will observe its 95th anniversary May 28, with an anniversary and Homecoming. The morning worship will begin at 11 a.m., followed by a basket dinner at noon. A program is planned for the afternoon. This will be the final service to be held in the Church, as the congregation is merging with the Presbyterian Church and the Methodist Church of Clifton June 1st. The new merged congregation will be a Presbyterian Church. The pastor for the Parallel and First Presbyterian Church at present is Pastor Vernon Bowman. All former members and interested friends are cordially invited to attend this anniversary observance.
Two Palmer area youth are Co-Valedictorian and Co-Salutatorian. Warren Meyer, son of Mr. and Mrs. Orvel Meyer, is a Co-Valedictorian and Pat Voelker, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Victor Voelker, is Co-Salutatorian. They are students of Linn High School.
Rev. and Mrs. Dirks held open house at the Palmer Grade School Auditorium June 25th in observance of their 40th wedding anniversary and the 40th anniversary of Pastor Dirk’s ordination.
Pastor and Mrs. C.W. Koch were honored Sunday evening July 16th by the St. John Lutheran congregation in observance of Pastor Koch’s 25th anniversary of ordination and the 25th wedding anniversary of Pastor and Mrs. Koch.
The office of the Meyer Lumber Company is undergoing a change of face. The office area has been enlarged and modern rest room installed. The interior walls have been covered with Virginia Cascade paneling. Kentile asbestos covers the floor. Manager, Marvin Moorman, in keeping with the new décor, is considering a white shirt and tie.
Approximately 15 inches of snow fell in this area over the weekend. It was the largest snowfall since 1959 and 1960.
Peggy Lohmeyer, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arnold Lohmeyer, won the C & W Essay Contest. Her prize is an all expense paid trip to Washington, D.C.
Douglas Ohlde, son of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Ohlde, received his Wings during the graduation exercise at Webb A.F.B. at Big Springs, Texas.
Two Palmer girls are Co-Valedictorians at the Linn Rural High School this year. Miss Linda Heitman, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Heitman, and Miss Anita Bott, daughter of Mrs. Helen Bott.
Work started this week on an addition to Bank of Palmer. This will provide a large fireproof storage, wash room, and office space.
Richard Voelker has purchased the Hofman Machine Shop at Fact. Voelker has been working there the past several years.
Palmer Grain Company Remodels. The office has been enlarged, with new windows added and the walls paneled.
Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Stolte have sold their Café in Palmer to a Clay Center couple, Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Oldham. They will take possession after the close of business Saturday night, April 25th. Ernest and Vi Stolte have operated the Café for the past three and one half years.
Mr. Elden Langvardt is the new manager of the Palmer Grain Co. Lyle Bargman has resigned as manager, but will remain as an employee of the firm.
A severe snowstorm that was described by the weather service as one of the worst in the century, started on Sunday, February 21st and continued until late Monday. A total of 12 inches of snow with strong northerly winds caused roads to be blocked in all of Kansas. Schools were closed and no mail service until Tuesday morning.
In 1976, Palmer, along with the rest of the Nation, celebrated the 200th Birthday of our Country. In April of ’76 Palmer was designated as a Bicentennial Community by the ARBC (American Revolution Bicentennial Administration).
On June 13, 1976, a Bicentennial Flag Presentation was held in the Palmer Grade School Auditorium. Approximately 400 persons braved the heat of the day to enjoy the program. Senator Les Droge and Rep. Bob Arbuthnot were on hand to present the Bicentennial Flag and the Certificate to the city. Following the program the Palmer American Legion led the group to the east entrance of Palmer where a new flag pole, donated by the St. John’s Walther League, was impressively dedicated. A new United States Flag was donated to the city by the Lowell Meyerhoff family. After the program and the flag raising, an ice cream social was held at the Palmer Fire House.
To become eligible for Bicentennial designation Palmer had to meet requirements in three areas: Heritage, Horizons and Festival ’76.
These requirements were met by moving the old city jail back to town near the post offices. The old jail had been moved to the St. Paul’s Lutheran Cemetery in the early 1950s to be used as a tool shed. A new coat of paint and new windows transformed this into a mini museum.
The biggest project undertaken was the building of the new tennis court in the city park. Various money-making projects were held such as rummage sales, and donations from various groups and individuals.
Another church group, the St. Paul’s Luther League, painted trash barrels red, white and blue and donated them to the city to be placed as various places in the city and the park.
Mr. and Mrs. Ted Biekman took on the job of painting the fire plugs red, white and blue.
A large crowd came and reminisced with us at the free movie held on the Palmer ball diamond in August. Palmer was once famous for its weekly free show before the days of T.V.
To end the Bicentennial Festivities, on Sept. 4, 1976, between 600 and 700 Palmer natives, friends and passing acquaintances flocked into town to celebrate the first Palmer Fall Festival.
Events started when the first parade in a very long time wound its way through the streets. Over 65 entries included bands, floats, antique cars, and tractors and industrial floats.
After the parade many persons visited the display of antiques in the American Legion Hall. The evening continued with a roast hog barbecue at which 600 to 700 persons devoured five roast hogs.
Highlight of the meal was huge cake baked and decorated by Emma Reith and Lydia Reith. It took 10 sheet cakes to make a depiction of the flag. Each of the 50 sugar stars was added by hand.
The festival concluded at the ballpark where children’s games, dunking stand, dress and beard judging contest, and a frog jumping contest were held. The new tennis court was also dedicated, and the evening ended with several talented musical groups.
Many, many helping hands, donations, time and effort were spent making this a year Palmer will long remember. The year of 1976.
Most of these businesses are taken from ads in the newspaper and appear only as many years as their ads were in the paper. Therefore we cannot guarantee complete accuracy.
1888-1894 G.H. Swindaman (Will cry sales in English or German)
- 1888 - J.D. Wilson
- 1889 - C.A. Scott
1901-1903 Col. D.M. Evans and Col. C.P. Smith
1904-1910 Col. C.P. Smith
- 1905 - Perkins and Elwood
1908-1925 Roy Knox
1909-1910 John Jording
- 1913 - J.P. Hagerty
1918-1920 Hagenbuch and Knox
1922-1929 E.H. Stunkel
- 1930 - L.C. Dahm
1913-1923 E.H. Hornbostel
1915-1921 R.H. Grooms – The Blue Line Garage
1921-1922 W.M. Miller – The Blue Line Garage
1922-1925 Jesse Ball
1922-1923 Everett McIntosh – The Home Bakery
- 1923 - Sophia Damman – The Home Bakery
1925-1927 Harry King – The Home Bakery
1887-1978 The Bank of Palmer
1936- Florence Peters & Edna Tewes – The Vogue Beauty Shop
1936-1940 Opal Ohlde – Palmer Beauty Shop
- 1944 - Opal Ohlde – Your Beauty Shoppe
- 1968 Carol Ohlde – Country Side Beauty Salon
Blacksmiths and Welders
- 1884 - John Grother
1886-1889 August Koloska
- 1888 E. House
1888-1904 James A Anderson
1904-1944 John Damman
- 1904 W.H. Grooms
1904-1913 E.H. Hornbostel
1905-1906 Frank W. Lee
1944-1946 Albert Hartman
- 1946 - Alfred Kuhlman
1946-1949 Otto Dierking
1950-1951 Charles Rand
1956-1960 Alfred Herrs
1975-1978 Larry & Alfred Herrs
Barber Shops & Pool Parlors*
- 1884 - Thompson Anderson
1886-1901 J.H. Burt
1888-1901 John O’Brien
1903-1916 R.J. Grooms*
1906-1908 W.A. Farnsworth
1908-1909 James O’Brien
1909-1912 Chas. Wilson
1916-1920 Wm. Rogge* (Ira Austin & Roy Young, Barbers)
1920-1921 Lark Regester and Fat Thompson*
1921-1926 C.E. (Fat) Thompson
1926-1927 George Timme
1927-1928 Emil Damman
- 1928 - Louis Marcoux
1928-1930 Joe Poutre
1930-1931 Herman Reith
1931-1933 Louis Marcoux
1933-1936 Otto Stelljes*
1936-1964 Herman Reith*
1964-1977 Louis Reith
1977-1978 Dennis Peters
Billiards and Pool Parlors
1907-1908 W.O. Pierce
- 1910 - Ed Chase
- 1939 - Robert Meyer
1946-1956 Melvin Hornbostel
Cafes and Restaurants
- 1884 - Fred Arndt – City Restaurant
- 1901 - Henry Rohlfs – City Restaurant
- 1906 - Wanamaker – Wanamaker’s Café
- 1906 - F.H. Beikman – Beikman Café
- 1907 - Frank Wharton – Short Order Lunch Room
- 1907 - Fred Rogge – Short Order Lunch Room
- 1908 - Ed Chase – Short Order Lunch Room
- 1909 - A.O. Anderson – Short Order Lunch Room
- 1909 - G.W. Lang – Short Order Lunch Room
1909-1910 S.S. Hurley – The Cremerie Restaurant
- 1910 - Carl Anderson
1910-1912 E.C. Potter – The Palmer Café
1912-1913 Frank Morgison
- 1913 - Ed L. Elliott
- 1914 - H.B. Blanken – The Palmer Café
1914-1920 W.W. Weeke – The Palmer Café
- 1920 - C.F. Thomas – The Palmer Café
1920-1924 A.G. Rafield – The Palmer Café
1924-1930 John Reith – The Palmer Café
- 1930 - George Thompson
1929-1930 Gladys King – Kings Snappy Service (in the Brown Hotel)
- 1930 - Omer Mounts – Mounts Café
- 1930 - Ziba Wilson – Spikes Café (Guy Wilson, Mgr.)
