The following is an excerpt from William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas (1883), contributed by Diane Battershell. Thank you Diane!
William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas
was first published in 1883 by A. T. Andreas, Chicago, IL.
Location | Population | Municipal Townships | Early Settlement of the County
Elections and County Officers | County Lines and County Seat | School Matters | Press History | Churches and Societies | Agricultural and Other Statistics
Lyons | Biographical Sketches - Atlanta Township (Ahlberg - Jay)
Biographical Sketches - Atlanta Township (Lasley - Workman)
Little River | Chase
Raymond | Miscellaneous
RICE, the central county of Kansas, was created by the Legislature of 1867, and was organized August 18, 1871. Its special County Clerk was Edward H. Dunham, its special County Commissioners were Daniel M. Bell, Theodore A. Davis and Evan C. Jones; temporary county seat Atlanta, which was located on the north one-half of Section 9, Township 20, Range 8, west of the sixth principal meridian.
It was named in honor of Samuel A. Rice, Brigadier General of United States Volunteers, who was killed at Jenkins Ferry, Ark., April 30, 1864.
Rice County embraces Ranges 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 of Townships 18, 19, 20 and 21. Its northern boundary is 102 miles from Nebraska; its eastern, 179 miles from Missouri; its southern, 81 miles from Indian Territory; its western, 194 miles from Colorado. It is bounded north by Ellsworth, east by McPherson, south by Reno, west by Stafford and Barton counties.
Four counties lie between it and Nebraska; seven, between it and Missouri; three, between it and the Indian Territory; seven, between it and Colorado. It is twenty-four miles across it from north to south, thirty miles from east to west, having an area of 720 square miles. Its original area was 900 square miles. It embraced Township 22 in Ranges 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10, now Reno.
POPULATION (Organized in 1871.) 1880.
(a) Atlanta Township, including Lyons City . . . 1,335
(b) Farmer Township . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 876
(c) Lincoln Township . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 460
(d) Pioneer Township . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 393
(e) Raymond Township . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 571
(f) Sterling Township, including Sterling City . 1,702
(g) Union Township . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1,460
(h) Valley Township . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 809
(i) Victoria Township . . . . . . . . . . . . . 900
(j) Washington Township . . . . . . . . . . . . 786
Lyons City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 509
Sterling City . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1,014
(a) In 1871, from original territory;
in 1874, parts to Union and Washington;
in 1877, part to Victoria.
(b) In 1874, from part of Spencer;
in 1879, parts to Lincoln and Pioneer.
(c) In 1879, from part of Farmer.
(d) In 1879, from part of Farmer.
(e) In 1874, from parts of Spencer and Sterling;
in 1879, part to Valley.
(f) In 1871, from original territory;
in 1872, part to Reno County;
in 1874, parts to Raymond and Washington.
(g) In 1874, from part of Atlanta.
(h) In 1879, from part of Raymond.
(i) In 1877, from part of Atlanta.
(j) In 1874, from parts of Atlanta and Sterling.
The number of the municipal townships in Rice County is twelve, and may be described in the following manner:
Center.-- This township embraces Township 20, Range 9. Its northeast corner is watered by Cow Creek.
Lincoln.-- This township is quite well watered. Cow Creek and Plum Creek enters in its northwest corner. Its location is Township 19. Range 9.
Eureka.-- This, the latest formed municipality in the county, is Township 18, Range 9. Plum Creek passes through its southwest portion.
Farmer.-- This is the northwest township of the county, being Township 18, Range 10. The northeast part of it is watered by Plum Creek, the southern part by Cow Creek.
Pioneer.-- This township embraces Township 19, Range 10. Its northeast corner is watered by Cow Creek.
Raymond.-- This, the southwest township of the county, embraces Townships 20 and 21 of Range 10. It is watered by the Arkansas River and by Rattlesnake Creek.
Valley.-- This township embraces the west five-sixths of Township 20, Range 9. It is watered by the Arkansas and Rattlesnake, which empty into it near its western central part.
Sterling.-- This township contains Sterling, the largest town in the county. Its area is fifty-four square miles, embracing the south one-third of Township 20, Range 9, the east one-sixth of Township 21, Range 9, and Township 21, Range 8. The Arkansas passes through its southwest corner.
Atlanta.-- This, the central township of the county, has an area of sixty-nine square miles. It embraces the south two-thirds of Township 19, Range 8; the north two-thirds of Township 20, Range 8; the northwest quarter of Township 20, Range 7, and twelve sections in the southwest part of Township 19, Range 7. It is watered by Cow and Little Cow creeks and tributaries of the same. Lyons, the present county seat, located in the exact center of the county, is the objective point of this township.
Victoria.-- This township has an area of seventy-two square miles. It embraces the west one-half of Township 18, Range 7; Township 18, Range 8; the north one-third of Township 19, Range 8; twelve sections in the northwest part of Township 19, Range 8. It is watered by tributaries of the Little Cow Creek and the Little Arkansas River.
Union.-- This is the northeast township of the county and embraces in Range 6, Township 18 and 19 and the north one-half of Township 20, in Range 7, the east one-half of Townships 18 and 19, and the northwest quarter of Township 20. It is watered by the Little Arkansas and branches of the same; in the northeast part of the township is Mule Creek. which passes into Ellsworth County and empties into the Smoky Hill River. Its area is 135 square miles.
Washington.-- This, the southeast township of the county, embraces in Range 6, the south one-half of Township 20 and Township 21; in Range 7, the south one-half of Township 20 and Township 21. Its area is 108 square miles. Its southwest part is watered by Cow Creek; its northeastern by the Little Arkansas River.
The following is a list of the postoffices of the county in the fall of 1882: In Farmer Township is the postoffice of Glen Sharrald; in Eureka. Prosper; in Victoria. Kansas Center and Noble; in Union. Bangestown, Coopersburgh and Little River; in Lyons, Lyons and Mitchell; in Sterling, Sterling; in Valley, Alden; in Lincoln, Allegan and Chase; in Raymond, Raymond. New Cincinnati is a former postoffice in Center Township. Voyls, Wildwood, and Wayside are among the abandoned postoffices.
EARLY SETTLEMENT OF THE COUNTY.
February 28, 1870, John A. Carlson homesteaded the northeast quarter of Section 3, Township 20, Range 6; Andrew John Johnson the northwest quarter of said section; C. S. Lindell the southeast quarter. April 4, 1870. August Johnson located a claim on the southeast quarter of Section 25 in the same town and range; John Enrick Johnson on the northeast quarter of said section; John P. Johnson on the east half of the northwest quarter of Section 24, said town and range. April 18, 1870. 0. W. Peterson on the northeast quarter of Section 14 of the same town and range.
August 20, 1870, R. M. Hutchinson, A. J. Howard and J. E. Perdue (firm of Hutchison & Co.) stopped upon the Little Arkansas River with 4,000 head of cattle. Messrs. Howard and Perdue located their claims in January, 1871.
March 1, 1872, a Sunday school was organized, and preaching had in Mr. H. P. Ninde's house, Rev. J. B. Schlichter. superintendent.
In April, 1871, Isaac Schoonover built his house on Plum Creek, hauling the lumber for it from Salina, sixty miles.
In November, 1872 0. Y. Smith built his house, bringing from Peoria, Ill., the brick for his chimney, having the first farmhouse in the county with a brick chimney.
Buffaloes were very plentiful in the spring and summer of 1871 in Rice County, and their meat was of great value to the early settlers. Leonard Loomis, on the day he was seventy five years old, killed five buffaloes at seven shots.
April 19, 1872, at 8 o'clock P. M., on the Santa Fe trail, near Little Cow Creek, in Atlanta Township, Probate Judges (sic) Levi Jay, by the silver light of the moon, united in marriage Daniel M. Bell and Miss Mary M. Houks.
April 3. 1871, Rev. F. J. Griffith turned the first furrow on his claim. In the same month P. G. Carter commenced breaking on the southwest quarter of Section 15, Township 20, Range 8.
June 23, 1872, a Sunday school was organized at Williston and Magoffin's Hall, at Atlanta; Dr. Henry Fones was elected superintendent; Mrs. William Lowrey and Mrs. F. Chitty, assistant superintendents; Mrs. M. Williston, secretary; W. T. Nicholas, assistant secretary.
August 10, 1882, Mr. Nicholas was a somewhat prominent candidate for Auditor in the Republican State Convention. August 31. 1882, William L. Brown, of Sterling was made the Democratic candidate far State Auditor, and at the polls, Rice County. gave him twenty majority, while Republican majorities in the county reached as high as 179.
H. L. Millard, of Sterling, on January 9, 1883, was elected Chief Clerk of the Kansas House of Representatives.
June 28, 1873, The Rice County Agricultural Society was formed. John M. Muscott was elected president; William C. Summer, vice-president; G. W. Voyls, secretary; T. C. Magoffin, treasurer; Moses Birch, Alexander Clark, M. J. Morse, J. H. Ricksecker, S. B. Terry and T. H. Watt, directors. During the year its membership reached 100. The society held a fair at Atlanta September 24 and 25, 1873. In 1877, at the Arkansas Valley Agricultural Society, Wilson Keys was chosen president; William R. Lee, vice-president; J. H. Stubbs, secretary; Samuel Jacobs, treasurer.
The Rice County Horticultural Society was organized November 8, 1871: Rev. J. B. Schlichter, president; Dr. George Bohrer, vice-president; C. Taber, secretary; S. B. Hampton. treasurer.
The Kansas Cane Growers and Manufacturers Association was organized at Sterling, December 29, 1881. Its officers were as follows: President, Reginald M. Sandys, of Sterling; Vice-President, John Bennyworth, Larned; Treasurer, J. V. Brinkman, Great Bend; Secretary, R. M. Rugg, Marion; Assistant-Secretary, W. E. Fostnot, Little River.
January 1, 1872, James A. Moore and Ada Cartwright were married by Judge Levi Jay. An early marriage in the county was that of Amelia, daughter of Rev. F. J. Griffith, to W. T. Nicholas.
John Quincy Adams. of Massachusetts, located at the mouth of Little Cow Creek in 1870.
Nelson Reed, who settled on Section 15, Township 20, Range 8, in 1870, claims to have been the first settler that found the first corner stone in the count erected by Government surveyors, which was located on Section 18 of said township and range. He made the first trip among the settlers to Ellsworth for provisions.
Leonard Russell came to the county in November, 1870. There were then four white men in the county.
Union City, the headquarters of the Ohio Colony, located about three miles southeast of Atlanta, was the locality where Edward Swanson murdered P. B. Shannon by shooting him, August 27, 1871. Swanson fled, and was never arrested or punished for his crime, though James J. Spencer, the Sheriff, started to make the arrest, but never returned to Rice County. Spencer, the northwestern township of the county, named after Spencer, was afterward changed to Farmer. It is said that Shannon, a short time before this occurrence, remarked, "You must kill a man, before you can have a graveyard."
John Chitty, aged eighteen years, son of Ferguson Chitty, died August 28, 1871, the first death among the settlers.
In September, 1871, in Atlanta Township, George and Angie, twin children of Robert and Elizabeth McKinnis, were born; in Union Township, a son of T. Cowger.
The first train of cars that passed through Rice County was on July 22, 1872, the line having been opened from Hutchinson to Larned.
The Salina, Atlanta & Raymond Railway Company was organized in 1872, and Rice County voted to its aid $175,000, but it became defunct.
It is reported that, in 1863, a train of emigrants was broken up near the Plum Buttes, in Farmer Township, and William Magee reported to Historian Muscott. Two miles from there, on the trail, in April, 1874, he found in the vicinity broken and partly burned wagons, plows, barrels, tubs, boxes and earthenware, and that for miles there lay scattered around unworn boots and shoes, crisped by prairie fires and the scorching sun, with other articles, indicating the place to have been the scene of a general massacre, as a row of graves was visible, for some years after, near this spot. Directly east of the Buttes, in a basin surrounded by sand hills, a small party of Mexicans were surprised, and all butchered, at about the same time of the first event. Tradition has it, that in 1846, a man by the name of Jarvis was murdered near the creek that bears his name, by three doctors, who were his companions, from the mountains. He was said to have much money.
Blackman E. Lawrence, County Treasurer of Rice County, in October, 1876, proclaimed that the safe of the County Treasurer was robbed of $9,000. Treasurer Lawrence resigned November 25, 1876, and was succeeded by Patton Himrod, who had been appointed by the County Commissioners. Willam T. Drew, of Burlingame, who had been County Clerk of Osage County six years, was employed as an expert, and a report was made in December that there was a deficit of $18,126. Mr. Lawrence was arrested and held for trial. A change of venue having been taken to Reno County, the trial commenced a (sic) Hutchinson in January, 1878, and in February, on a jury verdict of guilty, Judge Peters sentenced the prisoner three years to the State penitentiary.
Of the railroad lands in Rice County the A., T. & S. F. Railroad Company had 169,459 acres of which 66,415 acres remained unsold January 1, 1883. The Kansas Division of the U. P. Railroad had 24,456 acres.
The statistics of the county for 1874, show 180,299 taxable acres in Rice County; 12,387 under cultivation; 18,040 bushels of spring wheat; 1,092 of winter wheat; 2,880 of rye; 1,488 of barley; 30,220 of oats; 18 of buckwheat; 450 of sweet potatoes; 3,975 of Irish potatoes; 1,840 gallons of sorghum; 2,463 cattle; 10 sheep; 1,688 swine; 975 horses and mules. Relief bonds were voted by the county to the amount of $4,000, the vote being 136 to 117. S. T. Kelsey thought 500 persons in the county would need assistance; another correspondent to the State Board of Agriculture reported 450. W. T. Nicholas, County Clerk, reported: There will be unusual suffering in our county the coming winter, but how many families I am not prepared to state correctly. There was not anything raised but some wheat, oats, rye and barley, and very little of the above-mentioned articles, on account of the grasshoppers. Another correspondent reported that three-fourths of the people needed assistance, and added: Having traveled over the largest part of our county, I find that about three-fourths of our people are almost entirely destitute of food, fuel and clothing. Some are now living on boiled wheat, and not half enough of that. The amount of bonds issued will not be half the amount required to support the people until the new crops come in.
The Grasshopper Incursion of 1874. The centennial historian of Rice County, John M. Muscott, gives the following sketch of the grasshopper scourge:
"This pest, about the time of the first settlement of the county, had visited us on one or two occasions, and departed without any serious injury. But when they came in 1874, the details of the sufferings of our people at that period, in consequence of this terrible visitation, have been so freely and vividly portrayed through the press of the United States, as to render any extended repetition of them unnecessary at this time. Suffice it to say, that for five days preceding the appearance of the grasshoppers in that year, unusually hot winds from the southwest prevailed, until July 25, when the mercury stood at 106 degrees in the shade, 116 degrees in the sun, at 2 o'clock P. M. On the following day the wind suddenly shifted into the northeast, and about 2 o'clock P. M. the grasshopper storm burst upon us; and they increased in numbers until the 28th, when the climax was reached. The wind shifted on the following day to the south, and remained there until August 1, when it returned into the northeast, and on August 2, a fresh installment came from that quarter, and remained until August 7, when most of them took their departure, the wind still blowing from the northeast.
"For the first three days after their appearance, the whole heavens were darkened with their presence and the earth with their bodies. They covered every tree and plant, and every green thing -- the prairie and water courses. They flew like hail in the faces of men, dashed themselves against every object, animate and inanimate, and as they rushed through the air or near the earth, and struck an opposing object, the rattle of their contact resembled the sound of a hailstorm on the roof, or the clashing of sabres in the scabbards of a squadron of cavalry at full gallop. Like the frogs and the locusts in Pharaohs time, they were every where.
"When this scourge had fairly settled down upon us, the stoutest hearts quailed before it, and gloom was depicted on every countenance. The plow was left standing midway in the furrow, and for a while all farm labor was virtually suspended. The most gifted pen and the most eloquent tongue are inadequate for the task, for language is too poor to paint the scene of desolation wrought by the grasshoppers of 1874.
"But the silver lining soon rose above the dark cloud. Early in September, copious rains refreshed the parched earth, and thus prepared the way for the most bountiful crops the ensuing year that Kansas ever produced. Relief to the stricken people poured in from abroad, and never was aid more timely and necessary, or even more gratefully received by any people, than it was by the citizens of this county, that fall and the ensuing winter. For our people knew and felt that their destitution was not the result of slothfulness or extravagance on their part, and that no human foresight could have averted this calamity. Joyfully and without any humiliation on their part, they received the bounty of others. The scourge of 1874 was not wholly unmixed with blessings, nor without some useful lessons. Mens hearts grew larger and beat with quicker sympathy for each other, in the presence of this wide desolation."
The first election held in Rice County was on September 26, 1871. W. T. Nicholas for County Clerk, received all the votes that were cast. Moses Burch, William Lowrey and S. H. Thompson were elected County Commissioners; T. C. Magoffin, County Treasurer; James J. Spencer, Sheriff; J. W. Holmes. Coroner; G. W. Poole, Register of Deeds; T. S. Jackson, County Surveyor; Levi Jay, Probate Judge; H. Decker, County Attorney; William H. Van O?mum, Clerk of the District Court. Neither Evan C. Jones or S. H. Thompson acted as County Commissioners, directly following their elections. Atlanta received sixty-four votes for county seat; Union City, about three miles southeast of Atlanta, had forty-eight votes.
At the general election held November 7. 1871, the foregoing named officers were mostly re-elected. J. M. Leidigh was elected a Commissioner in place of S. H. Thompson; Henry Fones was elected Coroner; W. P. Brown, County Attorney; Evan C. Jones, County Surveyor and Superintendent of Public Instruction; Rev. F. J. Griffith, Representative to the Legislature, receiving eighty-five votes and seventy-seven majority.
