1878 History of Jewell County, Kansas

The following is a transcription of a history of Jewell County, Kansas published in 1878. It reflects the attitudes of the time. This is taken from a microfilmed copy. Some of the print was difficult to read and I have indicated with a question mark in brackets ([?]) when I was unsure of the spelling, particularly of names. Submitted by Patricia Seitas.

History of Jewell County, Kansas, with a Full Account of the Early Settlements and Indian Atrocities Committed Within Its Borders; Its final Settlement, Organization and Progress, Its Present Society, Churches and Schools, Its Towns, Streams; Topography; Soil and Products, Its Population; Township Organization and Officers, Its Industries; Business, Resources, Etc. by M. Winsor and James A. Scarbrough, Jewell City, Kansas, Diamond Printing Office, 1878

Sinclair Township

was originally a portion of Big Timber Township. It is situated on White rock creek, on the eastern line of the county, immediately west of White Rock city. Much of its early history will be found in the opening chapters of this work. Is is a splendid Township of land and is thickly settled by a good class of citizens. It was organized February 12, 1874, and its

First Township Officers

were John Dixon, Trustee; R.A. Badley, Clerk; H.C. Vestal, Treasurer; John Renshaw, Justice of the Peace, and R.A. Badley and T. Hunter, Constables.

The First Settlers

were C.G. Smith, Allen D. Woodruff and Mrs. Mary Frazier and her two sons Frank and William -- who settled here in 1868; Thomas Shuler, Willard Woodruff, William Nixon, James Clelland, Hugh Clelland, Ed. Hamner, Joel Friend, H. Lapier, James McCraith, Eli Thomas and E. Maudlin, who settled in 1870.

Schools and Churches

There are four school districts in the township, in all of which there are good substantial school houses, in which regular terms of school are taught. There are three church organizations -- the United Brethren, Presbyterians and Methodists, all of whom have regular preaching and Sunday Schools.

The Present Township Officers,

elected November 6, 1877, are A.H. Poole, Trustee; A.L. Milligan, Clerk; H.C. Vestal, Treasurer; Ed. Hamner and F.M. Poole, justices of the peace, and R.A. Clelland and T.J. Hutchison, constables.

Background and KSGenWeb logo were designed and are copyrighted by
Tom & Carolyn Ward
for the limited use of the KSGenWeb Project.
Permission is granted for use only on an official KSGenWeb page.


Home Page for Kansas
Search all of Blue Skyways
The KSGenWeb Project
Return to
Jewell County