Kansas Authors Club logo Kansas Authors Club
Benefits Officers Membership Districts

Nelson Poetry Book Award

Hot Links
side bar



2014 Nelson Poetry Book Award
Deadline: June 16, 2014

Created by Raymond and Margaret Nelson

Please print, fill in, and mail the attached
Nelson Poetry Book Award application form
(PDF) with your entry.

A PDF viewer is available for free download online from Adobe.

2014 Rules for Competition are downloadable as a PDF file and are printed below:

Guidelines for Submission: Deadline June 16, 2014

  1. The contest is open to any Kansas resident (KAC member or non-member).

  2. The book must be original poetry written by the contestant, a minimum of 50 pages in length. Books including prose selections are not eligible.

  3. 3. The entry must have been published, issued in print. and available for public distribution within the two years prior to June 1, 2014. The book may be commercially or privately published.

  4. No entry fee is required.

  5. The winner will receive $100.00

  6. Two copies of the winning book will be donated. One copy will go to Mr. Nelson and one copy to the KAC shelves at the Spencer Research Library at KU in Lawrence. If Mr. Nelson is not present at the Annual Convention to receive a copy of the book, the contest manager is responsible for mailing his copy to him as soon as possible.

  7. The winner will be notified by September 1, in order to allow time for banquet reservations.
       The award will be presented to the winner at the 2014 Annual Convention and Writers Conference in Hutchinson, at the evening banquet on Saturday, October 11, 2014. If the winner is unable to attend, the award will be mailed.

  8. Mail two copies of your book no later than June 16, 2014, along with your completed this entry form (also available from the contest manager).

  9. Non-winners’ books will be returned at the convention. Please provide return postage if you will not be attending the convention.

  10. Mail two copies of your book and your completed entry form by June 16, 2014, to:

    Nelson Poetry Book Award Competition
    Roy J. Beckemeyer

    957 Perry Ave.
    Wichita, KS 67203-3141
    phone: 316-263-0049
    Send email to Roy

Rules posted 10/18/2013

Award Winners

2013   Sonny Kenner's Red Guitar, Kevin Rabas, Emporia, D2
2012   The Afterlives of Trees, Wyatt Tonwley, Shawnee Mission,
2011   Soul's Night Out, Nedra Rogers, Lawrence, non-member
2010   Lisa's Flying Electric Piano, Kevin Rabas, Lawrence, D2
2009   Snake in the Cradle, Lora K. Reiter, Ottawa, D2
2008   The Uni Verse, Tom Mach, Lawrence, D2
2007   Home Schooled, Larry Rochelle, Pittsboro, NC, D2
2006   voyeur poems, Matthew Porubsky, Topeka, non-member
2005   For Crying Out Loud, Naomi Patterson, Topeka, D1
2004   Dust Devils: Collisions With the Wind, Larry Rochelle,
           Overland Park,
D. 2, AND
           Oracle of the Heart
, Muriel T. Stackley, Kansas City
2003   Contrails in the Wind, Ruth Stunz , Wichita, D. 5
2002   Sixty Years of Poetry, 1941-2000, Laurence Harshbarger,
           Junction City, D. 4

See also:
J. Donald Coffin Memorial Book Award
Ferguson Kansas History Book Award
Literary Contest

Kansas Authors Club--A Not-for-profit organization for creative, academic, technical and journalistic writers. Membership inquiries welcomed