In March, 1872, S. H. Thompson was appointed to succeed J. M. Leidigh as Commissioner. In June T. J. Fulton succeeded W. P. Brown as County Attorney.
November 5, 1872, on the vote for Representative, F. J. Griffith received fifty-nine; H. P. Ninde, eighty-six; William Lowrey ninety-four. Since then its Representatives have been elected as follows: In 1873, Rev. M. J. Morse; 1874, Dr. S. M. Wirt; 1875, Ansel R. Clark; 1876 and 1882, Dr. G. Bohrer; 1878 and 1880, Rev. John G. Eckles.
Rice County at first was in the Twentieth Senatorial District, and J. H. Prescott of Saline was its Senator. Under the next apportionment it was in the Twenty-ninth District, and John H. Edwards of Ellis, and Solomon Stephens of McPherson represented it in the Senate. By the Apportionment Act of 1876 it was located in the Thirty-seventh District, and Thomas T. Taylor of Reno, J. C. Strong of Pawnee and Simon Motz of Ellis have been its Senators. By the Apportionment Act of 1881, with Barton and Rush, it constitutes the Thirty-sixth Senatorial District, and elects a Senator in November, 1884. It is the One Hundredth and First Representative District; it was the One Hundred and Fourteenth by the apportionment of 1876.
At first Rice County was in the Eighth Judicial District and was attached to Ellsworth County for judicial purposes. W. H. Canfield was then Judge of the Judicial District. In 1872 and since then it has been in the Ninth District, and its Judges have been W. R. Brown, S. R. Peters and L. Houk.
The division of the townships of the county into Commissioner Districts is as follows: First District Farmer, Eureka, Lincoln, Pioneer, Raymond, Center and Valley. Its population in 1880 was 3,109. Second District -- Sterling, Atlanta and Victoria. Its population in 1880 was 3,937. Third District -- Union and Washington. Its population was 2,246 in 1880.
County Commissioners -- Daniel M. Bell, Theodore A. Davis, Evan C. Jones, Moses Burch, J. M. Leidigh, William Lowrey, S. P. Thornpson and Alexander Clark successful contestants against W. L. Smith, Peter Goech, O. Y. Smith, Thomas H. Wible, George D. M. Goff, W. C. Willard, J. K. Miller, J. S. Chapin. James E. Perdue, J. M. L. Gore, George F. Miller, Samuel Cameron and J. C. Seaward. The Commissioner longest in service was William Lowrey.
County Clerks -- Edward H. Dunham, William T. Nicholas and C. M. Rawlings have been the Clerks; Mr. Nicholas having held the office from September. 1871 to January, 1882.
County Treasurers -- T. C. Magoffin, B. E. Lawrence, Patten Himrod and James E. Perdue have been the treasurers.
Register of Deeds -- G. W. Poole, J. Q. Manning, E. J. Arnold, John W. White, Moses Burch and J. F. Crocker have filled this office.
County Surveyors -- T. S. Jackson, Evan C. Jones, Kirk Himrod, H. P. Colegrove, Warren McClure, Frederic E. Pratt, and Jesse Brown have been the surveyors elected and appointed. Taylor J. K D. Howard, Henry Sherman. W. L
Sheriffs -- James J. Spencer, Joseph Taylor, J. M. D. Howard, Henry Sherman, W. L. Smith and T. A. Butler have been the sheriffs.
Coroners -- J. W. Holmes, Henry Fones, C. W. Hodge, Carlos A. Clobridge and W. M. Lamb have been the coroners elected and appointed.
Clerk of the District Court -- William H. Van Ornum, T. H. Watt, J. H. Stubbs, William R. Lee and S. J. Smith have been the district clerks.
County Attorneys -- W. P. Brown, T. J. Fulton, I. H. Ricksecker, Ansel R. Clark, John M. Muscott, John W. White, A. J. Abbott and J. H. Bailey have been the public prosecutors.
Probate Judges -- Levi Jay, W. B. Connor, G. W. Voyls, C. T. Daniels, S. H. Jones and George W. Clark have been the judges.
Superintendent of Public Instruction -- Evan C. Jones, R. D. Stephenson, Mrs. N. E. Harley and J. K. Farrar have superintended the public school work.
In the Kansas House of Representatives of 1872 Rev. F. J. Griffith represented Rice County; Rev. C. C. Hutchinson represented Reno County, which had been organized January 1, 1872, and on the 6th day of January had elected Mr. Hutchinson by a vote returned of 112, its Representative to the State Legislature. It was a patent fact that C. C. Hutchinson, et al., of Reno County desired the south tier of the Congressional townships of Rice County so as to make the town of Hutchinson an eligible county seat for Reno, and the interests of Atlanta and the northern portion of Rice County seemed not to be averse to parting with the said Township 22 in Ranges 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10, one- fifth of the territory of Rice, so as to prevent Peace, now Sterling, from having good chances of being the county seat of Rice. March 7, 1872, an act took effect placing the territory above named in Reno County, Mr. Hutchinson's bill providing for the same having passed the House February 14 by a vote of 59 to 27, as appears from the journal. Mr. Griffith voted for it, Mr. Hutcninson against it.
April 12, 1876, an election was held for the relocation of the county seat with the following result: For Peace (now Sterling), 336; for the Center, 457; majority for the Center 121. The location of the Center was on Section 4, Township 20, Range 8, and four acres of said section was conveyed to Rice County by Truman J. Lyon and wife May 26, 1876, and recorded June 2,1876. On June 17, an election was held for the purpose of voting on loan and the public buildings, and the proposition was carried by a majority of sixty-six. In August, 1876, E. C. Sooy of Great Bend had the contract for erecting the court house at Lyons, (raking its name from Mr. Lyon) for $10,400. The Commissioners appointed G. W. Fulton superintendent of construction of the court house. The Commissioners accepted the court house from Mr. Sooy, the contractor about June 20, 1877. County Clerk Nicholas took possession of his office in the court house December 20, 1876. The building is of brick and a neat structure. The court house yard is very well adorned with thirty trees. The county has a poor farm valued at about $3,000. It has free bridges aggregating about $2,500 in value.
A Statutory Anomaly. -- In chapter 24 of Dassier's Complied Laws of Kansas, Section 61 defines the boundaries of Reno County and its northern tier of townships, embraces Town 22, of Ranges 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10; while Section 63 of said act in bounding Rice County, locates Town 22, of Ranges 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10, as its southern tier of townships, making this same territory of 180 square miles in Section 61, in Reno, and in Section 63, in Rice County. By the last Section, Nickerson, an important railroad station, would be in Rice County, and the southeast corner of Rice County, two miles from Hutchinson, the county seat of Reno.
A future reviser of the statues of Kansas will undoubtedly take cognizance of this in-harmony of the two co-related Sections of Chapter 24, defining the boundaries of the counties of Reno and Rice.
In 1871, there was (sic) 130 persons of school age in the county; in 1872, there was (sic) 293; in 1873, 476; in 1874, 785; in 1875, 913; in 1876, 1,438; in 1877, 1,794; in 1878, 2 ,577; in 1879, 3,175; in 1881, 3,258; in 1882, 3,488.
The number of organized School Districts in the county in 1872, was 9; in 1873, 14; in 1874, 37; in 1875, 41; in 1876, 50; in 1877, 58; in 1878, 60; in 1879, 62; in 1881, 71; in 1882, 72, with 87 school buildings and 95 school rooms.
The total expenditures for school purposes in 1872, was $118; for 1873, $1,629; for 1874, $8,685; for 1879, $22,895.33; for 1882, $49,782.
The total valuation of school property for 1872, was $486; for 1873, $11,500; for 1874,. $13,600; for 1875, $18,546; for 1877, $21,701; for 1879, $38,016; for 1882, $49,782.
The average pay of male teachers per month. In 1882, was $33.33; of female teachers, $27.54.
Before the establishment of County Normal Institutes, in 1877, a great deal of interest had been manifested by the teachers of the county in their work, and many teacher's meetings had been held. During the six years of Normal Institutes, the teachers of Rice County have been in attendance upon their Institute in numbers ranging from 50 to 69. The conductors have been H. P. Colegrove, J. R. Campbell, L. T. Gage, H. K. McConnell and W. G. Hamrick. The school at Sterling employs six teachers, W. G. Hamrick, principal. Rice County has a Teachers' Association; its President for 1883 is Prof. W. G. Hamrick; its Secretary, Mrs. Annie W. Sollett. It was organized May 25, 1878.
Rice County School Bonds -- The total bonded debt of the School Districts of Rice County, as reported for 1882, was $34,732. This aggregate does not include the following lot which are a part of the Permanent School Fund Investment, as officially reported, and which bring a historic name for the town of Raymond, the station west of Sterling, on the A., T. & S. Fe Railroad:
(Editor: Table showing 20 bonds of $500.00 each issued in Rice County, School District 8, all on August 26, 1872, to Andrew Terry, for a total of $10,000.)
The foregoing described bonds were purchased on October 16, 1872, of B. Haywood, of Topeka, for the sum of $9,237, by the School Fund Commissioners. A Committee of the senate of 1876, consisting of Messrs. Peifer, of Montgomery; Johnson of Leavenworth, Barnum, of Bourbon; Judd, of Wyandotte, and McMillan, of Linn, submitted a report February 11, 1876, concerning this matter, which is found In the Senate journal, of 1876, pages 254, 255, 256, and 257.
In the House Journal of 1875, pages 541 to 820 inclusive, is a completer (sic) history of the matter, submitted to Speaker Haskell by the Committee on State Affairs, consisting of Messrs. Taylor, of Reno; Brumbaugh, of Marshall; Kellogg, of Clay; Huff, of Wyandotte; and Page, of McPherson.
In his report for 1875, Atty. Gen. Randolph stated:
"I have brought suit against said District for the sum of $2,762.80, with interest on $762.80 of said sum from June 1, 1873, and with interest on $1,000 of said sum from June 1, 1874, and with interest on $1,000 of said sum from June 1, 1875; which suit is now pending in the District Court of Rice County."
In his report for 1876, the Attorney-General, in a semi-humorous manner, explains his action in the premises in the following manifesto:
"District No. 8, Rice County, was organized July 18, 1872, and was then bounded as follows: Commencing where the south line of Township 19 intersects the east line of Range 10, west; thence south with said range line to the south line of Township 21; thence west with said township line to the east line of Range 11, west; thence north with said range line to the north line of Township 19; thence east with said township line to the place of beginning said boundaries including a territory twelve miles long and six miles wide, and having almost as many square miles as several of the minor Germanic principalities -- Schwartzburg - Sondershausen, for example.
"At the time said suit was begun, three other school districts (Nos. 38, 39 and 40) had been in part organized out of the territory originally included in District No. 8, so that said district then consisted merely of a sandy, uninhabited and treeless tract of land six miles in length and three miles In width, lying wholly south of the Arkansas River. Thus had the district been designedly (sic) dissected quite out of existence. When the above action was begun against School District No. 8, its corporate life had been so nearly gerrymandered out of it that it has never since been able to be brought into court and to have and enjoy its day therein. It had then almost breathed its last. Having no director, no treasurer, no clerk, no schoolhouse having thereon "a belfry and a good bell that can be heard two miles" (see Exhibit 6, attached to the above report, page 548 of the House Journal, 1876), that school district has become so nearly a nonentity as to be but the shadow of a shade and to exist only In name. Stat magni nominus umbra. It may to-day be looked upon as in fact defunct. Since its birth was illegitimate, it came to an untimely end by foul means, as was to be expected.
"Perhaps by some process akin to Huxley's theory of evolution, the remains of School District No. 8, Rice County, may someday be resurrected, a new corporate life be breathed into it, and the forlorn hic facet of to-day be blotted from its tombstone.
"At the late December term of the District Court of Rice County, for obvious reasons herein before appearing, I dismissed the suit begun against said school district as aforesaid.
"Who concocted the worthless bonds under consideration, and into whose pockets the net proceeds arising form the sale thereof finally found their way, fully appears in the testimony appended to the above report of the House Committee of State Affairs. The committee, at the close of their report, recommended that 'the Attorney-General of the State, under Section 2, Article 12 of the Constitution, commence suit against the stockholders of the Shawnee County Bank, the said bank having gone into liquidation; against the stockholders of the Marion County Bank, which bank has gone into liquidation; and against S. N. Wood, for the recovery of the amount ($9,237) paid on said bonds, and the interest thereon.'"
"After the above report was submitted, it was moved that the same lie upon the table, and that 300 copies thereof be printed, which motion prevailed. It seems that thereafter the House took no further action in the foregoing matter." Three-fourths of the members of the House were registered as straight Republicans, and the House of 1877 more decidedly Republican, made S. N. Wood a presiding officer. Mr. Wood, as a candidate for Congress in 1882, received sixty-one per cent of the vote of Raymond Township.
The Rice County Herald was started at Atlanta April 19, 1872, by a Mr. Frazier, and soon alter it was sold to the Shinn brothers. They sold it to Smith & Wallace, who soon after moved it to Peace, now Sterling. In 1875 It was moved to Hutchinson, Reno County.
The Rice County Gazette. -- Edward Bronson Cowgill commenced at Peace, January 20, 1876, the publication of the Gazette, a Republican paper. In 1879 It became an exponent of the principles of the Nationalists, but In September, 1880, it returned to the support of the successful Republican party.
In 1876, two monthly real estate papers were started at Peace -- the Homesteader by Smith, Stubbs and Ricksecker; the Valley Echo, by Clark and Page. These papers were enthusiastically devoted to the interests they represented.
The Weekly Bulletin. -- This paper, published by Charles D. Ulmer, was started May 17, 1877, at Lyons. He removed it to Sterling November 1, 1877, and it remains as one of the able Republican papers of the county.
The New Home. -- J. H. Ricksecker started this paper in 1879 at Sterling as a monthly. It was Republican in politics.
The Recorder. -- In September, 1879, Rev. W. J. Williams started this paper as a monthly, devoted to the upbuilding of the Congregational denomination of Christians.
The Lyons' Republican. -- Clark Conkling commenced the publication of the Republican at Lyons in September, 1879. Its location insures for it a good permanent support.
The Central Kansas Democrat. -- This paper was started at Lyons in 1879, by Edward W. Wood and W. J. Fuller. It is aggressively Democratic in its politics. Mr. Wood is the present editor and proprietor.
The Rural West. -- W. E. Fosnot and brother commenced the publication of this paper at Little RIver in 1881. It Is devoted to agricultural interests, quite specially to the cultivation of sorghum.
Rev. F. J. Griffith, of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in May, 1871, preached the first sermon in the county in a sod house on Section 9, Township 19, Range 9; the second sermon at the residence of Jeremiah C. McNames in the same township, 19; the third in the Atlanta Hotel, May 14, 1871. The first Methodist Episcopal Church was formed June 1, 1872, by Rev. M. J. Morse, where 'Buffalo Bill' had his ranch, at a point where the Santa Fe trail crosses the Big Cow Creek. The denomination (sic) in 1882 have sixteen organizations, with a membership of 663; five church edifices, church property valued at $11,000.
Wesleyan Methodist. -- April 21, 1872, Rev. H. T. Besse organized the first church in the county at Peace, now Sterling, with the following named persons as members: Rev. Henry T. Besse, Harriet Besse, J. W. McPherson, Matlilda McPherson, G. W. McPherson, Norman Walt and Orange S. Young. Rev. Thomas H. Watt, of this church, was the first settler in the southern part of the county.
Congregationalists. -- Rev. J. B. Schlicter in August, 1872, organized the first Congregational Church in the county at Peace. This society erected the first church edifice in the county at a cost of some $2,000. There are four organizations of this kind in the county; a membership of about 200; church property $8,500 in value.
Presbyterians. -- Rev. R. M. Overstreet organized at Atlanta in July, 1873, the first Presbyterian Church in the county with a membership of eight. There are now four churches with a church property valued at $7,500; members nearly 100.
United Presbyterians. -- This denomination has an organization at Sterling, a neat, small church edifice, and some forty members. There are two organizations in the county.
Reformed Presbyterians. -- One small organization of this school exists at Sterling.
The "Friends". -- This society erected the second house of worship in the county, having organized their society at Peace in February, 1875. Their number is 360 in the county. There are three organizations. Church property is valued at $2,500.
The 'Christian'. -- The Church of the Disciples have four organizations in the county. Their membership is 200; church property is $1,000.
Baptists. -- This body was organized in 1875, and in 1882 had eight organizations, with some 200 members in the county.
Lutherans. -- There is one church of this denomination in the county, with some twenty members.
German Methodist. -- One church; forty members; edifice $500.
Roman Catholics. -- There are four churches of this faith in the county; a membership of 630; a church property valued at $800.
Lutherans, United Brethern and Universalists are scattered over the county; the U. B.'s have an organization at Lyons.
Chapter. No. 50. R. A. M. -- Patten Himrod M. E. H. P.; W. F. Steven, Secretary.
Sterling Lodge, No. 171. A. F. & A. M. -- H. S. Millard, W. M., George W. Clark, Sec'y.
Sterling Lodge, No. 131. I. O. O. F. -- J. C. Steward, N. G.; J. M. McGee, Sec'y.
American Legion of Honor. -- Eureka Council, No. 358. G. H. Lynds, commander; C. H. Brown, secretary.
Knights of Honor. -- Sterling Lodge, No. 1058. J. K. Skiles, dictator; W. M. Lamb, reporter.
Enterprise Lodge, No. 548, Knights and Ladies of Honor. -- J. Allen Porter, secretary; John Weddle, protector.
Meads Post, No. 14, G. A. R. -- J. E. Davies, post commander; James D. English, adjutant.
Kit Carson Post, No. 20, G. A. R. -- Lyons. A. E. Magoffin, senior commander; S. J. Smith, Adjutant.
Lyons Lodge, No. 192, A. F. & A. M. -- Solon Gray, master; W. T. Nicholas, secretary.