- 1930 - Harlan Gould – Gould Short Order Café
1930-1931 Rose Rogge – Snappy Service Café
- 1930 - Clarence & Herman Pennington – The Pennington Café
1930-1937 A.E. Stelzer – The Palmer Café
1935-1937 C.E. Thompson – Thompson Café
1937-1940 Marguerite Thompson – Marguerite’s Place
1937-1938 Herman Reith – The Palmer Café
1938-1945 Melvin Hornbostel – The Palmer Café
1940-1942 Gene Gemmingen – The Star Café
1957-1958 Ida Gemmingen – The Star Café
1958-1962 Dale Simonds – The Star Cafe
1962-1966 John and Nola Anderson – The J. & N. Café
1966-1970 Ernest Stolte – The Palmer Café
- 1970 - Lewis Oldham
1970-1974 John Anderson – The Palmer Café
1974-1977 Thurl Damman – The Palmer Café
1977-1978 Vincent Mazeo – The Palmer Café
Carpenters, Contractors and Builders
- 1884 - A.C. Albie – Paper, Paint and Brick Layer
- 1888 - L.E. Emerson – Stone Mason and Plasterer
1888-1905 Daniel Randall – Carpenter and Joiner by trade
- 1889 - Fred Leimbrock – Contractor and Builder
- 1894 - G.H. Hall – Bick and Stone Mason
1897-1902 “Lute” Morgan – Brick and Stone Mason
1914-1915 E.W. Henry – Contractor and Builder
- 1920 - E.J. Whetstine – Plastering and Tile Work
1936-1978 Rudolph Beikman – General Carpentering
1953-1954 Walter Beikman – Cabinet work and General Carpentering
1955-1978 Delmer Wilgers – General Carpentering
1975-1978 Greg Winter – General Carpentering
1976-1978 Phil Olson – General Carpentering
The following are carpenters, builders and general handy men who did not advertise their talents buy have played an important role in Palmer and vicinity. They have all died but we do not want to forget them. H.A.W. (Carpenter) Meyer, Fred Killman, Fred Booth, John Baer, Ed Henry, Albert Blanken, Frank Feldhausen, Henry Palmer, Paul Reith, Henry Beikman, and Ernest Herrs. Fred Rogge was a stone mason.
Confectionery and Cigar Stores
1878 - Francis Nadeau
- 1898 - Fred Giestfeld
1904-1908 Henry Struber
- 1921 - Fritz Rafield – Ice Cream and Soft Drink Parlor
1884-1886 Fred Arndt
1886-1888 Arndt and W.T. Boss
1904-1907 Peter Happ
- 1921 - O.A. Fowler
- 1904 - Henry Geisfeld – The Palmer Creamery
1912-1919 - The Palmer Co.-Cooperative Creamery
1919-1923 - The Linn-Palmer Creamery
1870-1884 W.R. Boals – Physician
1884-1909 S.D.F. Gurney – Physician and Surgeon
1884-1889 J.B. Ryon – Physician and Surgeon
- 1888 - F.F. Frankenstine – Physician and Surgeon
1889-1890 A.C. Potter – Physician
- 1901 - Delmer L. Davis – Homeopathic Physician and Surgeon
- 1901 - W.D. Hopfer – Dentist
1901-1903 Robert Algie – Physician and Surgeon
1903-1905 Z.H. Snyder – Physician and Surgeon
1904-1909 J.R. Purdum – Physician and Surgeon
1906-1912 Chas. F. Attwood – Physician and Surgeon
1907-1909 Kirley – Dentist
- 1909 - J.B. Roberts – Physician and Surgeon
1912-1914 S.M. Edgerton – Physician and Surgeon
1914-1916 A.C. Sonntag – N.D. and D.C. (Naturopath and Chiropath)
1914-1920 H.B. Hawthorne – Physician and Surgeon
- 1917 - McCracken – Osteopath (Every Tues. and Fri. evening)
- 1921 - E.T. Black – Physician and Surgeon
1934-1937 M.J. Hoerman – Osteopath
1959-1972 Harlin Hornbostel
1959-1974 Kenneth Olson
1964-1974 Walter Ohlde
1966-1974 Buford Taylor
1966-1978 Marilyn Ohlde
Dray-lines, Transfer and Trucking
1886-1888 W.T. Boss
1905-1909 Pete Happ
1909-1911 Charles Young
1911-1914 Roy Young
1914-1918 Young Bros.
1911-1912 William Henry
1918-1920 C.F. Thomas
- 1920 - Bill and Emil Damman
- 1921 - Amiel Rafield
1922-1930 John Reith
1927-1929 Emil Damman
1928-1930 R.E. Dobbins
1930-1932 O.W. Killman
1930-1946 George Thompson
1930-1946 Otwell Truck Line – Rufus Otwell
1946-1960 Otwell Truck Line – Rufus and Leslie
1960-1972 Otwell Truck Line – Leslie Otwell
1870-1888 Dr. W.R. Boals – Registered Pharmacist
1889-1890 Dr. A.C. Potter and Co.
1889 - B.F.Higgins and Co.
1906-1909 Dr. S.J.F. Purdum and Son
1908-1913 McCall Drug Co.
1909-1912 Dr. Attwood Drug Store
- 1914 - Earl Wilson Pharmacy
1912-1914 Dr. Edgerton’s Drug Store
1914-1915 Frank Vance, Registered Druggist
1915-1916 Montgomery – The Palmer Pharmacy
1916-1918 Bud Poultre – The Palmer Pharmacy
1920-1930 C.F. Gill, Registered Pharmacist – Purity Drug Co.
1920-1921 John Voss – Grocery and Drug Store
1921-1930 Harry King – Grocery and Drug Store
1931-1932 Hugh Woolsey – Woolsey Drug Co.
Dry Goods Store
- 1894 - J. Tinker and Son
- 1910 - P.T. Slipsager – Dry Goods, Poultry and Produce
1935-1939 A.H. Meyer Dry Goods Store
1937-1938 Mrs. C.E. Thompson’s Store
1916-1917 W.A. Stunkel
1878-1893 C.D. Potter and Son
- 1884 - J.A. Newsom
1885-1889 L.P. Wilson
The South Elevator-
- 1884 - C.D. Potter and Son – Greenleaf and Baker
- 1903 - Fred Slipsager
1903-1906 V. Faris – Baker-Crowell Grain Co.
1906-1909 Bert Harnett – Baker-Crowell Grain Co.
1909-1911 Bert Eddy – Baker-Crowell Grain Co.
1911-1913 Roy M. Dean – Baker-Crowell Grain Co.
1913-1919 H.H. Braynard – Baker-Crowell Grain Co. (Burned)
The North Elevator-
- 1889 - R. Miller – Mars, Miller, Douglas and Co.
1901-1904 Strohn and Jones
1904-1906 H.C. Strohn
1906-1910 W.C. Grown
1910-1913 Bert Harnett
1913-1914 H.B. Nye and V.F. Chandler
1914-1920 H.B. Nye
- 1920 - Baker-Crowell Grain Co. buys this elevator
1920-1922 H.H. Braynard
1922-1923 Earl Witham
1923-1945 Roy Young – In 1925 Decker Grain buys elevator
1945-1964 Walter Ohlde
1964-1970 Lyle Bargman – In 1964 Evan Grain Co. buys elevator
1970-1976 Elden Langvardt
1976-1978 Elden Langvardt – 1976 purchased by local farmers and businessmen
Furniture and Undertaking
- 1884 - Cook Bros. and Co. – Furniture and Undertaking
- 1889 - B. Higinbotham – Furniture
1888-1905 Daniel Randall – Furniture and Undertaking
-1904 William Attwood – Furniture
1904-1905 Glenn Hostutler and Alvin Tegeler – Furniture
1905-1920 Amiel Rafield and Son – Furniture and Undertaking
Garages and Gas Stations
1916-1923 E.H. Hornbostel Garage
1916-1921 R.H. Grooms – The Blue Line Garage
1921-1922 W.M. Miller – The Blue Line Garage
1922-1925 Jesse Ball Garage
1923-1924 Andrew Happ
1925-1927 E.H. Hornbostel Garage
1926-1928 E.M. Boyer – Palmer Service Sta.
- 1927 - Theo. Rogge – Car Repair
- 1927 - Frank Stine
1924-1928 George Sellars and Eugene Volpe – The Palmer Garage
1928-1929 T.W. Gould – The Palmer Garage
1928-1929 Harold Hornbostel – The White Eagle Service Sta.
- 1929 - Wm. A. Meyer – The Palmer Garage
1929-1930 Clarence Thompson – Skelly Oil Co.
1903 - Pronske Oil Co. – Martin Peter, Mgr. Andrew Happ, Thank Wagon
1929-1930 Harold Hornbostel – The Palmer Garage
1930-1933 William Wilgers Service Sta.
1930-1932 Warren Rogers – The Palmer Garage
1930-1932 Harold Hornbostel – Skelly Oil Co.
1931-1932 Alfred Herrs Garage
1932-1934 Bill Rouche – Sinclair Service Sta.
1932-1942 Harold Hornbostel Garage
1932-1934 Anton Prothe – Sinclair Service Sta.
- 1933 – Arthur Black – Skelly Oil Co.
1934-1935 Marion Slipsager – Sinclair Service Sta.
1935-1936 Alfred Kuhlman Service Sta.
1935-1938 Melvin Hornbostel – Phillips Service Sta. (formerly Skelly)
1936-1938 Anthony Kieffer – Skelly Sta. (formerly White Eagle)
1937-1945 Marion Slipsager – Conoco Service Sta.
1938-1942 Elmer Rodehorst – Phillips 66 Service Sta.
- 1938 – Ed. and John Chase – White Eagle Service
1944-1952 Tony Debauche Garage
1945-1953 Marion Slipsager – Phillips 66 Sta.
1945-1946 Ed. Moddelmog – Mobile Service Sta.
1946-1948 Emil Peters, Bob Lovgren Mobile Service and Garage
1948-1950 Charles Rand – Dixie Service Sta.
1948-1963 Andrew Happ Oil Co.
1948-1951 Lovgren Repair Shop
1950-1952 George Debauche – Texaco Service Sta.
1952-1953 Raymond Smith – Ray’s Texaco Sta.
1953-1956 Raymond Smith – Phillips 66 Sta.
- 1953 - Charles Rand – Texaco Service Sta.
1953-1954 Marion Slipsager – Texaco Sta.
