1878 History of Jewell County, Kansas

The following is a transcription of a history of Jewell County, Kansas published in 1878. It reflects the attitudes of the time. This is taken from a microfilmed copy. Some of the print was difficult to read and I have indicated with a question mark in brackets ([?]) when I was unsure of the spelling, particularly of names. Submitted by Patricia Seitas.

History of Jewell County, Kansas, with a Full Account of the Early Settlements and Indian Atrocities Committed Within Its Borders; Its final Settlement, Organization and Progress, Its Present Society, Churches and Schools, Its Towns, Streams; Topography; Soil and Products, Its Population; Township Organization and Officers, Its Industries; Business, Resources, Etc. by M. Winsor and James A. Scarbrough, Jewell City, Kansas, Diamond Printing Office, 1878

Grant Township

was originally a portion of Vicksburg Township. It is a splendid Township of land and is well watered by East and Middle Marsh creeks, on whose banks is found an abundance of excellent timber. The land is all taken up, and is settled by a moral, industrious and intelligent class of citizens.

The First Settlers

were James Fogle, Jr., J. Sturdevant, D. Nickerson, Mr. Brasfield and James Fogle, Sr., all of whom came in in April, 1871, with the exception of James Fogle, Jr., who arrived in march, 1871, and who may be justly regarded as the first settler. The Township was organized April 8, 1873.

The First Election

took place April 22, 1873, at the house of E. Bullock, at which C. Stinson was elected Trustee; B. Hobson, Clerk; W. Orton, Treasurer, and S. McCay, Justice of the Peace.

Schools and Churches

There are six school districts in the Township, in all of which there are good substantial school houses, in which regular terms of school are taught. The church organizations number six, as follows: Methodists, Advents, Christians, Presbyterians, Baptists and United Brethren, all of whom have regular preaching.

The Present Township Officers

hold over from last year, there being no election in the township last fall. Captain A.B. Balch is Trustee and Justice of the Peace. The names of the other officers we were unable to obtain.

Background and KSGenWeb logo were designed and are copyrighted by
Tom & Carolyn Ward
for the limited use of the KSGenWeb Project.
Permission is granted for use only on an official KSGenWeb page.


Home Page for Kansas
Search all of Blue Skyways
The KSGenWeb Project
Return to
Jewell County