Lyons Lodge, I. O. O. F. -- S. J. Smith, N. G.; J. F. Crocker, recording secretary.
The surface of the county is gently undulating. The lands in the county north of the Arkansas gradually descend toward the river, and they are nearly all tillable. The estimate of prairie is 98 per cent; of timber, 2 per cent; of upland, 85 per cent; of bottom land, 15 per cent. The average width of the bottoms on the large streams is about two miles; the width of the timber belts nearly one-fourth of a mile. Good springs are abundant, and well-water is found at an average depth of twenty-five feet. The varieties of timber are ash, box elder, coffee bean, cottonwood, elm, hackberry and mulberry. Artificial forests Are becoming quite abundant.
In 1873, Rice County had 29 acres in winter wheat; in 1880, 44,535. Spring wheat in 1872, 32 acres; in 1879, 8,873. Rye in 1872, 32 acres; in 1878, 2,285. Corn in 1872, 2,889 acres; in 1882, 64,303. Barley in 1872, 3 acres; in 1877, 2,244. Oats in 1872, 119 acres; in 1879, 9,544. Buckwheat in 1873, 4 acres; in 1881, 80. Irish potatoes in 1872, 49 acres; in 1880, 936. Sorghum in 1872, 29 acres; in 1882, 2,452. Broomcorn in 1874, 36 acres; in 1881, 2,425. Flax in 1874, 12 acres; in 1881, 221. In 1869, it had one acre in hemp; in 1881, 63. In 1881, it had 373 acres in rice corn; it had 6,223 sheep; in 1882, 9890 sheep; in 1882, a wool clip of 14,830 pounds. The value of its slaughtered animals for 1882 was $87,631; of poultry and eggs marketed, $19,254; of horticultural products, $347; produce of market gardens, $1,692. It has returned 3,355 horses; 413 mules; 2,947 milch cows; 5,628 other cattle; 7,694 swine. Poland-China and Berkshire breeds are preferred.
Red May and Turkey varieties of wheat have the preference. Lamberton Bros., Lyons, Report 112 acres of wheat, yielding 35 bushels per acre; Richard Early, 3 1/2 acres, 60 bushels per acre.
In 1872 the taxable property of Rice County, as determined by the State Board of Equalization, was as follows:
Personal property . . . . . .$ 47,900
1,905 Town Lots . . . . . . . 13,308
54,680 acres of land . . . . 273,400
Total . . . . . . . . . . . .$334,608
The abstract of the County Clerk returned the land assessment at $307,180.
In 1875, the assessed value of the property in Rice County was established at $702,379.33; in 1876, at $842,515.62; in 1877, at $886,459.06; in 1878, at $936,815.29; in 1879, at $1,109,841.26; in 1880, at $1,117,429.23; in 1881, at $1,253,897.92; in 1882, at $1,540,673.44.
In 1870, there was a census return of five persons in Rice County; in 1875 there were 2,453; in 1880, 9,292, of whom 9,235 were white, of males 21 years of age and over, of colored there was 12; of foreign birth, 404; natives, 2,041. The returns of the assessors of population for 1881 was 8,114; for 1882, it was 8,546.
In Sterling Township in May, 1872, William P. Edwards settled on Section 18, Township 21, Range 8, about three miles from Peace. At that time, What is now Sterling Township contained seven families, and on the town site of Peace A. G. Landis had his store building partly finished, which was the
(Image of Public School, Sterling, Kansas)
only trace of civilization. Rev. J. B. Schlicter was a clerk in the store of Mr. Landis. Mr. Edwards, in 1876, said: "We have now a schoolhouse on section 18, and two weeks more of school will make a six months' school this season, with only one week's vacation, and this section has four families and twenty-two children living on it, and has furnished seventeen scholars from it who have been in regular attendance for the last term."
A prominent Friend, Rev. J. B. Schlicter, Congregationalist, and Rev. Thomas H. Watt, Wesleyan Methodist, were the locators of Peace.
April 18, 1876, at chambers, in the City of Marion Centre, Judge Samuel R. Peters issued a decree of court incorporating the City of Sterling, which decree Was published in the Rice County Gazette, and which declared: "Said town of Peace, in the County of Rice and State of Kansas, incorporated as a city of the third class, under the name and style of The City of Sterling, "and do hereby designate its metes and bounds as follows, to-wit: Section twenty-one (21) Township twenty-one (21) South, of Range eight (8) West, in Rice County, Kansas."
He ordered an election for city officers to be held in the office of "Reck's Cottage" on May 10, designating J. L. Burwell, J. E. Davies and Patten Himrod as Judges; Kirk Himrod and J. H. Smith, Clerks; W. A. English, W. B. Hadlock and A. G. Landis as a Board of Canvassers. The officers elected were as follows: Councilmen, W. H. Lape, receiving 69 votes; E. B. Cowgill, 63; A. G. Landis, 58; W. H. Page, 39; Patten Himrod, 38; W. M. Lamb was elected Police Judge; J. S. Chapin, Mayor, each receiving 36 votes.
At the city election held April 2, 1883, R. F. Bond was elected Mayor; W. A. Thomas, Police Judge; J. G. Skiles, John De Ford, P. P. Truehart, J. C. Turner and D. S. Knouse, Councilmen. There were 224 votes polled.
When the name of this town was changed it was in honor of Sterling Rosan, one of its early settlers. The town of Sterling is 230 miles southwest of Atchison; 253 miles from Kansas City, and is a railroad station on the A., T. & S. F. R. R., of present and prospective great importance.
Ten years ago it could scarcely be called a hamlet. In 1880, its population was 1,014; in 1883, its estimated population is 1,500. Its business may be summarized in the spring of 1883, as follows: Three banks, two architects and builders, six grocery stores, three hardware stores, three jewelry and music stores, four dry goods stores, one furniture store, three hotels, one druggist, two shoemakers, and other artisans found in a first-class village.
There is an elevator, known as the Davenport Elevator, built in 1878, by Dow, Hancock & Gilman, now (1883), run by Charles Arnold, the present proprietor.
There are two flouring mills; the Crystal Mills and Keystone Mills. Other industries.
Syrup Works. -- Clements & Eustis, proprietors. In July, 1881, these works were built at a cost of $13,000, and opened in August. The daily capacity of the works is 2,000 gallons of syrup. The machinery is driven by a 50-horse power, the steam is supplied by two 100-horse power boilers, immense coils of steam pipe are used for heating the different tanks and pans used in the second and third stories of the building. The proprietors have raised a large portion of the cane they manufactured into syrup, and in 1883, intend planting 700 acres. In order to utilize the large amount of power that remains idle when the works are not running, the proprietors propose to put in a large amount of mill machinery, for the purpose of manufacturing flour.
Sugar Factory. - Reginald M. Sandys & Co., of New Orleans, have an extensive stone sugar factory, twenty-five feet in height, 40x130 feet. The cost of the building and machinery is some $40,000. The adaptability of the soil and climate of Central Kansas for the production of that kind of cane, susceptible of making an excellent quality of syrup, and also sugar has been placed beyond question. In 1882, Mr. A. J. Decker, a special agent of the United States Agricultural Department, visited Kansas, and in a letter bearing date, December 26, 1882, to Col. A. S. Johnson, Land Commissioner of the A., T. & S. F. R. R., he says:
"Replying to your request for information on the sorghum interest in the country, as to the success in the production of sugar, and the advantages of Kansas in producing this crop, I am pleased to answer:
That during the past year the obstacles in the way of making sugar from sorghum have been greatly overcome, manufacturers producing one thousand pounds of first quality dry sugar to the acre of cane with as much certainty as flour is produced from wheat.
As to the advantages of Kansas for growing sorghum, I find the soil and climate especially adapted to this crop. The planting season commences about the 1st of April, and continues until July, giving a working season of fully ninety days. The dry weather and almost constant sunshine of the fall season develops a juice testing from 10!B to 14!B, with an average above 12!B, while the average of the other States visited did not exceed an average of 9!B.
This advantage may be more plainly understood by a statement of the fact that 9!B requires ten gallons of juice for one gallon of syrup, juice testing 12!B, requiring less than six gallons.
And I have taken notes of the largest yield per acre, and find that J. W. Chapman, five and a half miles from Sterling, raised 67,500 pounds of sorghum on one acre, which is larger than any yield yet reported to me.
Another great advantage is the large quantity of seed and its quality. The amounts reported were from twenty to forty bushels to the acre, and sixty pounds per bushel. It was considered by most persons engaged in the business, that the seed was worth as much as it cost to raise the cane and deliver it at the mill.
Owing to the dry fall weather, again, the bagasse furnishes all needful fuel, nothing else being used. I was assured by the large factories that the cost of producing syrups was less than 20 cents per gallon.
With these natural advantages, and with the aid of the new developments in producing sugar from the sorghum, which I understand are to be applied in three of the largest factories in Kansas, this coming season of 1883, I am satisfied will show results far ahead of any yet shown. In the near future, Kansas can not fail to rank high as a sugar-producing State; and when these advantages become known, there will be a sugar boom in Kansas that will shake the entire country.
Mr. Sandys, the resident partner of Sandys & Co., a practical sugar manufacturer and chemist, regards this region of Kansas almost equal to Louisiana in producing cane, and is not subject to the calamities that so often and so destructively injure the crop in that State."
In the latter part of March, 1883, Mr. Sandys sold this establishment to Eastern parties, represented by P. H. Kellogg, of Boston, J. W. Langley, John Layman and M. A. Scoville, of Champaign, Ill. These purchaser expect to adapt the works to the manufacture of sugar from the sorghum syrup by the process that obtains at the Champaign works, and will put in additional machinery.
W. P. CLEMENT, general superintendent Sterling Syrup Works, came to Sterling in February, 1881, and soon became engaged in the above business. He was born in Columbus, Columbia Co., Wis., November 14, 1854, where he lived until 1868, when his parents moved to Monticello, Green Co., Wis., and lived until he came to Kansas. Married May 24, 1874, to Miss Alice Pierce, of Dayton, Green CO., Wis. They have two children -- Arthur P., born August 7, 1875, and Earle, born November 16, 1880. He is a member of Temple of Honor. The Sterling Syrup Works were erected in 1881; size of building, 36x64 feet and an L 36x35 feet, also a mill room 16x70 feet. Capacity, 2,000 gallons in twenty-four hours. Manufactured in season 1882, 30,000 gallons. During business season they employ sixty men. They raise their own cane, as the above company own 640 acres of land.
C. B. DONALDSON, proprietor of the Green Mountain House, came to Manhattan, Kan., in 1875 and kept the Adams House four and a half years, thence went to Denver, Col., where he became master of transportation on Denver and N. O. R. R. a year; returned to Manhattan a short time, thence to Sterling, where he opened the above hotel October 9, 1882. He was born in New York State in 1835, his parents removing to Michigan when he was three months old. Was raised in Michigan as a farmer. When eighteen years old he went into the hotel business with his father, until he enlisted in 1861 in Company F, Second Michigan Volunteer Infantry; transferred and promoted to Second Lieutenant, Eighth Michigan Cavalry; participated in all the battles of his command. He was mustered out in the fall of 1864. He then went West and engaged on the U. P. R. R. as conductor two years, then master of transportation a year, thence to San Francisco, Cal., in the same capacity, for the Central Pacific R. R. a year, when he came to Denver, Col., where we leave him as conductor and train dispatcher on the K. P. R. R. five years. He married in 1875 Miss Clara Lord, of Worcester, Mass. He is a member of all Masonic Orders up to and including the Knights Templar. He served as Postmaster of Holly, Mich., eight years.
HENRY T. DUNLAP, farmer and stock raiser, Section 10, Township 21, Range 8 west, P. O. Sterling. He came this place February 26, 1876; now has 160 acres of land, 145 of which is cultivated. He is the most extensive dealer in broom corn in Rice County. In 1882 he bought and shipped 550 tons of the product. In 1881, he raised twenty-three tons on 100 acres of ground, which he sold at $75 per ton. In 1882 he raised eleven tons on 100 acres of ground and realized $100 per ton. He was born in Knox County, Ill., March 26, 1843, and was raised in his native county on a farm. Married in 1868, to Miss Maria Humphreys, of Ellinwood, Peoria Co., Ill. They have four children -- William W., Andrew H., Mary H. and Florence E. He is a member of the Congregational Church, K. of H. and K. & L. of H. He is Township Trustee and Assessor of his town.
W. Q. ELLIOT came to Sterling October 1, 1873. He has followed farming and stock raising and banking since. He owns a farm of 1,700 acres in Rice and Reno counties where he keeps a large amount of improved stock. His residence is in Reno County. He was born in Wayne County, Ind., in 1837; raised and educated in his native State and followed teaching in early life. He was married in 1858 to Miss Rebecca J. Jackson, of his native county. They have eleven sons and one daughter -- Salina M., Mark H., Joseph W. J., Cassius M. C., Lincoln L., Sylvester J., William Q., Jr., Charles S., Clarkson T., Caleb B., Laban M. and Stanley P. They are members of the Quaker Church. The Rice County Bank, a private institution owned and operated by Mr. W. Q. Elliott, was opened for business in June 1879. Eastern correspondents are Chemical National of New York City, Bank of Kansas City, Mo.
J. K. FARRAR, Superintendent of Public Schools, came to this State, April 1, 1874, settled on a farm in Reno County, and followed agricultural pursuits for a year, then taught the Ashland school for six years, elected Superintendent of Schools in the fall of 1880; re-elected in the fall of 1882; he was born in Jackson County, Ohio, February 24, 1845; he was raised on a farm and educated in Gallia Academy, Gallia County, Ohio; graduating in 1867, afterward made teaching his profession until be came to Kansas. He enlisted in September, 1861, in Company A, Fifty-sixth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and participated in the sieges of Corinth, Vicksburg, battles of Mansfield. Cane River and Monnett's Ferry. Discharged May 7, 1866. Married in 1867, Miss Lucy Venters, of Portland, Ohio. They have five children Maggie, Mary A., Alice J., Elizabeth E. and Laura 0. He is a member of Meade Post No. 14, G. A. R.
MRS. S. C. FISHER, dealer in general line of millinery and ladies furnishing goods. She opened trade in March, 1877, erected her store building in the summer of 1880, size of the building 20x50 feet, built of brick, two stories high at a cost of $1,600. She carries an average stock of $2,000. She was born in Lewis County, W. Va., in 1845, but raised in Lee and Van Buren counties, Iowa, going there with parents in 1849. She was married in 1880, to Mr. Alex Fisher, of Pennsylvania; her husband died in 1864. From Iowa, she moved to Scotland County, Mo., and lived until she came to Kansas. Mr. Fisher enlisted in 1861, as a drummer in Company F, Twenty-first Regiment Missouri Volunteers, and served three years. Re-enlisted last year of the war and was lost or killed as he was never heard from afterward.
GEORGE GALL, dealer in dry goods and general merchandise, opened trade in Hutchinson, Kansas, in 1875. Removed to Sterling, in March, 1879, where he began business. He occupies rooms 20x75 feet, and employs five men in the business; carries an average stock of $15,000 to $20,000. Mr. Gall first located in Lawrence, Kansas, in 1870, where he embarked in general merchandise five years. He was born in Scotland, July 2, 1839; came to America in 1860, located in Milwaukee, Wis., where he clerked in the dry goods and hardware business until he came to Kansas. He has one son -- Lewis J. Gall. Mr. G. is a member and elder in the Presbyterian Church at Sterling, Kan.
L. HARRIMAN, physician and surgeon, first came to Sterling in January, 1876, where he has since practiced medicine. Born in Easton, Preble Co., Ohio, December 31, 1816, was raised and studied in native place; began studying medicine at the age of eighteen years, read with a Dr. Cox until twenty-one years old and practiced in the meantime, after he had practiced medicine eight years, he took a course in Rush Medical College, at Chicago, Ill. He has practiced his profession in Wayne. Henry and Madison counties, Ind., being a practitioner seventeen years, in one place. Married in April, 1837, to Miss Elizabeth Swafford, of Wayne County, Ind. They have one son -- George M. His wife died in 1849. Again married in August, 1851, to Mrs. Angelina Graham, of Wheeling, Ind. They have three children -- Rena, married to Mr. Cowgill, of Sterling; Benjamin F., a physician and graduate, College Physicians and Surgeons of Keokuk, Iowa, and Flora T. He and his wife are members of the Congregational Church of Sterling. He was proprietor of the city drug store five years.
WILSON KEYS, farmer and stock-raiser. His farm joins town site on the south, contains 160 acres; has 240 acres near Arkansas River. He first came to Sterling in June, 1874. Makes stock-feeding a specialty. He was born in Jefferson County, Pa., in January, 1830; reared a farmer; lived in native county until 1857, at which date he came to Doniphan County, Kan., engaging in various occupations until the fall of 1858. He saw much of the border warfare, being a member of Kansas State Militia for protection of Free-state settlers. He afterward returned to Pennsylvania, and lived there until he came to Sterling. He enlisted in first call for three months men in April, 1861, Company K, Eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. Re-enlisted Company F, Eighty-second Pennsylvania Volunteer infantry, participated in all battles of his command until battle at Cold Harbor, when he was sent to hospital. Mustered out September 16, 1865. He is a member of Meade Post No. 14, G. A. R. Married 1843, to Miss Eliza Burnham, of Clarion County. Pa. They have two children -- Fred C. and Edwin E.; both now attending Sterling High School.
WATSON M. LAMB, physician and surgeon and dealer in general line of drugs, medicines, druggists' sundries and school books, opened trade November 1. 1882; carries on an average stock of $2,500. He first located at Douglass, Butler Co., Kan., in 1869. Removed to Sterling in the fall of 1875. He was born In Geauga County, Ohio, May 2, 1845. He was married in 1889, to Miss Addie E. Douglass, of Williamson, Wayne Co., N. Y. They have two children -- Bertha Amelia and George Esterly.