1954-1963 Walter Peters – Skelly Service
1956-1978 Elmer Peter’s Phillips 66 Service and Farm Supply
1963-1977 Walter Peters Oil Co.
1972-1978 Lowell Meyer Hoff – Palmer Garage
Grocery and General Merchandise
1870-1990 G.F. Kober – The Old Reliable (west of the tracks)
1879-1882 Boal and Cook – General Merchandise
1882-1940 C.H. Tegeler – General Merchandise
1880-1884 Fred Arndt – General Merchandise
1882- J.P. Spiers – General Merchandise
1890- Boal and Soren – General Merchandise
1886-1888 O.W. Cook – Dry Goods and Grocery
1898-1922 L.P. Wilson – The East Side Grocery
1902-1905 P. Meier and Son – General Store
1902-1912 Cook and Fowler – The Palmer Cash Store
1912-1914 F.C. McNitt and Co.
1920-1921 John Voss – Grocery and Drug Store
1921-1930 Harry E. King – Grocery and Drug Store
1930-1935 Clarence Sheets – Sheets Grocery
1940-1946 Olaf Jurgensen – The Rite Way Market
1946-1956 Henry Ohlde – The Rite Way Market
1947-1948 Herman Reith and Alfred Kuhlman – The Cash Grocery
1956-1967 Kenneth Olson – The Rite Way Market
1967-1977 Elmer Duis – The Palmer Food Center
1977-1978 Dale Lee – Lee’s Palmer Market
1884-1888 Hans Soren
1884-1889 Cook Bros.
1889-1890 J. Creager
1890 – H.G. Tegeler and Co.
1903-1912 C.E. Meyer and Co. – Hardware and Harness
-1904 Thompson Bros.
1904-1913 George Hahn – Hardware and Implement
- 1905 – Henry Dittmar Hardware
1912-1915 J.H. Fagen and Sons – Hardware and Harness
1913-1939 Alfred H. Meyer – Hardware and Harness
1915-1916 A.F. Pronto – The Big Hardware Store
1916-1917 Ben Albright – The Palmer Cash Hardware
- 1938 – Ed. and John Chase – The Farmers Supply Store
1939-1978 Louis Reith Hardware
Harness Makers and Shops
1883-1890 F.E. Vance – Harness Maker
- 1894 – N.A. Chaquette – Dealer in Harnesses and Repairs
1903-1904 A.C. Leizler (Learned from Milt Osborn)
1903-1912 C.E. Meyer and Co. – Hardware and Harness
- 1913 – R.C. Smith (Worked for both Meyer and Fajen)
1912-1917 Herman Fajen – Harness Maker
1906-1910 H.C. Ohlde
1907 – J.R. Cooney
- 1910 – Gus Bokelman
1911-1915 Charles Young
1911-1936 Herman Ohlde
1920 - John Thoms
- 1884 - A.R. Osborn – The Central House
1890-1900 Hans Soren – The Central House
1894-1902 S.J. Fisk – Commercial Hotel
1903-1906 W.O. Pierce – Randall Hotel
1907-1908 E.W. Henry – Commercial Hotel
- 1925 – C.E. Thompson – The Palmer Hotel (formerly Commercial)
1908-1913 P.T. Thompson – The Brown Hotel, built by Thomas Brown
1913-1915 Frank Lockas – The Brown Hotel
1915-1925 Ed. Chase – The Brown Hotel
1930-1931 Charles King
1931-1932 Hough Woolsey
- 1933 – Webster Wilkens
1939-1941 Jack Tegeler
1942-1946 Carl Vorderstrasse
1946-1964 Otto Alverman – Torn down in 1964
1882-1885 W.D. Harmon
1885-1887 Harmon and Randall
1887-1888 C.A. Randall
1887-1889 O.P. Woody
1889-1890 Harmon and Woody
1901-1904 Winfield Scott Denman
1904-1906 Gabbert and Slipsager
- 1906 – Gabbert and Denman
1906-1908 Henry Palmer and Slipsager
1908-1913 Palmer and Thompson
1908-1915 E.H. Hornbostel
- 1911 – Anderson and Slipsager
1913 – Henry Palmer
1913-1922 J.A. Casper
1923-1931 Alfred H. Meyer
1931-1934 H.P. Meyer
Insurance, Loans and Real Estate
- 1884 – C.F. Howe – Land and Insurance Agent
- 1889 – W.H. Beeson – Loans and Insurance
- 1890 – B. Heginbotham – Money Lender
- 1902 – Stunkle, Fowler, and Tegeler – Real Estate
1907-1908 W. O Pierce – Real Estate Agent
1908-1913 Tegeler and Schroeder – Palmer Land Co.
1912-1913 C.M. Anderson - Insurance
1913-1914 Tegeler and Dean – Tornado Insurance
1913-1914 H.P. Schroeder and Tegeler – Insurance
1924-1926 John A. Nauman – Insurance
- 1925 – W.F. Turrentine – Insurance
1931-1933 Fred V. Lunger – Insurance
- 1853 – Arnold Lohmeyer – Insurance
1959-1978 Elmer Heitman – Insurance
1965-1978 Elmer Heitman – Farm Loans and Real Estate
- 1909 – P. Feldhauson - Jeweler
- 1910 – E.A. Franck - Jeweler
- 1911 – F.S. Pease – Optometrist and Watchmaker
- 1913 - Chas. E. King – Silverplating
Junk, Furs and Hides
1924-1924 Marsh Anderson – Furs and Hides
1925-1928 E.M. Boyer – Junk, Furs and Hides
Livery and Feed Stables
- 1884 – George Mallen – The Red Front, Southeast of depot
1884-1905 S.J. Fist – North side of town
1886-1888 W. T. Boss
1903-1905 Oscar C. Austin
1904-1905 F.M. Patterson
- 1905 - C.E. Brown
1905-1911 Ed. Chase
Livestock Buyers and Shippers
1884 – Boal and Cook
1884-1891 S.J. Fisk
1886-1890 J.I.H. House
- 1889 – Henry Benoit
- 1890 – O.W. Cook
- 1904 – Harmon and Schwartz
- 1905 – J.G. Schwartz
- 1906 – J.H. Rickewey
- 1907 – Rodehorst and Shumaker
1907-1910 P. Shumaker
1910-1913 Theodore Shuette
1917-1918 Gabbert and McAtee
1925-1934 The Palmer Shipping Association – Herman Ohlde, Mgr.
1944-1966 Herman Ohlde
1966-1976 Walter Ohlde
1876-1888 Daniel and Thomas Lyle (located where Rich. Winter lives)
1887-1890 F. Limbrock
1888-1899 M.D. Kerns
1899-1906 D.C. Meyer
1906-1931 D.C. Meyer and Son
1931-1978 Herman Meyer Lumber Co.
- 1931 - Alfred Herrs, H.W. Kohlmeier, W.D. Wilgers – The Kansas Metal Manufacturing Co.
1939-1941 O.M. Harlow, Mgr. – The Palmer Broom Company
1975-1978 Larry and Alfred Herrs – Herrs Welding and Repair Shop
- 1884 – George Rohlfs
1888-1890 Harmon and Struber – The City Meat Market
-1904 W. R. Grooms – The Model Meat Market
1904-1905 F.M. Irving – The Model Meat Market
1905-1908 Ernest Rodehorst – The Model Meat Market
1908-1916 Henry Damman – The Model Meat Market
1916-1917 H.P Schroeder, Prop. J.J. Erhard, Mgr. – The Model Meat Market
1917-1919 Oscar McAtee, Prop. J.J. Erhard, Mgr. – The Model Meat Market
1919-1920 McAtee and Ben Albright – Grocery and Meat Market
1920-1923 Oscar McAtee – Grocery and Meat Market
1923-1924 Stegman and Lloyd – The Palmer Cash Store
1924-1925 L.J. Dunkel
1925-1929 Albert Blanken
- 1929 – Gertsons Market – Herman Reith Mgr.
1929-1930 Gertsons Market – Albert Blanken, Mgr.
1930-1932 John Dageforde – Meat and Grocery
1932-1936 Paul Reith and Son
1936-1941 Walter Ohlde – The Palmer Meat Market
1941-1943 Walter Ohlde – Your I.G.A. Store
Millinery and Dress Makers
- 1884 - Mrs. S.M. Cooney – West of depot
- 1889 - Miss Thomas – Millinery Dept. of Boal and Soren
1899-1902 Miss Amanda Tate and Miss bond – The Palmer Millinery Shop
1902-1904 Alice Wharton – Millinery and Dressmaking
1904-1906 Wharton and Grother – Millinery Shop
- 1910 – Miss Rosa Lawrence – Dress Maker and Ladies’ Tailor
1917-1919 Mrs. Leah Braynard – Millinery (in the John Ludvicek house)
- 1880 – Williams and Clark – The Daily Register
- 1884 – C.F. Howe – The Palmer Weekly Globe
- 1888 – F.T. Cook – The Palmer Pioneer
1888-1890 J.H. Dowd – The Palmer Pioneer
- 1891 – Lewis Cobb and Andrew Freeborn – The Palmer Pioneer
1894 – J.T. Thompson – The Palmer Index
1903-1906 C.A Wellsher – The Palmer Index
1906-1909 P.T. Thompson, Geo. Sangster, Ed. – The Palmer Index
1909-1919 George Sangster – The Palmer Index
1919-1924 Albert Higgins – The Palmer Index
1924-1962 Albert Higgins – The Linn Palmer Record
1962-1978 Tom Mall – The Linn Palmer Record
Opera Houses and Pavilion
1913-1925 Ed. Chase – Chase’s Opera House
- 1925 - Marsh Anderson – Dance Pavilion
Painters, Paper Hangers and Etc.
1880-1984 H.D. Austin – Sign, House and Carriage Painter
- 1884 – A.C. Albie – Paper, Paine and Brick Layer
1914-1916 August Jansenius – Painter and Paper Hanger
- 1932 - O.C. Austin – Painting and Paper Hanging
John Jording, Guy Wilson and Roy Martin
Produce Stations – Buyers of Cream, Eggs, and Poultry
1890-1922 F.M. Snell
- 1905 - C. Precht
1905-1909 Earl Wilson
1906-1908 John Affleck
1910-1911 Chas. Tegeler – The Fairmont Creamery Co.
