1878 History of Jewell County, Kansas

The following is a transcription of a history of Jewell County, Kansas published in 1878. It reflects the attitudes of the time. This is taken from a microfilmed copy. Some of the print was difficult to read and I have indicated with a question mark in brackets ([?]) when I was unsure of the spelling, particularly of names. Submitted by Patricia Seitas.

History of Jewell County, Kansas, with a Full Account of the Early Settlements and Indian Atrocities Committed Within Its Borders; Its final Settlement, Organization and Progress, Its Present Society, Churches and Schools, Its Towns, Streams; Topography; Soil and Products, Its Population; Township Organization and Officers, Its Industries; Business, Resources, Etc. by M. Winsor and James A. Scarbrough, Jewell City, Kansas, Diamond Printing Office, 1878

Richland Township

was originally a portion of Big Timber. Was organized as Richland Township, February 12, 1874.

Its First Officers

were: Andrew Green, Trustee; C.P. R. Dazy [?], Treasurer; John M. McRoberts, Jr. and T. McBride, Justices of the Peace, and John Wyatt, Constable.

The First Settlers

were Sam. C. Bowles, T. Bowles, G.I. Nelson, Peter Kearns, Peter Tanner, Nels. Cedeburg, John O'Roak, Chris. Ahrens, John W. McRoberts, Sr., John W. McRoberts, Jr., W.R. Scott, Sam. J. Sweet, Alfred Wilde and Urban Wilde, all of whom settled here early in the spring of 1870, some of them coming in February and the remainder in April.

The Township is a little inclined to be rolling, but as its name indicates, the land is rich and productive. It is well watered by John's and White Rock creeks, and good timber is abundant. It is thickly settled by an industrious and thrifty class of farmers, and the society is good.

Schools and Churches

There are four school districts in the township, all of which have good school houses, in which regular terms of school are taught. We have no report of churches.


is a thriving little town, containing one general store, a card of which will be found in our advertising pages, a post office, in which confectioneries and notions are kept, and a blacksmith and wagon-makers shop.

The Present Township Officers,

elected November 6, 1877, are Thomas E. West, trustee; Samuel J. Sweet, clerk; R.M. Wright, treasurer; W.G. King and W. Wilde, justices of the peace, and W.S. Wright and W.J. Bowles, Constables.

Background and KSGenWeb logo were designed and are copyrighted by
Tom & Carolyn Ward
for the limited use of the KSGenWeb Project.
Permission is granted for use only on an official KSGenWeb page.


Home Page for Kansas
Search all of Blue Skyways
The KSGenWeb Project
Return to
Jewell County