W. H. LAPE, of the firm of Lape & Davies. dealers in general merchandise, opened trade in 1875, and they carry a general stock of $8,000. They employ four men in the business and occupy rooms 20x85 feet. W. H. Lape first came to Montgomery County, Kan., in 1870 with his parents. He first began in the grocery business in Sterling in 1875. He was born in Wayne County, N. Y., 1854; moved to Warren County, Ill., in 1856, and lived with his parents until he came to Sterling. He was married in 1878, to Miss Fannie C. Bump, a native of Indiana. They have two children -- Ethel E. and Bessie. He is a member of the Masonlc Order and the I. 0. 0. P.
DR. M. A. MILLARD, physician and surgeon, came to Kansas in April, 1582. locating at Sterling. He has since practiced his profession. He was born In Otsego County, Ohio, in 1847; moved to Crawford County, Pa., where he was raised. He is a member of the Allopathic School of Physicians; graduated from the Buffalo Medical College in 1872; began the profession at Fairview. Erie Co., Pa., where he remained until he came to Kansas. He was married in 1876, to Miss Mary E. Rowley, of Lockport, Erie Co., Pa. They have three children -- Gertrude, deceased, Eva M., Arthur B. and Ollie. He is a member of the A. 0. U. W., of Fairview, Pa.
REV. M. J. MORSE, farmer and stock-raiser. The first pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of Rice County, came to the county (Rice) and settled on Section 2, Township 20, Range 9 June 6, 1872, where he lived a year and farmed and preached. He then went to Atlanta, the County capital, a place of a few houses, and engaged in the grocery and hardware business, in company with J. B. Holmes, about two years. Then returned to his farm. In the meantime he preached and organized the First Methodist Episcopal class in Rice County, June 22, 1872, in the old ranch previously occupied by Buffalo Bill (W. T. Cody). There were about fifteen in the class. He organized a Methodist Episcopal Sunday-school about two weeks later. He preached at the first funeral in Rice County, June, 1872; being that of a small child -- Charles Campbell. He was elected to represent the County of Rice in the State Legislature in 1873. He was born at Smithville, County of Lincoln, Canada, January 11, 1832, and educated at Victoria College. Preached in Minnesota two years. Thence to Missouri and engaged in merchandising until he came to Kansas. He was married in 1854, to Miss Eleanor Griffin, of Smithville, Canada. They have two children -- Ency S., married Robert F. Embree, of Farmer Township, Kan.; and Milton H., married Miss Flora Givins, of Lyons, Kan., and is living on the old homestead in Center Township.
J. A. PORTER, clerk in real estate and loan office. He first settled in the northeast corner of Rice County, where he followed farming until 1879, then moved to Sterling and became proprietor of the City Mills, which he run (sic) until 1881. Followed house and sign painting until August, 1882, and has since been in the railroad land office. He was born on the River Ganges, East Indies Nov. 5, 1837, living in his native country until twelve years of age. His father, Rev. Joseph Porter, was a missionary to the latter country, from Ohio, to which State be returned in 1849, again returning to India, where he died in 1853. The subject of this sketch lived in Vicksburg, Miss., five years. He enlisted in 1863, in Com- pany G. One Hundredth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry. After some time he received a commission as Second Lieutenant of Company B. One Hundred and Eighteenth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, participating in all the battles of his command. He was mustered out, March 1, 1884, recruited a company for the Fifty-ninth Kentucky Volunteer Infantry. He was married in 1841, to Rebecca H. Yonge, of Rising Sun, Ind. They have one son -- William R. Mr. P. is a member of the Masonic order including the thirty-second degree. He is a member of the K. & L. of H., and Meade Post No. 14, and is adjutant of the latter.
J. H. RICKSECKER, land and loan broker and agent for the A., T. & S. F. lands, settled on a farm in Rice County in 1870, followed the latter business for two years, then opened a law office. He was admitted to the bar of the district court of Rice County. He was born in Mansfield, Ohio, in 1843, lived with his parents on a farm until fourteen years old, then entered Oberlin College, Ohio, as a student; continued until 1859, then followed clerking for some time. He enlisted in 1882, in Company D, One Hundred and Fourth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, participated in all the battles of his command, and received a medal presented by Sec. Stanton, for capturing the battle flag of the Sixteenth Georgia Artillery at the battle of Franklin, Tenn., November 4, 1864, and was mustered out in 1865, when he came to Kansas. He resumed his law studies, served as County Attorney of Rice County in 1872-73 and '74. He was married in 1870, to Miss Ada A. Benedict, of Bedford, Ohio. They have one son -- Don Conklin. Mr. R. Is a member of Meade Post No. 14, G. A. R., also I. O. O. F. of Sterling.
J. H. SMITH, attorney at law and collecting agent, loan office, etc. He first located in Neosho County, Kan., in 1868, and prospected a number of years, finally his permanent residence at Sterling, in 1873; farmed a short time, then opened a law office, being the first attorney to locate in practice in Sterling, July 1, 1873. He was born in Delaware County, Ind., April 22, 1845, and raised in that State. Educated in Muncie, in Indiana. Enlisted, August, 1863, in Company D, One Hundred and Seventeenth Indiana Volunteer Infantry, re-enlisted the following August, in Company C, One Hundred and Fortieth Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, participating in all battles of command. The promotions were Sergeant, Second and First Lieutenant, mustered out at Greensboro, N. C., August, 1865. He then attended and taught school until 1867, when he began the study of law, attended the Muncie Academy; admitted to the bar of practice at the latter city, in 1870. He engaged in the practice of law at Cooper Delta, Texas, in 1870-71, thence to Kansas. Has served as a member of Sterling City Council two years. Married in 1874, to Miss Mary A. Taylor, of Brooklyn, N. Y. They have four children -- Carrie S., James, Jr., Mary C., and William O. He is a member of Masonic order K. Of H., and Meade Post, No. 14, G. A. R. He has been interested in the Rice County Herald, published at Sterling for the past three years.
S. P. C. STUBBS, Postmaster, came to Kansas, October 2, 1871, locating twenty miles southwest of Topeka in Wabaunsee County, and farmed the first year, thence to Sterling and took a soldier's homestead in October, 1872, farmed a year, and followed the carpenter trade. Engaged in the real estate business in the fall of 1873, under the firm name of Smith & Stubbs. Also became local agent for A., T. & S. F. lands. Became Postmaster in Sterling in February, 1873, holding the office since. Engaged in cattle-raising business in 1880, having a cattle ranch twenty miles southwest of Sterling. He was born in Preble County, Ohio, September 19, 1844, lived in his native place until 1861, when he enlisted in Company I, Eleventh Regiment Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and participated in over thirty battles, serving under Genls. Rosecranz, Thomas and Sherman. Received First Lieutenant's commission just at the close of the war. Was mustered out in 1865. He soon afterward went to Iowa Falls, Iowa, and began farming. Married, August 26, 1865, to Miss Rachel G. Hunt, of Wilmington, Ohio. They have four children -- Charles F., Salmon J., Nellie and Ryan. He was raised a farmer. He is a member of Meade Post No. 14, G. A. R., and L. & K. of H., of Sterling, Kas.
P. P. TRUEHEART, physician and surgeon, also dealer in a general line of drugs, medicines, paints, oils, etc., under the firm name of Trueheart & Ferguson. They opened the above business in August, 1881; now carry a general average stock of $3,000. They Doctor first came to Sterling, Kas., in October, 1877, and has since practiced medicine. He was born in Powhatan County, Va., November 6, 1851, lived in his native State until 1873. Entered the hospital college of medicine as a student at Louisville, Ky., in 1874, graduating in February, 1876. Began the practice of his profession at Stanford, Ky., where he continued until October, 1877, pursuing the Allopath school of medicine. Married, May 13, 1880, to Miss Lucy B. Hocker, of Richmond, Ky. They have one son -- Marion. The Doctor is a member of the I. O. O. F., K. of H., K. and L. of H., of Sterling, also Kansas Central Medical Association, and is ex-vice-president of the later; also a member of the State Medical Society of Kansas.
J. C. TURNER, dealer general line of hardware and farm machinery, opened trade in the spring of 1877. Erected store building winter of 1878-9, at a cost of $1,500; burned down February 16, 1880. Erected present store building spring of 1880; size 70x22 feet, and ware room 75 feet long, at a cost of $3,500. He first carried a stock of $2,500; now carries a stock of $8,000. Born in Brown County, Ohio, 1843; lived in native State until spring of 1866, when he came to Windsor, Shelby Co., Ill., and engaged in hardware business twelve years, thence to Kansas. Enlisted in September, 1861, in Company C, Fifty-ninth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, but was soon discharged on account of disability. Married 1868, to Miss Eunice L. Wallace, a native of Ohio. They have two children, Walter C. and Mabel E. They are members of the Congregational Church of Sterling.
In December, 1870, the Atlanta Town Company built the first hotel in the county, and called it the "Atlanta Hotel," which was conveyed by the company to the county for a court house and county offices, and so used until May, 1876. The last of it became the office of the Democrat in Lyons. In January, 1871, Earl Joslin was here the first Postmaster in the county. Newell Wood, in the fall of 1870, built here the first frame dwelling house in the county, and the first frame schoolhouse in the county was built here on Section 36, Township 19, Range 8, west. The first postoffice was called Brookdale. The present town of Lyons, 145 miles southwesterly from Topeka, absorbed Atlanta in 1876, when it became the county seat. The city of Lyons was incorporated February 26, 1880, and W. T. Nichols was elected Mayor at the following April election. C. M. Rawlings was elected Mayor in 1883. In June, 1880, the Marion and McPherson branch of the A., T. & S. Fe R. R. connecting Florence and Ellinwood reached Lyons. The present population is put at 900. At present there are in the village three dry goods stores, four drug stores, five general stores, two groceries, six hardware and agricultural stores, two clothing stores, one furniture store, two jewelry stores, one harness shop, three millinery stores. There are also two blacksmiths, one carriage maker, one shoemaker, one painter, one barber, and carpenters and other craftsmen to fill up a thrifty and industrious community. There are two hotels and three livery stables. One dealer in grain does a good business, as does also one flouring mill. There are two banks, and three other firms dealing in real estate.
DAVID AHLBERG, farmer, resides on Section 34, Township 19, Range 8, west, one and a half miles from Lyons, county seat of Rice County. He came to this place in August 1871, has 160 acres of fine agricultural land, 120 acres of which is cultivated, he has had many hardships to contend with, while this county was new, first winter he lived here, one of his horses died, and the next spring, not being able to purchase another sold the remaining one for thirty acres breaking, paying $4 an acre, and he worked by the month the next summer to support his family; in 1873, he raised some spring wheat which was cradle, and to get it ground into four had to take it to Salina, sixty miles. And in 1874, the grasshoppers came July 25th, and devoured his entire crop of corn, consisting of fifty acres, besides destroying his hedge and young fruit trees. But the following year he raised a large crop of fall wheat, which he sold in Ellsworth, thirty miles from here. And then in the spring of 1879, they had one of the most terrible hail storms he ever witnessed, which played havoc with his eighty acre wheat field, and since then he has raised fair crops, in 1882, he raised 2,100 bushels corn, from seventy acres. But to-day he has one of the best farms in Rice County, he has his farm all hedged in, and has all varieties of fruit trees, and has raised peaches in great abundance since he has lived here, he is a very industrious and hard working man and whatever he makes up his mind to do he will accomplish or die in his efforts, he has never gone back on Kansas. He is a native of Sweden, born February 28, 1834. Came to America, 1857, and settled in Henry County, Ill., and married Miss Emma Mary Matilda Engstrom, a native of Sweden, 1859. They have four children, Anna, Huldah, Emma and Grant.
U. V. ATKINSON, firm Atkinson & Brown, dealers in general line of drugs, medicines, druggist sundries, musical merchandise and sewing machines. They erected store building in spring 1881, of wood, 24x70 feet, at a cost of $2,000. They carry a stock of $3,500 and employ five men. Mr. A. came to Lyons, Rice County, in 1880. Was born in Trumbull County, Ohio, 1839, came to Monmouth, Jackson Co., Iowa, in 1853, where he was raised. Married January 17, 1864, to Miss Martha Robbins of Jackson County, Iowa. They have two children - Lillie C. and Dal S.
M. L. BROWN, member of the above firm first came to Lyons, Kan., with Mr. A., his partner and taught school some time, then became a partner in the above business. He was born in Jackson County, Iowa, 1854. Was raised in that county. Was a student in the Cornell College, at Mount Vernon, Iowa, at which institution he is a graduate and made teaching his profession until he emigrated to Kansas.
J. H. BAILEY, attorney at law, first came to Kansas on a prospecting tour in 1852. He came to Raymond, Kan., in January, 1878, where he dealt in grain, farmed and practiced law. He came to Lyons, in November, 1879, and opened a law office. Was born in Steuben County, N. Y., November 18, 1832. His parents moved to Richmond, Ind., in 1837, and to Hartford City, Ind., in 1841, where he was raised and remained until twenty- three years old. He went to Illinois, in spring 1854, and has lived in that State, Wisconsin, Missouri and Iowa, and practiced law in all of those States. Was admitted to the bar of practice in Hartford, Conn., in 1854. Enlisted in spring 1861, Company H, Fourteenth Regiment, Indiana Volunteer Infantry, in the three months service. Re- enlisted in January, 1862, Company K, Fifty-fourth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry as First Lieutenant, soon promoted to Captain of his company. Participated in all battles of his command, including Vicksburg, resigned in July, 1863. He has practiced law in Illinois and Iowa since, until locating in Kansas. Married in 1852, at Hartford, Conn., to Miss Mary A. Craw, a native of Ohio. They had four children: Lewis O., Julia N., Lillie B. and Maggie K. Wife died in 1860. Was again married in October, 1862, to Miss Mattie V. McGuire, of Bond County, Ill. They have three children: Lenora B., Don E. and Fred. Mr. B. was elected County Attorney of Rice County, fall 1882.
D. M. BELL, of the firm of Myers & Bell, came to Rice County, in April, 1871, and opened the first hardware store in Rice County, in the spring of 1871, at the old town of Atlanta. When he first entered Kansas, he stopped at Lawrence and purchased a team, as there was no railroad, he drove from Lawrence to Council Grove, at that place he struck the Santa Fe wagon trail running through the old town of Atlanta, and followed it to Rice County. His nearest place to go to mill, postoffice or market was Salina, sixty miles north. There were then about twelve settlers in Rice County, and only one frame house. Mr. Bell erected the first store building - lumber costing $50 per thousand, and hauled thirty miles by team. After his store building was completed he took in as partner W. T. Nicholas, and the firm was known as Bell & Nicholas, hardware merchants. There were wild buffalo to be seen in all directions, and other game which afforded the only meat food for a number of years. On the way to the first county election he killed live buffalo. Texas cattle and cow boys were numerous. He has followed farming a number of years, and various other occupations. He was one of the first County Commissioners, being appointed by Gov. Jas. L. Harvey, August 18, 1871, he was the first man married In Rice County. The ceremony took place by moonlight, while the parties were on horseback, near Cow Creek. April 19, 1872, to Miss Mary A. Hanks, a native of Ohio. They were married by judge L. Jay. Mr. B. is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Bell was born In Washington County, Md., June 27, 1849, lived in his native county until twenty-one years of age, when he came to Kansas.
J. H. BELL, of the firm of Bell & Morrow, dealers in drugs, medicines and druggists' sundries, books, jewelry, stationery, etc. Mr. Bell opened business alone in 1878, opened as a firm in 1882, erected his store building in 1882, size of which is 25x70 feet, built of brick, two stories high, at a cost of $3,500. Carry an average stock of $5,000, and employ three men. He first came to Rice County, Kan., in July, 1871, and farmed until he began business. He was born in Ross County, Ohio, in 1849, and was raised in his native county. He graduated from Miami University in 1870. He was married, in 1873, to Miss Mary E Magoffin, of Bainbridge, Ohio. They have three children - Renick M., Nellie I. and Mary M.
P. M. BELL, proprietor of Bell View Livery Stable. He keeps twelve head of horses, buggies and carriages, consisting of a first-class livery stable. Opened the business in July, 1879. He first came to Kansas In the spring of 1871, locating a mile south of Lyons on a homestead. He was amongst the first pioneer settlers in Rice County. The plains were thickly dotted with buffalo and other wild game in abundance. He was born in Washington County, Md., in 1843, March 3, and raised in his native place. Enlisted in August, 1861, in Company B, First Maryland Battalion Cavalry; participated in all battles of his command; mustered out in September, 1864; engaged in boot and shoe business at Martinsburg, W. Va., in 1865; afterward in livery business, and remained there until he came to Kansas; married, in 1865, to Miss Elizabeth Strite, of Washington County, Md. They have two children - Carrie M. and Artie J.
AARON BOBB, farmer and stock raiser, Section 7, P. 0. Lyons. He came to his place in January,1871, being amongst the first settlers of Rice County. He plowed tile first land in the above county for regular cultivation, and planted potatoes. He lived in a sod house for two years and over. Ellsworth was then the nearest railroad market, thirty miles north, and the nearest mill sixty miles northeast. The prairies were covered with buffalo, deer and antelope, and furnished the only meat for some time. Mr. B. has followed farming, stock raising and carpenter work since. He was born in Union County, Pa., March 7, 1830. At the age of seventeen, he came with parents to northwest Illinois, where he lived eight years. He then learned the carpenter trade, and worked at the same in Michigan and Missouri. Married, in 1856, to Miss Amelia A. King, of Union County, Pa. They have nine children - James D., Mary A., Franklin S., Oscar D., Joseph C., Charles A., Anna S., John P. and Ada L. His family and himself are members of the Presbyterian Church.