1910-1914 Aug. Jansenius – The queen City Creamery Co.
1919-1920 Earl Chase – The Fairmont Creamery Co.
1922-1930 Geo. Alwine
1925-1930 Albert Dorsett
1929-1935 Emil Damman – The Palmer Produce
1930-1933 John Progue Produce
1930-1973 Otto Wilgers – Swift Produce
-1933 – Webster Wilkens – Armour Procduce
1933-1934 Rufus Otwell – Armour Produce
1935-1942 Mrs. Emil Damman – The Palmer Produce
1935 - Scheele Produce
Between the years of 1953-1973, the following sold rabbits:
Earl Otott Emma Reith
Delmer Wilgers Lyle Bargman
Ohmer Tiemeyer Lowell Meyerhoff
Mrs. Beryl Harris
Radio Service and Repair
- 1927 – Evan Palmer – Radio and Electrical Supplies
1928-1930 Chas. King – King’s Radio Shop
1945-1957 Richard Winter – Steckly Hybrid Corn Co.
1946-1978 Otto Wilgers – Pioneer Seed Corn Co.
1947-1960 Edwin Hiesterman – Corn husker Hybrid Seed Corn
1952-1978 George Damman – Cargill Hybrids
1951 – Kenneth Olson & Charley Rand – Kansas Certified Hybrid Corn
1961-1978 Theodore Rabe – Northrup King
1964-1978 Herbert Meyerhoff – Asgrow Hybrids
1972-1978 Rodney Ohlde – George Warner Seed Co. Hybrids
1972-1978 Denny Trumble – Prairie Valley
1973-1978 Ronald Bott – Funk’s G Hybrid
1975-1978 Stanley Carson – Trojan Hybrids
Shoe Shops – Makers and Repairs
1884-1911 John Henry Wildstacke
- 1888 - N.A. Meyers
1913-1915 Fred Warner
1917-1921 William Rogge
- 1926 - Chas. Wright
1912-1913 Chas. Booth
See the section The Way It Is.
1958-1965 Henry Blanken
1904-1929 Dr. W.E. Grover – veterinary Surgeon and Dentist
1918-1921 Dr. L.L. Whitney
- 1914 – Ike McCollough
- 1928 – Roy Knox
1928-1974 Marsh Anderson
1930-1939 Carlos Knox
1930-1932 Art Knox
Windmills, Wagons and Carriages
1887-1889 O.P. Woody – Dealers in windmills, Wagon and Carriages
1889-1890 Harmon & Woody – Dealers in Windmills, Wagons and Carriages
1901-1904 W.S. Denman
1888-1904 James Anderson – Blacksmith and Wagon Maker
1904-1906 Gabbert and Slipsager
1904-1914 E.H. Hornbostel – Windmills, Pumps, Wagons and Buggies
1906-1908 Palmer and Slipsager – Buggies, Wagons, Grinders and Windmills
1909-1913 Palmer and Thompson – Wagons and Buggies
1913-1922 J.A. Casper – Buggies
I will lift up my eyes unto the hills,
From whence does my help come?
My help comes from the Lord,
Who made heaven and earth.
If these words from the Bible came to the people who settled Palmer we do not know. But we do know that religion was a part of their lives, by the immediate establishing of Churches...
Methodist Episcopal Church of Palmer
This class was organized in 1871, by J. Shyles and S.C. Chester, Dr. George Wigg was their first Preacher. Services were held at that time in a log house at Peach Creek Village. When the town was moved, the Church was also moved to Palmer. An application for Charter was made on February 7, 1881 by J.W. Dinwiddie, J.W. Bradshaw, J. Eaton, B.F. Rouse and J.P. Spiers.
In May 1882 lost were purchased and building commenced. Contract was let to W.P. Baker, contractor and builder, for $1,849.
Board of trustees at that time were: Eli Newsom, J.P. Spiers, F.R. Fish, N.M. Hammer, B.F. Rouse, Alex Spiers and Asbury Newsom.
Reverend B.F. Parlet was Pastor.
In 1911 there were 58 members. They had an active Ladies Aid Society of 38 members.
In 1916 a young boys Club was organized and named the Palmer Beavers, with 8 members. Mr. Robert McIntosh was leader. The club was under the auspices of the Y.M.C.A.
In 1958 the Congregation, which had dwindled until only a few families remained, decided to merge with the Linn Church. The Church building was sold and eventually torn down.
Some of the Pastors through the years are:
-1881- J.W. Porter 1925-1926 Walter L. Billon
1882- B.F. Parlet 1931- J.A. Shuler (retired)
1907- J.W. Stover 1931- M.M. Thoms of Clifton
1913- H.C. Wassell 1932- Merle W. Whitlow
1917- A.H. Christensen 1946- Goering
1919- O.P. Smith
1920- D.B. Cooper
1921- E.D. Landis (retired)
1921- L.C. Moore
1924- Ernest Stewart
St. Louis Catholic Church
This French Catholic Church of Palmer was established in 1879 by Louis Ray and others. Father Molier of Cloud County was their first priest. That same year, Messrs. Poutre, Ray, Adams, Cyrs and others built a church at Palmer at the cost of $700. Approximately thirty families attended services every Sunday.
In 1894 Father A. Grothores served the congregation, and in 1906 Father McAuliffe was Priest.
Immanuel Lutheran Church
After struggling for survival on the Kansas prairies for ten years, J. Schroeder, H. Kohlmeier and H. Herrs saw their dream of a Lutheran Church in Strawberry township come true on March 11, 1882, when Evangelical Lutheran Emmanuel Congregation was organized.
In the late 1860s the three pioneers had left their homeland near Hermannsburg, Germany and settled near Crete, Illinois where a Pastor Brauer was stationed.
Already in those early years land prices were particularly high in the Illinois area and thus forced our pioneer fathers in the spring of 1872 to follow the westward movement to Kansas, where land prices were still reasonable.
The lack o a Lutheran church was more lamented by these people than the poverty and physical discomfort they had to endure. They missed the spiritual guidance of Pastors Louis and Theodore Harm in Germany. Comfort was found in the companionship of several Lutheran families of former acquaintance living south of Palmer.
The approach of a second Christmas in Kansas and the lack of a church became intolerable. Wm. Hornbostel joined the Strawberry township pioneers i checking out reports of a Lutheran pastor at Marysville. The trip became possible through the kindness of an English neighbor who lent them his team of horses and wagon. But again disappointment. The service observed was not Lutheran.
They continued their search at Hermansberg, near Bremen, where they were directed to Pastor J. Mathias. They arrived just as the Christmas Eve service was to begin. Great joy! It was a true Lutheran service.
This resulted in a promise from Pastor Mathias to conduct a service in the Palmer area, but this service did not become a reality until May 26, 1874 at Peats Creek schoolhouse south of Palmer. The service included Holy Communion and the baptism of Hy. Wm. Herm. Meier, Maria Dorothea Mag. Herrs, Sophie Emilie Hornbostel, Albert Michael Elftmann and Friedrich, Rosa, and Lina Schroeder. For such a trip a pastor received thirty-five cents! Though the sum seems small to us, even this amount sometimes had to be borrowed. A number of services for the group were also conducted by a Pastor Pfeifer.
Immigrants continued to arrive in the area. This was possible due to a letter sent to St. Louis to a German family magazine, “Abendschule”, encouraging Lutherans to settle in this area. The letter also included a request for a resident pastor. This “prayer letter” brought Rev. F.J. Theo. Jungck, a retired minister, to Palmer. The Western District President of the Missouri Synod installed him as pastor on Oct. 6, 1878. The Strawberry Township Lutherans thought it best to remain a united group with St. John’s until their area became more settled. At about this time immigrants from Concordia, Missouri arrived. Among this group of pioneers were: Brandt, Lindhorst, Moorman, and Reith. The Kuhlman and Peters families came from Chicago. All these names we can still find within the community today.
The ten-mile walk to St. John’s was quite strenuous, especially for women and children during the winter months. Pastor Jungck therefore, conducted services every third week in Strawberry Township at two different schoolhouses. The first service in 1881 was on-half mile north of the present church site. (Also near the post office location of Luther). The other site was two miles east of these areas.
The Lutherans were gradually growing in numbers but discouragement beset H. Reith to the point of wanting to return to Missouri if he could not sell one of his two eighties, the total cost having been $600. His still living in a dug-out and the small corn crop for which he received nine to eleven cents a bushel convinced his that not in an entire lifetime could this debt be repaid. Yet not one single person had $300. Neither could they afford the loss of a family. So “together” they bought the acreage for a future church site. The prairie was prepared for wheat ground with hopes of producing enough to eventually pay off the land. With the settlement of the deed came the adopting of a constitution as well as a resolution to apply for a charter of incorporation. The legally incorporated congregation received its deed and the dream of three pioneers was fulfilled. Immanuel Lutheran Church had become a reality on March 22, 1882.
That very summer they built their first church. Fifty immigrants arrived by railroad coach to boost both congregations. Among this group we find the names: Bisping, Bokelman, Helms, Hiesterman, Lange and Ohlde.
By December 1882 a “student”, G.D. Dongus, had been obtained. His duties were to preach and to teach the children as well. His successor was C.D. Pfllug. Noon meals were provided at H. Reith’s and lodging was provided by H. Fricke whose home was a more reputable dwelling of lumber to the extent even of having an “upstairs”. The salary for the seven month period was $100.
Prayers for a full-time shepherd were answered June 28, 1884, with the arrival of Pastor A. Alexander who also served Clay Center every three weeks until 1888. This vacancy was filled by Pastor E.A. Frese from the Horseshoe area near Bremen who served Immanuel for twenty-one years.
Arriving in the area at about this time were: Beikmanns, Bekemeyers, Damman, Kolle, Kruse, Pruser and Wilkens. With this continued growth anew church was erected in 1900.
A ministry lasting thirty-three years began in 1909 with the arrival of Pastor Paul Stolp.
