KsGenWeb Logo

Phillips County Kansas

pltwps.jpg - 85612 Bytes

The first townships were named and described on August 10, 1872.
They were:
Long Island, Plum Creek, Kirwin, Logan, and Phillipsburg.

On September 2, 1873, boundaries were changed and the number of townships were increased to eight:
Cedar, Plum, Mound, Solomon, Long Island, Kirwin, Logan, and Phillipsburg.

Boundary changes continued in 1874, 1878, and later, until a more permanant division was made in 1881.

Finally, in 1924, the present 25 townships were established.

Source: Phillips County, Kansas, Settlers prior to 1900
(may be purchased from the Phillips County Genealogical Society)

Are you interested in hosting one of the KsGenWeb orphan counties? If so contact Debbie Wafford. Debbie is our Orphan County Coordinator and will be glad to answer your questions.

Return to Phillips County | Phillips County Queries

Phillips County Surnames | Phillips County Lookups

Return to KsGenWeb | Return to USGenWeb

Robert David Cummings / Pensacola, Florida /dpsgpa@cox.net

KS GenWeb

Blue Skyways
- Home Page for Kansas State Library