MOSES BURCH, Under-Sheriff. He came to the county in March, 1871, being amongst the first settlers. He located with parents and family on a farm in northwestern part of the county, where he followed farming until 1877. He held the office of Register of Deeds, by appointment, one year, and was twice elected, making five years' service in the latter office. He was appointed one of the County Commissioners of Rice County when it was organized. and filled a short and long term. Appointed Under Sheriff in January, 1882. Was born in Warren County, Ind., and lived in that State until he came to Kansas. Enlisted in July, 1862, In Company F, Seventy-second Indiana Volunteer Infantry, Mounted; was made Second Lieutenant; recruited the company and was made Captain of same; resigned in March, 1863; married, in 1860, to Miss Lutitia Moffatt, of Pittsburgh, Pa. They have nine children - Lydia F. (married to William Handy), Dumont, Benjamin Butler, Emma V., Ida, Samuel W. Indiana L., Moses and John. He is a member of Lyons Post, No. 20, I. 0. 0. F., of Lyons.
T. A. BUTLER, dealer in a general line of hardware and agricultural implements: he is also Sheriff of Rice County, Kans. He first located at LaCygne, Linn Co., Kan., in January, 1869, where he kept a livery business and meat market until March, 1871, when he sold out, went farther west, and engaged in contracting with A., T. & S. F. R. R., which latter business he yet continues with various railroad companies. He located on a farm eighteen miles northwest of Lyons, Rice County, in May, 1874, farmed and raised stock until 1879, when, in February of that year, moved to Lyons and permanently located. Opened hardware trade September, 1881; elected Sheriff same fall. He is president of the Rice County Fair Association. He owns one-half of the White & Butler new brick block at Lyons, Kan. This block was erected in the fall and winter of 1882, at a cost of $25,000. It is 100 feet square and forty feet high. There is a fine opera hall over Mr. Butler's part of the block, which is an ornament to any western village. Mr. Butler occupies rooms on the first floor of his block, 25x110 feet; carries an average stock of $15,000, and employs six men in the business. He was born in Greenbush, Warren Co., Ill., 1846. Was raised in his native county. Enlisted May 2, 1864, in Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Illinois Volunteer infantry. Participated in many skirmishes, and mustered out in October, 1864. Married in 1866, to Miss Julia A. Harmon, a native of Kentucky. They have four children - Charlie R., Newton W., Anna H., John A. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Lyons. He is a member of the Masonic order.
P. G. CARTER, farmer sod stock raiser, Section 15, Township 20, Range 8, P. O. Lyons, has 480 acres of fine land, 150 of which is in cultivation. He first came to this place in November. 1870. His claim was the first made in Rice County, Kan., and his house was the first dwelling. He sold the first goods, and broke the first land. The first postoffice was kept at his cabin for several months by Earl Josylin. The nearest market and postoffice in 1870 was Ellsworth, thirty miles north. There were no roads or landmarks of any kind; his only guides were either a small pocket compass or the sun by day or stars by night. His house was headquarters for the early settlers for some time. He carried the mail to Ellsworth once a week after the postoffice was located at his house, and which was called Brookdale, in December, 1870.
JAMES S. CHASE, physician and surgeon, came to Lyons, Kan., in April, 1879, and continued the practice of medicine. He was born in Meadville, Pa., in 1848. Was raised and educated in native county. Began the study of medicine in 1869, and graduated from the Cleveland Medical College, of Ohio, in 1872, when he began the practice of medicine in his native place, and continued there until he came to Kansas. He enlisted in March, 1864, in Company E, One Hundred and Third Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. Participated in all the battles of his command after his enlistment, until he was mustered out, July 13, 1865. Married in 1880, to Miss Emma E. Hall of Milton, Ill. They have one daughter, Ruby Hall Chase. The doctor is a member of Kit Carson Post, No. 20, G. A. R, and commander of same of Lyons. The doctor is a practical man, and enjoys a large medical practice. He is also a partner in a general drug business under the firm name of T. B. Rowland & Co.
C. A. CLOBRIDGE, Superintendent of Rice County Poor Farm, P. 0. Lyons, came to Kansas in March, 1871, locating near Lyons, where he engaged in farming. Became superintendent in March, 1881. Has served as County Coroner eight years; served on School Board, etc. Born in Lewis County, N. Y., in 1843, where he lived until coming to Kansas. Married March 19, 1861, to Miss Elizabeth Allen, of same county, New York. Wife was born in 1843. They have four children - Allen P., E. Florence, Lizzie M. and Fred F. Mr. C. is a member of I. 0. 0. F. and Masonic order of Lyons.
J. E. DAVIES, dealer in general merchandise, opened trade in Lyons, April 1882; employs three men in the business, and occupies the large corner room in the White & Butler Block, he is also Proprietor of Citizen's Bank of Lyons, opened for a general banking business in May, 1882. He is also a partner in the firm of Lake & Davies, of Sterling, where they keep a general stock of merchandise. He first came to Sterling in the fall of 1872, took a homestead, and farmed until 1874. Was born in London, England, in 1839; came to America in 1847, family locating in Pittsburgh, Pa.; afterward moved to Jackson County, Ohio, where he was raised. Enlisted, in spring of 1861, in Company E, Twenty-seventh Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Re-enlisted in 1863, in Company F, One Hundred and Ninety-fifth Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and was soon promoted to Captain of the company, participated in all the battles of his command. Mustered out in the spring of 1865. Married in 1870, to Miss Catherine M. Thomas, a native of Ohio. They have three children - Elmer E., Laura and Ethel. He is a member of the Masonic Order, I. O. O. F., K. of H., and K. & L. of H., Meade Post, No 14, Sterling, Kan. He has held several township offices.
ROBERT H. DAY, farmer and stock-raiser, Section 10, P. O. Lyons. He first came to Rice County in 1874, and purchased some land, finally settling near Lyons, on the above land, in 1878. He has 100 acres, all improved. The average yield of wheat, season of 1882, was twenty- seven bushels per acre. He was born in Beaver County, Pa., September 11, 1827. Lived in Pittsburgh, Pa., until thirteen years old. Parents then removed with family to Jackson County, Ind., and lived four years; thence to the Territory of Iowa, and lived six years; after which he went to Millersburg, Mercer Co., Ill., where he farmed twenty-six years; thence to Kansas. He enlisted in the Mexican war as a volunteer from Iowa; served only a short time. Enlisted in fall of 1862, in Company K, One Hundred and Second Illinois Volunteer Infantry. Participated in several battles, and was discharged on account of disability contracted in service. Married, May 7, 1850, to Miss Mary Kiddoo, of Lawrence County, Pa. They had three children - John R., Mary E. (married Mr. Thomas Morehead), and Eliza (married T. J. Wolfe, of Little River, Kan.) Mrs. Day died in 1864. He was again married, to Miss Mary F. Gilmore, of Fulton County, Pa. They have six children - Luella, Tilly, Sarah, Grace, Robert R. and James W. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and Kit Carson Post, No. 20, G. A. R.
DR. HARRY FONES, farmer and stock raiser, Section 4, Town 19, Range 8 west, P. O. Lyons. He came with the first settlers to Rice County, Kan., in March, 1871. He has 130 acres of land adjoining Lyons village site on the north; 100 acres is cultivated. In 1882 he raised 2,500 bushels of wheat. He was born in Erie County, N. Y., March 29, 1830, and was raised in that county. He began the study of medicine in 1854, and the practice of his profession in 1855. Moved to Whiteside County, Ill., in 1838, where he farmed, studied and practiced his profession until he came to Kansas. He enlisted in 1862, in Company I, One Hundred and Twelfth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was promoted to Second Lieutenant. Participated in all the battles of his command. Mustered out July 8, 1865. Married, September 2, 1878, to Miss Julia A. Smith. They have three daughters - Marion, Mabel, and Jennie L. By a former marriage he had four children - Alonzo, Hortentia, Joseph, and Hattie. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Has served as County Coroner of Rice Couty (sic) four years.
J. H. FULLER, dealer in real estate, came to Lyons in June, 1878, when he engaged in the drug business until 1881; he then opened a real estate office. He was born in Harrison County, Mo., 1850; lived in that county until 1865, when he went to San Antonio, Tex., and engaged in the cattle business until he came to Kansas. He enlisted in March, 1865, in Company G, Ninety-fourth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry; participated in Seige (sic) of Spanish Fort; mustered out July 5, 1865, at Galveston, Tex., and discharged at Springfield, Ill., August 1865.
WILLIAM J. FULLER, attorney and counselor at law, Lyons, Rice Co., Kan. The subject of this sketch was born in Harrison County, Mo., June 12, 1845. He lived with his father on a farm near Bethany in that county until April 3, 1862; when a little over sixteen years old he enlisted in Company I, First Missouri Volunteer Cavalry as a bugler. He took part in all the battles of that regiment until February 8, 1865, when he re-enlisted into Company M, Thirteenth Missouri Volunteer Cavalry. He went west with the latter regiment into Colorado and Mexico on an expedition against the Indians, with whom his regiment had several engagements. He was mustered out of service at Leavenworth, Kan., in January, 1865, and was paid off in St. Louis three weeks after. He went from there to Dewitt County, Ill., where he went to school ten months. He then returned to Warrensburgh, Mo., worked in a dry goods store as clerk, and read law part of the time under the instructions of Messrs. Cockerail & Crittenden and part of the time with James D. Eads. November 27, 1867, he was married at Warrensburgh, Mo., to Mill Belle McFarland. He moved with his wife to Parsons, Kan., in April, 1870, when he engaged in the mercantile trade for a while. He was admitted to practice in the Supreme Court of Kansas in 1877. He has been very successful in the District and Supreme Court of Kansas, as his records in those Courts will show. He is regarded as one of the leading lawyers of the State, especially in commercial transactions. His family, aside from his wife, consists of two daughters - Anna and Lorena. He is a member of the Masonic order, also a member of the Kit Carson Post No. 20, G. A. R., at Lyons. He is a member of the School Board at Lyons. He is president of the Lyons Building Association, a corporation. He is also a secretary of the Excelsior Milling Company, a corporation. He started the Central Kansas Democrat in September, 1878, a weekly newspaper, at Lyons, of which he is still one of the editors and proprietors. He is doing a good business at his chosen profession, the law.
W. H. HILLMAN, firm Hillman & Silver, dealers in general merchandise. They occupy rooms in Butler's New Brick Block, 24 feet wide by 110 feet deep; employ three clerks besides their own help, and carry an average stock of $14,000. They opened trade in October, 1880. They first carried a stock of $6,000. Mr. Hillman came to Lyons in October, 1880. He was born in Tippecanoe County, Ind., January 29, 1837, and was raised in Harrison County, Mo., living for many years at Bethany in the northern part of that State. He first began business life as a clerk and gradually worked into business for himself. He was Assessor of Harrison County, Mo., 1861; Sheriff and Collector, 1862, re-elected to same office 1866. Represented the latter county State Legislature 1873-74. Was a member Missouri State Militia. Married, February, 1857, to Miss T. P. Allen, a native of Tennessee; they have six children - Josephine H., Parilee, Birdie (now a member St. Joseph, Missouri, Convent), George M., Pines and Victor. Mr. Hillman is a member Masonic order; Blue Lodge, I. O. O. F. Himself and wife are members Christian Church.
J. B. HOLMES, dealer general mercantile, opened trade in November, 1882, and carries an average stock of $3,000. He first came to Rice County, Kan., in the spring of 1871. Assisted to organize Rice County in the fall of 1871. Embarked in the hardware and implement business at Atlanta in the fall of 1872. In 1874 added a stock of groceries; continued business until the spring of 1878. Then engaged in farming, which business has since continued. Re-engaged in the merchandise business in the fall of 1882. Mr. Holmes opened the first store in Lyons December, 1875. He was born in Lawrence County, Ohio, March 28, 1836; lived in native county until twenty-one years old, when he moved to West Middleton, Pa., where he engaged in agricultural pursuits; some time thence to Jackson County, Ohio, when he enlisted August, 1861, in Company D, Thirty-sixth Regiment Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Promoted to Second Lieutenant, and participated in all the battles of his command until discharged January, 1864, on account of disability, contracted in service. Married 1865 to Miss Irene Trego, of Jackson, Ohio; they have four children - Chester W., Alva C., John C. and Carl.
LEVI JAY, farmer, hackman, express deliverer and mail carrier, came to Rice County in April, 1871, and engaged in the hotel business at Atlanta, June, 1871. This was the first hotel kept in Rice County, he continued the business for two years. He then went to Granada, Col., and followed the same business for three years, returned to Atlanta in 1876, and farmed for four years and engaged in his present business. He has served as Justice of the Peace, Probate Judge and Notary Public. He married the first couple in Rice County, January 1, 1872. He was born in Miami County, Ohio, June 16, 1828, lived in his native county until forty-three years old, when he came to Kansas, being raised a farmer. He enlisted in the one hundred day service, in 1864, in Company A, One Hundred and Forty-seventh Ohio Volunteer Infantry, was mustered out in September of the same year. He was married in 1850, to Miss Phebe Patty, of Montgomery County, Ohio. They have two children, daughters, living, and two sons in spirit land, daughters, Josephine I., married to H. C. Taylor, Postmaster at Lyons, and Inez I., at home. They are Spiritualists. He has 160 acres of land adjoining the town sited on the south, ninety acres of which is cultivated. He took the land as a soldier's homestead when he first came to Kansas.
A. M. LASLEY, attorney-at-law, located in Lyons in the practice of law March 1, 1880. Was City Attorney in 1881. Born in Meigs County, Ohio, in 1854, raised in the latter county until sixteen years old, family then moved to Wayne County, Ill. He studied law in Springfield, Ill., in law office of Orendorff & Creighton (successors to Abraham Lincoln), where he remained until June, 1877, when he was admitted to the bar of practice of Supreme Court of Illinois. Began his profession at Fairfield, Ill., and there continued until he emigrated to Kansas. Admitted to the bar of practice in Rice County in June, 1880, where he has since practiced his profession. Married in 1878, to Miss Susan Borah, of Wayne County, Ill. They have one son, Frank E. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. of Lyons.
T. J. LYON, dealer in real estate, loans money and does collecting for other parties, etc. He came to Atlanta, Kan., now Lyons, February 24, 1876, and bought the land where the city of Lyons now stands, laid out the town in June, 1876, and donated the ground for a court house square and the public school grounds and various business lots in the new city. The place was therefore justly named after him. It now contains 700 inhabitants. Mr. Lyons (sic) was born in Peoria County, Ill., June 7, 1856; raised, educated and lived in his native county until he came to Kansas. He was married in 1875, to Miss Murilla Bridson, of the same county. They have two children, Frank and Freddy. Mr. Lyon is a member of the Kansas Benevolent Society and a member of the Town Council.
WESLEY McCABE, farmer and stock raiser, Section 4, Township 19, Range 7, P. O. Lyons. He came to his place in October, 1878. Has 480 acres of fine agricultural and grazing lands, 250 of which is cultivated. In 1882, he raised 1,800 bushels of wheat, an average of 26 bushels per acre. Corn average 35 bushels per acre. He has fed and sold 100 head of hogs during the past year. Keeps 50 head of fine graded cattle. he was born in Burlington County, N. J., October 9, 1829. Parents moved to Miami County, Ohio, in 1830, where he was raised on a farm. Moved to Henderson County, Ill., in April, 1865, and farmed four years, thence to Madison County, Iowa, and farmed until he came to Kansas. Married in 1857, to Miss Mary Jane Badgely, of Warren County, Ohio. They have ten children - (Anna deceased), Mary Bell, George E., James M., Sarah M., Harry E., Agnes A., Charles W., Maude L., Laura E. and Bertha G. He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian Church. He has served as Township Treasurer and School Director since he came to Rice County, Kan.
B. F. MARKS, proprietor livery, sale and feed stable, and farmer. He first came to Rice County, Kan., in the fall of 1871. He has followed farming and freighting, owns a farm of 160 acres, all cultivated, on Section 6, Township 19, Range 8. Opened livery business in fall of 1882; keeps a fine lot of livery. He was Deputy Sheriff of Rice County, and Marshall of Lyons two years. Born in Wood County, Ohio, August 28, 1841; family moved to LaGrange County, Ind., when he was a small boy, where they lived until 1854, thence went to Geneseo, Ill., thence to Warren County, Iowa, 1856; to Paola Kan., 1869, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits until locating in Rice County. Enlisted July 10, 1861, in Company G, Tenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry; participated in all battles in his command tow years, and discharged on account of disability contracted in service. He is a member of Kit Carson Post, No. 20, G. A. R. Married 1864, to Miss M. C. Simpson, of Indiana. They have five children - Almond F., Dora, Inez, Indice and Press.
W. C. MASTEN, clerk of the Citizen's Bank of Lyons, came to Rice County in February, 1873; located on a farm in the northeast quarter of Section 10, Township 21, Range 8; farmed until the fall of 1881. He was born in Livonia, Livingston Co., N. Y., in 1840. He was raised in the village of his nativity. He enlisted August 9, 1862, in Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-sixth New York Volunteer Infantry. Participated in the battles of his command at Gettysburg, Lookout Mountain and Knob Hill. He served a greater share of the time in office of Adjutant General. Was mustered out June 20, 1865. He was afterwards cashier of the wholesale and retail dry goods house of Burns & Smith, Detroit, Mich., two years; moved to Missouri, in 1868, and farmed four years; thence to Kansas, where he turned his attention to farming, making a specialty of broom corn, meeting unusual success, etc. He married in 1868, Miss J. A. Lee, of Oakwood, Mich. They have one son - Charles G. Mr. M. is a member of the Masonic order, etc.