In the spring of 1909 another step forward was taken when the members called a teacher candidate. H. Linse not only taught the children of the congregation, but he organized a choir and band as well. By 1912 the old church, now used as a school, no longer was large enough and a new structure was erected. In the spring of 1917 Paul Mueller arrived as a teacher and remained until 1939. School enrollment averaged 65 pupils. Now a second classroom and teacher were added. Pastor Stolp taught the first three grades several years, then due to surgery a Miss Minnie Mueller became the first lady teacher. Hiring a second teacher continued due to added duties assigned to Pastor Stolp by the Kansas District.
A new parsonage was built in 1918. Again the church had become too small. It was redecorated and enlarged in 1925 and a pipe organ was added to the church to beautify the worship service.
Once again the faith of all was tested in the thirties. Nature dealt unkindly with the farmer and consequently severely reduced his income causing the work of the church to suffer as well. Yet it strengthened the ties of the congregation...Pastor and teachers took cuts in salaried to ease the congregation’s finances.
Other changes were taking place as well. The first English service was conducted. They were continued once a month on Sunday evenings. Religious instruction in English began in 1937. By 1939 one English Sunday morning service per month was conducted, and by 1941 this was alternated from Sunday to Sunday...until March of 1949 when German servicves were discontinued.
Plans now began for a new school. The first step was the buying of war bonds in 1944 for a building to be erected at the end of World War II as a memorial to the servicemen who served in the armed forces. All of them, with God’s protection, returned safely. The present day brick structure was dedicated in November of 1947.
The church property received electricity as well in 1947. The parsonage was moved onto a new foundation with full basement in 1948. The teacherage was built in 1950 and remodeled in 1957.
Sunday School became a part of Immanuel in 1953.
The present day organ, a Reuter Pipe Organ, was the congregation’s memorial gift on it Seventy-fifth anniversary in 1957 in thanks to God for his many countless blessings.
The church was redecorated in 1951 and again in 1974 when it was extensively remodeled and enlarged to meet the needs of its people.
The congregation faced the need to form a Lutheran School Association in the area in 1967 with Zion-Linn. Several factors entered into the decision. Buses could offer transportation to the town school. Rural enrollment had declined and qualified teachers were required to remain accredited.
Other pastors who have served this congregation are:
Otto Praeuner 1943-1947
W.A. Moose 1947-1949
B. Hobratschk 1949-1953
John D. Kovac 1954-1963
Harlan Meier, vacancy 1963-1964
Andrew Maken 1964-1966
Harlan Meier, vacancy 1966-1972
Robert Hoehner 1972-1975
Harlan Meier, vacancy 1975-1976
Richard Flath 1976-present
Sons and daughters of the congregation who have served as church workers are:
Rev. Wm. Bekemeyer Eunice Fields Beier, teacher
Rev. Otto Mueller Edward Merz, teacher
Rev. Theodore Stolp Ruth Merz Lemires, teacher
Anna Mueller, teacher Lois Reith, teacher
Edna Bisping Brinkman, teacher Carol Herrs, parish worker
Ralph Biekmann, teacher
Loretta Kohlmeier Rogge, teacher
Bernice Herrs Wilkens, teacher
Harriet Schaaf Bisping, teacher
The organizations within the congregation and the year they became organized are:
Immanuel Choirs: 1922
Immanuel Ladies Society: 1937
Walther League: 1941
L.L.L. Men’s Club: 1945
Present officers of the congregation include:
President: Lowell Herrs
Vice President: Wayne Reith
Secretary: Richard Reith
Finance Board: Firman Breandt, Veryl Mueller, and Arnold Beier
Church Elders: Edgar Helms, Clarence Mueller, and Wilbert Helms
School board: Reynold Schaaf, Olen Rogge, and Lavern Herrs
Trustees: Verlin Herrs, Larry Reith, and LeRoy Herrs
Immanuel consists of 279 souls, 190 communicants and 70 Sunday School pupils and 19 on Cradle Roll.
St. Paul Evangelical Lutheran Church, Palmer, Kansas
It was in the latter part of 1891 that a few German families determined that they would band together and form a congregation. On November 5, 1892, the newly-organized church was incorporated – a step which many congregations did not take so early in their history. The congregation was affiliated with the former Evangelical Lutheran Joint Synod of Ohio and Other States, and from this body its ministers came. At first the new congregation must have been served by a pastor or pastors who served as pulpit supply or who made this yet another preaching place on their circuit. Charter members that are known were: D. Damman, Klaus Brandt, John Harms, Heinrich Junge, Chris Pruser, Diedrich Moorman, John Knoop, Chris Damman, John H. Postels, August Flomer, John Fajen, H. Lenz, Fred Damman, H. Struber, H. Geoken, John Kahrs, and Henry Meyer.
The group was eager to have regular services. For a time they had services in the homes of the members. Later some services were held in the Methodist Church in Palmer. Already in 1892 the first church was built. The 24-ft. by 50-ft. frame building had a bell tower and bore the name of St. Paul Evangelical Lutheran Church. A parsonage was also built in that first year and Pastor George Bohn became the first resident pastor. Pastor Bohn was a very hard-working man. Beside his ministerial duties he also taught school west of Immanuel Lutheran Church and served a congregation at Fancy Creek and a preaching place south of Clifton. (Let us all remember or think about what would be involved in travel time in those days when men drove horses instead of cars.) Pastor Bohn served until 1900.
He was succeeded in the same year by Pastor H. Meineke, who served the parish two years. He also taught school.
Pastor H. Hennings was called in 1902 and served until 1913. Under his leadership Sunday School work was begun in April of 1903 and a schoolhouse, 20 ft. by 30 ft., was built. During his ministry the church was completely redecorated and new chancel furniture – altar, pulpits, and baptismal font – were installed.
Pastor J.Burkly came in 1914. He served only one year, but something was added to the program of the church: the Ladies Aid was organized, a group which used the German language.
The parochial school was discontinued during World War I.
Pastor M. Wittig served from 1915 to 1920. He was succeeded by Pastor H. Brede, who served form 1920 to 1923.
Pastor H. Kolm was next to accept the call to St. Paul Lutheran Church. He served from 1923 to 1942. Many things happened during his ministry. A Luther League was organized. English services were introduced. (People who have always used English have a hard time appreciating what a giant step forward this was in the work of the church).
On July 29, 1930, the church was struck by lightning during a severe thunderstorm and burned. The congregations, under the leadership of Pastor Kolm, decided on that same day to act in faith and rebuild on the same spot. About a month later a contract for the new church was awarded! In December o f the same years, the present church was dedicated. The total cost of the structure was $14,654. This seems a small sum now, but in those depression days getting the indebtedness paid was a heavy burden. It was 1946, in the 55th anniversary month of the life of the congregations, when a mortgage-burning service could be held.
By that time A. Rink was pastor, having arrived in 1943. During his ministry a new Baldwin electric organ was purchased. An English-speaking Women’s Missionary Society was organized.
Pastor H. Roloff began his ministry in March of 1949. At this time the used of a weekly bulletin was begun. A slide projector for use in Christian education was purchased. The church basement ceiling was soundproofed and a public address system was installed. The men’s organization, first called Lutheran Brotherhood, came into being.
Pastor Roloff resigned in 1956 as was succeeded the same year by Pastor L Folkerts. In January of 1959 it was decided to build a new parsonage. All able-bodied members were assigned to work. The old parsonage, the schoolhouse, and the barn were torn down. The new parsonage was dedicated that same year. The church was redecorated, the old pews were replaced, and other improvements were made.
Pastor Folkerts served until 1962 and was succeeded that same years by Pastor John Miskowiec. Time brings many changes: the congregation had followed its Synod through two mergers and is now a member of the American Lutheran Church. During the ministry of “Pastor John” the work of rewriting and translating the congregation’s official records was started.
Pastor George F. Dirks accepted the call to serve in November, 1965, the same month in which “Pastor John” moved away. During his pastorate the congregation reached its 75th anniversary. A basement improvement project was a part of the observance. In the early part of that year the indebtedness on the parsonage was paid. On October, 1966, a big celebration was held with Dr. Erwin G. Fritschel, President of the Central District, as guest speaker.
Pastor Dirks resigned effective June 30, 1969. Pastor Ralph Rasmussen accepted the call and arrived in July of 1969. He served until September, 1972. Pastor Eric. E. Christensen accepted the call in February of 1973 and was installed March 4 and is still service the congregation.
In this brief account the most important things have not been said. During these years since 1891, hundreds of people have heard the Word of God preached. Hundreds have been baptized and confirmed. Many have been married in the church. Lives have been changed. Men and women have served and sacrificed for Christ. There have been great joys and there have been times of sorrow as well. The important record of the life of the Church is written in heaven.
Palmer Missionary Baptist Church
The Palmer Missionary Baptist Church held its first meeting in August 1975. Services are conducted each Sunday morning and evening, with Prayer services each Wednesday evening. Harold Long is the Pastor, Dean Keightly is Sunday School Teacher for the Adult Class and Mrs. Helen Long teaches the Young People. These services are held in a building just west of the Palmer bridge with approximately thirty members in attendance.
The Parallel Presbyterian Church
The Parallel Presbyterian Church was organized in May 1872 when a group of Christian settlers began meeting together in the Donald Ross home for the purpose of expressing their faith and love of Almighty God in worship. Rev. Parring of Clay Center was their minister. For thirteen years they continued to meet in the home and in the school when it was built. In 1885 a church and the congregation quickly increased. Through the years the congregation has celebrated many anniversaries of their beginnings, and in 1967 on their 95th anniversary they celebrated for the last time in the old Church. On June 1 of that year the congregation merged with the Presbyterian and Methodist Churches of Clifton and became part of the Faith United Church Presbyterian of Clifton. On April 9, 1972, a beautiful new church was dedicated. But the old Church on the Parallel is not forgotten as members living in the vicinity still have gatherings in it.
Charter members of the Parallel Presbyterian Church were: Mrs. And Mrs. John Affleck, Mrs. P.A. Day, D.C. Frazer (Mr. Frazer was the first recorded Clerk of the Church), Mr. and Mrs. William McKenzie, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph McQuillen, Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Ross and Miss Katie Ross.
