Kansas Authors Club logo Kansas Authors Club
Benefits Officers Membership Districts

District 7 News 2008

Hot Links
side bar

Return to

District #7

D7 2008
Literary Contest

District #7

District #7
'07-'08 Officers



2008 Meetings Summary:

  • Fall meeting was held Sept. 27, 2008 when District 7 and District 6 held a joint meeting at the Convention site -- Dodge House Hotel & Convention Center.  All members from both districts were invited.  As convention hosts, they discussed details of the 2008 KAC Convention, held October 3, 4, & 5, 2008. 10/5/2008
  • Convention planning meetings were also held in July and September with District 6 representatives at the Dodge House in Dodge City.

  • Spring meeting was held April 26, 2008 at Golden Corral Restaurant, 1727 E Kansas Plz, Garden City, from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. There was a guest speaker and presentation of awards in the District 7 2008 Literary Contest. Winners present at the meeting read selectons of winning entries. 5/1/2008
  • Monthly meetings of the Dodge City Writers Group continued throughout the year at the Senior Center in Dodge City. Workshops included a series on plotting, and individual workshops on writers block, journaling, and useful writing websites. A great deal of time was also spent on planning the convention.

Member News:
Feb. Member News: Lydia Gonzales

7th District Kansas Authors Club
2008 Literary Contest


Writers receiving awards in the 2008 Literary Contest conducted by District 7 of the Kansas Authors Club were announced at a meeting held in Garden City on Saturday April 26, 2008. A total of 28 entries were received in Prose and Poetry Categories.

Listed in alphabetical order, the winners are:

Amy Becker, Offerle : Prose 3 rd Place for the First Chapter of Book and in Poetry: 2 nd Honorable Mention for Free Verse; and 2 nd Place for Hiaku.

Clay I. Davis, Phoenix, Arizona (and Shields, Kansas):- in Prose: 2 nd Place for the First Chapter of a Book.

Joel S. Herndon, Dighton:- in Prose: 1 st Place for the First Chapter of Book.

Lorena Joyce Herrmann, Offerle:- In Prose: 2 nd Place Short Fiction, 1 st Place for Feature Article, 1 st and 2 nd Place for Memoir, 1 st and 2 nd Place in Inspiration and in Poetry: 3 rd Place for Rhymed Verse; 1 st Honorable Mention for Free Verse; 1 st Place for Narrative Verse; 1 st Honorable Mention for Whimsey and 1 st and 3 rd Place for Haiku.

Rose L. Klenke, Spearville:- in Poetry: 1 st Place for Rhymed Verse.

Barbara Lamborn, Sublette:- in Poetry: 2 nd and 1 st Honorable Mention for Rhymed Verse; 1 st , 2 nd and 3 rd Place for Free Verse; 1 st and 2 nd Place for Whimsey.

This years Judges were Cindi Christopher of Bucklin for Poetry and Dee Stoecker of Dodge City for prose.

District 7 Officers, 2007-08:
President, Amy Becker
Vice-President, Joel Herndon

Secretary, Pauline Fecht

Treasurer, Joyce Herrmann

Return to Top of Page