O. S. MORROW, firm of Bell & Morrow, came to Rice County in March, 1878, and engaged in farming until he became interested in the drug business alone, in August, 1880. Became a partner in the above firm February 1, 1882. Was born in Harrison County, Ohio, February 12, 1851. Lived there until fifteen years old, when in fall of 1866 parents moved to Cass County, Mo., where he was raised a farmer. He clerked in a wholesale and retail grocery house, Bloomington, Ill., some time, and finally came to Kansas. Married November 28, 1878, to Miss Lizzie M. Jeffers, a native of West Virginia. They have tow children - Kate G. and an infant son, Carlton. Mr. Morrow is a member Presbyterian Church, and a good business financier.
DANIEL S. MYERS, of the firm of Myers & Bell, loan, land and insurance agents, came to Rice County, Kan., in the spring of 1878, farmed one year, thence moved to Lyons, in October, 1879. He was born in Ashland County, Ohio, in 1837, and was raised on a farm. He went to Hillsdale County, Mich., in 1866. Followed merchandising at St. Charles, in Madison County, Iowa, three years; thence to Greenfield, Adair County, and followed the same business until he came to Kansas. He was married January 13, 1881, to Miss Sadie E. Noland, a native of Ohio. They have one daughter, not yet named. He has two children by a former marriage - Alfaretta, married to Mr. W. B. Bargett, and Francis A. Mr. M. is a member of the Masonic order of Lyons. He is Police Judge of Lyons. The firm are Agents for the Kansas Protective Union Insurance Company, District Agents for the Phoenix Insurance Company, and agent for ten fire insurance companies and two life insurance companies.
W. T. NICHOLAS, real estate, loan and insurance agent, also agent for Union Pacific Railroad lands, came to Emporia in February, 1870, where for a year he clerked in a drug store, and in March, 1871, came to Atlanta, Rice County. In June, of the same year, he became engaged in the hardware business, in company with another party, bringing the first stock of hardware to Rice County, at Atlanta, the original county seat. In September, 1871, he was elected County Clerk; since, by re-election, has held the office until 1882. Held the office of Register of Deeds for some time. When Mr. N. came to Rice County the country was a wild prairie; buffalo and other game were numerous, which afforded the only meat for a number of years. Mr. N. was born in Central England, in 1844; came with his parents to America in 1856; located in Chautauqua County, N. Y., where he was raised. He married in January, 1873, Miss A. J. Griffith, of Portsmouth, Ohio. He is a member of the Masonic order, and the I. O. O. F.
J. E. PERDUE, County Treasurer, came to the county in August, 1870, where he engaged in the cattle business and farming until 1880. He was elected County Treasurer of Rice County in the fall of 1880 and re-elected in the fall of 1882. He has served as County Commissioner of Rice County for three years. He was born in Ray County, Mo., near Camden, October 20, 1835; lived there until seventeen years old when he emigrated to Douglas County, Oregon, and farmed ten years. He dealt there in live stock from 1863 to 1869, thence went to Texas and engaged in the cattle business, driving stock to Kansas, and selling, etc., etc. He married in 1871, Miss Minerva Ogle, of Douglas County, Oregon. They have three children - Pearley, Laurel and Ira V. He was among the first permanent settler of Rice County, having settled on his claim in November, 1870.
WILLIAM POOL, farmer and stock raiser, Section 2, P. O. Lyons, has 160 acres of land, 100 cultivated. He came to his place June 20, 1874. The county then was very thinly populated and Mr. P. and family have seen considerable of pioneer life. He was born in Belmont County, Ohio, April 11, 1821. Emigrated to Missouri in 1842, settling in Gentry County on a farm, where he followed farming and carpenter work until he moved with his family to Kansas. When in Missouri he served in State Militia during the Rebellion in the capacity of Orderly Sergeant and Commissary; mustered out in 1865. Married in 1841 to Miss Cynthia Huggins, of his native place. They have six children - Samuel M., Wesley, Susan A., Cynthia, Abe L. and A. T. Sherman Pool. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Has served as Township Trustee, etc.
R. W. QUADE, dealer in all kinds of grain at Lyons, Chase, and Mitchell, Rice County, from July 10 to December 28, 1882, he has bought and shipped 600 car loads of grain He does a general commission business.
CHARLES M. RAWLINGS, County Clerk, came to Sterling in 1876, where he became interested in the grocery business, and afterward in the land and loan business, until elected County Clerk in the fall of 1881. He moved to Lyons soon after and took charge of the office. He was born in Quakertown, Bucks Co., Pa., in 1842. His parents went to Bureau County, Ill., in 1850, in which state he was raised on a farm. Went to Livingston County, Ill., in 1854, and lived until 1862, and enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and Twenty-ninth Illinois Volunteer Infantry; participated in all the battles of his command and was captured near Goldsboro, N. C. in 1865; confined in Salisbury, N. C., until May 1, 1865. Was mustered out July 6, 1865, as a drummer boy. Went to Nashville, Tenn., in 1866, and became operator and agent for Nashville and Chattanooga Railroad until 1868, thence to Illinois; in the same capacity for the Chicago and Afton Railroad until he came to Kansas. In 1883 was elected Mayor of the City of Lyons by almost a unanimous vote, there being only four votes against him. He was married in 1868, to Miss Emma L. Ford, a native of Ohio. They have three children - Lou E., Willie A. and Frank E. He is a member of the Masonic order, I. O. O. F., K. of H., Meade Post, No. 14, G. A. R. and Lyons Cornet Band.
DR. E. E. RICHARDSON, physician and surgeon, came to Howard City, Elk Co., Kan., in 1874, and practiced medicine until 1876, when he located in Lyons, Rice County. He was born in Louisville, Ky., in 1838. Parents moved to Keokuk, Iowa, when he was a small boy. The family lived in various counties of Iowa. He began the study of medicine at the age of nineteen years. Began the practice of medicine in Missouri. Married, in 1877, to Sarah Gallagher, of Richland County, Ill. His wife is also a medical practitioner, having practiced medicine since 1868. They have four children - Walter E., Bartley A., Lemuel D., and James B. Dr. Richardson also has five children by a former marage (sic) - Sarah E., Alma J., George T., Harry M. and Mertle I. He is a member of I. O. O. F. and Topeka Eclectic Medical Association.
FRANK J. ROLFS, dealer in all kinds of fresh and salt meats, opened his market in 1880. He came to Topeka, Kansas, in 1872, and followed market business for some time, thence came to Rice County, and farmed until 1880. He has 160 acres of land in Section 22, 120 acres of which is cultivated. He was born in Germany, January 25, 1853, came to America in 1867, locating in Madison County, Ill., and farmed until he came to Kansas. He married April 3, 1879, to Miss Lizzie Briner, born November 14, 1860, came to America, in 1867, a native of Switzerland; they have had three children - Lena Elizabeth born March 31, 1880, died August 30, 1880, Frank Albert, born Mary (sic) 2, 1881, Arthur Henry, born March 10, 1883. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. and is an active trader of Lyons.
T. B. ROWLAND, dealer in general line of drugs, medicines, liquors and druggists' sundries. He began the drug trade in Lyons, 1879, and carries an average stock of $1,200, under the firm name of T. B. Rowland & Co. He was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, 1850, lived in native city until 1875, then practiced dentistry in Meadville, Pa., four years. He was educated in native place in Pharmacy. Married February 6, 1880, to Miss Emma A. Ruth, of Sommerville, Ill. They have one daughter - Virginia A. Mr. R. is a member of Masonic order of Cincinnati, Ohio.
CYRUS W. SHUMWAY, farmer and stock raiser, Section 20, Township 19, Range 8, P. O. Lyons, came to Rice County, Kansas, March 22, 1871, with the first settlers of the county. There was only one board shanty in the county at that time. He now has 640 acres of land, 260 of which is cultivated; in 1882, there were 3,000 bushels of corn raised on his place. He makes a specialty of stock-raising and now has about 110 head of cattle. He was born and educated in Sciota County, Ohio. Born October 9, 1848. He made teaching his profession in his native State. After coming to Kansas, he was School Examiner or assistant to the County Superintendent four years. He has served as Township Trustee six terms; has been a member of the School Board several years. Was married in January, 1870, to Miss Emma Farney, of his native county, Ohio. They have six children - Reuben H., Viola, Minnie A., Flora M., Emma and Charlie. He is a Republican in politics and is one of the rising substantial men of Rice County.
C. W. SILVER, firm of Hillman & Silver, dealers in general merchandise, opened trade in 1880. They now occupy rooms 25x100 feet in the new White & Butler brick block, on north side of the Court House square; employ five men in the business, and carry an average stock of $20,000. Mr. Silver came to Sterling, Kansas, 1878, where for a year was principal of the school, then served an unexpired term of superintending schools for Rice County. He then became connected with the railroad, contracting a number of months, thence went Lyous (sic), where he became a member of the above firm. Was born in Warren County, Ohio, 1852, parents moved to Champaign County, Ill., 1855, where he was raised, there graduated from Illinois State Industrial University, in 1873. Went to Germany same year, where he became a member of Haile University, graduating in agricultural chemistry, in 1874; returned to Chicago and engaged in newspaper reporting and teaching the languages, etc. Was married January 1, 1877, to Miss Mary A. Gurr, of River Park, Cook Co., Ill. They have one son - Walter J. Mr. S. is a member of the Masonic order of Lyons, Kan.
S. J. SMITH, Clerk of the District Court, came to Rice County in 1874, locating on a homestead six miles northwest of Lyons, where he has since farmed. He owns 160 acres of land on Section 4, Victoria Township, 130 acres of which are cultivated. He was elected to his present position in the fall of 1880; re-elected in the fall of 1882. He was born in Mansfield, Richland Co., Ohio, September 17, 1835; was raised in his native State; attended the Oberlin College, of Ohio, two years. In 1857, he went to Peoria, Ill., where he followed teaching for nine years. He enlisted, in August 1862, in Company E, Seventy-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry; was promoted to First Lieutenant of his company, and participated in all the battles of his command. He was mustered out at Mobile, Ala., in July, 1865. Afterward lived in Peoria, Ill., until he came to Kansas. He was married, in 1861, to Miss Lucy A. Gardner, of the latter city. They have six children - Charles J., Edward, Ella M., Frank J., Ransom T. and Lotta Belle. He is a member of the I. O. O. F.; also Kit Carson Post, No. 20, G. A. R.
A. D. SWISHER came to Rice County, Kan., January, 1879; located on a farm, and followed agricultural pursuits. He was born in York County, Pa., in 1838. Lived in native place until 1862, when he went to Henderson County, Ill., and followed farming and carpenter trade ten years, thence to Mills County, Iowa, and followed the latter business until he came to Kansas. Was married, in 1860, to Miss Catharine M. McDonald, of York County, Pa. They have two children - John M. (born March 2, 1862) and Zaidee V. L. (born September 25, 1864.) He and family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of Lyons.
MESSRS. F. G. SUTTON & SWISHER, dealers in lumber, lime, coal, hair and building material of all kinds. They are successors to Clark & Swisher. Opened trade in 1879. Carry an average stock of $6,000.
H. C. TAYLOR, Postmaster, came to Atlanta Township, Rice County, June 16, 1871, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits until he was appointed Postmaster, April 7, 1879. Born in Miami County, Ohio, in 1849, and raised in his native place. Graduated from Piqua High School. Has made painting a profession for a number of years. Is a member of the Masonic order of Lyons. Was married, in 1871, to Miss Josephine R. Jay, of Miami County, Ohio. They have four sons - Charles F., Samuel J., Roy R. and Melvin H.
DR. N. F. TERRY, physician and surgeon, came to Lyons in 1876, where he has since continued the practice of medicine. He was born in Des Moines County, Iowa, October 3, 1852; family moved to Henry County, Iowa, in 1855, where he was raised. He graduated in 1873, from the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mount Pleasant; graduated from the Miami Medical College, of Cincinnati, Ohio, in the spring of 1876; began the practice of medicine in Linn County, Iowa, the same year, where he continued until coming to Kansas. HE was married, February 3, 1881, to Miss Leora Hibler, of St. Louis, Mo. He is a member of the Kansas State Medical Society and Central Kansas Medical Society. He has served as City Treasurer of Lyons one term.
A. S. THOMSON, dealer in a general line of drugs, medicines, paints, oils and druggists' sundries. He opened trade in Lyons in the fall of 1879. Was out of the business from January 1, 1881, until June, 1882, when he again opened trade. Carries an average stock of $2,500. He first came to Rice County in March, 1879, locating on a farm, and followed that business a short time. Born in Jefferson County, Ohio, in 1844; lived there until 1854, and moved to Henderson County, Ill., where he was raised. He enlisted 28th August, 1861, in Company E, Tenth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry; served about a year; discharged on account of disability contracted in service. He was educated at Monmouth College, Ill. Married in the fall of 1867, to Miss Rachel McMillan, of Henderson County, Ill. They have three children - Maggie E., Freddie R. and Mamie L. He is at present the Deputy County Clerk and Deputy District Clerk of Court for Rice County.
T. J. WARD, of the firm of T. J. Ward & Co., dealers in hardware, nails and stoves and manufacturers of tinware, who opened trade September 1, 1882, with a stock of $2,500, is a tinner by trade. He was born in Hampshire County, W. Va., in 1837. The family moved to Missouri in 1845, and to Illinois in 1846, locating at Decatur, Ill., in 1850, where in 1854, he went at the tinners' trade, worked in various places. Enlisted in Company C, One Hundred and Sixteenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, in August, 1862. Was captured near Jackson, Miss., in July, 1863, and held a prisoner eight months; otherwise participated in all the battles of his command. Was mustered out in July, 1865. He was married, in 1865, to Miss Julia E. Waldo, of Merdosia, Ill. They have now three children - Charles F., Grace M. and Daniel W. He was in the hardware business at Falls City, Neb., and at Indianola, Iowa. Came to Lyons in January, 1879; engaged in manufacturing tinware, later was a member of the hardware firm of Dinsmore & Co.
GEORGE H. WEBSTER, of the firm of Edwards, Fair & Webster, dealers in a general lien of hardware and farm implements, opened trade January 1, 1882. The store building was erected in 1879, the size of which is 25x100 feet, two stories high, at a cost of $3,000. They employ five men in the business and carry a general stock of from $15,000 to $20,000. Mr. Webster first came to Kansas, January 1, 1882, locating at Lyons, where he has since been engaged in the present business. He was born in Utica, N. Y., 1850; he was raised in Oneida County, N. Y.; was educated in the law profession and graduated from Clinton College, N. Y., in 1871. He entered the law office of Spriggs & Matthews, of Utica, N. Y., and was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of New York, in 1879. He was married in 1873, to Miss France G. Wright, of Rochester, same State. They have two children - Grace M. and J. Carlton. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
HARVEY WIGGINS, farmer and stock raiser, Section 12, P. O. Lyons, has 160 acres of land, seventy of which is under cultivation. He located on his place in March, 1875. Saw hard times for several years; many settlers leaving the country, but the majority of whom returned after a lapse of two years to find the country greatly improved. He was born in Coshocton County, Ohio, November 3, 1849. Was raised on a farm, and lived in native country until he came to Kansas. Married 1872, to Miss Isabella Sturtz, of Muskingum County, Ohio. They have three children - Ada J., Mary E. and Jesse E. He is a Republican in politics.
HENRY WILBER, farmer and stock raiser, Section 16, P. O. Lyons, has 160 aces, 100 of which is cultivated. He located on his farm in 1879. He was born in North New Salem, Mass., March 28, 1835. Lived in his native place until nineteen years old, at which age he went to California and engaged in the umber and milling business seven years, when he returned to New Hampshire and Massachusetts, and engaged in farming until he came to Kansas. He was married in 1867, to Miss Althea Bassett, of Worchester, Mass. They have one son - Frederic Augustus. Mr. Wilber and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He has a fine farm in the midst of a rich agricultural district.
W. H. WOLFE, attorney, notary, land, loan and insurance agent, located at Lyons, Kan., April 2, 1879, and began the practice of law. Was elected Justice of the Peace in February, 1882. He was born in Floyd County, Ind., March 24, 1842, where he lived until fourteen years of age. Removed to Marion County, Iowa, October, 1857. Enlisted July 4, 1861, in Company E, Eight Iowa Infantry Veteran Volunteer, and was discharged April 20, 1866. Entered the Central University of Iowa at Pella, in December, 1866, where he graduated in the class of 1875. Was married November30, 1876, to Miss C. A. Stem, of Pella, Iowa. He belongs to the Masonic order, and stands high among those who know him for his integrity and business character.
J. W. WORKMAN, farmer and stock raiser, Section 2, Township 19, Range 7 west, P. O. Lyons. He came to his place in March, 1877. In 1882, he raised 2,500 bushels of wheat, an average of thirty-five to forty-five bushels per acre. He was born in Coshocton County, Ohio, May 15, 1851, and was raised in that county. Married in 1872, to Miss Mahala Baker, of Muskingum County, Ohio. They have five children - Nancy, Joseph D., George H., Johnson N. and Willis C. He is one of the active farmers of Rice County. Has a fine grade of Durham cattle, and has one of the finest farms in Rice County.
The town of Little River was laid out in April, 180, and has grown quite rapidly since, and is on the M. M. branch of the A., T. & S. Fe R. R., about fifteen miles northeast of Lyons. Messrs. Walker & Russ, of McPherson County, erected the first business house. It is a thriving village at present, supporting half a dozen stores and a hotel. This is the business center for Union Township. The vote of the township in 1880, was 305. Valuable stone quarries are found in this township along the banks of the Little Arkansas. W. E. Fosnot, of Ellsworth County, has published the Little River News, now Rural West.