St. John’s Lutheran Church – Christ For All Ages
The beginnings of the Lutheran Church in Washington County dates back to the early seventies of the past century. Several families at that time settled southeast of Palmer and a few others at about the same time west of Linn in Strawberry Township. For a year and a half they knew of no Lutheran Pastor in this area who might serve them. But they laid the foundation for their religious life. At Christmas time, 1873, Wm. Hornbostel, Henry Herrs, Henry Schroeder and Henry Kohlmeier scraped enough money together to rent a team and they journeyed 30 air miles to Marysville in search of a German Lutheran pastor. To their disappointment he was not a Lutheran. However they were told that at Hermansburg near Bremen there was a Lutheran pastor by the name of Matthais. They set out at once for another ten or twelve miles of winter driving, arriving in time to attend the Christmas Eve service. To their joy they found that here was a Lutheran Church, a Lutheran pastor and also another community from their part of Germany. Pastor Matthais promised to come to Palmer as soon as possible.
It was on May 26, 1874 that Pastor Matthais conducted the first service in the Peats Creek School house. Holy Communion was celebrated and eight children were baptized. Pastor Matthais soon left Hermansburg but his successor, Pastor Pfeiffer came at intervals to conduct services. He was paid 35 cents per trip.
The first resident pastor was secured through an ad in the German family magazine, “Die Abendschule” published in St. Louis. Though the ad stated that the little group of Lutherans would not be able to support a pastor it soon brought a reply. This was Rev. F.J. Th. Jungck who bought a farm here and in 1878 was installed as pastor. At first he conducted services in the homes of various members. Under his guidance the congregation was organized in September 1878 and shortly thereafter the first church was built. An 18 by 24 foot building, with all labor donated was put up at a cost of $150. Pastor Jungck built the altar and pulpit our of dry goods boxes.
This first church also served as school until it was destroyed by a tornado in 1896. In 1883 an annex was added at the front to gain more room for the growing congregation. After a few years, in 1888 the enlarged church was much too small and a new one was built at a cost of $3,000. The former church then served as a school house until the 1896 tornado laid both the church and school in ruins. But immediately it was resolved to rebuild. Three months later the congregation finished and dedicated a new 36 by 60 foot church. In 1903 at the 25th anniversary of the congregation a new pipe organ was dedicated in this building.
The night of May 25, 1905 misfortune struck again. A bolt of lightning set fire to the church and reduced it to ashes. After a service of humiliation and prayer it was resolved to build again on the same location. Dedication of the new edifice took place on October 22, 1905, five months after the disastrous fire. Before the end of the year the church was paid for. This fourth church building served as a house of worship for 47 years without any important alterations. In 1952 looking forward to the 75th anniversary of the congregation, the building was completely remodeled and a 24 by 46 annex was added at a total cost of $22,000. Due to fire, tornado and increase in membership, the parochial school at St. John’s too, has been rebuilt several times. Classes have been continuous for over 90 years.
Service organizations in the church include the following: Men’s Club; Ladies Aid; Tabitha Society; Walther League and Lutheran Women’s Missionary League.
Believing strongly that “Our mission is to send workers out to spread the Word of God” this congregation has sent out 13 pastors and 21 teachers. Those who have entered the ministry include: William Meyer, Otto Hornbostel, Otto Keller, William Meyer, Otto Meyer, Melvin Meyer, Ervin Rodehorst, Everette Meier, Victor Lehenbauer, Robert Tewes, Merlin Reith, Wm. R. Voelker and David Meier.
The teachers are: Herman Meyerhoff, Henry Osthoff, Roy Oelschlager, Ernest Riekenberg, Lucie Kelly Meyer, Otto Meyerhoff, Wilmer Hornbostel, Wilbur Heitman, Loma Meyerhoff Meyer, Doris Lehenbauer Ness, Mardell Meyer Beier, Ruth Meyerhoff Senske, Wilbur Tewes, Jean Voelker Tegtmeier, Rodney Voelker, Allen Schade, Howard Voelker, Patricia Voelker Koch, Ted Voelker, Idonna Voelker Schmieding and Mark Koch.
Daughter congregations of St. John’s are: Immanuel, Linn organized in 1882; Chepstow in 1883; Winkler in 1994; and Clay Center in 1888.
The following pastors have served St. John’s:
Rev. F.J.Th. Jungck 1878-1884
Rev. J.G.B. Keller 1884-1934
Rev. Wm. R. Miessler 1934-1938
Rev. George Lehenbauer 1938-1959
Rev. E.W. Schade 1959-1964
Rev. C.W. Koch 1965-1972
Rev. B.N. Vasek 1973-
Now in 1978, St. John’s Lutheran congregation looks forward to 100 years of God’s grace. The congregation has been busy remodeling and expanding the church building which includes the Chancel, the Sanctuary, the Narthex and the exterior area.
Other members of the congregation are also busily involved. The Worship Committee is planning the different activities that will be held throughout the year. The Historical committee is compiling a pictorial history of the congregation and the Finance committee has been gathering funds and pledges in order to carry out these various projects.
The Way It Is... 1978
The Bank of Palmer
The idea of a Bank in Palmer was first thought up in 1885 by two prominent business men, who were leaders of the community at that time. They were Dr. W.R. Boal and O.W. Cook. It is related by some of the older residents of Palmer, that these two men got the idea after the safes of three private businesses had been blown up and robbed in the fall of 1885. Their idea was for the business men to pool their money together and pay someone to come in and start a bank where they could keep the money safely. This would protect the individual business an. The money was gotten together and the firm of Bissell and Kaiser came to Palmer and shipped in the necessary equipment for the Bank in 1886. This first bank was located on the corner where Tony Bebauche’s house now stands. Later the Bank was moved into the new brick building that was erected across the street south. It was here that the only robbery in the history of the bank’s 91 years of business took place. In 1895, burglars blew open the safe one night and carried away twenty-five hundred dollars. The next morning the door of the safe was found in the middle of the railroad tracks a half a block east of the bank. Tracks of about four horses were trailed south of town before they were lost. However business was not interrupted and the funds were promptly replaced and a new vault built.
The Bank was incorporated on July 6, 1887 and has been in operation continously all these years except for a short time in 1933. On January 1, 1900 the brick building on the corner where the hardware is now was purchased from W.D. Harmon and the bank was moved into it as the town was building up east of the tracks and they felt that the bank should be more centrally located. Here it remained until it was destroyed by fire in 1914. The same year the present building was staked by Mr. E.W. Henry and Mr. I.L. Morgan of Palmer.
The following is a list of Director, Officers and Employees of the Bank since its beginning.
Elsworth Snyder H.J. Meierkord Fred V. Lunger
Winfield Denton Roy M. Dean Harry H. Southwick
Chester W. Snyder E.A. Hood H.E. Ohlde
M.F. Southwick Jay F. Close Walter W. Meyer
Levi Lower Miss Francis A. Tegeler R.M. McIntosh
J.B. Lower C.H. Tegeler Henry Palmer
Harry O’Brien A.P. Hitzmann Herman G. Meyer
H.S. Snyder A.J. Sutherland Theodore Meyer
E.A. Southwick Geo. E. Raven Elmer Heitman
G.G. Hostutler F.F. Southwick Daryl Gross
A.H. Tegeler W.F. Turrentine Jr. Edwin Meyer
H.P. Schroeder John Nauman LaVera Olson
L. Pfister Bertha Van Winkle Linda Olson
The Palmer Garage
On May 8, 1972 Lowell Meyerhoff rented the east half of the Walter Peters Skelly Station and started a new business in Palmer, it is known as the Palmer Garage. Lowell specializes in motor overhauling for cars, truck and tractors. On April 9, 1975 he purchased the building from Walt who continued to operate the service station until his sale in April of 1977. The building is now used entirely for automotive repair. On April 1, 1978, Lowell’s son Keith will join him in the business.
The Palmer Rural Telephone Company
The Palmer Rural Telephone Company was organized on April 20, 1905. The minutes of the first meeting recite that a meeting was held on that date pursuant to a published notice in The Palmer Index, in the issue dated March 17, 1905. The meeting was held in the MWA Hall and F.M. Snell was elected Chairman of the meeting. The officers elected by ballot were Thos. Brown, President’ Ed Meyer, Vice-President; F.M. Snell, Treasurer; and G. Hostetler, Secretary. Directors elected were; H.C. Ohlde, Henry Palmer, James Molyneaux, Ed Jungck and August Meier.
At the first regular meeting of the board it was determined that after April 15, 1905 the hours for central to be off duty would be form 10:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. except on Sunday when it shall be to 6:00 a.m. and from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
C. Thomas was hired as lineman, rates were set at $1.50 per month for country phones and $1.00 per month for city phones.
The first telephone operator mentioned in the minutes is under the date of January 6, 1908 in which it was decided to rehire Maggie Fisher. Connection with the Swede Line was discussed at this meeting and J.W. Molyneaux and Henry Palmer were appointed to confer with them.
At the January 25, 1909 meeting it was moved and seconded to hire Misses Hulda Tegeler and Blanche Thomas as central girls. It appears that D.M. Milliken was serving as lineman at this time as he is mentioned as doing maintenance work on the system.
On April 9, 1914 Henry Palmer was hired as lineman.
Helen Young is mentioned as having resigned as central on September 11, 1922.
Other items of interest gleaned from the minutes of meetings are as follows:
September 22, 1923 Ellen Chase hired as an operator.
August 25, 1924 Emma Grote hired as an operator.
March 19, 1925 It was decided to print a joint directory with Linn.
April 29, 1925 Mrs. Jennie Abrams hired as an operator.
January 26, 1926 Evan H. Palmer hired as lineman.
January 28, 1927 Henry Palmer hired as lineman with Evan Palmer taking care of the switch board at night.
September 24, 1928 Lula Hornbostel hired as central.
February 16, 1932 E.H. Hornbostel hired as lineman.
February 17, 1932 The minutes mention Mrs. E.H. Hornbostel and Vera Wilson are operators.
