The handsome stone structure known as the Oakes House was erected in the summer of 1887, by H.H. Spaulding. It is a massive and substantial building of brown sandstone, with trimmings of white magnesia stone, which gives it a striking and imposing appearance. It is thirty-five by eighty feet in dimensions and three stories in height, with a basement under the entire building. On the first floor is a commodious office, well furnished parlors, dining room, kitchen, well and cistern room. On the second floor are the sleeping rooms, which are well appointed, airy apartments. They are not marked by numerals, as is ordinarily the case, but are designated uniquely, as McKinley, Cleveland, Goebel, Baby Ruth, Mary Ellen Lease, etc. The third flood has never been finished, as the trade does not demand it. In the basement are sample rooms and a billiard hall. A double veranda extends around two sides of the building and is pleasantly shaded by thrifty growing trees. The hotel is well furnished and is one of the most desirable properties in the county. Few towns the size of Glasco can boast of as good a hostelry, and the money expended in this enterprise evidenced H.H. Spaulding's faith in the future of his town. The property passed into the control of Nichols Klein in 1901.
Transcribed from E.F. Hollibaugh's Biographical history of Cloud County, Kansas biographies of representative citizens. Illustrated with portraits of prominent people, cuts of homes, stock, etc. [n.p., 1903] 919p. illus., ports. 28 cm.
Home Page for Kansas
Search all of Blue Skyways
The KSGenWeb Project