J. D. BRIGHT, firm Bright, Frazee & Co., dealers in groceries, provisions, hardware, stone and wooden ware, etc. Opened trade in September, 1882. They carry an average stock of $1,700. Hr. B. first located on a homestead three mile north of Little River, March 1, 1876. He built the first boarding-house in Little River, in April, 1879, and kept boarders at the building of railroad and has been identified with the village more ore less since. He was born in Pendleton County, W. Va., January 19, 1846; lived in his native place until 1868, being raised on a farm. Has since lived in Ohio, Illinois, and Missouri, engaged in various occupations. Enlisted in August, 1864, in Company B, Eleventh Regiment, West Virginia Volunteer Infantry; participated in battles of New Creek and Winchester skirmishes. Mustered out in May, 1865; previous to his enlistment, when only seventeen years old, was taken prisoner by the rebels, tried for his Union sentiments, and sent to Belle Island and Richmond prisons. He finally volunteered in Company B, First Virginia Battalion, but in a short time escaped into a wild mountainous country, and after traveling over 140 miles, mostly in night time, reached Union lines, when he enlisted as before noted. After his army life, he lived some time in Grant County, W. Va., thence to McLean County, Ill. Married, March 8, 1875, to Miss Alice Barstow, of latter county. Had two children - Isaphene M. and Lloyd S.; wife died September 14,1882. He is a member of the Wesleyan Methodist Episcopal Church.
J. W. CRAWFORD, Postmaster. The office was opened by him in July, 1882; he being the first to occupy the office. Mr. C. came to Kansas in October, 1870, locating in Union Township, on a farm, October 1, 1871. He has 160 acres of land, seventy of which is cultivated. He had only one neighbor, who lived six miles away. His nearest market was Salina, fifty miles off. He has served as Township Trustee and Justice of the Peace. He was born in Coshocton County, Ohio, in 1842. Emigrated to Rock Island, Ill., in1854. He was raised on a farm. He enlisted April 18, 1861, in Company D, Thirteenth Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry; was discharged in 1866, from Company B, Second Illinois Cavalry; he participated in all the battles of his command. Married in 1866, to Miss Sarah M. Wilsey, of Rapid City, Ill. They have four children - Pheba K., Esther, Daniel H. and James W.
REV. SAMUEL DILLEY, pastor Congregational Church. The Congregational Church society was organized in 1876 and called the North Fork Church. Reorganized in 1880 and called the Little River Church, and now has a membership of twenty-six. The Rev. Mr. Dilley first came to Reno Centre, Reno Co., Kansas, September 15, 1873, locating his place in May of the same year. He owns 320 acres of land at the latter place, 160 of which is cultivated. Has the finest orchard in Reno County. He has made preaching his profession since he came to Kansas. Was born in Mercer County, Penn., in 1818. Removed to Quincy, Ill., in 1839. Educated at Knox College, Galesburg, Ill. Was ordained in 1846. His first charge was in Canton, Ill., in 1843. Married in 1844 to Miss Belllinda Axtell, a native of Pennsylvania, same place. They have five children: Durilla L., Zenas A., Ida R., Elbert A. and Anna E.
JOHN M. FRAZEE, firm Frazee & Deupree Bros., dealers in dry goods, boots, shoes, clothing/notions; a general stock of merchandise. They opened trade May 22, 1882; have two stores and employ five men in the business, and carry an average stock of $7,000. They also have a general store at Galva, McPherson County, firm name, Styner, Deupree & Co. John M. Frazee first came to Kansas in April, 1880, and immediately engaged in the mercantile business at Allegan two years, thence to Little River. He was born in Blanchester, Clinton Co., Ohio, October 10, 1849. Went to Rochester, Ill., in 1857, where he was raised and educated. Went to Albany, Mo., in 1878, where he engaged in various occupations, there getting his start in business life.
J. M. FULTZ, dealer in farm implements of all kinds. He opened trade in April, 1880. He also deals largely in grain and farmer's produce. He first came to Kansas in 1868, worked around in various places; finally located at Marquette, McPherson County, in merchandising until the spring of 1882, thence to his present place and business. He was born in Muscatine County, Iowa, in1851. Was raised and educated in that county. Married in 1875 to Miss Flora B. Yarnell, a native of Ohio. They have one daughter, Nora S. He has served as Justice of the Peace, Township Clerk and Treasurer of Marquette, Kansas.
JOSHUA GOOD, farmer and stock raiser, Section 35, Township 19, Range 7, P. O. Little River. He came to this place in the fall of 1878 and embarked in agricultural pursuits. In 1882 he raised 850 bushels of wheat, an average of twenty-eight bushels per acre; 2,000 bushels of corn, an average of twenty-two bushels per acre. He has seventy-five head of cattle, and mixes grain raising with cattle raising. He was born in Hocking County, Ohio, January 10, 1843. Parents moved with family to Mercer County, Ohio, in 1845, and lived there until the fall of 1864. He then went to Page County, Ohio, and farmed, which pursuit he has always followed. Married February 25, 1864, to Miss Christina Bender, a native of Pennsylvania. They have six children - Joseph Franklin, Laura M., Mary E., Charles A., Ruth H. and Charlotte. He is a member of the Church of God. Has served as Justice of the Peace two years, Township Treasurer, second term. Is a Republican in politics.
GEORGE W. HODGSON, farmer and stock raiser, Section 4, P. O. Little River. He first came to his place January 28, 1871. His nearest neighbor was ten miles away. The nearest mill was Salina, fifty miles; postoffice and market was Ellsworth, thirty miles north. He killed 104 buffalo in the spring of 1872, which supplied the only meat food for some time. He own 560 acres of land, 160 of which is cultivated. He was born in Winchester, Frederick Co., Va., in 1848. He was raised on a farm in this native county. He married, June 22, 1879, to Miss Mary Morrison, of Corydon, Wayne CO., Iowa. They have two children - Samuel W. and Georgie R. His politics are Republican.
W. A. JODON, manager of general merchandising house of A. Larkin, a branch store of Ellsworth. The business was opened in September, 1880, by the subject of this sketch, carrying an average stock of $11,000, and gives employment to three men. Mr. J. first came to Kansas in the spring of 1878, locating in Ellsworth, where he farmed some time; thence into merchandising at the latter city. Born in Milton, Pa., 1832. Leaving his native place at age of fifteen, he went to Millersburg and clerked fourteen years, thence to Philadelphia, Pa., in same occupation for some time. Returned to Millersburg and engaged in merchandising until came to Kansas. Married, 1856, to Miss Margaret Eltzweiler, of Millserburg. They have five children - Rachel E., (George L., deceased), Mary M., Elliot E., Rhoda A. and William A. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. and K. of P.
C. E. McFARREN, dealer in general line drugs, stationery and druggists' sundries, opened trade in spring 1880, under the firm name of McFarren & Bragg. They carry an average stock of $2,000. He was born in St. Louis, Mo., 1854. Was raised and educated in his native city. Began the drug business in 1879. He is a member of the Masonic order.
WILLIAM MILLER came to Rice County, Kansas, 1873. Settled on Section 8, Township 18, Range 6 west, and has followed farming, contracting and building since. He was born in Richland County, Ohio, November 19, 1836. Moved with parents to Franklin County, Mo., 1841. Moved to Holt County, Mo., 1849, where he began the trade of carpenter and builder. Enlisted February 3, 1863, in Company C, Ninth Missouri Cavalry; participated in all the battles of his command. Mustered out July 16, 1865. Married, July 25, 1865 to Miss Nancy Couts. They had seven children - John W., Ellen F., William A., (Eliza, deceased) Jennie, Joseph H. and William G. Wife died November 29, 1870. Again married November 27, 1873, to Miss Margaret Riley.
GEORGE W. RUSS, of the firm of Walker & Russ, dealers in a general line groceries crockery, glassware and hardware, also boots and shoes, opened trade June 1, 1880, this being the first store opened and the first store building erected in the village. They carry an average stock of $2,500. Mr. Russ first came to Kansas in the fall of 1878; lived with an uncle on a farm some time previous to entering into trade. He was born in Chautauqua County, N. Y., February 10, 1858, where he was raised and educated. He first began as a clerk for his father, Joseph C. Russ, and remained at home until he came to Kansas. He was married, November, 1880, to Miss Ida M. Nixon, of Hampton, Franklin Co., Iowa. He has served several years as Township Treasurer, and is a Democrat from principle.
WOLFE BROTHERS, dealers in general merchandise, opened trade in October, 1881, and carry an average stock of $1,200. A. G. Wolfe came to Kansas in the fall of 1873, locating in Rice County, and farmed until he opened trade. Born in Floyd County, Ind., November 23, 1849. Moved to Marion County, Iowa, 1857, where he lived until spring 1865, when he went to Jasper County, Iowa, and lived until came to Kansas. Was educated at Central University, at Pella, Iowa. Married, 1875, to Miss Tennie Gun, of De Kalb County, Ill. T. J. Wolfe was born in Marion County, Iowa, March 22, 1857. Was raised and educated in his native place. Married in 1879 to Miss Lydia Day, of Mercer County, Ill. They have two children - Roy B. and Maud M. He has served in several town offices, etc.
Chase is a thriving little place - the station eight miles west of Lyons. It was located in August, 1880, just after the railroad had been built through that locality. Its population is estimated at about 150. Around it is a fine farming country, beautiful to behold. It does a good business with the farming population surrounding it. Huston & Storer, and Dr. Spiers keep the two drug stores of the place. A. T. Yeilding has a well supplied and well patronized general store. J. M. Chatten & Sons deal in lumber. The town is building up very rapidly.
Kansas Centre is a trading point in the northwest corner of Victoria Township, where A. & L. R. Rosengrantz keep a general store.
EDWARD LINCON CHATTEN of the firm of J. M. Chatten & Sons, dealers in lumber, grain, hardware, and groceries. Opened trade in Chase, September 1, 1880. They carry a genera stock of $10,000, and employ four men in the business. They came to Raymond, Kansas, March 1, 1878, and embarked in the above business, where they continue a flourishing trade in connection with the trade at Chase. He was born in Butler County, Ohio, lived there until the came to Kansas Married April 5, 1882, to Miss Fannie Foote, of Rice County.
REV. M. G. DEAN, Congregational minister, Chase, was born in Ontario, Can., October 14, 1828. His parents died when he was a child only five years of age, and his aunt took him, and in 1837 removed to Michigan and received a good academic education. In 1848 he went to Pennsylvania and took a theological course in the Western Theological Seminary, and was ordained October 2, 1852, and began his work in the ministry in New Jersey, and was there one year, and in the State of New York for two years, when he went to Ohio and remained seven years. While there he took a classical course of education in the Antioch College under the auspices of the Christian denomination. Went to Illinois in 1860, where he was married to Miss Eliza J. Towner, November 9, same year. While here he was appointed Chaplain, in 1862, in the One Hundred and Forty-fifth Regiment New York Volunteer Infantry, and participated in the battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, and resigned in September, 1863, and moved to St. Paul, Minn., where he remained for a number of years, first in the missionary work, then as a pastor in regular charge. His wife died in 1874, and he returned to New York, and from there to Canada. In 1876 he was married a second time, and came to Kansas in 1879 and located at Sedgwick City, Harvey County, and came to Chase, Rice County, in 1881. His wife died in January, 1883, leaving one child - Grace D.
ROBERT R. ECKLES, Postmaster, Chase; first came to the above place in June, 1876; farmed until he became Postmaster. He was born at Blakesburg, Wapello Co., Iowa, November 3, 1855. Lived in various places, as his father, Rev. John G. Eckles, was a Congregational pastor. Robert R. is a member of the Congregational Church. He has served as Township Clerk, and was Enumerator Tenth United States Census. He is now Notary Public. The Chase postoffice was established September 5, 1881. Gross receipts for the last quarter were $175.50.
JOHN E. EVERETT, farmer, P. O. Allegan, Sections 3 and 4, Township 19, Range 9 west. He came to this place in Februry, (sic) 1873. He has 320 acres of land, 160 of which are cultivated. In 1882 he raised 3,600 bushels of wheat, an average of 25 bushels per acre; 800 bushel of corn , averaging 20 bushels per acre. He has served as a Justice of the Peace a number of years. Was born in Clinton County, N. Y., July 25, 1821, and was raised in his native county on a farm. Moved to Allegan, Mich., in 1855, where kept a market, bought and shopped live stock for eighteen years., when he sold out and emigrated to Kansas. Married in 1864, to Miss Julia Husinton, then Mrs. Thomas, of Summit County, Ohio, who was born April 3, 1837. They have one son - Benjamin Franklin. Wife has a daughter by former marriage - Sarah J. Thomas. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and his wife of the Baptist Church. While out prospecting in July, 1873, he found the body of an unknown man, who had evidently been shot by some unknown, on the farm now owned by F. J. Griffith. In those early days it was extremely unsafe for travelers to wander outside of civilization, as there were outlaws nearly always seeking whom they could plunder and rob.
JOSEPH GLEADALL, farmer and stock raiser, carpenter and builder, P. O. Lyons, Section 23, Township 19, Range 9. He came to his place in January 1878. Has 320 acres of land, seventy of which is cultivated. In 1882 he raised 4,000 bushels of wheat, an average of twenty-seven bushels per acre. He also owns 100 head of cattle, and is one of the active farmers of Rice County. He was born in Pittsburgh, Pa., December 25, 1812, and was raised in his native country; learned the carpenter trade when young; moved to Illinois, in February, 1855, locating in La Salle County, at Ottawa, where he followed his trade, erecting many fine residences, one for Chief Justice Caton G. L. Thompson, and others; moved to Benton County, Iowa, in 1866, where he followed his trade until he came to Kansas. Was married in 1844, to Miss Mary McCastlin, of Pittsburg, (sic) Pa. They have eight children - Mary, Priscilla A., Joseph T., James M., Arthur G., Lottie, Catherine B. and Charles H.
REV. F. J. GRIFFITH, pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Kansas Center Circuit, P. O. Chase; he first came to Kansas March 12, 1871 settling on Section 8, Township 19, Range 9 west, in Lincoln Township. He formed a Methodist Episcopal circuit comprising the old town of Atlanta, Spencer Township, and at Jeremiah Naius' hose, and his own residence; also at Ellsworth, Ellsworth County, and eight miles west on the K. P. R. R. and preached in all the above places. For his first years' work he received $16.50 only. He preached the first sermon in the county, at his residence in Rice County, March 26, 1871, to a congregation of thirteen, since which time he has preached nearly every Sabbath. He was route agent on the A., T. & S. F. R. R., United States Mail Service, eight years. Elected Representative to Kansas Legislature from Rice County, in the fall of 1871, being the first elected in the county. He was born in Wales, February 2, 1820, came to America with his parents in 1827, locating in New York City, lived there until 1830, when they moved to Loraine County, Ohio, where he was raised; he was educated at Oberlin College, Ohio, ordained to the holy ministry in 1860, and preached his first sermon in Allegheny City, Pa., since which time he has been a minister of the Gospel, having preached from Baltimore, Md., all along the coast to San Francisco County, Cal. He was married in 1840, at Detroit, Mich., to Miss Mary Wood, of Chautauqua County, N. Y. His wife was lost on Lost Creek, in 1871, from which circumstance the creek took its name. She was also the first class leader in the county. They had seven children - James J., deceased; Julia A., now married to H. C. Doddridge; Matilda, deceased; Frederick J., Jr., deceased; Amelia J., married to Mr. W. T. Nicholas, of Lyons, Rice County; Arletta M., married to Mr. Oscar Noyes, and Engenia, married to Mr. Albert James. He is a member of the Masonic order; he enlisted in September, 1861, in Company C, Fifty-third Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and raised the company and was made Captain of the same; he participated in all the battles of his command, and was wounded at Missionary Ridge, at which battle he was Chaplain of the regiment; he resigned after the capitulation of Atlanta, Ga. He was made Chaplain before the battle of Missionary Ridge.
W. K. HUSTON, has charge of the drug business of S. F. Huston, in the village of Chase. They opened trade November 1, 1882, and carry a stock of $1,000, consisting of a general line of drugs, medicines, notions, paints, oils, etc. W. K. Huston, came to Kansas in the fall of 1879, locating in Sterling, opened the drug business there in the spring of 1880, continuing two years; thence came to Chase. Born in Washington County, Ind., July 12, 1848; lived in that county until 1866, when he went to Elliott, Fillmore Co., Minn., where he became a traveling salesman until he came to Kansas.
WILLIAM F. LOWREY, farmer and stock raiser, also surveyor, Section 36, Township 19, Range 9, P. O. Lyons, has 960 acres of the finest land in Rice County, 170 of which is cultivated. He came to this place in April, 1876. The country was at that time only sparsely settled; nearest railroad market was Sterling, thirteen miles away. He has never made an entire failure in raising crops, and in the season of 1882 he had 1,100 bushels of wheat, an average to twenty-three bushels to the acre. He was one of the first Justices of the Peace of Lincoln Township. He was born in Marshall County, W. Va., July 6, 1823, lived in his native county until 1863, following surveying and farming. He was educated in Green Academy, Greene County, Pa.; moved to Logan County, Ohio, in 1863, where he followed the same business as at present, until he came to Kansas. He has followed surveying since 1847. He married, in 1861, Miss Amanda Stewart, of the same county, West Virginia. They have three children, Lavery G., Ida B. and David.
A. P. McCOWN, proprietor of livery, sale and feed stable, also keeps a hotel at Chase. He first came to Kansas in March, 1878, locating at Kinsley, where he worked at the carpenter trade a year, thence came to Chase, where he farmed until he opened the above business. He was born in Preble County, Ohio, June 9, 1844; was raised a farmer in his native county; emigrated to Woodford County, Ill., and followed the carpenter trade a number of years. Enlisted September 8, 1861, in Company E, Fifth Ohio Cavalry, participated in all the battles of his command, mustered out in November, 1864. Married in 1876, to Miss O. E. Sunderland, of Woodford County, Ill. They have one daughter, Mary Elizabeth.