January 23, 1941 Dora Heitman hired as relief operator.
July 17, 1941 Jennie Slipsager hired to replace Dora Heitman who resigned.
August 6, 1936 Motion passed to build a new building to house supplies. Herman Heisterman and E.H. Hornbostel to supervise construction of new building.
April 11, 1051 Arthur H. Herrs hired as lineman.
Two operators who served the company did so for a period of over 25 years. The first to achieve this distinction was Mrs. E.H. Hornbostel and the second was Jennie G. Slipsager.
Those who served the company as director and officers during the company’s existence are as follows:
Thos. Brown Ernest Schaaf Louis H. Reith
Ed Meyer Ernest Rodehorst Edwin Hiesterman
F.M. Snell Walter F. Hammel Walter Schaaf
G. Hostetler Roy Knox Elmer Heitman
H.C. Ohlde Moses Brown
Henry Palmer John H. Fajen
James W. Molyneaux Herman Hiesterman
Ed Jungck Herman G. Meyer
August Meier Howard Serles
A.C. McQuillen W.H. Molyneaux
W.H. Ross Fred V. Lunger
Christ Rabe R.M. McIntosh
Frank H. Beikmann Herman Ohlde
A.H. Tegeler Theodore Meyer
Herman Meyer Harold Hornbostel
O.G. Rowland Herman Bott
E.H. Hornbostel Jim Affleck
Thos. E. Larson Theodor Beikmann
W.F. Turrentine, Jr. George Ross
Those who served as lineman were: C. Thomas, D.M. Milliken, Henry Palmer, Evan H. Palmer, E.J. Hornbostel, Leon Ellis, Lester Griffith, Harold Hornbostel, Elmer Peters, Walter Langrehr and Arthur H. Herrs.
Arthur H. Herrs served as lineman from 1951 until the day service was discontinued on the system. He along with Theodor Beikmann also took up all of the poles and wire of the system aster it was no longer in use.
A complete list of operators is impossible to obtain but those known to have served are: Maggie Fisher, Hulda Tegeler, Blanche Thomas, Della Chase, Helen Young, Ellen Chase, Emma Grote, Lula Hornbostel, Mrs. E.H. Hornbostel, Vera Wilson Dora Heitman, Jennie Slipsager, Orphia Feldhausen, Betty Otwell, Donna Meyerhoff, Lorna Heitman, Lulu Petsch, Meta Reith and Hulda Tiemeyer.
In February of 1970 the board of directors consisted of Theodor Beikmann, President, Herman Bott, Vice President, Edwin Hiesterman, Louis H. Reith and Walter Schaaf with Elmer Heitman serving as Secretary-Treasurer. It became apparent to the board that it would not very long be possible to continue service with the magneto, hand-ring equipment in use as it was not compatible with toll service and that the time was approaching when it would not be possible to provide toll service as all with the existing equipment. The board authorized the secretary at this meeting to write to REA for information on dial systems and loans. A number of meetings then ensued with representatives of the REA telephone division. A public meeting of subscribers was held and the almost unanimous sentiment was to convert to a dial system and subscribers agreed to be will to pay rates of 7.75 per month for residence phones and 11.75 per month for business phones.
The board made every effort to obtain an REA loan for the rebuilding of the system and conversion to dial but the REA refused the loan on the grounds that the system was too small to pay the overhead necessary to provide management and maintenance of the system.
The board of directors then did an outstanding job of serving their community in that they sought a company to serve the area with the quality of future telephone service of the community uppermost in their mind.
On March 21, 1972 they met with representative of The Blue Valley Telephone Company of Home, Kansas and discussed the sale of the system with them. The Blue Valley Telephone Company agreed to build an all one-party system if the sale of the system to them could be worked out. On September 28, 1972 a special stockholders meeting was held and it was voted to authorize the sale of the company.
The Blue Valley Telephone Company cut over service to the new system in the summer of 1974. The community is now served with an all one-party, buried cable, touch tone dial telephone system.
The Louis Reith Hardware
Louis Reith came to Palmer in 1927 and began working for the Alfred H. Meyer Hardware and Implement Shop. He worked for Mr. Meyer for seven years, taking over the business in 1934. He kept busy those years making from thirty to fifty harnesses a year. His brother John H. Reith helped in the store for several years, then Paul Reith Jr. Came to work for him and was still with him when the fire of 1942 completely destroyed the business.
Louis bought out a hardware store in Clyde and moved its stock into his present place of business.
In 1948 Herman Mueller began working for Louis as sales clerk and shoe repairman, continuing until his retirement in 1975.
Between the years of 1945 and 1967 the hardware has been robbed three times and experienced heavy losses, but yet he is able to confess that the good Lord has been with him and blessed him.
Mr. Reith’s helper since Herman retired is the same helper he has had for 50 years, his wife Meta. Louis has also barbered off and on for 10 years, buying the business when Herman Reith died in 1964. He has been Palmer’s barber since that time until the summer of 1977. Louis has served Palmer as Mayor for 27 years.
Peters 66 Service and Farm Supply
Peters 66 Service and Farm Supply began operating on August 1, 1956. Elmer purchased the business of Raymond Smith who was moving to Marysville. Along with the gas and other products of a service station he sells fertilizer. He began selling fertilizer in 1961.
His helpers through the years are A.J. (Tony) Debauche, Alfred Herrs and Ernie Stolte
Peters Oil Company
Walter Peters purchased the Texaco station in February 1954 from Herman Ohlde; at this time it became know as Peters Skelly Service. Marion Slipsager was running the station at this time. Mr. Slipsager worked for Mr. Peters for the next five years.
Mr. Peters purchased the Happ Oil Company in 1963 from Andrew Happ. Dennis and Douglas Peters worked for their father after school and weekends. Dennis worked with his father until graduation and Douglas worked steady until he left for the Army in 1966.
Other steady employees were: Albert Reith, Henry Rogge and Warren Herrs. Mr. Peters had several part-time employees that helped him through the years.
The building was purchased by Lowell Meyerhoff in 1975. The station was closed April 23, 1977 and the contents of the station were sold at a sale April 28, 1977.
The tank wagon service was run by Dennis after the death of his father in May 1977. Dennis purchased the business from his Mother, Marie Peters, in August 1977.
Dennis Peters Barber Shop
Palmer is fortunate and happy to have Dennis join our business circle. Dennis was raised in Palmer, attending St. John Lutheran parochial school and graduating from Linn Rural High School. In February 1964 he entered Barber School completing the course in August. That same year he began barbering in Clifton, remaining until August of 1977 when he moved to Palmer to take over the Peters Oil Co. business after the death of his father, Walt Peters. He moved his barbering business to Palmer in September and has a neat, inviting barber shop located in the same building as the Palmer Cafe.
Otto Wilgers started to work in Palmer for George Alwine in May 1928 driving a produce truck. In November 1929, a recession in business forced Mr. Alwine to lay him off. In March 1930 he purchased the Swift and Co. Cream Station from Albert Dorsett and bought cream for 37 years, poultry for 42 years, eggs for 44 years. In September 1930 he Married Lulu Stunkel and they have lived in Palmer since that time.
In 1941 war broke out and along with E.H. Hornbostel and R.M. McIntosh, he was appointed to serve on the ration board. After four months it was obvious one person could handle the job and since Otto had an office in town, he continued the job alone. It was his duty to fill out applications for canning sugar, tires, fuel oil and gasoline, as well as food stamp books. He served on the board until the end of the war in 1945 when restrictions were lifted on most commodities.
In 1942 he was elected to the school board for District 87. He served as clerk for four three-year terms. It was during the last term that the new Palmer Grade School and Auditorium was built.
In 1946 he took the agency for selling Pioneer Seeds and is still selling thirty-one years later.
He has been the City’s Water Superintendent for twenty-one years and Gas Superintendent for sixteen years.
He has occupied the same business building for more than forty-seven years. Otto has the distinction of being in business the longest of any present businessman in Palmer.
The Herman Meyer Lumber Co.
Daniel and Thomas Lyle came to this area in 1876. We assume they began their lumber business in Peach Creek Village, moving their business to Palmer with the rest of the town in 1878. The Lyle Brothers Lumberyard was sold to M.D. Kerns in 1888. Mr. Kerns continued the business until 1899 when he sold to Mr. D.C. Meyer. In 1906 Herman Meyer bought half interest in his father’s business, changing the name to D.C. Meyer and Son Lumber Company. In 1923 Herman bought the other half interest, but Mr. Meyer remained interested in the business until his death in 1931. The name was again changed to the presently used one of Herman Meyer Lumber Co. Herman’s sons, Herbert, Martin, and Edwin, have managed the business at different times through the years. Herman’s son-in=law, Edward Beikman has also managed the business. The present manager, Marvin Moorman, began in 1959.
The U.S. Postal Service
The U.S. Post Office for Palmer, Kansas was established on June 13, 1878.
Francis Nadeau was the first Postmaster. Following is a list of Postmasters who served Palmer through these one hundred years.
Francis Nadeau – June 13, 1978 through March 9, 1890.
Clara N. Irving – March 10, 1890 through July 8, 1923
Albert L. Higgins – July 9, 1923 through August 27, 1923 (Acting Postmaster). August 28, 1923 through November 8, 1927 (Postmaster).
Florence M. Stine – November 9, 1927 through January 19, 1928 (Acting Postmaster). January 20, 1928 through February 7, 1957 (Postmaster). Name changed to Florence M. Martin September 10, 1941, by marriage.
Vera M. Otwell – February 8, 1957 through March 18, 1958 (Acting Postmaster).
Harlin L. Hornbostel – March 19, 1958 through the present time.
Rural routes for Palmer, Kansas were established in 1903 and 194. Rural Route 1 was established July 15, 1903. 24½ miles in length.
Carrier and Period of Service
Walter Groom July 19, 1903 – October 31, 1903
Edward B. Soren November 1, 1903 – November 15, 1903
Oscar C. Austin November 16, 1904 – May 31, 1908arold Hornbostel
Ernest Rodehorst June 1, 1908 – June 30, 1908
John Affleck July 1, 1908 – May 15, 1914
Robert M. McIntosh May 16, 1914 – January 31, 1945
Russell Johnson February 1, 1945 – May 15, 1948
Milburn Roetter May 17, 1948 – through the present time
Substitute Rural Carrier
James L. Knox February 1, 1907 – June 30, 1908
Arthur Balston July 1, 1908 – September 15, 1911
James M. Anderson September 16, 1911 – June 4, 1915
Harry Lockas June 5, 1915 – August 1, 1916
Earl P. Wilson August 2, 1916 – October 19, 1917
Orville Black October 20, 1917 – September 15, 1918
Henry Palmer September 16, 1918 0 April 14, 1922
Howard H. McIntosh April 15, 1922 – April 15, 1929
Russell Johnson June 14, 1930 – October 15, 1945
Earl Otott October 19, 1945 – October 26, 1945
Raymond C. Smith March 7, 1946 – March 31, 1947
Kenneth Olson April 8, 1947 – through present time
Rural Route 2 was established in August 15, 1904. 28½ miles in length.
Carrier and Period of Service
Spurgeion S. Hurley August 15, 1904 – August 31, 1909
Hans L. Anderson September 1, 1909 – January 31, 1910
Ben F. Albright February 1, 1910 – December 31, 1918
Orville Black January 2, 1919 – February 28, 1934
Substitute Rural Carrier
Joel C. Albright February 1, 19109 – August 21, 1911
Minnie Black June 2, 1929 – June 14, 1931
John H. Dageford June 15, 1931 – February 28, 1934
Route number 2 was discontinued February 28, 1934. This route was combined with route number 1.
The Palmer Grain Inc.
In 1878 we find two grain houses are mentioned and the 1884 paper shows there were five grain buyers in Palmer. The 1882 plat book shows only one elevator and it was the south one. In 1894 we have the Greenleaf and Baker steam elevator, managed by C.D. Potter and Sons. Later it was known as the Baker, Crowell Grain Co. In 1889 a new elevator was built by Mars, Miller, Douglas and Co. It was managed by R. Miller. This elevator was located where our present elevator stands.
In 1919 the south elevator burned and the firm of Baker, Crowell Grain Co. purchased the north elevator from Mr. Nye.
In 1949 this old wooden building was torn down and replaced with a more modern elevator. In 1973 this elevator caught fire and burned the main structure but the portion housing the feed room and office was saved. An all steel structure was built and many steel bins have been added since then.
In 1976 a group of local farmers and businessmen purchased the elevator from the Evan Grain Co. It is now known as the Palmer Grain Inc. Elden Langvardt, the manager, has been with the elevator since 1970. Bernice Tiemeyer, Roland Tiemeyer, Gerald Brauer and Loren Wiechman make up the task force, with Steve Meier as a part-time helper.
The Palmer Cafe
Vincent Mazeo is one of our young businessmen who has come to palmer within the last year. Vince purchased the Palmer Cafe from Thurl Damman in June 1977. He had worked for the Dammans off and on while going to school. Vince is a 1973 graduate of Linn High School and a graduate of K.S.U. in Business Administration in 1977.
Herrs Welding and Repair Shop
Larry Herrs first began his business in Palmer in November 975, following in the footsteps of his father, Alfred Herrs, who has been Palmer’s Mr. Fixit for many years.
In August of 1976, they completed a large spacious building that is convenient to get to. Here Alfred has his saw-sharpening business and Larry does his welding, repairing and manufacturing. Larry also has a portable welder for on farm repairing. These men are very talented and accommodating.
Lee’s Palmer Market
California sunshine came to Palmer in the persons of Lois, Dale, Ronnie, Bonnie and lately Connie Lee. In September of 1977 they bought the Palmer Food Center from Elmer and Dorothy Duis. Since that time the Lee’s Palmer Market has blossomed into a thriving business. Mr. Lee was raised near Eureka, Kansas and Lois at Clay Center. The Lees have been in Sacramento, California for the past twenty years, where they have been in the motel and grocery business. Recently Palmer gained another member of the Lee family when their son Dan and his family moved here. This leave their twin sons remaining in California.
Palmer Clubs and Organizations
Palmer American Legion Post No. 383
The American Legion was organized October 20, 1947 with 16 Veterans. These Charter members were: Raymond Smith, Elmer W. Ohlde, Waldemar Meier, Norris M. Olson, Emil Peters, Leslie Otwell, Arnold Lohmeyer, Kenneth Olson, Henry W. Rogge, Charles E. Rand, Kermit W. Olson, Theodore Meyer, Milburn Roetter, Francis B. Kieffer, August H. Rogge and Alfred Kuhlman.
Their main purpose is community service such as providing aid and equipment for the sick, which includes wheel chairs, beds, crutches, etc. The group sponsors Legion baseball and provides honor guards at funerals of Veterans. Each year on Memorial Day they place flags on the graves of all Veterans at the five cemeteries in our area, as well as maintain the non-church affiliated Peach Creek Cemetery. They take pride in marching in Veterans Day and other parades.
In 1952 this group had a building moved into Palmer to be used as their Post and for other community affairs. They have several money making projects each year and have purchased new uniforms.
The officers are: Commander, Milburn Roetter; Adjutant, Loren Mueller; Finance Officer, Kenneth Olson; Child Welfare, Francis Kieffer; Membership Chairman, Henry Rogge; and Service Officer, Norris Olson.
The Palmer Booster Club
This club was organized on October 21, 1927. Fred V. Lunger was elected president and Albert Blanken, secretary. Bylaws were adopted and plans for community improvement were made. In 1928 with 26 members they were the prime movers in getting a patrolman placed on the ten mile stretch of roads northwest of town and for getting the Peach Creek Bridge replanked and jetties placed in the creek to keep the banks from washing away. That same year they had a Christmas tree placed in the intersection of Second and Indiana and distributed two hundred sacks of candy to the children of the community.
In 1947 the club purchased land from J.E. Alexander in the west part of town and developed a ball diamond and general recreation park. In 1948 a cross, made by E. Beikman, was placed on Palmer’s big hill to be lit each Christmas. The last few years the cross has been lit at the beginning of Advent to Epiphany and at the beginning Lent to Easter. This cross can be seen from the highway east of town, shining out as a witness of our faith in Jesus Christ.
Each year the Booster Club cleans the parks on the railroad right-of-way, mows, cleans and repairs the ball diamond and decorates the downtown area with Christmas lights and ornaments. The distribution of candy has continued through the years with the addition of cash drawings. 1978 Officers are: Vincent Mazeo, President; Harlin Hornbostel, Vice-President; and Larry Herrs, Secretary-Treasurer.
The Linn-Palmer Saddle Club
Palmer’s loved and respected horseman, Clyde Chayer, was instrumental in the organizing of this club. Clyde, who also loves children, became concerned when so many were stricken with Polio in 1952. He promoted a horse show and pulling contest for the benefit of the Polio victims, which amount to $80. As a result of this show and the interest shown in it, the Palmer Saddle Club was formed and later chartered.
With increasing interest of members from Linn and Clifton, the name was changed to the Linn-Palmer Saddle Club, and received its Charter in 1965. They have a membership of 119.
The Club has been generous in their contributions to the communities involved, such as monetary donations to the Clifton and Linn ambulances, and the Palmer tennis court. They provided a picnic table for the Palmer ball park, also a shampoo bowl for the residents at the Linn Community Nursing home. Each year they give a trophy at the Washington County Fair.
Two horse shows are held each year in the spring and fall. They have a trail ride the first Sunday of every month and an over-night trail ride annually.
Officers for 1978: President, Bobby Ross; Vice-President, E.L. Newell; Secretary, Mrs. Ann Thompson; Treasurer, Mrs. LaVone Hornbostel; Reporter, Mrs. Ernest Wilson.
Town and Country E.H.U.
The Town and Country Unit was first organized in November 1952. The first meeting was held at the home of Mrs. Andrew Happ. Mrs. Wm. Borst was the first president. Ten members answered roll call with suggested names for the organization. Mrs. Laurine Oehmke suggested the winning name. Two of the group who are charter members are Mrs. Andrew Happ and Mrs. Cynthia Berger. Meetings are held once a month on the second Friday of the Month. Lessons cover a variety of problems and solutions in everyday family live. The changes learned over the years have been very helpful. The Unit has projects for Community and County betterment. They are: Cancer Fund drives, Heart Fund drives, Chest X-rays, Health Clinics dealing with blood pressure, arthritis, etc., sewing at the Hospital and helping at nursing homes. The Unit also learns crafts, attends workshops and enjoys fellowship with each other.
President, Mrs. John Ludvicek; Vice-president, Mrs. Luetta Otwell; Public Relations, Mrs. Veva Otwell; Unit Affairs Officer, Mrs. Naoma Richwine.
The Palmer-Linn Jaycees
This is a new organization having received their charter on January 19, 1978. As yet they have not started any projects but are working on a few ideas. Their major concern is community service. There are twenty-one members at present with the following elected officers: President, Charles Long; External Vice-president, Mike Woerner; Internal Vice-President, Gary Helms; State Director, Jack Dieckmann; Secretary-Treasurer, Craig Schmidt; Directors, John Hatesohl and Keith Kolle.
Happy-Go-Lucky 4-H Club
The club was organized on August 15, 1952 with 21 members by Mr. and Mrs. Wm. Borst under the supervision of the then County Agent, Mr. McClelland.
Four names were suggest for the club and Jean Voelker submitted the chosen name, the Happy-Go-Lucky 4-H Club.
Through the years the club has had 139 members, the largest enrollment being in 1976 with 41 members enrolling.
The first officers were: President, David Ohlde; Vice-President, Judy Rahe; Sec.-Treas., Richard Ohlde; and Reporter, Larry Wilgers.
Besides achieving the charter and gold seal, the Club has received 2 blue seals and a total of 21 purple seals.
Our present leaders are Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Carlson, Mr. and Mrs. Scott Ohlde and Mrs. and Mrs. Ron Bott.
It is impossible to list all the achievements of this club, as well as its failures, but the honors have been many in all phases of 4-H work, in the local club, in the county as well as in the state.