J. C. McNAMES, farmer and stock raiser, P. O. Chase, Section 22, Township 19, Range 9 west, came to his place December 20, 1870. It will readily be seen by the date of his settlement that he was one of the first settlers in Rice County. He took the third claim that was taken up in the county. Buffalo, antelope, deer and other wild animals roamed the unsettled plains almost entirely unmolested, save only by the dusky redskins, who were encamped to the number of 300 within a few rods of his then humble habitation. He frequently shot buffalo while standing in the door of his sod house, and killed one large buffalo within forty feet of his home. His nearest market and P. O. was Ellsworth, twenty-eight miles away. There were several Indian scares and troubles, but he was not obliged to leave. He was away fourteen miles from home at one time when the country was entirely new, when his horse kicked him on the leg, which broke it. He went home, crawled into the house, and a neighbor set the limb for him, which soon healed. He was born in Canada West, March 6, 1827, lived there on a farm until nineteen years old, and came to Ogle County, Ill., where he farmed and followed masonry until he came to Kansas. Married in 1880, to Fannie Davidson, a native of Iowa. They have one son, Duncan. He is a member of the Baptist Church; he has held several township offices, etc. He has a large, fine farm, suitable for agricultural purposes and stock-raising, with plenty of timber.
F. C. SHAW, farmer and stock raiser, Section 28, Township 19, Range 9, P. O. Chase. He first landed in Kansas, June 15, 1872. Rice County was then almost entirely unsettled. He has 160 acres of land, 100 of which is cultivated. In 1882 he raised 900 bushels of wheat, being an average of thirty bushels to the acre; corn made an average of twenty- five bushels to the acre. He was born in Penobscot County, Me., April 22, 1831, and lived in his native State twenty-four years and then moved to Rock County, Wis., where he followed painting and farming for eighteen months, thence to St. Charles County, Mo., and followed the same occupation until August, 1861, when he enlisted in Company D, First Illinois Cavalry, served one year and was captured by the enemy and was paroled, re-enlisted in Company F, and soon changed to Company B, Third Illinois Veteran Cavalry, participated in all the battles of his command, except the Nashville campaign under Gen. Thomas; he was mustered out September 20, 1865. He soon afterward went to Adair County, Mo., and followed farming until he came to Kansas. He was married in 1854, to Miss Mary J. Brown, a native of Maine. He was appointed Postmaster of Wildwood, Rice CO., Kan., in June, 1875, and held the office until December 1881.
W. W. SPIERS, physician and surgeon and dealer in a general line of drugs, medicines, books and stationery, Chase, opened trade November 1, 1881, carries an average stock of $1,200. He first came to his farm on Section 24, Township 19, Range 10, in April, 1875. He has 320 acres of land, 150 cultivated. He has since practiced medicine, farmed, etc. He was born in Switzerland County, Ind., May 11, 1838, raised in his native State, and enlisted July 4, 1861, as a soldier, soon promoted to Hospital Steward, then Assistant Surgeon, Twenty-second Regiment Indiana Volunteer Infantry. He was a member of Company H, and participated in many battles, he was mustered out in November, 1865, as Assistant Surgeon, One Hundred and Second United States Colored Troops. He began the study of medicine in 1860, and graduated from the medical department of the Michigan University at Ann Arbor, in March, 1867. Began the practice of medicine in Little York, Ind., practiced in several counties in Indiana, and was married in 1866, to Miss Rebecca L. Hughes, of Jefferson County, Ind. They have five children - Nettie, Gertrude, Bruce E., Celesie and Arthur. The doctor and family are members of the Congregational Church of Chase. He is Examining Surgeon for pensions.
ROBERT D. STEPHENSON, farmer, school teacher, preacher and stock raiser, Section 14, Township 19, Range 9 west, P. O. Lyons. He came to this place October 26, 1871, there were but few settlers near him at the time. He helped husk the first corn raised in the county. There were droves of antelope, buffalo and deer to be seen on the plains within gun shot, which furnished the principal meat for some time. He has 160 acres of land, eighty-three of it cultivated, sixty fenced for pasture, the balance meadow, native grass. When he came first to Kansas he had to send to Ohio for seed grain and potatoes. He was born in Jackson County, Ohio, April 9, 1827, and was raised there. He enlisted September 8, 1862, in Company H, One Hundred and Seventeenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, he participated in all the duties required of him until April 9, 1863, when he was discharged on surgeon's certificate of disability (is a pensioner). In 1857, he was married to Miss Sarah J. Parks, of Scioto County, Ohio. They had six children - Mary Susan (a precocious child died, age two and half years), Lucina M., Johanna M., S. J. Luetta, Ida A. and Robert S. Stephenson. He again married June 11, 1878, to Mrs. Mary H. Case, a native of Canada. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of Chase Circuit, Rice County, and he is local deacon of the same. He was elected County Superintendent of Public Instruction in the fall of 1872, and by re-election has served six years, he has held several township offices. When in Ohio he commenced teaching school off and on from 1848 until 1862. He preached three years, beginning in Burlington Circuit, Lawrence County, Ohio, September, 1854. He located in 1857. Traveled Berlin Circuit, Jackson County, Ohio, 1864, as a supply. His health not being sufficient he did not apply for re-admission to the Ohio Conference (although solicited to do so). He kept store in Jackson County, Ohio, from 1866 to 1870. Lived in Scioto County, Ohio, a part of 1871l, and moved from Scioto County to Kansas. His live (sic) has been a "checkered" one - raised in the backwood. His father came from Virginia in 1819, settled on congress land. His father's library was a Bible and hymn book, and the library of Robert D. Stephenson, purchased by his father, was a primer, spelling book and testament. He went to school a few days several winters, in all fourteen months. His father said, "them that would make scholars would be scholars whether they went to school or not". He has been associated with the honorable and learned in the past, political social and moral. This way can only be passed once in life. He will and can not pass it again. The great future is before us, let us be ready to enter it with triumphal joy.
W. C. SUMMERS, farmer and stock raiser, Section 34, Township 19, Range 9, P. O. Chase, has 480 acres of land, 125 of which is cultivated. He makes stock raising a specialty. Came to this place in February, 1872. The country was then only a wild prairie, with not a habitation to be seen in any direction for miles. His nearest market was then Ellsworth, thirty-five miles north. There were no roads nor any guide of any kind. He was born in Mt. Sterling, Montgomery Co., Ky., November 14, 1830. Parents with their family moved to Putnam County, Ind., 1835, where he lived until he immigrated to Kansas. Enlisted November 12, 1861, Company C, Fifty-first Indiana Volunteer Infantry, and participated in all the battles of his command, and taken prisoner in a raid near Dalton. Discharged on account of disability contracted in service. Married, 1850, to Miss Mary Lake, a native of Indianapolis, Ind. They have eight children - Ethan B., Ellsha L., Daniel T., Mollie F., William C., Sarah E., Laurel A. and Alvin. Has been member of School Board several years.
A. T. YIELDING, dealer in dry goods, groceries, hats, caps, boots, shoes and Yankee notions, Chase. He opened trade in Chase January 15, 1883; occupies a store 22x48 feet, and carries a general stock of $5,000. He came to Rice County, Kansas, November 19, 1873, and followed agricultural pursuits until he began trade. Born in Batavia, Genesee County, N. Y., 1845, where he lived until twelve years old, then went with parents to Finnimore Centre, Grant Co., Wis., where he farmed some time and followed merchandising seven years. Thence came to Kansas. Married, 1877, to Miss May Agnes Greenless, a native of Illinois. They have three children - Charlie, Richard, and a son not yet named. He has served as School District Clerk of his township seven years.
Raymond is a station eleven miles southwest of Sterling. Its name was in honor of Emmaus Raymond, one of the Directors of the A., T. & S. Fe R. R. Company. This place is somewhat too near the thriving town of Sterling, on the east; the busy, active junction station of Ellinwood, six miles over in Barton County, and is in rather close proximity to Lyons and Chase, to grow rapidly, yet it is steadily gaining in wealth and population. The surrounding country is very well improved, and the cultivated farms are quite productive.
WILLIAM C. BURDEN, M. D., physician and surgeon and dealer in a general line of drugs and medicines, opened trade in January, 1882. He first came to Raymond, Kansas, in February, 1879, locating in the latter place in the practice of his profession in May, 1879. He was born in Carlisle, Nicholas Co., Ky., October 6, 1851, where he lived until 1861. Family then moved to Mt. Olivet, Ky., where they lived until 1865,, but made his headquarters in the latter village until he came to Kansas. Began reading medicine in 1873, under Dr. R. Wells, of Mt. Olivet, Ky. He attended several courses of lectures at the Medical University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, in 1874-5. Graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Keokuk, Iowa, in 1877. Began the practice of medicine at Mt. Olivet, Ky. Married, in 1879, Miss Fannie Kane, of the latter place, a native of Neville, Ohio. They have one son - James Willis. He is a member of the Masonic order, I. O. O. F., and Royal Arch Masons. He is the present Township Trustee of Raymond Township.
G. F. MILLER, dealer in general merchandise, grain and stock, opened trade in 1875. It was the first store opened in the village, and first carried a stock of $1,500 and employed no extra men. He now carries a stock of $5,000 and employs two men besides is own help. He also has a similar store at Chase, where he carries a stock of $4,000, under the firm name of G. F. Miller & CO. He first came to Raymond, Kansas, in 1874. He was born in Pittsylvania County, Va., June 20, 1846. He was raised there and lived on a farm until 1870. He has been engaged in the mercantile business in various sections of the country in Missouri and Texas. Enlisted in 1864 in Company E, Sixth Virginia Cavalry. Participated in all the battles of his command. He was married, in 1873, to Miss Annie Turner, of Easton, Mo. They have four children - Jennie, Robert E., George F. and Fannie F. He is a member of the Masonic order and Baptists Church. Elected County Commissioner of Rice County in the fall of 1881.
PETER SMITH, Postmaster and dealer in grain and cattle, has a stock ranch. He first came to Rice County in the spring of 1874 and settled at Raymond, where he engaged in merchandising until 1879, when he sold out and engaged in the grain and stock business. He became Postmaster of Raymond in 1875. He was born on Shetland Islands, Scotland, August 17, 1841. Came to America in 1869, located in Canada, since which time he has followed various occupations, and emigrated from time to time until he finally reached Kansas. He was married in 1872 to Miss Elizabeth R. Bruce, a native of Scotland. They have three children - Jessie C., Maggie P. and Robert B. He and his family are members of the Presbyterian Church.
LEVI BRANCH, farmer and stock raiser, P. O. Chase, Section 24, Township 18, Range 10, Eureka Township. He came to his place July 16, 1877. Has 160 acres land, 100 of which is cultivated. In 1882 he raised 600 bushels wheat, an average of thirty bushels per acre, 1,100 bushels of corn, an average of twenty-two bushels per acre. He was born in Meigs County, Ohio, January 3, 1843; family moved to Wayne County, Ill., 1853, where he was raised on a farm. Enlisted January 1, 1864, Company M, Fifth Illinois Cavalry. Was taken prisoner in a skirmish near Collierville, Tenn., but paroled very soon; he participated in all actions of his command. Mustered out 27th of October, 1865. He returned home and followed agricultural pursuits. Moved in 1876 to Mower County, Minn., farmed a year and came to Kansas. Married in 1864 to Miss Clarinda Phillips, of Monroe County, Ohio; they have one daughter - Ida E. Mr. Branch and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a Greenbacker in politics.
JOHN B. CALDWELL, farmer, Section 11, Township 20, Range 9, Center Township, P. O. Lyons, has 160 acres of fine land. He came to this place in company with his parents November 23, 1876, and lived with his parents on the southeast quarter of Section 2, Township 20, Range 9, at which place he resides yet. He and his parents were born in Marshall County, W. Va. He was born in Marshall County, W. Va., November 20, 1859, and raised on a farm. He lived in his native place until he came to Kansas. He married February 18, 1880, Miss Nancy C. Wright, a native of Hamilton County, Ind.; they have one daughter - Cora M. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at the present.
P. V. GERMAN, farmer and stock raiser, Section 18, Washington Township, P. O. Little River, came to Marion County, Kan., in April, 1872; farmed three years; then, in April, 1882, moved to his present place. He was born in Canada, February 27, 1841; raised in his native country and educated at Albert College, Bellville City, Canada; graduated in 1861. He followed farming in the latter country and working at carpenter trade. Married in 1867 to Miss Mary McCamou, a native of Canada; the have three sons - David H., Robert C. and Ray C. He is a member and active worker in the Methodist Episcopal Church. He will soon locate on Section 26, Township 22, Range 7 west, Washington Township.
GEORGE W. MARKLE, farmer and stock raiser, P. O. Lyons, Section 11, Township 20, Range 9 west. He came to his place in Center Township March 1, 1875, and has since followed agricultural pursuits and stock raising. In 1882 he raised 2,000 bushels wheat, which averaged 37 bushels per acre. On one acre particularly there was 54 1/4 bushels wheat. His corn averaged 30 bushels per acre. He has 160 acres land, 100 of which is in cultivation. Was born in Madison County, Ind., April 6, 1840; was raised on a farm and lived in his native State until he came to Kansas. Married, 1860, to Miss Mary M. Brown, of same county and State; they have seven children - Forella, Milton M., Hiram C., William H., Ida May, Friend P. and Joseph F. They are members of the Christian Church. He has served in several township offices. Is a Democrat in politics and a wide-awake farmer.
S. P. MONROE, farmer and stock raiser, P. O. Allegan, Section 18, Township 19, Range 9, west, Farmer Township. He came to Rice County, Kan., in October, 1873; made his location in the following Mach, and has since followed agricultural pursuits. He has 320 acres of land, 240 of which is cultivated; forty-two acres timber. In 1882 he raised 2,050 bushels of wheat, making an average of twenty- eight bushels per acre, 1,500 bushels of corn, an average of twenty-five bushels per acre. He was born in Barren County, Southern Kentucky July 18, 1829, and was raised on a farm in that county. Went to Macon County, Ill., in 1852, and followed farming until he came to Kansas. Married in 1853, to Miss Elizabeth Wright, of same county, Kentucky, who was raised in Sangamon County, Ill. They have five children - Jonathan S., married and farming near by; James W., married, and also a farmer of Rice County; Ida J., married to William Saint, a farmer close by; Charles E. and Mary E. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1878 he raised forty-two bushels of wheat per acre and the products were heavy all over Rice County that year. He has served as Township Treasurer the past four years and a member of the School Board the past six years.
JOHN B. MOORE, farmer, P. O. Chase, Section 32, Township 18, Range 9, Eureka Township, came to his place in the fall of 1872. Has 160 acres of land, 120 of which is cultivated. He was born in Fulton County, Ohio, December 8, 1845, and was raised on a farm. His parents moved to Illinois when he was a small boy, and settled at Peoria, where he lived until eighteen years old, and followed agricultural pursuits until he came to Kansas. Married February, 1871, to Miss Sarah E. Mann, of Lawn Ridge, Peoria Co., Ill. They have five children - Max I., Leo W., Joseph E., Owen H. and Catherine. They are members of the Congregational Church of Chase. He has served in several township offices. Is a Republican in politics.
NORMAN REED, farmer and stock-raiser, Section 20, P. O. Lyons, has 160 acres of land in Washington Township, 130 of which is cultivated; also has eighty acres in Section 30. He come (sic) to his place in the fall of 1870. His nearest neighbor lived four miles away. Nearest railroad market was Ellsworth, thirty miles away. Buffalo and other wild game dotted the plains in all directions, and the skillful pioneers found plenty of native game with which they graced their tables for several years, that affording the only meat food. There were 700 Indians made him a call at one time. He was born in Peoria County, Ill., in 1833 and lived on a farm in his native county until he came to Kansas. Married in 1862, to Miss Candis Smith. They have six children - Delia A., William P., Edward N., Ross, Clara and Nellie, also Alfred G. and Bennie E. by a former marriage. He has been a Justice of the Peace for several years and a member of the School Board since the organization of the district.
O. Y. SMITH, farmer and stock raiser, P. O. Allegan, Section 32, Township 18, Range 9 west, in Eureka Township, came to his place in the fall of 1872. He succeeded in establishing a postoffice in 1873, naming it Eugenia, and was Postmaster six years, that being the first postoffice established away from the railroad in Rice County. He has 400 acres of land, 280 of which are cultivated. In 1882, he raised 2,400 bushels of wheat, being an average of 20 bushels per acre; corn only averaged 13 bushels per acre. He erected his house in the fall of 1872, bringing the brick for chimney from Illinois. He was born in Chenango County, N. Y., April 30, 1834; lived in native county until 1844, and family moved to Peoria County, Ill., in which county and Stark County he was raised on a farm, and lived until he came to Kansas. Married, in 1874, to Mrs. Julia (Brewster) Squier, of Cleveland, Ohio, who was born November 26, 1842. They have one son - Allen P. Smith. By a former marriage, Mr. Smith had two children - Florence M. and Eva L. Smith, and by a former marriage Mrs. Smith had two children - Edith M. and Nettie E. Squier. He and his wife are members of the Congregational Church of Chase. He is a Township Treasurer of Eureka Township.
JOHN SWISHER, farmer and stock raiser, P. O. Chase, Section 31, Township 18, Range 9 west, in Eureka Township. He came to his place in September, 1878. Owns 503 acres of land, 300 of which are cultivated. In 1882, he raised 3,800 bushels of wheat and 1,800 bushels of corn. He was born in Bartholomew County, Ind., September 25, 1835. Was raised in Warren County, Ind., and lived there until he came to Kansas, following agricultural pursuits. Married, in 1859, to Miss Clarissa J. Crow, of Warren County, Ind. They have four children - Frank E., Lenore, Martha J. and William A. Member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and wife also. He has served as Township Treasurer, an is a Republican in politics.